DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/683,093 filed on 02/12/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Application Nos. KR10-2022-0068280 filed on 06/03/2022 and PCT/KR2023/007552 filed on 06/01/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on 02/12/2024, 04/02/2025, 04/23/2025 and 05/08/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figures 1(a) and 1(b) should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 12-13 recite the limitation “a rear end of each of the first partition member and the second partition member have an opening” but should read “a rear end of each of the first partition member and the second partition member has an opening”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 recites the limitation “at least one of the first partition member and the second partition member includes at least one first hole between the first pair of ribs.” However, the first pair of ribs is recited as being included in the first partition member. Therefore, it is unclear how the second partition member may include a first hole “between the first pair of ribs” of the first partition member.
Regarding Claim 9, claim 9 depends upon claim 1 which claims the at least one first hole is included in either the first partition member or the second partition member. Claim 9 then recites the limitation that the second hole is formed “on a side opposite the at least one first hole.” Because the location of the first hole is not clearly fixed, the location of the second hole is unclear.
Regarding Claim 14, claim 14 depends upon claim 9 which recites that the second hole is on a side opposite the at least one first hole, while claim 14 recites the limitation that each supplementary wall comprises the at least one first hole and the second hole “on each side.” It is unclear whether both the first hole and second hole are formed on both sides of the supplementary wall, or whether the holes are formed on opposite sides.
Regarding Claim 15, claim 15 recites the limitation “the supplementary wall,” while claim 1 from which it depends recites “a plurality of supplementary walls.” It is unclear whether the recited upper gas flow path and lower gas flow path are included in each of the plurality of supplementary walls or only in one supplementary wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212 B), US-20220123427-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and hereinafter referenced below and further in view of Gondoh (US-20210066690-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ren discloses a battery pack (see e.g. "a power battery pack" in paragraph [0047]) accommodating a cell stack including one or more battery cells (see e.g. "several battery cells 200" in paragraph [0047] and part number 200 in FIG. 12), the battery pack comprising:
a pack case (see e.g. "battery tray 100" in paragraph [0047] and part number 100 in FIG. 19) having a space in which the cell stack is placed (see e.g. "an enclosed space for accommodating the several battery cells" in paragraph [0047]), the pack case comprising:
a base plate supporting a lower portion of the cell stack (see e.g. " a base plate 10" in paragraph [0052] and part number 10 in FIG. 19);
a main wall extending across the base plate and coupled to a center portion of the base plate (see e.g. "longitudinal partition plates 31" in paragraph [0079] and part number 31 in FIG. 19);
a side wall (see e.g. " side beam 20" in paragraph [0079] and part number 20 in FIG. 19) having a hollow shape and including a gas venting path therein (see e.g. part number 20 in FIG. 10), and coupled along a periphery of an edge of the base plate (see e.g. "a part of the tray body is a hollow structure, and the hollow structure serves as the air passage" in paragraph [0006] and part number 20 in FIG. 19); and
a plurality of supplementary walls (see e.g. "transverse partition plate 32" in paragraph [0079] and part number 32 in FIG. 19), each of the plurality of supplementary walls having a front end coupled to the main wall, a rear end coupled to the side wall (see e.g. part number 32 in FIG. 19),
a first partition member (see e.g. first face of part number 32 in FIG. 19) and a second partition member coupled to the first partition member (see e.g. second face of part number 32 in FIG. 19), each partition member comprising a plurality of holes (see e.g. part numbers 30 and 31 in FIG. 1).
Ren does not disclose that the first partition member includes a first pair of ribs extending in a longitudinal direction along a first side of the first partition member or that at least one of the first partition member and the second partition member includes at least one first hole between the first pair of ribs.
