DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 5-6, 10, 12, and 15-17 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 07/27/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims under rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
“Mu nowhere suggests the filters relate to the beamforming. Rather, Mu describes the features as independent such that the filters do not relate in any way to the spatial directions associated with beamforming. Accordingly, Mu nowhere suggests that the repeaters "provide reconfigurable frequency filters for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitted into one or more output spatial directions".”
“the watermark signal is not a reference signal from a first CN to a second CN via a CED as provided in claim 14”
The Examiner’s Response
Applicant asserts "Mu nowhere suggests the filters relate to the beamforming" however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim language because "filters relate to the beamforming" is/are not apparently claimed.
Applicant asserts "“the watermark signal is not a reference signal from a first CN to a second CN via a CED as provided in claim 14" however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. “Communication node” (CN) could be any devices/elements in a communication systems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15-17, this claim is unclear and ambiguous. For example, while the preamble of claim 15 is claiming an apparatus as an independent claim format, however, the claim body is recited as a dependent claim of claim 1 ( method ) . If applicant’s intention is indeed for claiming an apparatus (i.e. a communication node , apparatus ) as an independent claim format, the examiner suggests the applicant to amend the claim by writing out with the subject matters that are same or similar as those recited in claim 1 ( method ).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. SE2151092-0 filed on 09/01/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6-10, 12, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mu (US20100284446A1), hereinafter Mu.
Regarding claim 1,
Mu teaches a method of operating a first communication node (CN) wherein the method comprises ([0085] the base station 12 ... and sends control messages ... targeted to a specific repeater 14 include instructions for configuring its filtering circuits, for the desired frequencies of operation): obtaining a capability of a coverage enhancing device (CED) to provide reconfigurable frequency filters for incident signals received along one or more input spatial directions on a radio channel and transmitted into one or more output spatial directions ([0085] repeater 14 includes at least one of (a) one or more variable bandwidth band pass filters or (b) one or more low-pass filters and frequency translation circuits, which are configurable via one or more control messages received by the repeater... the base station 12 ... and sends control messages ... targeted to a specific repeater 14 include instructions for configuring its filtering circuits, for the desired frequencies of operation...[0087] the transmitter and receiver antennas of each repeater 14 can be shared by different radio bands with duplex filters and antenna switches, and the transmitter and receiver channels can be duplicated and optimized at different frequency bands......[0103] Beamforming control data (BFCD) is used for setting the direction(s) of transceiver antenna arrays or parabolic antennas at the given repeater 14 ....[0148] the communication signal frequencies separated and/or combined in each repeater 14 are variable, e.g., each repeater's filter banks 70 are configurable in terms of their filtering frequencies. With these capabilities, the base station frequency spectrum 20 can be spatially interleaved in a manner that it reduces the interference between the cells); determining a frequency filter to be applied by the CED ([0085] the base station 12 ... and sends control messages ... targeted to a specific repeater 14 include instructions for configuring its filtering circuits, for the desired frequencies of operation); and providing, to the CED, a message indicative of the frequency filter to be applied by the CED ([0085] the base station 12 ... and sends control messages ... targeted to a specific repeater 14 include instructions for configuring its filtering circuits, for the desired frequencies of operation).
Regarding claim 3,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 1,
Mu further teaches determining the frequency filter to be applied by the CED in response to obtaining a receive property of a reference signal ([0110] the base station 12 acts as the “master” providing overall frequency allocation/management control for the repeater chain 10....[0111] configuration control can be managed by sending RCCI messages from the base station 12, targeted to individual repeaters 14 along the chain 10. .... RCCI provides control information about ... CQI ... [0141] The order of the WM signals inserted along a given repeater chain 10 can be configured by the associated (controlling) base station 12 through RCCI signaling. The signal quality of the demodulated WM signals can be saved in the CQI fields of the RCCI signals. Thus, through RCCI signaling, the base station 12 obtains the required channel quality information of all repeaters 14 inside its cell. ...[0142] the base station 12 can analyze the WM signals from all repeaters 14 in the chain 10, and thereby obtain direct signal quality information for the uplink relaying).
