Detailed Action
This office action is a response to applicant’s communication submitted September 9, 2026, wherein claims 1-6 are amended and new claim 7 is introduced. This application is a national stage application of PCT/IB2022/056873, filed July 26, 2022, which claims benefit of foreign application P2021000045, filed August 10, 2026.
Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-7 as amended are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, submitted September 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 4-6 under 35 USC 112(d) for failing to include all of the limitations of base claim 1, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as claims 4-6 have been amended to claim a method as recited in claim 1. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted September 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 4-6 under 35 USC 103 for being obvious over Rubenis et al. in view of Epple et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as the claims have been amended to be directed to processes requiring the specific high pressure treatment recited in claim 1. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
The following rejections of record in the previous action are maintained and applied to the claims as presently amended:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubenis et al. (Non-patent literature 1 included with 1/23/2025 PTO-1449) in view of Epple et al. (Foreign document EP1520593, Foreign reference 1 included with 1/23/2025 PTO-1449) and further in view of Swain et al. (Reference included with 5/12/2026 PTO-892)
Claim 1 is directed to a method for fabrication of an amorphous calcium phosphate drug delivery system comprising sintering a mixture of amorphous calcium phosphate and a drug at a temperature having a range encompassing room temperature and a pressure of greater than 600 MPa.
Rubenis et al. discloses that ceramics made from amorphous calcium phosphate are of interest as artificial bone substitute materials but are difficult to produce as they tend to crystallize when heated during sintering. (p. 912 left column first and second paragraphs) Rubenis et al. further discloses a cold sintering process for formation of such ceramics wherein amorphous calcium phosphate is subjected to a pressure of 500 mPa at temperatures including room temperature. (p. 913 section 2.2) While the pressure used is not in excess of 600 mPa as recited in the method of claim 1, Rubenis et al. suggests that amorphous calcium phosphate could be further densified by room temperature sintering at pressures of greater than 500 MPa. (p. 918 section 4) Furthermore Swain discloses densification of a beta-tricalcium-phosphate using cold sintering. (p. 89 right column first paragraph) This process was carried out at pressures of 2.5 GPa. (p. 90 section 2.3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to carry out the densification process described by Rubenis at pressures higher than 600 MPa, for example any pressure up to 2.5 GPa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found this to be obvious in view of the suggestion by Rubenis to use even higher pressures, and by Swain that pressures as high as 2.5 GPa are appropriate.
Rubenis et al. does not disclose a composition further comprising gentamicin. However, Epple et al. discloses resorbable bone substitute materials comprising an active agent that is released from the material. (p. 3 paragraphs 30-32) This material can be prepared by cold-isostatic pressing. (p. 4 paragraph 33) In a particular embodiment (example 3 pp. 10-11) the active drug ingredient is gentamicin sulphate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to formulate amorphous calcium phosphate according to Rubenis et al. in combination with gentamicin sulfate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Epple et al. as suggesting that similar bone substitute materials can be advantageously loaded with this active agent.
Regarding dependent claim 2, this claim merely requires that the amorphous calcium phosphate be stabilized, without indicating what counts as stabilization. Swain et al. (see bottom of right column of p. 88 right column first paragraph of p. 89) discloses the addition of other components such as polymers or metals to increase the strength of the ceramic. Such a material, whose production is suggested by the prior art, would reasonably be considered to be stabilized.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Epple et al. discloses an embodiment wherein the material contains about 0.25g gentamicin sulfate to 5g calcium phosphate, for a ratio of about 1:0.05. (pp. 10-11 paragraph 128)
Regarding claims 5-6, the intended use limitations recited in these claims are not seen to impart any further structural limitations that would differentiate the claimed substances from the prior art calcium phosphate compositions.
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate cold sintering pressure of above 600 MPa such as 1500 MPa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen pressure values within this range to be obvious in view of the suggestion by the prior art to try higher pressures.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments: Applicant’s arguments, submitted September 9, 2026, with respect to the above grounds of rejection, have been fully considered and not found to be persuasive to remove the rejection. Applicant’s arguments are based on two lines of reasoning, firstly that the suggestion to use pressures above 500 MPa is not the same as suggesting pressures above 600 MPa, and secondly that Swain discloses a cold sintering process for a different material, which is a nanocrystalline carbonated apatite.
However, looking to the relevant considerations, the present rejection can be seen as being a question of the obviousness of a claimed range (greater than 600 MPa) over a broader range encompassing the claimed range. (Greater than 500 MPa) According to MPEP 2144.05, when the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of a prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, and "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." Furthermore, the statement by Rubenis et al. suggests increasing the pressure above 500 MPa as an avenue for further research.
Regarding the differences between the claimed material and that described by Swain, while it is true that Swain does not describe the exact same starting material described by Rubenis et al. and the present claims, the motivation for increasing the pressure above the prior art value of 500 MPa comes from Rubenis. The disclosure of Swain is relied upon merely to show that higher pressures above 600 MPa are possible. The rejection does not depend on this reference to teach the exact same starting material.
For these reasons the rejections are deemed proper and maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA OLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693 10/19/2026