DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0102598 to Herman et al.
Herman discloses in the abstract and figure 5, a structure for relieving mechanical stress comprising:
a substrate (12);
an indentation (10) formed in the substrate; and
a photonic layer (18) formed on the substrate.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0043205 to Luo et al.
Luo discloses in the abstract and figure 1, a structure for relieving mechanical stress comprising:
a substrate (100);
an indentation (108) formed in the substrate; and
a photonic layer (102) formed on the substrate.
As to claim 2, the dimensions shown meet the claimed inequalities (trench depth greater than the photonic layer and the trench width less than that of the photonic layer is shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of US 2016/0327743 to Kippenberg et al.
Luo discloses the invention as claimed except for certain arrangements of continuous and discontinuous layers. Luo discloses a generalized photonic chip wafer process that uses many layers (figures 1-2).
As to claim 10, Luo discloses pattern structures (figure 2iii shows the structures 16).
Claim 4 discloses that these layer materials be the same.
Claims 5-9 and 12-14 relate to sizing and periods not specifically disclosed in Luo. It is noted that both periods being different and being the same are claimed. Therefore, the periods of the structures appear to lack criticality.
As to claim 11, the structures on the left are parallel and staggered from the waveguide (WG) portions in the center.
Kippernberg discloses a wafer process that uses multiple steps to result in continuous and discontinuous layers as claimed to create specific waveguide structures in a layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange layers, provide similar materials and to set etched structures therein as taught by Kippenberg in Luo to create a patterned waveguide structure.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Kittenberg as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2008/0102598 to Herman et al.
These claims relate to the dicing of sections of the photonic wafer previously rejected above. Luo in view of Kittenberg discloses the general wafer process and structure of an individual chip portion but fails to explicitly disclose the dicing lines needed at the wafer level. It is noted that no process would create a single chip and that these chips would be made on a whole wafer.
Herman discloses such wafers and dicing lines in figures 1-2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize the chip-level structure of Luo in view of Kittenberg would need to be produced at a wafer level with dicing lines such as in Herman for optimal yield and maintaining defect free wafer fabrication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0124792 (abstract describes dicing and scribing).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874