DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At pages 5-9:
The applicant argues with respect to the previous 112(b) rejection directed towards the respective signal having “a same physical structure in a plurality of cells.” Specifically, at page 8, the Applicant asserts that the most recent amendments to the claims clarify the scope of the limitation as the most recent amendments clarify that “having a same physical structure in a plurality of cells means that the signal used for the energy harvesting has the same frequency, sequence ID, or resource position in a frequency domain or in a time domain, across multiple cells.”
The Applicant continues, in response to the alleged intended use, that the above amendments clearly recite requirements that limit the receiving and controlling functions of the terminal, as the amendments “clearly impose the functional requirements of “receiv[ing] a power supplying signal from another device to be used by the terminal for supplying power of the terminal” and “control[ling] an operation of receiving the power supplying signal to be used by the terminal for supplying power of the terminal.” Clearly, the amended limitations do not recite merely intended use but rather recite functional requirements that the terminal must perform using its structural components.”
In response:
While the examiner respectfully agrees that the most recent amendments provide clarity with respect to what “same physical structure” is to encompass with respect to an externally generated signal, the examiner respectfully disagrees that said amendment imposes any structural or functional requirement on the claimed apparatus (i.e., the terminal). That is, the claim (claim 1 in particular) is directed towards an apparatus (the terminal) requiring the structure of a receiver that is functionally required to receive a power supplying signal from another device and a processor that is functionally required to control a receiving operation of the receiver.
That is, the examiner respectfully believes the limitation remains indefinite under 112(b) because, although the claim recites that the processor “controls the operation of receiving” an energy-harvesting signal having the “same frequency, sequence ID, or resource position in a frequency domain or in a time domain across a plurality of cells,” the claim does not identify how the processor’s operation is controlled based on those signal characteristics or what the processor does differently as a result of those characteristics. The claim is directed to a “terminal,” and the recited frequency, sequence ID, and resource position primarily characterize the externally generated signal rather than defining additional structure or a definite functional relationship within the claimed terminal. Merely requiring the processor to control reception of a signal having those characteristics does not establish what particular receiving or processing operation is required. Accordingly, the amendment does not provide a reasonably definite boundary for the scope of the claimed terminal or sufficiently define the relationship between the externally generated signal characteristics and operation of the claimed processor. It still remains unclear as to how the “same” structure is determined across different cells, how this is measured, enforced, or even determined by the respective controller of the terminal. It remains unclear as to how the respective contents of an externally generated signal further limit the positively claimed structure associated with the terminal. Therefore, said limitations will continue to be examined under their broadest reasonable interpretation, as best understood in light of the specification, in which claims limitations outside of the scope of the terminal and its respective, positively recited, structure are given the appropriate amount of weight.
At pages 9-11: The Applicant argues with respect to the prior art teachings in regards to recently amended claim language reciting, “the processor uses both of the signal used for the energy harvesting and the data signal received on the PDSCH for supplying power of the terminal.” The Applicant asserts that Elshafie fails to teach that a terminal uses a PDSCH data signal to supply its power as well as “it was not obvious that a terminal uses a PDSCH data signal to supply its power”, and prior art Wanstedt fails to supply “that which Elshafie lacks.”
In response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments/remarks. The examiner believes that prior art Elshafie teaches the newly added limitation as Elshafie teaches receiving a “power supply signal” at a terminal, via a receiver (Fig. 10, signal receiver 1030 of device 1005 which receives a signal having “a radio frequency power”) which is used for energy harvesting while another portion is used for receiving/decoding information (see, for example, paragraph 0092 which discloses, “…device 205-a may include a signal decoding circuit 215, such as signal decoding circuit 106… to receive and decode the signal 235… Additionally, device 205-a may include an energy harvesting circuit 220, such as energy harvesting circuit 104… to convert at least a portion of the radio frequency power 240 of the signal 235 to DC power 245.” See also paragraph 0105 which discloses “signal 235 having a power level that enables the device 205-a to both perform energy harvesting via the energy harvesting circuit 220 and decode the signal 235 via the signal decoding circuit 215.”), and further teaches that physical data channels may be multiplexed on a downlink carrier (see, at least, paragraph 0064 which discloses, “Physical channels may be multiplexed on a carrier… A physical control channel and a physical data channel may be multiplexed on a downlink carrier…”). Thus, the received downlink transmission (read on by signal 235) may include both an energy-harvesting signal and a data signal, while the received RF transmission provides power for use by the terminal and also supports data reception.
