DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bérard et al (US 20160143524 A1), and further in view of Lam et al (WY Lam, Michael, and Gladimir VG Baranoski. "A predictive light transport model for the human iris." Computer Graphics Forum. Vol. 25. No. 3. Oxford, UK and Boston, USA: Blackwell Publishing, Inc, 2006., applicant cited).
RE claim 1, Bérard teaches A computer-implemented method (Fig 5, abstract), comprising:
obtaining refraction data ([0081]);
obtaining mesh data (Fig 5, [0094], [0018]);
generating aligned model data by aligning the refraction data and the mesh data (Fig 5, [0081], [0094], [0111]-[0112]);
calculating refraction points in the aligned model data (Fig 11, [0020], [0081], [0113]); and
and calculating an approximated iris color based on the refraction points and the aligned model data (Figs 2, 5, 11-12, 19, abstract, [0102], [0109]-[0112], [0117], [0135], [0158]).
Bérard is silent RE: calculating melanin information for the aligned model data based on the refraction points for iris pixels in the aligned model data. However Lam teaches in abstract, Figs 1-4, page 362 cols 1-2, page 364 col 2, to simulate ray tracing in in eye layers integrating actual measured iridal data, wherein the melanin provides the most significant qualitative and quantitative contributions to the variations in the iridal chromatic attributes among the iridal pigments.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Bérard a system and method of calculating melanin information for the aligned model data based on the refraction points for iris pixels in the aligned model data; as suggested by Lam, in order to integrate the melanin data in the simulation realistic rendering of human eye, and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 2, Bérard as modified by Lam teaches further comprising calculating the approximated iris color based on a melanin absorption coefficient, an iris stroma scattering coefficient, and an anisotropy of a scattering phase function (Lam Fig 4, page 362 Col 2-page 363 col 1).
RE claim 3, Bérard as modified by Lam teaches further comprising calculating the refraction points based on multiple lighting conditions (Bérard [0085], [0166], [0168]).
RE claim 4, Bérard as modified by Lam teaches further comprising: calculating a melanin concentration based on the refraction points and the aligned model data; and calculating the approximated iris color based on the melanin concentration (Lam abstract, Figs 1-4, page 362 cols 1-2, page 364 col 2).
RE claim 5, Bérard as modified by Lam teaches further comprising calculating the melanin concentration based on at least one predetermined variable (Lam abstract, Figs 1-4, page 362 cols 1-2, page 364 col 2, Table 1 wherein melanin concentration varies based on the refractive indices and molar absorptions).
RE claim 6, Bérard as modified by Lam teaches further comprising calculating the refraction points based on a Monte Carlo simulation of a plurality of light rays (Bérard [0020], [0101], Lam page 360 col 2).
RE claim 7, Bérard as modified by Lam teaches wherein the refraction points comprise a boundary layer between layers in an iris (Bérard [0020], [0140]-[0141], Lam Figs 2-3).
Claims 15-20 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 1-4, 6-7 and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Bérard teaches An apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions (Fig 32, [0138]).
Claims 8-10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bérard et al, and further in view of François et al (François, Guillaume, Pascal Gautron, Gaspard Breton, and Kadi Bouatouch. "Anatomically accurate modeling and rendering of the human eye." (2007).d).
RE claim 8, Bérard teaches A computer-implemented method (Fig 5, abstract), comprising:
obtaining refraction data ([0081]);
obtaining mesh data (Fig 5, [0094], [0018]);
generating aligned model data by aligning the refraction data and the mesh data (Fig 5, [0081], [0094], [0111]-[0112]);
calculating refraction points in the aligned model data (Fig 11, [0020], [0081], [0113]); and
and calculating an approximated iris color based on the refraction points and the aligned model data (Figs 2, 5, 11-12, 19, abstract, [0102], [0109]-[0112], [0117], [0135], [0158]).
