DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on July 8, 2026. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 3-4 have been canceled. Claims 1, 2, and 5 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection has been applied.
Applicant argues that Harwig fails to discloses an airflow generating mechanism provided in an outer peripheral portion covering the spout and generating an upward airflow in conjunction with the outer peripheral portion serving as a guide, such that the atomized mist is indirectly sprayed upward without direct fan contact. Applicant further asserts that avoiding direct impact of the fan generated airflow on the mist prevents deactivation of hypochlorous acid and thereby maintains the effective chlorine concentration. However, the argument is not persuasive. The alleged advantage of reducing deactivation of hypochlorous acid does not establish patentability unless the claimed subject matter actually requires the particular structural and functional arrangement relied upon by Applicant. The cited portions of Applicant’s specification describe a purported advantage of the claimed configuration, but a statement in the specification regarding a desired result does not, by itself, impose additional limitations on the claims. Accordingly, to the extent amended claim 1 does not require that the fan generated airflow avoid direct contact with the atomized mist, Applicant’s distinction based on such avoidance does not distinguish the claim subject matter from Harwig. Furthermore, Harwig expressly discloses an airflow generated fan assembly 312 that produces airflow 328. The airflow 328 passes through the honeycomb array 326 and through the interior volume 314 between the top cover 306 and the inner nozzle assembly 322. Harwig further expressly teaches that the mist of fluid F and airflow 328 exit the main air and fluid outlet 308 together as a laminar jet projecting the mist high above the atomizing device 300. Thus, Harwig does not merely disclose generation of an airflow independently of the mist; rather the disclosed airflow cooperates with the atomized mist to direct and project the mist upward from the nozzle. As a result, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “storage unit”, “atomization mechanism”, “airflow generating mechanism”, and “guiding mechanism” in claim 1 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses generic placeholders “unit” and “mechanism” that are coupled with functional language “store”, “atomize”, “guide”, and “generate” respectively without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the limitation “storage unit” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “glass or resin tank” as described in paragraph 0015.
In light of the specification, the limitation “atomization mechanism” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “ultrasonic vibrator and the vibration plate” as described in paragraph 0016.
In light of the specification, the limitation “guiding mechanism” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “elastic soft cloth or resin” as described in paragraph 0019.
In light of the specification, the limitation “airflow generating mechanism” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “fan” as described in paragraph 0028.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwig et al. (US 2019/0192717 A1) in view of Hess et al. (US 2011/0036921 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Harwig discloses a hypochlorous acid water spray device (300, Fig. 17) comprising: a storage unit (316) that stores hypochlorous acid water; an atomization mechanism (320) that atomizes the hypochlorous acid water using ultrasonic vibration (Par. [0041]); and a guiding mechanism (318) that guides the hypochlorous acid water to the atomization mechanism by capillary action (Par. [0039]); a spout (324) from which the misty hypochlorous acid water is ejected; and an airflow generating mechanism (306 Fig. 17) that sprays atomized misty hypochlorous acid water upward by generating an upward airflow (328), wherein the airflow generating mechanism (306) is provided in the outer peripheral portion covering the spout (324, Fig. 17) and generates the upward airflow (328) in conjunction with the outer peripheral portion serving as a guide (306, see Par. [0054] “The mist of fluid F and the airflow 328 exit the main air and fluid outlet 308 in the form of a laminar jet projecting the mist of fluid F high above the atomizing device 300”).
Harwig does not disclose that misty hypochlorous acid water atomized in the atomization mechanism has an average particle diameter of 3 to 10 pm.
Hess teaches a hypochlorous acid water spray device comprising an atomization mechanism that atomizes misty hypochlorous acid water having an average particle diameter of 3 to 10 pm (“produce droplets in the 3 to 4 micrometer range”, Par. [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the atomization mechanism of the spray device of Harwig to incorporate the capability of generating droplets in 3 to 5 micrometer range as taught by Hess, doing it would obtain an optimal spray for a given energy input (Par. [0052]).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Harwig as modified by Hess discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hess further discloses that an ultrasonic wave used in the atomization mechanism has a frequency in a range of 1.0 to 3.0 MHz (“at a frequency of for example 3 MHz”, Par. [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the atomization mechanism of the spray device of Harwig to incorporate the frequency in 3 MHz as taught by Hess, doing it would obtain an optimal spray for a given energy input (Par. [0052]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwig in view of Hess as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gruenbacher et al. (US 2018/0290159 A1).
With regard to claim 2, the spray device of Harwig as modified by Hess discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, they do not disclose that liquid contact members, which include the storage unit and the guiding mechanism and come into contact with hypochlorous acid water, are free of any attached component that decomposes hypochlorous acid.
Gruenbacher teaches a hypochlorous acid water spray device comprising: liquid contact members (50/80), which include the storage unit (50) and the guiding mechanism (80) and come into contact with hypochlorous acid water, are free of any attached component that decomposes hypochlorous acid (reservoir 50 can be made out of glass as described in Par. [0073] and since glass is disclosed by the Applicant that preferably used for storing hypochlorous acid in the specification, hence glass constitutes a material that does not decompose hypochlorous acid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid contact members of Harwig to incorporate the glass material as taught by Hess, since glass constitutes a material that does not decompose hypochlorous acid and has been widely used for chemical storage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752