The examiner further notes that it is unclear to the extent “uses both” requires the PDSCH data signal itself to contribute energy, as the claim does not explain how a data signal is to be “used” for supplying power as the claim distinguishes the data signal from the “signal used for the energy harvesting”. Alternatively, if “uses” encompasses using the data signal to facilitate, control, or otherwise participate in receiving or supplying power, such a broad interpretation is consistent with the teachings of Elshafie. The examiner further notes that the phrase, “for supplying power of the terminal” renders the scope of the claim unclear under 112(b) because the claim is directed to the terminal itself, which receives the power-supplying signal, yet the claim does not identify or make clear what constitutes “power of the terminal” (what component or operation within the terminal is being supplied with power, or how the processor’s use of the two signals results in such power being supplied). It is therefore unclear whether the limitation requires the two signals to provide the actual harvested energy, requires the data signal merely to facilitate the power-receiving operation, or encompasses some other relationship between the data signal and terminal power. In this instance, the examiner will interpret the most recent claim amendments under their broadest reasonable interpretation, in light of the Applicant’s specification. That is, the examiner believes the teachings of Elshafie read upon the most recent claim amendment as Elshafie discloses a “power supplying signal” (read on by signal 235) which is comprised of a radio frequency power portion (utilized by the energy harvesting circuit 220) and a data portion (utilized by the signal decoding circuit 215) both of which are utilized to facilitate the provision of power to the terminal. Similar rationale holds true with respect to the dependent claims and independent claim 6.
For these reasons, inter alia, the examiner believes the previous rejection of record should remain upheld. An updated action is provided below to address the most recent claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1: Claim 1 is directed towards an apparatus claim. As such, claim limitations should be directed towards the respective structural requirements of said apparatus, and are not further limited by the intended use, or elements that do not impart structural limitations on said apparatus. Specifically, the claim limitation reciting, “the processor is configured to control the operation of receiving the signal used for the energy harvesting that has a same frequency, sequence ID, or resource position in a frequency domain or in a time domain across a plurality of cells,” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what structural or functional relationship is required within the claimed terminal. Although the claim recites that the processor “controls the operation of receiving” such a signal, the claim does not specify how the processor’s operation is controlled based upon the recited signal characteristic, or how reception of a signal having such characteristic causes the terminal to perform an operation different from reception of a signal lacking the characteristic. Accordingly, the claim does not provide a reasonably definite boundary as to what operation of the claimed processor is required by the recited signal characteristic. The claim effectively requires the terminal to receive a signal having a particular externally imposed characteristic, without defining what the terminal does in response to that characteristic.
Furthermore, the claim repeatedly recites that the power supplying signal is to be used by the terminal “for supplying power of the terminal.” It is unclear what is meant by “supplying power of the terminal,” particularly because the claimed terminal is itself the recipient of the power supplying signal. The claim does not identify what component, operation, or function of the terminal is being supplied with power, nor does it define how the processor’s use of the recited signals results in power being supplied to the terminal. The claim further calls for a single power supplying signal to be received by a terminal in which the power supplying signal is to be comprised of portion used for energy harvesting and a portion used for data communication (an energy function and an information function). It is unclear if the Applicant intends for data signal portion of the power supplying signal to facilitate the energy harvesting process of the power supplying signal/energy harvesting portion through the decoding process, or if the Applicant intends for something else, such as the entirety of the power supplying signal to be utilized for energy harvesting, at which point the respective nomenclature of the signal being a “data” signal would appear moot as it would in effect be operating as a power signal. Accordingly, the phrase, “for supplying power of the terminal” and the limitation directed towards the terminal using both signal “for supplying power of the terminal” fail to provide a reasonably definite boundary as to the scope of the claimed subject matter. Claims 2 and 4-5 fail to cure, and therefore inherit, the deficiencies of independent claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6:
Claim 6 repeatedly recites that the power supplying signal is to be used by the terminal “for supplying power of the terminal.” It is unclear what is meant by “supplying power of the terminal,” particularly because the claimed terminal is itself the recipient of the power supplying signal. The claim does not identify what component, operation, or function of the terminal is being supplied with power, nor does it define how the recited signals results in power being supplied “of” the terminal. Furthermore, the claim recites, “the terminal uses both of the signal used for the energy harvesting and the data signal received on the PDSCH for supplying power of the terminal” which is unclear as to whether the limitation requires the signals themselves to provide the energy used to power the terminal, or whether facilitating or controlling reception of the power supplying signal is sufficient. The claim further calls for a single power supplying signal to be received by a terminal in which the power supplying signal is to be comprised of portion used for energy harvesting and a portion used for data communication (an energy function and an information function). It is unclear if the Applicant intends for data signal portion of the power supplying signal to facilitate the energy harvesting process of the power supplying signal/energy harvesting portion through the decoding process, or if the Applicant intends for something else, such as the entirety of the power supplying signal to be utilized for energy harvesting, at which point the respective nomenclature of the signal being a “data” signal would appear moot as it would in effect be operating as a power signal. Accordingly, the phrase, “for supplying power of the terminal” and the limitation directed towards the terminal using both of the signal “for supplying power of the terminal” fail to provide a reasonably definite boundary as to the scope of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0385109) in view of Wanstedt et al.(U.S. Patent Publication Number 2014/0194092).