Gondoh, however, in the same field of endeavor, battery packs with built in exhaust paths, discloses a supplementary wall (see e.g. "battery pack exhaust duct 6" in paragraph [0022] and part number 6 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh) comprising a first partition member (see e.g. " first side wall 30 c" in paragraph [0034] and part number 30c in FIG. 3 of Gondoh) including a first pair of ribs extending in a longitudinal direction along a first side of the first partition member (see e.g. "exhaust guide components 36" in paragraph [0033] and [art numbers 36 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh), and a second partition member coupled to the first partition member (see e.g. " second side wall 30 d." in paragraph [0034] and part number 30d in FIG. 3 of Gondoh),
wherein at least one of the first partition member and the second partition member includes at least one first hole between the first pair of ribs (see e.g. "exhaust outlet 34" in paragraph [0036] and part number 34 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second partition member of Ren et al. such that the first partition member includes a first pair of ribs extending in a longitudinal direction along a first side of the first partition member, and at least one of the first partition member and the second partition member includes at least one first hole between the first pair of ribs as taught by Gondoh in order to allow the gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Regarding Claim 2, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ren further discloses that ach of the plurality of supplementary walls is arranged to be separately spaced along a longitudinal direction of the main wall on both sides of the main wall (see e.g. part number 32 in FIG. 19).
Regarding Claim 3, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ren does not disclose that the first pair of ribs are vertically spaced from each other by a predetermined distance.
Gondoh, however, discloses that the first pair of ribs are vertically spaced from each other by a predetermined distance (see e.g. part numbers 36 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second partition member of Ren et al. such that the first pair of ribs are vertically spaced from each other by a predetermined distance as taught by Gondoh in order to allow the gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Regarding Claim 4, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ren further discloses that the second partition member is coupled with the first partition member (see e.g. first and second face of part number 32 in FIG. 19 corresponding to the first and second partition; FIG. 19 shows these pieces coupled together).
Ren does not disclose ribs and thus does not disclose that the second partition member is coupled with the first partition member and faces the first pair of ribs of the first partition member.
Gondoh, however, discloses that the second partition member is coupled with the first partition member and faces the first pair of ribs of the first partition member (see e.g. part number 30d which corresponds to the second partition member, part number 30c which corresponds to the first partition member and part numbers 30a and 30b in FIG. 3 of Gondoh; part numbers 30d and 30c are coupled together by part numbers 30a and 30b, the second partition member faces the first pair of ribs of the first partition member).
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second partition members of Ren et al. such that the second partition member is coupled with the first partition member and faces the first pair of ribs of the first partition member as taught by Gondoh in order to allow the gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh. Regarding Claim 5, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ren further discloses that at least one first hole comprises a plurality of the first holes on one side of each of the plurality of supplementary walls (see e.g. part number 31 in FIG. 1). Regarding Claim 6, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ren does not disclose that a rear end of the first partition member has an opening in a space between the first pair of ribs.
Gondoh, however, discloses that a rear end of the first partition member has an opening in a space between the first pair of ribs (see e.g. cross section YZ and flow paths F1 and F2 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first partition of Ren et al. such that a rear end of the first partition member has an opening in a space between the first pair of ribs as taught by Gondoh in order to allow the gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Regarding Claim 7, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 rejection above).
Ren further discloses that each of the plurality of supplementary walls is inserted into the side wall (see e.g. part number 30 in FIG. 1) to allow the opening to be in communication with the gas venting path (see e.g. "The partition plates 30 and the side beam 20 are each formed therein with an air passage and are in communication with each other" in paragraph [0052]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 rejection above).
Ren does not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of supplementary walls further comprises a gas flow path closed on an upper surface and a lower surface by the first pair of ribs, and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member, the gas flow path being open to the outside through the at least one first hole and the opening.
