DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 35 and 36, claim limitations “means for receiving” and “means for creating” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “means for” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 35 and 36 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: (see Figs. 2-8, specification para 152-259).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Objections
Claims 22-31 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding claim 22, the “authorisation” in line 2, should be replaced with – authorization-- to ensure consistency with the terminology used in the claims (e.g. claim 23 line 1, claim 25 line 25).
Claims 23-31 are objected as being dependent of objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 34 is directed to “an apparatus” yet it depends from claim 32 which is directed to “A method”. Claim 34 is rejected for improper dependency across statutory categories. It is unclear whether claim 34 is directed to a process or a machine. Since, the apparatus claim depend on a method claim it is unclear if the scope of claim 34 is limited to the physical structure of the apparatus or the performance of the steps-recited in claim 32.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 22-28, 30-32 and 34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al(US 2020/0359440 A1) in view of Tiwari et al(US 2023/0067830 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Qiao ‘440 teaches, a method for a network function ([0132], [0182] and Figs. 11-16, method for network functions (e.g. CHF, SMF, AMF)), the method comprising: during or subsequent to performing at least part of an authentication and/or authorisation procedure([0132] and Fig.11, SMF sending a charging request data to CHF during authorization procedure of wireless device)
signalling, to a charging function, a charging data request([0132], [0182], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, SMF 160 sending charging data request to the charging function (CHF) 1012), the charging data request comprising an identifier of the user equipment, an identifier of the network slice, and an indication of an event to which the charging data request relates([0132], [0182], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, the charging data request comprising at least one wireless device identifier (e.g., SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), NSSAI(s) and the NSI identifiers, and session information of a PDU session); and
receiving, from the charging function, a charging data response([0132], [0183], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, the SMF 160 receiving charging data response message 112 from the CHF). Although Qiao ‘440 implicitly teaches, teaches an authentication and/or authorisation procedure for a user equipment to access a network slice([0105], [0128], [0132] and Figs. 8, 9, 11, performing authorization to use network resource which may include authorization to use network slice).
Qiao ‘440 does not explicitly teach, an authentication and/or authorisation procedure for a user equipment to access a network slice.
Tiwari ‘830 teaches, an authentication and/or authorisation procedure for a user equipment to access a network slice ([0050], [0051], [0060] and figs. 2, 3 and 8, performing network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure for a UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘830 further teaches, wherein the network function is a network slice specific authentication and authorization function ([0060], [0133]- [01337], and Figs. 3 and 8, network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) 700 performing authorization procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Qiao ‘440 further teaches, wherein the network function is an access and mobility function ([0120]- [0132] and figs. 11, 16, access and mobility function (AMF) communicating/signaling the CHF via SMF).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘830 further teaches receiving, from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting server, a charging profile for a Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization process ([0032], [0133]-[01337], and Figs. 3 and 8, receiving via network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) 700 UE profile related to charging from AAA-S).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘830 further teaches, wherein the receiving the charging profile from the Authentication, Authorization and Accounting server comprises receiving the charging profile via a Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization function( [0032], [0133] –[01337], and Figs. 3 and 8, network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) 700 receiving UE profile related to charging from AAA-S).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘830 further teaches, wherein the charging profile comprises a set of charging characteristics, and the method comprises: storing a set of charging characteristics([0033], [0040]-[0041], AMF storing status information of NSSAA which is related to UE charging profile); and overriding use of the stored set of charging characteristics to use the charging characteristics comprised in the charging profile([0096], [0157]-[0158], AMF controller 100 provides new rejected NSSAIs to the UE 300 including the S-NSSAI for which authorization has been revoked).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Qiao ‘440 further teaches, wherein the event comprises at least one of: an authorization, a reauthorization, an authentication, a reauthentication, or a revocation ([0105], [0128], [0132] and Figs. 8, 9, 11, communicating authorization messages for using network resource, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Qiao ‘440 further teaches, wherein the charging data response comprises an indication of the event ([0132], [0183], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, charging data response message confirmation related to the established session(event)).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Qiao ‘440 further teaches, wherein the charging data request indicates whether the event has been successful or unsuccessful([0132], [0182], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, the charging data request comprising least one of: the session/network slice correlation indication; the asymmetric service indication; the session information of the first PDU session; the network slice information of the first network slice which indicates information related to successful establishment of session).
