DETAILED ACTION
Filing Receipt and Priority
The filing receipt mailed 01/22/2025 states that the instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/040874, filed 08/19/2022, which claims benefit of provisional application 63/235,455, filed 08/20/2021. The provisional application supports the instant claims. Therefore the effective filing date is 08/20/2021.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements submitted 02/12/2024 and03/17/2025 have been considered.
Restriction/Species Election
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-17 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of the following species is also acknowledged.
At examiner’s discretion, search and examination has been broadened to include all compounds of claim 6. Claims 4 and 5 are rejoined for examination.
Objections
There are two “X” limitations in claim 1, as shown below.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8, 11-12, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dictenberg (US2019/0201381).
Dictenberg in para. [0033] points to Fig. 4A-B and discloses that a hippocampal neuron cells were placed in a cryopreservation solution of its invention. The solution is disclosed to include 3,6-dibromo-alpha-(piperazinylmetyhl-2,4-imidazolidinedione), structure shown below, in a concentration of 5 nM. Cell viability was measured at 71% after 7 days.
Dictenberg in para. [0034] points to Fig. 5 which discloses the freezing process to avoid damaging cells which includes preserving the biological material to temperatures between 0 to -20oC.
Dictenberg in Example 11 discloses the effect of cryopreservation solution of its invention on liver cell activity.
Dictenberg in para. [0033] states “the 3-reagent cryopreservation solution was perfused into a living pregnant mouse briefly just minutes before the pups were isolated from the dam, and then the hippocampal neurons isolated from the E18 (embryonic day 18) pups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
KSR Rationales
The MPEP in section 2143, subsection I gives examples of Rationales for supporting a conclusion of obvious. These rationales are non-exhaustive and include (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over obvious over Dictenberg (cited above) and Gavathiotis (WO 2018165494).
Regarding claims 1-2, 6, 8, 11-12, 14-15, and 17, discussion of Dictenberg from the 102 rejection above is incorporated here.
Dictenberg does not teach compounds of structures found in instant claims 3-5. This is addressed by the combination of Gavathiotis.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 7, Gavathiotis on p. 8-11 teaches BAX inhibitors which share significant structural similarities with the BAX inhibitor of Dictenberg. The compounds listed are:
Considering the similarities, and the fact that Dictenberg’s BAX inhibitor is the first compound shown, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use any of the compounds above in place of the BAX inhibitor of Dictenberg in Dictenberg’s cryopreservation solution.
Regarding claims 9-10, which are drawn to effective amounts ‘such that the biological material remains substantially viable” for periods of 72 hours and/or 14 days, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to elucidate the amount needed. The instant specification states “a biological material that is ‘substantially viable’ includes, but is not limited to the organ, tissue or population of cells, that when stored, maintained, and/or transported in one or more of the compositions disclosed herein, that are at least about 95% viable, at least about 96% viable, at least about 97% viable, at least about 98% viable, or even at least about 99% viable.” The claim language suggest that “effective amount” sufficient to effect the 95+% viability can be determined via routine research and optimization. That is, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the concentration, dose, or total amount of BAX inhibitor within the Dictenberg solution to achieve the desired effect.
Similarly, regarding claim 16, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to modify the concentration of the BAX inhibitor to be from about 1 to 20 μg/mL.
Regarding claim 13, which is drawn to an embodiment of the method of claim 1 wherein the biological material is harvested within a certain period of time (about 2 to about 10 hours) after a preceding period of ischemic injury, the instant specification, regarding “ischemic injury, states in para. [0076] that “A preceding period of warm ischemic injury refers to a period of reduced or no blood flow within the organ or tissue between when life support is withdrawn from the donor and death is declared. The period may range from about 1 minute to about 24 hours, from about 1 hour…”.
Dictenberg discusses cell and tissue dissection. This process involves killing of the test subject mice (ischemic injury). One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to apply the method of cryopreservation from Dictenberg within the time period claimed in instant claim 13 as it would be within the skillset of one of ordinary skill to determine when tissue, cell, or organ samples can be preserved.
Dictenberg teaches a method of cryopreservation comprising administration of BAX inhibitor with structure that embraces the instant compounds. Gavathiotis teaches a number of other BAX inhibitors that are alternatives to the BAX inhibitor of DIctenberg. One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to replace the BAX inhibitor of Dictenberg with any of the compounds of Gavathiotis to arrive at the instant claims.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Dictenberg to instead administer any of the compounds of Gavathiotis instead. One of ordinary skill would find motivation to make the
Double Patenting
Patent 12,708,621
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,708,621 in view of Dictenberg (cited above) and Gavathiotis (cited above).
The reference patented claims are drawn to methods of treating a disease and/or conditions associated with dysregulation of apoptosis mediated by BAX comprising administering compounds of the following structures:
.
Gavathiotis indicates that the compounds above are BAX inhibitors. Dictenberg teaches a method of cryopreservation comprising administering a BAX inhibitor. One of ordinary skill would be able to modify the method of Dictenberg to use any of the compounds above from the reference claims.
Patent 11,938,128
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,128 in view of Dictenberg (cited above) and Gavathiotis (cited above).
The reference claims are drawn to compounds of the following structures:
Gavathiotis indicates that the compounds above are BAX inhibitors. Dictenberg teaches a method of cryopreservation comprising administering a BAX inhibitor. One of ordinary skill would be able to modify the method of Dictenberg to use any of the compounds above from the reference claims.
Pertinent Art not Cited
Bailly-Maitre (PNAS, 2006, vol. 103, no. 8, 2809-2814) reports on the potential of inhibiting BAX using the anti-apoptotic protein BI-1 (BAX inhibitor 1) for cryopreservation.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LUISALBERTO GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1624