Gondoh, however, discloses that each of the plurality of supplementary walls further comprises a gas flow path closed on an upper surface and a lower surface by the first pair of ribs (see e.g. "Two or more exhaust guide components 36 are arranged within an area where first exhaust flow F1 extends." in paragraph [0038] and part numbers F1 and F2 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh), and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member (see e.g. part numbers 30d and 30c in FIG. 3 of Gondoh; the gas flow paths F1 and F2 are enclosed by 30d and 30c), the gas flow path being open to the outside through the at least one first hole and the opening (see e.g. part numbers 32 and 34 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plurality of supplementary walls of Ren et al. such that each of the plurality of supplementary walls further comprises a gas flow path closed on an upper surface and a lower surface by the first pair of ribs, and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member, the gas flow path being open to the outside through the at least one first hole and the opening as taught by Gondoh in order to allow the gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Regarding Claim 9, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Ren does not explicitly disclose that the second partition member comprises a second pair of ribs extending in a longitudinal direction along a first side of the second partition member, or that each of the plurality of supplementary walls comprises a second hole between the second pair of ribs included on the second partition member on a side opposite the at least one first hole.
Ren, however, discloses a plurality of holes (see e.g. "inlet vents 31" in paragraph [0050]) provided on the partition plates (see e.g. part number 31 in FIG. 15) for introducing flame, smoke, or gas discharged from the cell anti-explosion valves into the air passages formed in the partition plates (see e.g. paragraphs [0052]-[0053]). Ren further discloses that the partition plates divide the base plate into several regions for placing the battery cells, and that the air passages in the partition plates communicate with the air passage in the side beam (see e.g. paragraph [0052]).
Gondoh discloses a second partition member comprising a second pair of ribs extending in a longitudinal direction along a first side of the second partition member (see e.g. "Second exhaust guide components 36b are arranged on the other one of two interior surfaces of guide tube 30 that are opposite each other." in paragraph [0038] and part numbers 36 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
With regards to the limitation "wherein each of the plurality of supplementary walls comprises a second hole between the second pair of ribs included on the second partition member on a side opposite the at least one first hole" , in view of Ren’s disclosure of the plurality of holes formed in the partition plates to introduce gas into internal air passages, and Gondoh’s disclosure of exhaust guide components/ribs arranged on opposite interior surfaces of a gas flow path, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second hole between the second pair of ribs on a side opposite the at least one first hole so that gas discharged from battery cells on the opposite side of the supplementary wall may also enter the gas venting path.
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plurality of supplementary walls of Ren et al. such that the second partition member comprises a second pair of ribs extending in a longitudinal direction along a first side of the second partition member, and wherein each of the plurality of supplementary walls comprises a second hole between the second pair of ribs included on the second partition member on a side opposite the at least one first hole as taught by Ren et al. in view of Gondoh in order to allow gas from battery cells on opposite sides of the supplementary wall to enter the gas venting path while efficiently occupying space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Regarding Claim 10, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ren does not disclose that the second pair of ribs of the second partition member do not overlap the first pair of ribs formed on the first partition member.
Gondoh, however, disclose that the second pair of ribs of the second partition member do not overlap the first pair of ribs formed on the first partition member (see e.g. annotated figure below).
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second partition of Ren et al. such that the second pair of ribs of the second partition member do not overlap the first pair of ribs formed on the first partition member as taught by Gondoh in order to allow the gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
(Gondoh, figure 3, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 11, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ren does not disclose that the second pair of ribs of the second partition member is located on top of the first pair of ribs formed on the first partition member, and wherein the at least one first hole and the second hole are formed on opposite sides of the supplementary wall at a lower and upper portion, respectively.
Ren, however, does disclose a plurality of holes (see e.g. "inlet vents 31" in paragraph [0050]) provided on the partition plates (see e.g. part number 31 in FIG. 15) for introducing flame, smoke, or gas discharged from the cell anti-explosion valves into the air passages formed in the partition plates (see e.g. paragraphs [0052]-[0053]). Ren further discloses that the partition plates divide the base plate into several regions for placing the battery cells, and that the air passages in the partition plates communicate with the air passage in the side beam (see e.g. paragraph [0052]).
Gondoh discloses the second pair of ribs of the second partition member is located on top of the first pair of ribs formed on the first partition member (see e.g. annotated figure below).
