DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the IDS and Request for Continuation filed on 09/21/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-40 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement of 09/21/2026 was received and reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 15-19, 21, 22, 26-32, 36, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hognaland et al., US 2019/0232925 in view of YU et al., CA 2779977 A1.
Claim 1, Hognaland discloses, a load handling device configured for lifting and moving containers arranged in stacks in a storage structure including a track structure with a first set of tracks and a second set of tracks, the first set of tracks extending in a first direction and the second set of tracks extending in a second direction, the second direction being substantially perpendicular to the first direction to form a grid pattern defining a plurality of grid cells above the stacks of containers (See at least Figs. 1 and 3, Ref. Numerals 3 (storage system), 1 (robots), 13 (rails), 2 (storage bin), 8 (storage column), 15 (storing grid), 9 (vehicle bin lifting device); Par. 0001- 0005, 0009), the load handling device comprising:
a driving assembly configured to horizontally move the load handling device on the track structure (See at least Fig. 3, wheels 10, 11 and motors for driving wheels; Par. 0005);
a lifting mechanism configured to lift a container from a stack (See at least Fig. 3, Ref. Numeral 9 (vehicle bin lifting device); Par. 0005);
a power source (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 106a (battery); Par. 0061-0064); and
an externally accessible power source compartment configured to electrically couple to the power source (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 106a (battery) located in operational position on robot (externally accessible power source compartment with removable battery), Par. 0060-0064) when the power source is vertically received into the power source compartment and to electrically uncouple from the power source when the power source is vertically removed from the power source compartment such that the power source compartment is configured to removably receive the power source in a vertical direction (Par. 0076 discloses “if the batteries 106a-h are mounted on the top surface of the robot 1 one may envisage purely vertical movements during placement/disconnection of batteries 106a-h from the robot 1. In this alternative embodiment the battery lift 102 is lowered vertically, then grabs the battery 106a using for example hooks or claws, and finally raised, all operation performed by vertical movements”, and Para. 0064 describes power connection and disconnection), wherein the power source compartment comprises an electrical connector configured to electrically couple to a corresponding electrical connector of the power source when the power source is vertically received into the power source compartment (Para. 0076, “if the batteries 106a-h are mounted on the top surface of the robot 1 one may envisage purely vertical movements during placement/disconnection of batteries 106a-h from the robot 1).
Hognaland does not explicitly teach “the electrical connector of the power source compartment and the electrical connector of the power source face in opposing vertical directions.”
However, YU which is directed towards an “attach and detach device of battery for electric vehicle” including a power source (battery 10, Fig. 10) mounted vertically into a compartment (mounting unit 100, Figs. 8-13 collectively show the mounting operation). YU discloses “the electrical connector of the power source compartment and the electrical connector of the power source face in opposing vertical directions.” (Figs. 7, 8 and 10 discloses a fixed vertical connector pin module which is not labeled that connects with a corresponding connector in the battery 10; Figs. 14, 19, and 20 disclose a connector pin module 550 which ascends and descends vertically to attach to the corresponding connector in battery 400).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the claimed invention to use vertically oriented and opposed connectors between the battery and vehicle power source compartment at least because if the battery is to be connected and disconnected in a vertical direction as taught by Hognaland vertically oriented connectors would provide the most reasonable and simple connection. As is evident from YU, it was known before the time of the claimed invention to use vertically oriented connectors and the incorporation of vertical connectors to accommodate a vertically loaded battery unit / power source would only require routine skill in the art.
Claim 2, Hognaland discloses wherein the power source compartment comprises a top-facing opening, and the power source compartment is configured to removably receive the power source in a downwards direction via the top-facing opening (See location of battery 106a in Fig. 5 and the compartment formed for the battery, it has a top facing opening; also see Para. 0076 describes the possibility of “batteries 106a-h are mounted on the top surface of the robot 1 one may envisage purely vertical movements during placement/disconnection of batteries 106a-h from the robot 1.”).