Regarding claim 5,
Mu teaches method of operating the first CN according to claim 1,
Mu further teaches receiving, from a second CN, a reference signal on the radio channel, and determining the receive property of the reference signal ([0140]-[0141] The WM is helpful in the parameter optimization process, as there is no need to decode any information packets carried by the base-station/mobile-terminal communication signals being handled by the repeater 14 ... WM signals inserted along a given repeater chain 10 can be configured by the associated (controlling) base station 12 through RCCI signaling. The signal quality of the demodulated WM signals can be saved in the CQI fields of the RCCI signals.... [0143] repeater 14 in a repeater chain 10 knows the WM signals sent by its neighbor repeaters 14 (i.e., its immediate upstream and downstream repeaters 14) and only the WM signals sent by its neighbors will be used in the repeater's optimization process).
Regarding claim 6,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 1,
Mu further teaches obtaining at least one message indicative of a receive property of a reference signal ([0141] The signal quality of the demodulated WM signals can be saved in the CQI fields of the RCCI signals. Thus, through RCCI signaling, the base station 12 obtains the required channel quality information of all repeaters 14 inside its cell).
Regarding claim 7,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 6,
Mu further teaches obtaining a message indicative of the receive property of the reference signal from the CED ([0142] the base station 12 can analyze the WM signals from all repeaters 14 in the chain 10, and thereby obtain direct signal quality information for the uplink relaying).
Regarding claim 8,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 6,
Mu further teaches wherein the method comprises: obtaining a message indicative of the receive property of the reference signal from a second CN ([0140]-[0141] The WM is helpful in the parameter optimization process, as there is no need to decode any information packets carried by the base-station/mobile-terminal communication signals being handled by the repeater 14 ... WM signals inserted along a given repeater chain 10 can be configured by the associated (controlling) base station 12 through RCCI signaling. The signal quality of the demodulated WM signals can be saved in the CQI fields of the RCCI signals.... [0143] repeater 14 in a repeater chain 10 knows the WM signals sent by its neighbor repeaters 14 (i.e., its immediate upstream and downstream repeaters 14) and only the WM signals sent by its neighbors will be used in the repeater's optimization process).
Regarding to claim 9,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 8,
Mu further teaches transmitting, to the second CN, the reference signal on the radio channel ([0140]-[0141] The WM is helpful in the parameter optimization process, as there is no need to decode any information packets carried by the base-station/mobile-terminal communication signals being handled by the repeater 14 ... WM signals inserted along a given repeater chain 10 can be configured by the associated (controlling) base station 12 through RCCI signaling. The signal quality of the demodulated WM signals can be saved in the CQI fields of the RCCI signals.... [0143] repeater 14 in a repeater chain 10 knows the WM signals sent by its neighbor repeaters 14 (i.e., its immediate upstream and downstream repeaters 14) and only the WM signals sent by its neighbors will be used in the repeater's optimization process).
Regarding claim 10,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 6,
Mu further teaches wherein the receive property comprises information on interference on the radio channel ([0144] in addition to aggregating WM signals in the uplink direction, the repeater chain 10 aggregates the users' uplink signals, as transmitted from the mobile terminals 16 supported by the repeater chain 10, and relayed up the repeater chain 10, to the base station 12. And, conversely, the downlink signals from the base station 12 are de-aggregated....provides, particularly because of the chain's multi-hop configuration, opportunities for greater spectrum utilization and/or reduced levels of interference).
Claim(s) [12] (method for CED), [15] (apparatus for first CN), and [16] (apparatus for CED) is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) [1, 3, 5-10 ] (method for a first Communication Node), Where Mu Teaches both device and method for communication nodes and CED ([0002] Mu).
Regarding claim 14,
Mu teaches a method of operating a second communication node (CN) the method comprising: receiving, from a first CN, a reference signal via a coverage enhancing device, CED,
determining a receive property of the reference signal, and providing, to the first CN, a message indicative of the receive property of the reference signal, obtaining a message indicative of a frequency filter to be applied by the CED ([0140]-[0141] The WM is helpful in the parameter optimization process, as there is no need to decode any information packets carried by the base-station/mobile-terminal communication signals being handled by the repeater 14 ... WM signals inserted along a given repeater chain 10 can be configured by the associated (controlling) base station 12 through RCCI signaling. The signal quality of the demodulated WM signals can be saved in the CQI fields of the RCCI signals.... [0143] repeater 14 in a repeater chain 10 knows the WM signals sent by its neighbor repeaters 14 (i.e., its immediate upstream and downstream repeaters 14) and only the WM signals sent by its neighbors will be used in the repeater's optimization process).
