DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of its claim recitation. The last two lines of claim 4 should read “the threaded shaft of the first actuator is threadedly engaged with the internal threading of the first carrier and the threaded shaft of the second actuator is threadedly engaged with the internal threading of the second carrier.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0122395 A1 by Schroeder et al., hereinafter “Schroeder”.
Regarding claim 1, Schroeder discloses an apparatus for straightening wire in a directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine (filament straightener 104 in Figs. 1, 3 and 4; ¶[0040]), comprising:
at least three roller bearings positioned along one side of a longitudinal axis (Figs. 1 and 3 show at least three roller bearing guide members 132 positioned along one side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108; ¶[0046]); and
a first adjustable bearing and a second adjustable bearing positioned along another side of the longitudinal axis (¶[0050] discloses each roller bearing guide members 132 may be adjustable such that two guide members 132 along another side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108 may be first and second adjustable bearing guide members),
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are connected to a body (guide members 132 are connected to body member 130 in Figs. 1, 3 and 4; ¶[0046]), and
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern with the at least three roller bearings and are each configured to apply a load to the wire (Figs. 1 and 3 show guide members 132 are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern such that the first and second adjustable bearing guide members positioned along the same side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108 would be positioned in staggered relationship with members 132 positioned along the opposite side of filament 108).
Regarding claim 2, Schroeder anticipates the apparatus of claim 1 as explained above. Schroeder further discloses the first adjustable bearing is connected to a first carrier and the second adjustable bearing is connected to a second carrier. Paragraph [0054] discloses guide members 132 may be automatically adjustable using actuators. These actuators are carriers which carry each guide members 132 so as to be adjustable in relation to body member 130.
Regarding claim 3, Schroeder anticipates the apparatus of claim 2 as explained above. Schroeder further discloses a first actuator attached to the first carrier for moving the first carrier relative to the body and a second actuator attached to the second carrier for moving the second carrier relative to the body. Paragraph [0054] discloses guide members 132 may be automatically adjustable using actuators. These actuators are carriers which carry each guide members 132 so as to be adjustable in relation to body member 130.
Regarding claim 9, Schroeder anticipates the apparatus of claim 1 as explained above. Schroeder further discloses a wear resistant die downstream of the at least three roller bearings, the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing. Paragraph [0055] discloses sizing and/or shaping dies may be added downstream of straightener 104.
Regarding claim 10, Schroeder anticipates the apparatus of claim 1 as explained above. Schroeder further discloses the apparatus (straightener 104 in Fig. 1) is located in a wire feed path between a spool (spool filament supply 102; ¶[0040]) and a directed energy deposition head ( deposition head filament extruder 106 in Fig. 1) in the directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine (machine 100 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Schroeder discloses a method of straightening wire in a directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine, comprising:
feeding a wire through an apparatus including at least three roller bearings positioned along one side of a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 shows wire filament 108 being fed through straightener apparatus 104 including at least three roller bearing guide members 132 positioned along one side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108), and
a first adjustable bearing and a second adjustable bearing positioned along another side of the longitudinal axis (¶[0050] discloses each roller bearing guide members 132 may be adjustable such that two guide members 132 along another side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108 may be first and second adjustable bearing guide members),
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are connected to a body (guide members 132 are connected to body member 130 in Figs. 1, 3 and 4; ¶[0046]), and
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern with the at least three roller bearings and are each configured to apply a load to the wire (Figs. 1 and 3 show guide members 132 are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern such that the first and second adjustable bearing guide members positioned along the same side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108 would be positioned in staggered relationship with members 132 positioned along the opposite side of filament 108);
applying a load to the wire with the first adjustable bearing (Figs. 1 and 3 show guide members 132 applying a load to wire filament 108);
applying a load to the wire with the second adjustable bearing (Figs. 1 and 3 show guide members 132 applying a load to wire filament 108); and
plastically deforming the wire and straightening the wire (Fig. 3 shows filament 108 is plastically deformed to straighten it).
Regarding claim 12, Schroeder anticipates the method of claim 11 as explained above. Schroeder further discloses a wear resistant die downstream of the at least three roller bearings, the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing. Paragraph [0055] discloses sizing and/or shaping dies may be added downstream of straightener 104.
Regarding claim 13, Schroeder anticipates the method of claim 11 as explained above. Schroeder further discloses unspooling the wire before feeding the wire through the apparatus. Fig. 1 shows wire filament 108 is unspooled from filament supply spool 102 before it is fed to straightening apparatus 104.