With regards to the limitation "wherein the at least one first hole and the second hole are formed on opposite sides of the supplementary wall at a lower and upper portion, respectively", in view of Ren’s disclosure of the plurality of holes formed in the partition plates to introduce gas into internal air passages, and Gondoh’s disclosure of exhaust guide components/ribs arranged on opposite interior surfaces of a gas flow path, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first hole and the second hole formed on opposite sides of the supplementary wall at a lower and upper portion so that gas discharged from battery cells on the opposite side of the supplementary wall may also enter the gas venting path.
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plurality of supplementary walls of Ren et al. such that the at least one first hole and the second hole are formed on opposite sides of the supplementary wall at a lower and upper portion, respectively as taught by Ren et al. in view of Gondoh in order to allow gas from battery cells on opposite sides of the supplementary wall to enter the gas venting path while efficiently occupying space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
(Gondoh, figure 3, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 12, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ren does not explicitly disclose that a rear end of each of the first partition member and the second partition member have an opening between the second pair of ribs on the second partition member to form an upper opening.
Ren, however, discloses that the air passages in the partition plates are in communication with the air passage in the side beam (see e.g. paragraph [0052] ), such that the gas flow path of the partition plate opens into the side beam.
Gondoh further discloses a guide tube having exhaust inlets at ends of the guide tube and exhaust guide components (ribs) arranged within the guide tube to guide exhaust flow through the guide tube (see e.g. paragraphs [0033]-[0039] and part numbers 32 and 36 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh). Gondoh also discloses second exhaust guide components arranged on an opposite interior surface of the guide tube, which correspond to the claimed second pair of ribs/gas discharge guides (see e.g. paragraphs [0038]-[0039] and part numbers 36 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, that by modifying the partition plate air passages of Ren to include the second pair of exhaust guide components/ribs of Gondoh would result in an opening at the rear end of the partition structure between the second pair of ribs to form an upper opening. Ren already teaches communication between the partition plate air passage and the side beam air passage, and Gondoh teaches end openings in a gas guide tube having gas discharge guides/ribs. Thus, providing the rear end opening between the second pair of ribs would have been an obvious and predictable configuration to allow gas guided by the upper guide/rib structure to flow into the side wall gas venting path.
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plurality of supplementary walls of Ren et al. such that a rear end of each of the first partition member and the second partition member have an opening between the second pair of ribs on the second partition member to form an upper opening as taught by Ren et al. in view of Gondoh in order to allow gas guided by the upper gas discharge guides to communicate with the side wall gas venting path while efficiently occupying space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Regarding Claim 13, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Ren does not explicitly disclose that a rear end of each of the first partition member and the second partition member have an opening between the first pair of ribs on the first partition member to form a lower opening, and wherein each of the plurality of supplementary walls is inserted into the side wall to allow the upper opening and the lower opening to be in communication with the gas venting path.
Ren, however, does disclose partition plates connected to the side beam, wherein the partition plates and the side beam are each formed therein with an air passage and are in communication with each other (see e.g. paragraph [0052] and part numbers 20 and 30 in FIGS. 1 and 19). Ren therefore discloses that the gas flow path of the partition plates communicates with the gas venting path of the side beam.
Gondoh further discloses a guide tube having exhaust inlets at ends of the guide tube and exhaust guide components (ribs) arranged within the guide tube to guide exhaust flow through the guide tube (see e.g. paragraphs [0033]-[0039] and part numbers 32 and 36 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh). Gondoh also discloses first exhaust guide components and second exhaust guide components arranged on opposite interior surfaces of the guide tube which correspond to the claimed first and second pairs of ribs/gas discharge guides (see e.g. paragraphs [0038]-[0039] and part numbers 36 in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, that modifying the partition plate air passages of Ren to include the opposed exhaust guide components/ribs of Gondoh would result in rear end openings between the respective pairs of ribs, including a lower opening between the first pair of ribs and an upper opening between the second pair of ribs, so that gas flowing through each guided gas flow path may communicate with the gas venting path in the side beam.
