DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent application 18278175. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18278175 teach limitations of claim 1-11 of the current application (applicant should compare claims of 18278175 to current application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, entire claim, how can a piston ring now have structure of compressor that is a hydrogen gas compressor?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanei et al (US 20210156371A1).
Kanei discloses a piston ring (e.g. 11 and/or 12) used in a reciprocating compressor that compresses gas, wherein the piston ring is formed of a resin composition (e.g. paragraph 0044-0053) containing at least polyetheretherketone resin or thermoplastic polyimide resin as a main component (e.g. see paragraph 0052), the resin composition contains carbon material (e.g. CF and see paragraph 0044) in which the content of sulfur atom is 200 ppm or less (e.g. see paragraph 0049), the carbon material is at least one of carbon fiber, graphite, and coke powder (e.g. paragraph 0044-0045, carbonfiller, carbon fibers and graphite) and the resin composition contains total 5-35 vol% of the carbon material relative to the whole of the resin composition (e.g. paragraph 0044-0053).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the resin composition contains 5-25 vol% of polytetrafluoroethylene resin relative to the whole of the resin composition (e.g. paragraph 0044, which states portion greater than additive which is 5-40% by mass and paragraph 0052 which teaches combination thereof).
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the carbon material includes at least the carbon fiber (e.g. carbon fiber stated in the reference).
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the content of the sulfur atom in the piston ring is 250 ppm or less (see paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the resin composition contains the polyetheretherketone resin as a main component, and the piston ring has an endothermic peak due to heat hysteresis in a range of 150-330 °C in a temperature increasing process of the differential scanning calorimetry (e.g. this is the case since the material stated in the claims is taught by Kanei).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the reciprocating compressor is configured as a hydrogen gas reciprocating compressor that compresses hydrogen gas (e.g. the piston ring is used in compressor that is capable of having hydrogen gas).
Regarding claim 7: Kanei discloses a piston ring used in a reciprocating compressor that compresses gas, wherein the piston ring is formed of a resin composition containing thermoplastic polyimide resin or polyamideimide resin as a main component (e.g. paragraph 0050-0052) and the content of a sulfur atom in the piston ring is less than 5 ppm (e.g. paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the content of the sulfur atom in the piston ring is measured by a triple quadrupole inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (e.g. again how one measures the amount of sulfur atom is not patentable weight in an apparatus of a piston ring). It is noted that the sulfur atom in Kanei is capable of being measured by plasma mass spectrometry.
Regarding claim 9: Wherein the resin composition does not contain carbon material and sulfide (e.g. see paragraph 0052 and paragraph 0045, it is noted that the resin composition does not contain both carbon material and sulfide).
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the resin composition contains at least one of polytetrafluoroethylene resin and aromatic polyester resin (see paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the resin composition contains the polytetrafluoroethylene resin and the aromatic polyester resin, and the total compound rate of the polytetrafluoroethylene resin and the aromatic polyester resin is 5-50 vol% relative to the whole of the resin composition (e.g. paragraph 0044, which states portion greater than additive which is 5-40% by mass and paragraph 0052 which teaches combination thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanei in view of Oga et al (JP2022058162A).
Kanei discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to disclose the carbon fiber having the average fiber length of the carbon fiber is 20-200 micrometer. Oga discloses a piston ring (e.g. figures) used in a reciprocating compressor that compresses gas, wherein the piston ring is formed of a resin composition and carbon fibers (e.g. see PEEK resin) containing at least polyetheretherketone resin or thermoplastic polyimide resin as a main component (e.g. see above), the resin composition contains carbon material (e.g. Oga states the carbon fibers and the filler fibers is about 200 micrometer). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the size of the carbon fibers in Kanei to be between 20-200 micrometer as taught by Oga with reasonable expectation of success to provide effective wear resistance (see Oga “The length of the filler fiber contained in the resin forming the seal ring 1 is preferably 1000 μm or less. If the length of the filler fiber exceeds 1000 μm, shrinkage anisotropy during injection molding becomes strong, which is not preferable. Further, it is desirable that the average length of the filler fibers is about 200 μm. The filler fiber is not limited to the above length, and may be any shape and size that can exhibit the effect of wear resistance. Further, although carbon fiber is exemplified as the filler fiber, the present invention is not limited to carbon fiber, and may be, for example, glass fiber or CNF (cellulose nanofiber)”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant should review document US20200408302 which teach all the limitation of the claims, document US20200340582 teach all the limitations of the claims, reference JP2013155846 teach the limitation of the claims, US20020168506 teaches limitations of claim, paragraph 0049 and JPH02175793.
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675