DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
There are three (3) sets of claims submitted on 12 FEBRUARY 2024. The claim set considered is the claim set consisting of five (5) pages.
In the claim set, Claims 1-10 and 12-22 are ‘Previously Presented’ or ‘Original’ and Claim 11 is ‘Canceled’.
Current pending claims are Claims 1-10 and 12-22 and are considered on the merits below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 FEBRUARY 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 29 AUGUST 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 JUNE 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In [0054], the instance of ‘fist’ is misspelled and should be ‘first’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “storage unit for storing a sample used for calibration or quality control” in claim 1 and “storage unit automatically prepares the sample…” in claim 10; and “storage unit which stores a sample…” in claim 18.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describe any structural feature of what the “storage unit” is.
A “first analysis unit which performs analysis using the sample stored…” in claim 1.
A “second analysis unit which performs analysis using the sample ejected …” in claim 1.
An “analysis unit which perform analysis…” in claim 18 and 20.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describe any structural feature of what either of the “analysis unit(s)” are.
An “ejection unit which ejects the sample stored” in claim 1; and an “ejection unit which ejects the sample..” in claim 18.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the ejections unit to be ejection lines [0036] and claim 2, 5 and 19, 20.
A “display unit displays the ejection line” in claims 3 and 7; and “display unit which displays a measurement result…” in claim 13; and “display unit for displaying to which ejection line …” in claim 19.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the display unit to be a screen, [0037, 0038].
A “control unit which sets which ejection line is used for ejection” in claim 4 and “control unit which sets a timing to eject a sample” in claim 8; and “a control unit which selects a mode to eject…” in claim 9; and “control unit works to remeasurement automatically…” in claim 17.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describes any structural feature of what the “control unit” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “storing unit for storing a sample used for calibration or quality control” in claim 1 and “storage unit automatically prepares the sample…” in claim 10; and “storage unit which stores a sample…” in claim 18, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of storing and prepares. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to store or prepare. The use of the term “store” or “prepare” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “analysis unit which performs analysis …” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of performs. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform. The use of the term “perform” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “control unit which sets which ejection line is used for ejection” in claim 4 and “control unit which sets a timing to eject a sample” in claim 8; and “a control unit which selects a mode to eject…” in claim 9; and “control unit works to remeasurement automatically…” in claim 17 ” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of control. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform. The use of the term “control” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim9, the phrase “preferentially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of the storage unit, analysis unit and the control unit. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SIEMENS, JP 2019-521359 A or under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SIEMENS, US Publication No. 2019/0277869 A1.
Both references mentioned above were submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 12 FEBRUARY 2024; US Patent Documents No. 1 and Foreign Patent Documents No. 7.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, an automatic analysis system.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference SIEMENS discloses an automatic analysis system, abstract, analyzer system, comprising:
a first automatic analyzer provided with a storage unit for storing a sample used for calibration or quality control, Figure 1 and 4, sample handler 10 with module 32 and storage 16, [0074, 0075, 0080, 0087];
a second automatic analyzer located physically away from the first automatic analyzer, Figure 1 and 4, sample handler 10 with module 34, [0074, 0075, 0087]; and
an autonomous moving body, [0011, 0015, 0053, 0058], wherein the first automatic analyzer includes: a first analysis unit which performs analysis using the sample stored in the storage unit, [0058]; and
an ejection unit which ejects the sample stored in the storage unit, [0058], robot,
the second automatic analyzer includes a second analysis unit which performs analysis using the sample ejected by the ejection unit, [0091, 0093], vessel mover system, and the autonomous moving body transports the sample from the ejection unit of the first automatic analyzer to the second automatic analyzer, [0091].