Bérard is silent RE: by calculating a Mie scattering. However François teaches in abstract, page 5 3rd paragraph, page 13 5th paragraph, integrating known Mie scattering in the ray tracing simulation for accurate real-time rendering of the eye.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Bérard a system and method of calculating a Mie scattering; as suggested by François, for accurate real-time rendering of the eye, and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 9, Bérard as modified by François teaches further comprising calculating the approximated iris color based on a melanin absorption coefficient, an iris stroma scattering coefficient, and an anisotropy of a scattering phase function (François abstract, page 13 paragraphs 1-5).
RE claim 10, Bérard as modified by François teaches further comprising calculating the refraction points based on multiple lighting conditions (Bérard [0085], [0166], [0168]).
RE claim 14, Bérard as modified by François teaches wherein the refraction points comprise a boundary layer between layers in an iris (Bérard [0020], [0140]-[0141], François Figs 1-3).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bérard as modified by François, and further in view of Lam et al.
RE claim 11, Bérard as modified by François is silent RE further comprising: calculating a melanin concentration based on the refraction points and the aligned model data; and calculating the approximated iris color based on the melanin concentration.
However Lam teaches in abstract, Figs 1-4, page 362 cols 1-2, page 364 col 2, to simulate ray tracing in in eye layers integrating actual measured iridal data, wherein the melanin provides the most significant qualitative and quantitative contributions to the variations in the iridal chromatic attributes among the iridal pigments.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Bérard a system and method of calculating a melanin concentration based on the refraction points and the aligned model data; and calculating the approximated iris color based on the melanin concentration; as suggested by Lam, in order to integrate the melanin concentration data in the simulation realistic rendering of human eye, and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 12, Bérard as modified by François and Lam teaches further comprising calculating the melanin concentration based on at least one predetermined variable (Lam abstract, Figs 1-4, page 362 cols 1-2, page 364 col 2, Table 1 wherein melanin concentration varies based on the refractive indices and molar absorptions).
RE claim 13, Bérard as modified by François teaches further comprising calculating the refraction points based on a plurality of light rays (Bérard [0020], [0101]).
Bérard as modified by François is silent RE a Monte Carlo simulation.
However Lam teaches in abstract, Figs 1-4, page 360 col 2 to integrate actual measured iridal data in the simulation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Bérard a system and method of a Monte Carlo simulation as suggested by Lam, in order to effectively light path tracing simulation for realistic rendering of human eye utilizing known Monte Carlo simulation integrate actual measured iridal data, and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US Patent # US 12033274 B2.
Table 1 illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Present Application
1-7
8-14
15-20
US Patent # 12033274
1-6
7-12
13-17
Table 2 illustrates the conflicting claim pair with mapping, with the differences shown in bold form.
Claim 1 of present App.
Claim 1 of US 12033274 B2
A computer-implemented method
A computer-implemented method
obtaining refraction data;
obtaining refraction data;
obtaining mesh data;
obtaining mesh data;
generating aligned model data by aligning the refraction data and the mesh data;
generating aligned model data by aligning the refraction data and the mesh data;
calculating refraction points in the aligned model data;
calculating refraction points in the aligned model data;
calculating melanin information for the aligned model data based on the refraction points for iris pixels in the aligned model data; and
calculating melanin information for the aligned model data based on the refraction points for iris pixels in the aligned model data; and
calculating an approximated iris color based on the refraction points and the aligned model data.
calculating an approximated iris color based on the refraction points and the aligned model data, a melanin absorption coefficient, an iris stroma scattering coefficient, an anisotropy of a scattering phase function, and the aligned model data.
As seen from the table all elements of claim 1 of application are anticipated by Claim 1 of US Patent # 12033274 as a boarder version excluding some limitation. In addition elements of claim 2-7 are anticipated by Claims 1-6 of US Patent # 12033274
Claims 8-14 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations in claim 1-7 and therefore rejected under same rationale. Additionally claim 7 of Patent #12033274 teaches calculating a Mie scattering.
Claims 15-20 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations in claim 1-4, 6-7 and therefore rejected under same rationale. Additionally claim 13 of Patent #12033274 teaches An apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instruction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached 892).
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614