DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to applicant’s communication submitted February 12, 2024, wherein claims 1-19 were canceled and claims 20-38.
Claims 20-38 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/072681 filed 08/12/2022 and claims foreign priority to EP21191387.6 filed 08/13/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 recites the phrase “pharmaceutically active derivative thereof”. According to the instant specification, "Pharmaceutically active derivative" refers to any compound that upon administration to the recipient is capable of providing directly or indirectly, the activity disclosed herein (pg. 10, lines 1-2). According to the instant specification the compounds of the invention inhibit mitochondrial pyruvate carrier (MPC, pg. 66, lines 20-22), obtain and/or maintain T-cells with a memory phenotype (pgs. 68-69, examples 3-4), thus any compound that does so anticipates the claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 47, the bond lines in structures in Scheme 7 are obscured (lines 1-4). See particularly the hydrazine in structure 4c. Also label 4c conflicts with the structure.
On page 48, in scheme 8 the structures are missing hydrogen atoms on nitrogen (lines 22-24). On page 49 compounds 50 and 51 are missing hydrogen atoms on nitrogen (lines 15-17). On page 52, in scheme 10 the structures are missing hydrogen atoms on nitrogen (lines 1-3).
On pages 53- 62, in some compounds atoms are illegible, particularly compounds 54, 57, 59, 62, 66, 69, 71, 73-77, 78-87, 90-99.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 33, 35-36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 33, on the bottom of page 8 of the claims, a few compounds are missing hyphens in the beginning:
In claims 35-36, the phrase “excipient thereof.” should read “excipient.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 20-33, 35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 20-33, 35, and 37-38: In claims 20, 35, and 37-38, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 21-33 which depend from claim 20 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (d)
Claims 23, 27, 35, 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 23 states “wherein R1 is a moiety R6.”. However claim 20 of which claim 23 depends limits R1 to a moiety R5-R6. Thus, claim 23 fails to properly limit claim 20 by omitting an element previously described. The Examiner suggests that the claim should be amended to include wherein R5 is a bond, in order to properly limit R1 to R6, such as “wherein R5 is a bond” or similar.
Claim 27 states “wherein R4 is H”. However claim 20 of which claim 27 depends already limits R4 to H. Thus claim 27 fails to further limit the claim.
Claim 35 which is drawn to a composition and depends on the compounds of claim 20 fails to properly limit the claim as the composition does not include the limitations of the claimed method.
Claim 37 which is drawn to an vitro method for obtaining and/or maintaining T-cells and depends on the compounds described in claim 20 fails to properly limit the claim because it does not require the same method of treating a subject as in claim 20
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koprivica (Molecules, 2020, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 20 and 37: Koprivica teaches Ethyl pyruvate (EP) application prevented the clinical manifestation of type 1 diabetes in mice by augmenting regulatory T cell (Treg) number and function (abstract). Koprivica teaches that EP increases Treg proliferation and suppressive function (perforin and IL-10 expression) (abstract). Koprivica teaches providing Treg CD4+ cells with conventional Treg differentiation cocktail and applying EP which increased the proportion of Treg cells (pg. 2, last para.). Koprivica teaches comparison between conventionally-induced and EP-treated Treg (i.e. analyzed after isolation, pg. 3, last para., pg. 4, figure 2).
Claims 20-21, 24, 26, 27-28, 30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheridan (WO 2012/080729, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 20-21, 24, 26, 27-28, 30, 32: Sheridan teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising casein kinase 1 delta inhibitors and to the use of said inhibitors in the treatment of neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer's disease (pg. 1, lines 3-5). Sheridan teaches compound 553
(pg. 138, compound 553).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21, 24-25, 28, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blay (Acta Pharmaceutica Sinica B., 2020, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 20-21, 24-25, 28, 30-31: Blay teaches hit compounds which are potential hepsin inhibitors against prostate cancer and kidney stones (abstract). Blay teaches one of the hits has the following structure
(pg. 1315, table 1). Although Blay does not teach administration of the compound for the treatment of cancer, wherein blay suggests it binds hepsin, it would have been prima facie obvious to administer the compound for the treatment of prostate cancer, given that Blay identifies this compound as a potential binder for hepsin.
Claims 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blay (Acta Pharmaceutica Sinica B., 2020, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 20-21, 24-25, 28, 30-31 above in view of Hemstreet (J. Immunotherap., 2013, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claim 35: As discussed above, Blay renders obvious the method of claim 20.
Blay does not teach wherein the compound is included in a pharmaceutical composition comprising an immunotherapeutic and a pharmaceutical carrier.
However, Hemstreet teaches an immunotherapy in pancreatic patients expressing immunogenic protein hepsin (abstract). Hemstreet teaches the immunotherapeutic was formulated in a sterile cell suspension and injected into the patient (pgs. 58-59, bridging para.).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the composition rendered obvious over Blay with the composition comprising an immunotherapeutic as taught by Hemstreet for the purpose of treating prostate cancer in a subject. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as the art establishes them both as therapeutics for prostate cancer and it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06 (I)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Sheridan (WO 2012/080729, cited on PTO-892).
Sheridan teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising casein kinase 1 delta inhibitors and to the use of said inhibitors in the treatment of neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer's disease (pg. 1, lines 3-5). Sheridan teaches compound 553
(pg. 138, compound 553).
However, there is no teaching or suggestion to modify the compound of Sheridan to arrive at the instantly claimed compounds comprising a substituted aryl.
It would be improper hindsight to suggest a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so as there is no teaching or suggestion that any of the substitutions would benefit the compound in anyway.
Thus claim 34 is allowed.
Conclusion
Claim 34 is allowed in this action.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (J. Nat. Prod., 2016, cited on PTO-892) teaches compound 4
(pg. 1220, figure 1, compound 4).
/SAMUEL L GALSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1693