Claim 3, Hognaland discloses wherein the top-facing opening is defined by an external body of the load handling device (Para. 0060 describes “robot 1 comprises a rectangular vehicle body or framework 4” and “a top lid 72 covering the top part of the body 4”; the battery compartment is formed in the vehicle body 4).
Claim 4, Hognaland does not explicitly disclose the top-facing opening is at least partially defined by one or more locating surfaces that taper downwards towards the power source compartment. However, YU discloses the top-facing opening is at least partially defined by one or more locating surfaces that taper downwards towards the power source compartment (See at least Fig. 8 which shows a side view of the compartment which is part of a top facing opening on the vehicle, see Figs. 1, 2, which includes grasping holders 106 which define locating surfaces that taper downwards to guide the battery into alignment with the connecting assembly). For at least the reasons provided above for claim 1 and the fact that Hognaland discloses the use of pins 102b which align the lifter and battery for transfer, which suggests the importance of proper alignment when transferring the battery to or from the vehicle.
Claim 6, Hognaland teaches the battery can be mounted on the top surface of the robot, Para. 0076, however Hognaland does not teach specifics of the electrical connector arrangement. YU, however, does disclose “wherein the electrical connector of the power source compartment is upward-facing and is provided on a bottom wall of the power source compartment and the electrical connector of the power source is downward-facing and is provided on a bottom wall of the power source” (See at least Fig. 15 which illustrates upward facing connector pin module 550 and downward facing connector pin holes 432 in the introduction space unit 430 which connects with pin module 550 when assembled). For at least the reasons set forth above for claim 1, it would have been obvious to orient the battery connections of Hognaland vertically.
Claim 7, YU discloses what Hognaland lacks, a locking mechanism configured to releasably lock the power source in the power source compartment (grasping holders 106 or 520 lock the battery in the compartment, see Figs. 12, 17 and 18).
Claim 8, YU discloses what Hognaland lacks, wherein the locking mechanism comprises a first locking member located in the power source compartment or on the power source (“a stepped portion 108 adapted to horizontally engage with a corresponding engaging ledge 16 formed on the upper surface incision 14 of the battery 10”, Fig. 7, 8, and 10), and a second locking member located on the power source or in the power source compartment respectively (engaging ledges 16, Fig. 4), wherein the first locking member is configured to move between a locking position in which the first locking member blocks the second locking member in a vertical direction to prevent the power source from moving vertically out of the power source compartment (Fig. 10 shows the engaged position), and a release position in which the power source is free to move vertically out of the power source compartment (Fig. 6 shows the disengaged position).
Claim 9, YU discloses what Hognaland lacks, wherein the locking mechanism is configured such that vertical insertion of the power source into the power source compartment will automatically lock the power source in the power source compartment (See at least Fig. 6, “The grasping holders 106 are adapted to make hinge rotation in the forward/backward direction by means of elastic members 112 (e.g. springs)“, the springs bias the holders 106 into the engaged position).
Claim 10, YU discloses what Hognaland lacks, wherein the first locking member is biased towards the locking position (See at least Fig. 6, “The grasping holders 106 are adapted to make hinge rotation in the forward/backward direction by means of elastic members 112 (e.g. springs)“, the springs bias the holders 106 into the engaged position).
Claim 15, Hognaland discloses wherein the load handling device comprises a container-receiving space for receiving a container lifted by the lifting mechanism, and the power source compartment is located above the container-receiving space (See at least Fig. 3, vehicle lifting device 9 for lifting storage bins 2 into cavity, Para. 0005).
Claim 16, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source is a rechargeable power source (See at least para. 0002).
