DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 2/12/2024 has been considered. An initialed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schreiner et al. (US 20240286489 A1).
Re. Claims 1, 5 and 7, Schreiner disclose an electric drive system/method (Fig. 1) having power electronics (element 2) and having an electric machine (element 1) configured to be controlled by the power electronics (2),wherein
the drive system is configured to be operated in a working mode (working mode of device in Fig. 1) and in a freewheeling mode as operating modes (¶. [0017]), wherein
the power electronics (2) have at least three electrical phases for controlling the electric machine (Fig. 1), wherein
current value of an electric current of one of the phases is monitored (¶. [0023] and [0034]), wherein
the current value is compared to a predefined threshold value (¶. [0011]), and wherein
an active short circuit is activated as a safe operating state of the power electronics (2) when the current value exceeds the threshold value (ID) (¶. [0020]),
wherein
the electric drive system (1) is monitored as to whether its current operating mode is the freewheeling mode (SF) (¶. [0033] and box 16 flows to box 17 in fig. 2), and
the predefined threshold value (ID) is lowered to a freewheeling threshold value (IF) when the presence of the freewheeling mode (SF) is detected (“the detected current value lies below the defined current limit, box 16 flows to box 17 in which a first fault operation mode is implemented. A freewheeling state or a freewheeling mode in which the switching devices 3-8 are open can advantageously be realized as first fault operation mode” (¶. [0034])
Re. claim 2, Schreiner discloses the lowering to the freewheeling threshold value (IF) is performed with a predefined onset delay time (At") after the presence of the freewheeling mode (SF) is detected (¶. [0038].)
Re. claim 3, Schreiner discloses the monitoring of the operating mode and/or of a request to set the operating mode is performed continuously (¶. [0038]), and in that the freewheeling threshold value (IF) is increased to the predefined threshold value (ID) when the presence of or a request to set an operating mode other than the freewheeling mode (SF) is detected (¶. [0034]- [0038]).
Re. claim 4, a delay time in an inherent propriety in components if the discloses circuit of Schreiner to be considered in the design.
Re. claim 8, Schreiner discloses a comparator circuit adapted to monitor the current value and compare it with the predefined threshold value (ID) and/or the freewheeling threshold value (IF) (¶. [0033].)
Conclusion
/SAID BOUZIANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846