DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortin (US 2022/0016875) in view of Inagaki (WO 2022/250135).
Claim 1
Fortin discloses a packaging capable to be used for accommodating an aerosol delivering article, the packaging comprising a base paper (32); a first coating layer (defined by combination of 34a, 36a, and 38a) on a top of the base paper; and a second coating layer (defined by combination of layers 34b, 36b, and 38b) on a bottom of the base paper, wherein the first coating layer comprises a first layer (34a) and a second layer (36a and 38a) disposed on the first layer (see figure 3), the first layer comprises calcium carbonate (see [0024] and [0101]), and the second layer disposed on the first layer comprises a water-resistant agent comprising acrylic latex (see [0018] and [0019]). Fortin further discloses the second coating layer comprising water resistant agent comprising acrylic latex. Fortin discloses layers (36a and 38a) are aqueous coating layers (see [0101]) which include a polyester aqueous dispersion comprising polylactic acid or polyethylene materials (see [0071]). Fortin further discloses the base paper having a basis weight of about 200 grams per square meter (see [0048]). Fortin does not disclose the thickness of the second coating layer. However, Inagaki discloses a liquid repellent paper layer comprising a paper layer provided with a coating that provides water repellency to the paper layer, wherein the coating has a thickness which can be 30 micrometers (see pages 6 and 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the second coating layer of Fortin with the required thickness as taught by Inagaki depending on the desired strength and efficient water repellency of the packaging. Please note that Applicant’s Written Description, page 5 lines 30-32 and page 6 lines 24-27, does not disclose any criticality for the claimed subject matter.
Claim 7
Fortin further discloses the substrate having a thickness from about 100 microns to about 600 microns (see [0046]), which covers the required range of 300 microns to 400 microns.
Claim 15
Fortin further discloses the first layer includes an organic composition, such as ethylene or styrene-acrylate binder, and clay (see [0024] and [0051]).
Claim 16
Fortin further discloses the second layer consist of acrylic latex dispersion (see [0019]).
Claim 17
Fortin further discloses the second layer comprises an organic material, such as ethylene, clays, and calcium carbonate (see [0024]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortin (US 2022/0016875) and Inagaki (WO 2022/250135) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sebastian (EP 3,325,713).
Fortin further discloses the packaging material having tailored moisture vapor transmission, oxygen permeation or transmission, oil and grease resistance and light properties (see [0001]). Fortin does not disclose the packaging comprises any of a package wrapper, an inner frame, and an inner liner. However, Sebastian discloses a paper packaging material (100) used to seal a package which could be used as an inner liner wrapped around the contents of the package (see [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the packaging material of Fortin used as an inner liner for sealing contents of a package as taught by Sebastian because it is well-known and nominal the uses of packaging material with moisture vapor and/or oxygen transmission resistance to be used as an inner liner wrapped around the contents of the package for protection of the contents disposed within a package.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736