Claim 17, Hognaland discloses a load handling device of claim 1, in combination with a storage and retrieval system, the system comprising:
a storage structure including a track structure with a first set of tracks and a second set of tracks, the first set of tracks extending in a first direction and the second set of tracks extending in a second direction, the second direction being substantially perpendicular to the first direction to form a grid pattern defining a plurality of grid cells (See at least Figs. 1 and 3, Ref. Numerals 3 (storage system), 1 (robots), 13 (rails), 2 (storage bin), 8 (storage column), 15 (storing grid), 9 (vehicle bin lifting device); Par. 0001- 0005, 0009);
a plurality of stacks of containers arranged within the storage structure, each stack being arranged below a grid cell (See at least Fig. 1, Ref. Numerals 3 (storage system), 1 (robots), 13 (rails), 2 (storage bin), 8 (storage column), 15 (storing grid); Par. 0001-0005, 0009);
the load handling device configured to move horizontally on the track structure (See at least Fig. 3, wheels 10, 11 and motors for driving wheels; Par. 0005); and
a power source exchanging apparatus including an end effector configured to releasably hold the power source and move vertically relative to the load handling device to vertically remove the power source from and/or vertically insert the power source into the power source compartment (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 106a (battery) located in operational position on robot (externally accessible power source compartment with removable battery), 102 (battery lift) for vertical movement; Par. 0060-0064).
Claim 18, Hognaland discloses wherein the end effector is configured to move horizontally relative to the load handling device (See at least Fig. 5, Ref. Numerals 102a,c for horizontal movements toward the robot; Par. 0064).
Claim 19, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source exchanging apparatus comprises a base located on or adjacent to the track structure and the end effector is moveable relative to the base (See at least Fig. 5, Ref. Numerals 102 (lift), 102a,c, 107 (support stand); Par. 0060-0075).
Claim 21, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source exchanging apparatus comprises a frame mounted directly above at least a portion of the track structure, and the end effector is supported above the track structure by the frame (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 107 (support stand), 102 (power source lift), 102a,c (horizontal support plate and frame)).
Claim 22, Hognaland discloses, wherein the frame comprises a horizontal beam mounted above a row of grid cells, and the end effector is configured to move horizontally along the horizontal beam (See at least Fig. 5, Ref. Numerals 102a (support plate) which moves horizontally along vertically moveable frame piece 102c; Par. 0064).
Claim 26, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source exchanging apparatus comprises a first end effector configured, in use, to vertically remove a power source from the power source compartment of the load handling device and a second end effector configured, in use, to vertically insert a power source into the power source compartment of said load handling device (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 108 (cuboid enclosure with multiple charging stations 106a'-h'), 106a (battery), 102 (battery lift); Par. 0060-0064; and Par. 0076 which discloses “if the batteries 106a-h are mounted on the top surface of the robot 1 one may envisage purely vertical movements during placement/disconnection of batteries 106a-h from the robot 1. In this alternative embodiment the battery lift 102 is lowered vertically, then grabs the battery 106a using for example hooks or claws, and finally raised, all operation performed by vertical movements”). The doubling of the end effectors is rejected as an obvious modification entailing duplication of parts. The instant's second end effector is merely a duplication of the prior art configuration of Hognaland's end effector for inserting and removing power sources into the load handling device without introducing any additional, non-obvious function or features. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)
Claim 27, Hognaland discloses, a power source storage station including at least one power source holder configured to receive the power source; and wherein the power source exchanging apparatus is configured, in use, to move the power source between the load handling device and the power source storage station (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 108 (cuboid enclosure with multiple charging stations 106a'-h'), 106a (battery), 102 (battery lift); Par. 0060-0064).
Claim 28, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source is a rechargeable power source and the power source holder is configured to charge the rechargeable power source when received in the power source holder (See at least Abstract, Par. 0040).
Claim 29, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source holder is configured to removably receive the power source from a horizontal direction (See at least Par. 0042).
Claim 30, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source exchanging apparatus is configured to orientate the power source about a horizontal axis between a vertical orientation for inserting or removing the power source from the power source compartment and a horizontal orientation for inserting or removing the power source from the power source holder (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 106a-h (batteries) which move vertically and horizontally performed by 102 from a position in the robot 1 at 106a (vertical orientation for inserting or removing) to the storage positions 106a'-h' (horizontal orientation for inserting or removing from holder); Par. 0061-0076).