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plurality of supplementary walls of Ren et al. such that a rear end of each of the first partition member and the second partition member have an opening between the first pair of ribs on the first partition member to form a lower opening, and wherein each of the plurality of supplementary walls is inserted into the side wall to allow the upper opening and the lower opening to be in communication with the gas venting path as taught by Ren et al. in view of Gondoh in order to allow gas guided by the upper and lower gas discharge guides to communicate with the side wall gas venting path while efficiently occupying space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Regarding Claim 14, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ren further discloses that each of the plurality of supplementary walls comprises the at least one first hole and the second hole on each side (see e.g. part number 31 in FIG. 15).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (CN 110190212 B), US-20220123427-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and hereinafter referenced below in view of Gondoh (US-20210066690-A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hermann et al. (US-20110174556-A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Ren in view of Gondoh disclose the battery pack of claim 9 (see e.g. claim 9 rejection above).
Ren does not disclose that the supplementary wall comprises: an upper gas flow path, closed on an upper surface and a lower surface by the second pair of ribs formed in the second partition member, and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member; and a lower gas flow path located below the upper gas flow path, closed on its an upper surface and a lower surface by the first pair of ribs formed in the first partition member and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member, and wherein the upper gas flow path and the lower gas flow path are not in communication with each other within the supplementary wall.
Gondoh, however, discloses that the supplementary wall comprises:
an upper gas flow path (see e.g. annotated figure below), closed on an upper surface and a lower surface by the second pair of ribs formed in the second partition member (see e.g. annotated figure below), and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member (see e.g. part numbers 30d and 30c in FIG. 3 of Gondoh); and
a lower gas flow path located below the upper gas flow path (see e.g. annotated figure below), closed on its an upper surface and a lower surface by the first pair of ribs formed in the first partition member (see e.g. annotated figure below) and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member (see e.g. part numbers 30d and 30c in FIG. 3 of Gondoh).
Gondoh also teaches that this type of gas venting path increases particle collection efficiency and allows the battery pack gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack (see e.g. paragraph [0014] of Gondoh). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the supplementary walls of Ren et al. such that the supplementary wall comprises an upper gas flow path, closed on an upper surface and a lower surface by the second pair of ribs formed in the second partition member, and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member; and a lower gas flow path located below the upper gas flow path, closed on its an upper surface and a lower surface by the first pair of ribs formed in the first partition member and closed on opposite sides by the first partition member and the second partition member as taught by Gondoh in order to allow the gas venting path to efficiently occupy space within the battery pack as suggested by Gondoh.
Ren in view of Gondoh does not disclose that the upper gas flow path and the lower gas flow path are not in communication with each other within the supplementary wall.
Hermann, however, in the same field of endeavor, batter pack gas exhaust systems, discloses an upper gas flow path and the lower gas flow path are not in communication with each other (see e.g. "Cross-members 301 may be comprised... of an upper member 301(a) and a lower member 301(b). One or both members may be hollow" in paragraph [0035] and part numbers 301(a) and 301(b) in FIGs. 3 and 5 of Hermann) within a supplementary wall (see e.g. "cross-members 301" in paragraph [0035] and part number 301 in FIG. 5 of Hermann).
Hermann also teaches that a battery pack with the disclosed design limits the extent at which a thermal runaway event may propagate and thus limits the risk of personal harm and property damage (see e.g. paragraph [0034] of Hermann). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gas flow path of Ren et al. in view of Gondoh such that the upper gas flow path and the lower gas flow path are not in communication with each other within the supplementary wall as taught by Hermann et al. in order to limit the risk of personal harm and property damage as suggested by Hermann.
(Gondoh, figure 3, annotated for illustration)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
Jeon (US-20230231264-A1)
Nagamine et al. (US-20150295215-A1)
Yoo et al. (US-20230082942-A1)
Reinprecht et al. (US-20210359374-A1)
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723