Regarding claim 14, Schroeder discloses a directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine (machine 100 in Fig. 1), comprising
a spool for storing a wire (spool filament supply 102 in Fig. 1 for storing wire filament 108);
a directed energy deposition head (deposition head extruder 106 in Fig. 1);
a feed path between the spool and the directed energy deposition head (Fig. 1 shows a feed path between spool 102 and head 106); and
an apparatus for straightening the wire (apparatus 104 in Fig. 1), the apparatus located in the feed path including:
at least three roller bearings positioned along one side of a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1 shows wire filament 108 being fed through straightener apparatus 104 including at least three roller bearing guide members 132 positioned along one side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108), and
a first adjustable bearing and a second adjustable bearing positioned along another side of the longitudinal axis,
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are connected to a body (¶[0050] discloses each roller bearing guide members 132 may be adjustable such that two guide members 132 along another side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108 may be first and second adjustable bearing guide members), and
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern with the at least three roller bearings (Figs. 1 and 3 show guide members 132 are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern such that the first and second adjustable bearing guide members positioned along the same side of the longitudinal axis of filament 108 would be positioned in staggered relationship with members 132 positioned along the opposite side of filament 108) and are each configured to apply a load to the wire (Figs. 1 and 3 show guide members 132 applying a load to wire filament 108).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,898,317 to Ito et al., hereinafter “Ito”.
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses an apparatus for straightening wire in a directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine (wire straightening device 50 in Figs. 8-13; col. 5, line 44-46 may be used with a directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine), comprising:
at least three roller bearings positioned along one side of a longitudinal axis (Fig. 8 shows three vertically-oriented sets of rollers 58 with one roller bearing positioned along one side of the longitudinal axis of wire 14; col. 5, line 56-61); and
a first adjustable bearing and a second adjustable bearing positioned along another side of the longitudinal axis (Fig. 8 shows first and second horizontally-oriented sets of rollers 58 with one roller bearing positioned along another side of the longitudinal axis of wire 14 that are adjustable using bolts 55 and support plates 60; col. 5, line 61 through col. 6, line 15),
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are connected to a body (the first and second horizontally-oriented sets of rollers 58 in Fig. 8 are connected to body frame 52; col. 5, line 47), and
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern with the at least three roller bearings and are each configured to apply a load to the wire (the first and second horizontally-oriented sets of rollers 58 in Fig. 8 are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern with the three vertically-oriented sets of rollers 58 and all roller sets 58 are configured to apply a load to wire 14).
Regarding claim 2, Ito anticipates the apparatus of claim 1 as explained above. Ito further discloses the first adjustable bearing is connected to a first carrier and the second adjustable bearing is connected to a second carrier. The first and second horizontally-oriented sets of rollers 58 in Fig. 8 are each connected to respective carrier support plates 61 in Figs. 9-11. Col. 5, line 64-68.
Regarding claim 3, Ito anticipates the apparatus of claim 2 as explained above. Ito further discloses a first actuator attached to the first carrier for moving the first carrier relative to the body and a second actuator attached to the second carrier for moving the second carrier relative to the body. Bolts 55 in Figs. 8-10 are attached to carrier support plates 61 of the first and second horizontally-oriented roller sets 58 as actuators for moving support plates 61. Col. 6, line 4-13.
Regarding claim 4, Ito anticipates the apparatus of claim 3 as explained above. Ito further discloses the first actuator and the second actuator each include a threaded shaft (bolts 55 in Figs. 8-10 are threaded shafts) and the first carrier and second carrier each include internal threading (Fig. 9 shows carrier plates 61 each have internal threading receiving bolts 55), and the first actuator and second actuator each comprise a threaded shaft for engaging the internal threading of the first actuator and the second actuator (Fig. 9 shows threaded bolt actuators 55 are engaged with the internal threading of carrier plates 61).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 112406097 A by Chen, hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus for straightening wire in a directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine (conveying device 3 shown in Fig. 1 may be used to straighten wire for use with a 3D printing machine; ¶[0052]), comprising:
at least three roller bearings positioned along one side of a longitudinal axis (Figs. 5 and 9 shows roller bearings 36, 37 and 38 along the upper side of the longitudinal axis of the device; ¶[0056]); and
a first adjustable bearing and a second adjustable bearing positioned along another side of the longitudinal axis (first and second adjustable bearing rollers 37 and 38 on the lower side of the device longitudinal axis in Fig. 9 are adjustable via slide holes 326 and 328 in Figs. 6 and 9; ¶[0060] and [0061]),
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are connected to a body (rollers 37 and 38 are connected to body 31 in Figs. 4-6; ¶[0045]), and
wherein the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing are positioned in a staggered alternating pattern with the at least three roller bearings and are each configured to apply a load to the wire (First adjustable bearing roller 37 on the lower side of the longitudinal axis is in staggered relationship with first roller bearing roller 36 on the upper side of the longitudinal axis and second adjustable bearing roller 38 on the lower side of the longitudinal axis is in staggered relationship with second roller bearing roller 37 on the upper side of the longitudinal axis. The first and second adjustable bearing rollers apply a load to the wire by pressing the wire filament into place as disclosed in ¶[0076].).