Claim 31, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source holder is configured to removably receive the power source in a vertical direction from above (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 108 (cuboid enclosure with multiple charging stations 106a'-h'), 106a (battery), 102 (battery lift); Par. 0029, 0044 and 0076). The power source holder configured to removably receive the power source in a vertical direction from above is rejected as an obvious modification entailing reversal of parts. The instant's power source holder receiving the power source in a vertical direction from above is merely a reversal of the prior art configuration of Hognaland’s power source holder removably receiving the power source in a vertical direction from below. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A
Claim 32, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source storage station is configured to move the power source holder between a presentation position in which the power source holder is accessible to the end effector from above and a storage position in which the power source holder is not accessible to the end effector from above (See at least Par. 0038-0043). As noted in the rejection of claim 31, the limitation of accessible from above is merely a reversal of parts [See MPEP 2144.04VI(A)]. The prior art configuration of Hognaland fulfills the limitations of two positions for the power source holder in which the first position (presentation position) is accessible in a vertical direction by the end effector (102) prior to be moved horizontally into the second position (storage position) by 102a,c. The power source must be removed horizontally from the second position (storage position) by features 102 a,c prior to the vertical movement to replace the power source on the robot; demonstrated by the steps of e) retracting the power source connection means to the position of step b); f) lifting the power source lift with the power source to a charging station configured to receive and charge the power source, the charging station being one of a plurality of charging stations; and g) horizontally positioning the power source connection means of the power source lift to a position in which the power source is connected in a charging position into the charging station, described in at least Par. 0038-0043. Also see the disclosure of vertical placement and removal of the battery in par. 0076.
Claim 36, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source storage station is located on or adjacent to the track structure (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numeral 100 (charging station) located on or adjacent to track structure).
Claim 38, Hognaland discloses, wherein the power source storage station comprises a plurality of power source holders, each configured to receive a power source (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 106a'-h' (plurality of holders) configured to receive 106a-h (power sources); Par. 0064-0065).
Claim 39, Hognaland discloses a method of exchanging a power source in a power source compartment of a load handling device (See at least Par. 0033-0045) which includes:
a driving assembly configured to horizontally move the load handling device on a track structure (See at least Fig. 3, wheels 10, 11 and motors for driving wheels; Par. 0005);
a lifting mechanism configured to lift a container from a stack (See at least Fig. 3, Ref. Numeral 9 (vehicle bin lifting device); Par. 0005);
a power source (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 106a (battery); Par. 0061-0064);
an externally accessible power source compartment configured to electrically couple to the power source, wherein the power source compartment is configured to removably receive the power source in a vertical direction (See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numerals 1 (robot), 106a (battery) located in operational position on robot (externally accessible power source compartment with removable battery), 102 (battery lift) for vertical movement; Par. 0060-0064), and wherein the power source compartment comprises an electrical connector configured to electrically couple to a corresponding electrical connector of the power source when the power source is vertically received into the power source compartment (Para. 0076, “if the batteries 106a-h are mounted on the top surface of the robot 1 one may envisage purely vertical movements during placement/disconnection of batteries 106a-h from the robot 1), the method comprising:
(i) vertically removing a first power source from the power source compartment (See at least Par. 0036-0038); and
(ii) vertically inserting a second power source into the power source compartment (See at least Par. 0048-0049).
Hognaland does not explicitly teach “the electrical connector of the power source compartment and the electrical connector of the power source face in opposing vertical directions.”
However, YU which is directed towards an “attach and detach device of battery for electric vehicle” including a power source (battery 10, Fig. 10) mounted vertically into a compartment (mounting unit 100, Figs. 8-13 collectively show the mounting operation). YU discloses “the electrical connector of the power source compartment and the electrical connector of the power source face in opposing vertical directions.” (Figs. 7, 8 and 10 discloses a fixed vertical connector pin module which is not labeled that connects with a corresponding connector in the battery 10; Figs. 14, 19, and 20 disclose a connector pin module 550 which ascends and descends vertically to attach to the corresponding connector in battery 400).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the claimed invention to use vertically oriented and opposed connectors between the battery and vehicle power source compartment at least because if the battery is to be connected and disconnected in a vertical direction as taught by Hognaland vertically oriented connectors would provide the most reasonable and simple connection. As is evident from YU, it was known before the time of the claimed invention to use vertically oriented connectors and the incorporation of vertical connectors to accommodate a vertically loaded battery unit / power source would only require routine skill in the art.