Regarding claim 32, Qiao ‘440 teaches, a method for an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting function([0105], [0128], [0132] and Figs. 8, 9, 11, network functions communicating for authenticating a wireless device to use network resource), the method comprising: sending, to a network function, a charging profile([0132], [0182], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, SMF 160 sending charging data request to the charging function (CHF) 1012).
Qiao ‘440 does not explicitly teach, a network slice specific Authentication and Authorization process.
Tiwari ‘830 teaches, a network slice specific Authentication and Authorization process ([0050], [0051], [0060] and figs. 2, 3 and 8, performing network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure for a UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘830 further teaches, wherein the charging profile is comprised in an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting protocol message in response to an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting request ([0090], [0100]- [0102] and Figs. 6-7, receiving a response from authentication authorization and accounting (AAA-S)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 35, Qiao ‘440 teaches, a method for a charging function([0132], [0182] and Figs. 11-16, method for a charging function( CHF)), the method comprising means for: receiving, from a network function
a charging data request([0132], [0182], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, the charging function (CHF) 1012 receiving charging data request from SMF), the charging data request comprising an identifier of a user equipment, an identifier of a network slice, and an indication of an event to which the charging data request relates([0132], [0182], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, the charging data request comprising at least one wireless device identifier (e.g., SUPI, PEI, and/or GPSI), NSSAI(s) and the NSI identifiers, and session information of a PDU session), and signalling, to the network function, a charging data response([0132], [0183], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, the SMF 160 receiving charging data response message 112 from the CHF).
Qiao ‘440 does not explicitly teach, wherein the event is one of: an authorization, a reauthorization, an authentication, a reauthentication, and/or a revocation.
Tiwari ‘830 teaches, wherein the event is one of: an authorization, a reauthorization, an authentication, a reauthentication, and/or a revocation ([0050], [0051], [0060] and figs. 2, 3 and 8, network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure for a UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Qiao ‘440 by incorporating the teaching of Tiwari ‘830, since such modification would enable an AMF controller to reduce signaling traffic and also save network resources, as suggested by Tiwari ‘830([0009]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Qiao ‘440 further teaches, means for creating a charging record in response to receipt of the charging data request ([0132], [0138], [0192], the CHF creating charging data record (CDR) in response to receiving a request).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Qiao ‘440 further teaches, wherein the charging data response comprises an indication of the event([0132], [0183], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, charging data response message 112 from the CHF comprising confirmation of an event).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations, Qiao ‘440 further teaches, wherein the charging data request indicates whether the event has been successful or unsuccessful([0132], [0182], [0233] and Figs. 11, 16, the charging data request comprising least one of: the session/network slice correlation indication; the asymmetric service indication; the session information of the first PDU session; the network slice information of the first network slice which indicates information related to successful establishment of session).
Claims 29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Koshta et al(US 2022/0312307 A1).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations except, determining whether charging for Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is active in the network function, wherein the signalling is performed when it is determined that charging for Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is active in the network function.
Koshta ‘307 teaches, determining whether charging for Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is active in the network function( [0065], [0100], and Figs. 6, 7, determining slice associated with NSSAA is active), wherein the signalling is performed when it is determined that charging for Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is active in the network function( [0065], [0100], and Figs. 6, 7, determining slice associated with NSSAA is active., signaling to other network functions when the it is active).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 by incorporating the teaching of Koshta ‘307, since such modification would provide a method of disabling N1 mode in response to several scenarios including an S-NSSAI failure, searching NR PLMNs after a loss of coverage in an attempt to maintain network slices, as suggested by Koshta ‘307(abstract).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the charging profile indicates whether charging for Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is active or inactive in the network function.
Koshta ‘307 teaches, wherein the charging profile indicates whether charging for Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization is active or inactive in the network function( [0065], [0100], and Figs. 6, 7, determining slice associated with NSSAA is active).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Qiao ‘440 and Tiwari ‘830 by incorporating the teaching of Koshta ‘307, since such modification would provide a method of disabling N1 mode in response to several scenarios including an S-NSSAI failure, searching NR PLMNs after a loss of coverage in an attempt to maintain network slices, as suggested by Koshta ‘307(abstract).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474