Additional Disclosure Included are: Claim 2: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 1, wherein the ejection unit includes a plurality of ejection lines, Figure 4, and the first automatic analyzer includes a display unit which displays to which ejection line that the sample is ejected, [0092, 0109].; Claim 3: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 2, wherein when analysis of the sample is completed, the display unit displays the ejection line to which the sample is ejected, [0091, 0092, 0109]. The instant claim language is directed to how the system is intended to be used and/or the manner of operating the system. The claim language has been given a relative amount of patentable weight. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In addition, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).; Claim 4: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 2, comprising a control unit which sets which ejection line is used for ejection, [0091, 0092, 0106, 0107].; Claim 5: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 1, wherein the ejection unit includes: a general sample ejection unit which ejects a general sample analyzed by the first analysis unit; and an ejection unit for another analyzer to which a sample to be used for calibration or quality control by the second analysis unit is ejected, Figure 4-6, [0091, 0093].; Claim 6: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 1, wherein the first automatic analyzer ejects a general sample analyzed by the first analysis unit and a sample to be used for calibration or quality control by the second analysis unit, to the ejection unit at different timings, [0091-0093], The instant claim language is directed to how the system is intended to be used and/or the manner of operating the system. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In addition, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).; Claim 7: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 6, wherein the first automatic analyzer includes a display unit which displays a timing to eject the sample when analysis of the sample is completed, [0055, 0056, 0149, 0163]. ; Claim 8: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 6, comprising: a control unit which sets a timing to eject a sample, [0055, 0056, 0061, 0062, 0091, 0092, 0159, 0161].; Claim 9: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 8, comprising: a control unit which selects a mode to eject a general sample preferentially or a mode to eject a sample to be used for calibration or quality control preferentially, [0055, 0056, 0061, 0062, 0091, 0092, 0159, 0161]. The instant claim language is directed to how the system is intended to be used and/or the manner of operating the system. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In addition, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).; Claim 10: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 1, wherein the storage unit automatically prepares the sample to be usable for calibration or quality control and automatically supplies the prepared sample to the first analysis unit or the ejection unit, [0058, 0072-0074].; Claim 12: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 1, comprising: a plurality of sample storage areas including the storage unit; and a control unit which sets the sample storage area and a destination of transportation for each sample, [0053, 0058, 0059, 0072, 0073, 0078, 0080].; Claim 13: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 1, comprising: a display unit which displays a measurement result of each automatic analyzer side by side when a sample is used for analysis in a plurality of automatic analyzers, [0061, 0231].; Claim 14: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 1, comprising: a control unit which, if measurement or a measurement result is abnormal, sets a mode to make remeasurement automatically, [0067, 0311], repeat processing…rerun. .; Claim 15: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 14, wherein, when a measurement result is not obtained, the control unit works to make remeasurement automatically, [0067, 0311], repeat processing…rerun or auto-dilution. The instant claim language is directed to how the system is intended to be used and/or the manner of operating the system. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In addition, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).; Claim 16: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 14, wherein, when a measurement result exceeds a prescribed variation range, the control unit works to make remeasurement automatically, [0067, 0311], repeat processing…reflex, rerun or auto-dilution. The instant claim language is directed to how the system is intended to be used and/or the manner of operating the system. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In addition, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).; and Claim 17: wherein the automatic analysis system according to Claim 14, wherein the control unit works to make remeasurement automatically a prescribed number of times, [0067, 0311], repeat processing…rerun or auto-dilution.
Applicant’s invention is directed toward a device, an automatic analyzer.
Regarding Claim18, the SIEMENS reference discloses an automatic analyzer, Figure 1 and 2, sample handler 10, [0074], comprising:
a storage unit which stores a sample used for calibration or quality control, [0072, 0073], storage module, Figure 10B, module 120, [0177, 0178];
an analysis unit which performs analysis using the sample stored in the storage unit, Figure 4, module 32 or 34, [0087-0092];
and an ejection unit which ejects the sample stored in the storage unit and to be used in another automatic analyzer, [0015, 0053, 0058, 0065, 0066], robot arm, wherein the sample ejected to the ejection unit is transported to the other automatic analyzer located physically away, by an autonomous moving body, [0053, 0058, 0069].
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 19: wherein the automatic analyzer according to Claim 18, wherein the ejection unit includes a plurality of ejection lines, Figure 4,and a display unit for displaying to which ejection line that the sample is ejected is further provided, [0092, 0109].; Claim 20: wherein the automatic analyzer according to Claim 18, wherein the ejection unit includes: a general sample ejection unit for ejecting a general sample analyzed by the analysis unit; and an ejection unit for another automatic analyzer which ejects a sample to be used for calibration or quality control by the other automatic analyzer, Figure 4-6, [0091, 0093].; Claim 21: wherein the automatic analyzer according to Claim 18, wherein a general sample analyzed by the analysis unit and a sample to be used for calibration or quality control by the other automatic analyzer are ejected to the ejection unit at different timings, [0091-0093]. The instant claim language is directed to how the system is intended to be used and/or the manner of operating the system. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In addition, to satisfy an intended use limitation which is limiting, a prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, an automatic analyzer.
Regarding Claim 22, the SIEMENS reference discloses an automatic analyzer, Figure 1, handler 10, [0074], provided with an analysis unit for performing analysis using a sample, Figure 4, module 32 or 34, [0087], or Figure 10A, module 120, [0176], wherein the analysis unit performs calibration or quality control using a sample which is prepared by another automatic analyzer located physically away from the automatic analyzer and transported by an autonomous moving body, [0058, 0066, 0072, 0073, 0176, 0177].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2020/021837 A1 to IMAI (also published as US Publication No. 2021/0270858 A1) discloses an automatic analysis system , Figure 1, analysis area 101, [0034], comprising: a first automatic analyzer provided with a storage unit for storing a sample used for calibration or quality control, Figure 1, unit 103, [0061]; a second automatic analyzer located physically away from the first automatic analyzer, Figure 1, unit 112b, [0034]; and an autonomous moving body, Figure 1, robot 102, [0034], wherein the first automatic analyzer includes: a first analysis unit which performs analysis using the sample stored in the storage unit, [0035, 0061]; and an ejection unit which ejects the sample stored in the storage unit, Figure 1, transport device 106, [0034], the second automatic analyzer includes a second analysis unit which performs analysis using the sample ejected by the ejection unit, Figure 1, 112b, [0034], and the autonomous moving body transports the sample from the ejection unit of the first automatic analyzer to the second automatic analyzer, [0066].
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797