DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on 9/28/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Therefore, this restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL.
B. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending. Claims 1-12 and 16-21 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected inventions. Claims 14 and 15 are the subject of this Office Action. As discussed in section 2, below, claim 1 is withdrawn, but examined insofar as it is required to examine claims 14 and 15.
2. Status Identifiers
Regarding non-elected (withdrawn) claim 1, the pertinent section of MPEP 714 Section IIC(A) states -
C. Amendments to the Claims
(A) Status Identifiers: The current status of all of the claims in the application, including any previously canceled or withdrawn claims, must be given. Status is indicated in a parenthetical expression following the claim number by one of the following status identifiers: (original), (currently amended), (previously presented), (canceled), (withdrawn), (new), or (not entered). The status identifier (withdrawn – currently amended) is also acceptable for a withdrawn claim that is being currently amended. See paragraph (E) below for acceptable alternative status identifiers.
For any amendment being filed in response to a restriction or election of species requirement and any subsequent amendment, any claims which are non-elected must have the status identifier (withdrawn). Any non-elected claims which are being amended must have either the status identifier (withdrawn) or (withdrawn – currently amended) and the text of the non-elected claims must be presented with markings to indicate the changes. Any non-elected claims that are being canceled must have the status identifier (canceled).
3. Specification
A. The listing of references on pages 37-38 of the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
B. The use of at least the term Matrigel® (page 35, line 13), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. The Examiner performed a cursory review, but Applicants are urged to perform a more thorough review of the specification.
C. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors, embedded hyperlinks, or improperly referenced trademarks. Applicants’ cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which Applicants may become aware.
4. Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to since they depend from withdrawn claim 1. However, claims 14 and 15 will be examined insofar as they require claim 1.
5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orlandini et al. (reference 2 on the IDS filed 2/10/24). Orlandini (the same inventor as the instant application) teaches the 4E1 anti-CD93 antibody, which, absent evidence to the contrary, is believed to be the same antibody disclosed in the instant specification. Claims 14 and 15 are drawn to a method of treating an angiogenic disorder by administering this antibody. Orlandini teaches that CD93 is an antiangiogenic target (Title; Abstract) and teach impairment of angiogenesis in vivo (first section under “Results” and Figure 2). Orlandini does not teach treating a subject. However, it would have been obvious given the overall teaching of the reference (e.g. Abstract, Discussion).
Though not currently examined, Orlandini would be considered a reference for use under 35 USC 102 for withdrawn claim 1. Page 115, line 7 of the left column of Galvagni (cited on the ISA/PCT/237 and IDS filed 2/10/24) references Orlandini regarding angiogenesis, but does not appear to teach more than that reference.
6. Conclusion
Neither claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647