Claim [17] (method for second CN) is rejected under the same reasoning as claim [14] (method for a second Communication Node) , Where Mu Teaches both device and method for second communication nodes ([0002] Mu).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu in view of Li (US20160173186A1), hereinafter Li .
Regarding claim 2,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 1,
Mu further teaches wherein determining the frequency filter to be applied by the CED ([0085] the base station 12 ... and sends control messages ... targeted to a specific repeater 14 include instructions for configuring its filtering circuits, for the desired frequencies of operation).
Mu does not explicitly teach obtaining the frequency filter from a database.
Li teaches obtaining the frequency filter from a database ([0008] a first antenna configured to receive a wireless communication signal; a filtering module configured to: receive an indication of a plurality of different frequency bands to be filtered; and, selectively filter the wireless telecommunication signal according to the received indication to form a filtered wireless telecommunication signal; a filter controller configured to provide the indication to the filtering module; and, an amplifier configured to amplify the filtered wireless communication signal. The electronic apparatus may comprise a second antenna configured to transmit the amplified, filtered wireless communication signal. ... [0045] relay 20 includes authentication means 26 operatively in communication with filter controller 25. The authentication means 26 authenticates the relay 20 with an operations and management system... and the filter parameters are either stored in the authentication means or are received from the operations and management system. In this example, only once the relay 20 has been authenticated, is the filter controller allowed to filter the service and the relay 20 allowed to function. [0060] The analogue module 56 additionally serves to enable a relay function based on the available SIM profiles in the SIM unit 51 and a policy of operations set by the control processor 52 and the system settings database 53. The amplifier module 56 pools the radio frequency resources, such as the filters, to efficiently provide both relay and modem functions).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Mu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve data throughput ([0014] Li).
Regarding claim 4,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN according to claim 1,
Mu does not explicitly teach obtaining the capability of the CED comprises obtaining, in particular from the CED, a message indicative of the capability of the CED.
Li teaches obtaining the capability of the CED comprises obtaining, in particular from the CED, a message indicative of the capability of the CED ([0010] electronic apparatus provides a means to efficiently and effectively relay transmissions on multiple different frequency bands ... [0054] profile may store information relating to the relay function of the apparatus and may provide relay operational data ... The apparatus may exchange its identity and capability).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Mu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve data throughput ([0014] Li).
Regarding to claim 11,
Mu teaches the method of operating the first CN of claim 1,
Mu further teaches a capability of the CED to provide reconfigurable frequency filters comprises obtaining a capability of the CED to provide multiple spatial filters, each one of the multiple spatial filters being associated with at least one of the one or more input spatial directions from which incident signals on a radio channel are accepted and with at least one of the one or more output spatial directions into which the incident signals are transmitted by the CED ([0087] proposed repeaters 14 provide MIMO support, as well as supporting multiple band operation ... [0103] Beamforming control data (BFCD) is used for setting the direction(s) of transceiver antenna arrays or parabolic antennas at the given repeater 14..... For downlink transmission and uplink reception in the base station frequency spectrum 20 ..., beamforming may be replaced by MIMO antennas.... [0148] communication signal frequencies separated and/or combined in each repeater 14 are variable, e.g., each repeater's filter banks 70 are configurable in terms of their filtering frequencies. With these capabilities, the base station frequency spectrum 20 can be spatially interleaved in a manner that it reduces the interference between the cells);
wherein the message indicative of the frequency filter is indicative of a spatial filter ([0110] base station 12 can configure all of the repeaters 14 in the cell, dynamically or statically. .... [0156] each repeater 14 includes dynamically configurable band pass (or low pass) filters).
Mu does not explicitly teach obtaining a capability.
Li teaches obtaining a capability ([0054] The apparatus may exchange its identity and capability by collecting the authorisation and operational frequency and power of the relay function).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Mu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve data throughput ([0014] Li).
Claim(s) [13] (method for CED) is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) [11] (method for a first Communication Node) where Mu Teaches both device and method for communication nodes and CED ([0002] Mu).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465