DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first coating layer comprising a first layer and a second layer disposed on the first layer”, as required in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian (EP 3,325,713) in view of Inagaki (WO 2022/250135).
Claim 1
Sebastian discloses a packaging capable to be used for accommodating an aerosol delivering article, the packaging comprising a base paper (102); a first coating layer (defined by combination of 106 and 108) on a top of the base paper; and a second coating layer (104) on a bottom of the base paper, wherein the first coating layer comprises a first layer (106) and a second layer (108) disposed on the first layer (see figure 1), the first layer comprises calcium carbonate (see [0016] and [0017]), and the second layer disposed on the first layer comprises a water-resistant agent comprising polylactic acid (see [0016], [0017], [0019], and [0024]). Sebastian discloses the polymer coating materials disclosed for layer (104) are also used for the disclosure of coating layers (106 and 108) (see [0019] and [0020]). Sebastian further discloses the base paper having a basis weight of 230 grams per square meter (see [0015]). Sebastian does not disclose the thickness of the second coating layer. However, Inagaki discloses a liquid repellent paper layer comprising a paper layer provided with a coating that provides water repellency to the paper layer, wherein the coating has a thickness which can be 30 micrometers (see pages 6 and 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the second coating layer of Sebastian with the required thickness as taught by Inagaki depending on the desired strength and efficient water repellency of the packaging. Please note that Applicant’s Written Description, page 5 lines 30-32 and page 6 lines 24-27, does not disclose any criticality for the claimed subject matter.
Claim 8
Sebastian further discloses the packaging comprises an inner liner (see [0018]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian (EP 3,325,713) and Inagaki (WO 2022/250135) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lange (WO 2022012961).
Sebastian further discloses the thickness of the base paper is at least 0.25 mm (250 micrometers) and comprises recycled paperboard (see [0015]). Sebastian does not disclose the exact required thickness for the base paper. However, Lange discloses a container for consumer goods comprising a paper layer/first cellulose based layer (see page 2 lines 3-7) comprising a thickness between 200 and 400 micrometers (see page 15 lines 22-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the base paper of Sebastian with the required thicknesses depending on the desired strength of the packaging. Please note that Applicant’s Written Description, page 5 lines 30-32 and page 6 lines 24-27, does not disclose any criticality for the claimed subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Sebastian does not disclose the first coating comprising a polymer with a calcium carbonate, the examiner points out that applicant is arguing more than the claimed limitations. Nowhere in the claim is required that the first coating comprises a polymer. Sebastian discloses a first coating (defined by combination of 106 and 108) on a side of the base paper substrate, wherein the first coating is a polymer of a thermoplastic material with embedded materials, wherein the embedded material could be calcium carbonate and the second layer could be polylactic acid polymer (see [0016] and [0017]) which is a water-resistant agent. Sebastian discloses the polymer coating materials disclosed for layer (104) are also used for the disclosure of coating layers (106 and 108) (see [0019] and [0020]), therefore the first coating layer is considered as combination of layers (106 and 108)
and the second coating layer is layer (104).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736