Regarding claim 2, Chen anticipates the apparatus of claim 1 as explained above. Chen further discloses the first adjustable bearing is connected to a first carrier (first adjustable bearing roller 37 on the lower side of the longitudinal axis is connected to first carrier bearing seat 316 in Figs. 5 and 6; ¶[0059]) and the second adjustable bearing is connected to a second carrier (second adjustable roller 38 on the lower side of the longitudinal axis is connected to a second carrier bearing seat 316 in Figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Chen anticipates the apparatus according to claim 2 as explained above. Chen further discloses a first actuator attached to the first carrier for moving the first carrier relative to the body (threaded shafts 318 and 319 rotated by motor 317 in Fig. 5 act as an actuator for moving carrier bearing seat 316 of first adjustable roller bearing roller 37; ¶[0080] and [0081]) and a second actuator attached to the second carrier for moving the second carrier relative to the body (threaded shafts 318 and 319 rotated by motor 317 in Fig. 5 act as an actuator for moving carrier bearing seat 316 of second adjustable roller bearing roller 38).
Regarding claim 4, Chen anticipates the apparatus of claim 3 as explained above. Chen further discloses the first actuator and the second actuator each include a threaded shaft (¶[0080] and [0081] disclose threaded shafts 318and 319 in Fig. 5 as part of the first and second actuators, respectively) and the first carrier and second carrier each include internal threading (¶[0081] discloses carrier bearing seats 316 in Figs. 5 and 6 are internally threaded to engage threaded shafts 318 and 319).
Regarding claim 5, Chen anticipates the apparatus of claim 4 as explained above. Chen further discloses the first actuator and the second actuator each include a motor for rotating each shaft. Each of threaded shaft 318/319 in Fig. 5 has a motor 317 for rotating it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Schroeder.
Regarding claim 6, Chen anticipates the apparatus of claim 5 as explained above. However, Chen is silent regarding structure used to control conveying device 3 such that it is silent regarding a sensor and controller used to control the adjustable bearing rollers 37 and 38.
In the same field of straightening wire in a directed energy deposition additive manufacturing machine, Schroeder teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a bend sensor and controller to control adjustable bearing guide members of a straightening apparatus. See paragraph [0053].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a bend sensor and controller to control motors 317 of Chen to adjust first and second adjustable bearing rollers 37 and 38 in the same way Schroeder teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Schroeder to the apparatus disclosed by Chen would achieve the predictable result of incorporating control structure into Chen’s disclosed apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art reference combination of Chen in view of Schroeder renders the apparatus according to claim 6 unpatentable as explained above. Schroeder further teaches the controller is configured to execute the following instructions:
determine a need to adjust a position of at least one of the first adjustable bearing and the second adjustable bearing (¶[0053] teaches bend sensor 154 sends curvature information displayed by the controller to determine the need for adjustment); and
provide to at least one of the first actuator and second actuator an instruction to move the carrier associated with the actuator (¶[0053] teaches guide members 132 are adjusted to change the amount of bend).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder in view of Soviet Union Patent Publication No. SU 1542677 A1 by Stepanenko et al., hereinafter “Stepanenko”.
Regarding claim 8, Schroeder anticipates the apparatus of claim 1 as explained above. Paragraph [0054] of Schroeder further discloses guide members 132 may be automatically adjustable using actuators. But Schroeder is silent regarding details of the actuators.
In the same field of wire straightening machines, Stepanenko teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wedge-shaped actuators in wire straightening machines to adjust force applied to the wire. See Fig. 3 and its written description on page 2.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ wedge-type actuators as the type of actuator which move Schroeders adjustable guide members 132 in the same way Stepanenko teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Stepanenko to the disclosure of Schroeder would achieve the predictable result of supplying Schroeder’s disclosure with a particular type of adjustment actuation, i.e. wedge-type actuation.
Conclusion
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725