DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “storage unit”, “atomization mechanism”, and “guiding mechanism” in claim 1 and “airflow generating mechanism” in claim 3 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses generic placeholders “unit” and “mechanism” that are coupled with functional language “store”, “atomize”, “guide”, and “generate” respectively without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In light of the specification, the limitation “storage unit” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “glass or resin tank” as described in paragraph 0015.
In light of the specification, the limitation “atomization mechanism” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “ultrasonic vibrator and the vibration plate” as described in paragraph 0016.
In light of the specification, the limitation “guiding mechanism” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “elastic soft cloth or resin” as described in paragraph 0019.
In light of the specification, the limitation “airflow generating mechanism” is interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “fan” as described in paragraph 0028.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hess et al. (US 2011/0036921 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Hess discloses a hypochlorous acid water spray device comprising: a storage unit (R) that stores hypochlorous acid water; an atomization mechanism (31) that atomizes the hypochlorous acid water using ultrasonic vibration (Par. [0062]); and a guiding mechanism (wick 41) that guides the hypochlorous acid water to the atomization mechanism by capillary action (Par. 0065]).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Hess discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hess further discloses that misty hypochlorous acid water atomized in the atomization mechanism has an average particle diameter of 3 to 10 pm (“produce droplets in the 3 to 4 micrometer range”, Par. [0052]).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Hess discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hess further discloses that an ultrasonic wave used in the atomization mechanism has a frequency in a range of 1.0 to 3.0 MHz (“at a frequency of for example 3 MHz”, Par. [0084]).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harwig et al. (US 2019/0192717 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Harwig discloses a hypochlorous acid water spray device (300, Fig. 17) comprising: a storage unit (316) that stores hypochlorous acid water; an atomization mechanism (320) that atomizes the hypochlorous acid water using ultrasonic vibration (Par. [0041]); and a guiding mechanism (318) that guides the hypochlorous acid water to the atomization mechanism by capillary action (Par. 0039]).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Harwig discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Harwig further discloses that an airflow generating mechanism (312 Fig. 17) that sprays atomized misty hypochlorous acid water upward by generating an upward airflow (328).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gruenbacher et al. (US 2018/0290159 A1)
With regard to claim 1, Gruenbacher discloses a hypochlorous acid water spray device comprising: a storage unit (50) that stores hypochlorous acid water; an atomization mechanism (92) that atomizes the hypochlorous acid water using ultrasonic vibration (“piezoelectric”, Par. [0127]); and a guiding mechanism (“capillary element” 80) that guides the hypochlorous acid water to the atomization mechanism by capillary action (Par. 0077]).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Gruenbacher discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Gruenbacher further discloses that liquid contact members (50/80), which include the storage unit (50) and the guiding mechanism (80) and come into contact with hypochlorous acid water, are free of any attached component that decomposes hypochlorous acid (reservoir 50 can be made out of glass as described in Par. [0073] and since glass is disclosed by the Applicant that preferably used for storing hypochlorous acid in the specification, hence glass constitutes a material that does not decompose hypochlorous acid).
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752