Claim 40, Hognaland discloses, wherein the load handling device remains stationary in at least a horizontal direction from when the first power source is removed to when the second power source is inserted (See at least Par. 0033-0045).
Claims 20 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Hognaland and YU in view of Lindbo et al. (US 2018/0319590).
While Hognaland discloses the base and power source exchanging apparatus of claims 17 and 19, Hognaland does not disclose the base being horizontally movable or the power source exchanging apparatus being a robot arm reachable to any of a plurality of cells. With respect to these limitations, Lindbo directed to the same technology - robotic storage and retrieval systems - teaches:
Claim 20, Lindbo teaches what Hognaland lacks: wherein the base is horizontally moveable relative to the track structure. (See at least Fig. 10d, showing the base
moveable relative to the track structure).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hognaland to incorporate the teachings of Lindbo and combine the movable base and robot arm with the base and power source exchanging apparatus of Hognaland. The movable base of Lindbo allows the station to change positions, enabling increased speed and efficiency to reduce driving time and distance of the robots for battery swaps.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine the movable base and robot arm of Lindbo with the base and power source exchanging apparatus of Hognaland and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Even in the combined context, the features of the base and power source exchanging apparatus of Hognaland and the features of the movable base and robot arm of Lindbo would be expected to function as intended, with each element in the combined context performing the same function as it did separately.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lindbo because they are known work in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (robotic storage and retrieval systems), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 23, Lindbo teaches what Hognaland lacks: wherein the horizontal beam is configured and arranged to be horizontally moveable in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the horizontal beam. [See at least Fig. 10c, Ref. Numeral 250 (robotic picking means) on moveable beam moveable in X-Y direction above storage system; Par. 0106-0108]
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hognaland to incorporate the teachings of Lindbo as discussed above, see claim 20.
Regarding claim 24, Lindbo teaches what Hognaland lacks: wherein the power source exchanging apparatus is configured to move the end effector to any one of a plurality of designated grid cells to allow the end effector to remove the power source from and/or insert the power source into the power source compartment when the load handling device is at any one of the plurality of designated grid cells. [See at least Fig. 10d, Ref. Numeral 550 (robotic picking device) able to reach multiple cells; Par. 0110]
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hognaland to incorporate the teachings of Lindbo as discussed above, see claim 20.
Regarding claim 25, Lindbo teaches what Hognaland lacks: wherein the power source exchanging apparatus is a robotic arm. (See at least Fig. 10d, Ref. Numeral 550 (robotic picking device); Par. 0110).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hognaland to incorporate the teachings of Lindbo as discussed above, see claim 20.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hognaland and YU in view of Jelks et al. (US Patent 1,706,298).
Regarding claim 37, Hognaland discloses: wherein the power source storage station has a rear side facing away from the track structure. While Hognaland discloses the power source storage station with a rear side facing away from the track structure, Hognaland does not explicitly disclose the power source storage station being accessible from the rear.
With respect to these limitations, Jelks directed to solving the same problem, efficiently storing and dispensing stored items, teaches, wherein the power source holder is accessible from the rear side to allow a power source to be inserted into or removed from the power source holder from the rear side of the power source storage station. (See at least Fig. 5, Ref. Numeral 6 (rear hinged access door); Col. 1, Lines 45-49).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hognaland to incorporate the teachings of Jelks and combine the rear hinged access door with the power source holder of Hognaland. The rear hinged access door of Jelks allows additional access to the power source holder, enabling increased efficiency and effectiveness and the ability to adjust items from the outside.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to substitute the rear hinged access door of Jelks with the power source holder of Hognaland and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Even in the combined context, the features of the power source holder of Hognaland and the features of the rear hinged access door of Jelks would be expected to function as intended, with each element in the combined context performing the same function as it did separately.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Jelks because they are a known work directed to solving the same problem, efficiently storing and dispensing stored items, which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13, and 32-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655