Regarding Claim 1:
Elshafie et al. discloses a terminal (Figs. 1-2 and 10, device 103 also shown as device 205-a in Fig. 2, as well as being shown in greater detail as device 1005 in Fig. 10, and its related discussion) comprising: a receiver (Fig. 10, signal receiver 1030 of device 1005 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0166-0171) that receives a power supplying signal from another device to be used by the terminal for supplying power of the terminal (Figs. 10, signal receiver 1030 of device 1005 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0171 which discloses the signal receiver 1030, of the communications manager 1020, is “configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, from the second device, a signal having a radio frequency power…” See also, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0091-0092, etc. which provide further support for device 205-a receiving a power supplying signal, signal 235 with RF power 240, from another device, 205-b); and a processor that controls an operation of receiving the power supplying signal to be used by the terminal for supplying power of the terminal (Fig. 7, power management module 20 of energy harvesting circuit 705 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0148-0149, etc. which show and discuss the respective power management module implemented within the energy harvesting circuit, as shown within Fig. 2 as energy harvesting circuit 220, which is configured to direct the radio frequency input from the received signal 235. That is, figure 7 shows, in greater detail, the respective components of the energy harvesting circuit of figure 2), wherein the processor controls the operation of receiving, by the receiver, the power supplying signal that includes a signal used for energy harvesting and a data signal (Fig. 2, signal 235 with RF power 240 supplied to energy harvesting circuit 220 as shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0044, 0091-0092, etc. which disclose signals 235 are transmitted “with a determined radio frequency power 240… the energy harvesting circuit 220 may receive the radio frequency power 240…” and a portion of the signal 235 is also decoded via signal decoding circuit 215, in addition to a portion of signal 235 being harvested via energy harvesting circuit 220. It is further noted that the claim language “used for energy harvesting and a data signal” is merely directed towards intended use, and fails to further limit the respective structure), the processor controls the operation of receiving the signal used for the energy harvesting that has a same frequency, sequence ID, or resource position in a frequency domain or in a time domain across a plurality of cells (see, at least, paragraphs 0056-0060, etc. which disclose the devices and various base stations 105 communicate with one another over one or more carriers, wherein the term carrier refers to a set of RF spectrum resources having a defined physical layer structure for supporting the communication, including a bandwidth part that is operated according to a given radio access technology, such as LTE, LTE-A, etc. See also, paragraphs 0060-0065 which disclose respective signal composition such as each frame including multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, each having the same duration, with a frame divided, for example, in the time domain. Furthermore, with respect to the recitation that the energy harvesting signal has the same frequency, sequence ID, or resource position across a plurality of cells, this limitation primarily characterizes the externally generated signal rather than imposing a structural limitation on the claimed terminal. Although the claim recites that the processor controls reception of the signal, the claim does not specify any particular structure of the processor or receiver that is required by, or any particular processing operation performed in response to, the signal having the recited characteristic. Accordingly, the recited characteristic does not meaningfully distinguish the claimed terminal from a terminal otherwise capable of receiving and processing the disclosed energy harvesting signal. Elshafie teaches a terminal having a receiver and a processor that control reception of wireless signals used for energy harvesting and communication, and therefore satisfies the claimed receiving and processing functionality. The particular frequency, sequence ID, or resource position of the externally generated signal does not impose a further structural distinction on the terminal. See the 112 rejections above), and the receiver receives the data signal via a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (Figs. 10, signal receiver 1030 of device 1005 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0171 which discloses the signal receiver 1030, of the communications manager 1020, is “configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, from the second device, a signal having a radio frequency power…” See also, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0091-0092, etc. which provide further support for device 205-a receiving a power supplying signal, signal 235 with RF power 240, from another device, 205-b. See also paragraph 0064 which states “Physical channels may be multiplexed on a carrier according to various techniques. A physical control channel and a physical data channel may be multiplexed on a downlink carrier…” thereby establishing downlink communication is occurring. That is, Elshafie discloses transmission of signal via physical channels, including multiplexing of a physical control channel and a physical downlink channel on a downlink carrier. This teaches communication of data to a terminal via a physical downlink channel and requires a received configured to receive such signals. It is well understood in the art and official notice is taken, that, in standardized cellular communication systems, downlink data is transmitted using shared physical downlink channels, such as a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). Accordingly, configuring the receiver to receive data via a PDSCH represents a routine and predictable implementation of the disclosed physical downlink channel. See the 112 rejections above), and the processor uses both of the signal used for the energy harvesting and the data signal received on the PDSCH for supplying power of the terminal (Figs. 2 and 10, device 205-a, signal 235, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0060-0065, 0091-0092, 0105, etc. which disclose the respective device using signal 235, comprised of RF power 240 and a data portion, is used for providing DC power “of” the terminal, read on by device 205-a. See the 112 rejections above). While Elshafie discloses another device may be in the form of a base station, a device, or any other device described within Fig. 1 (see, at least, paragraph 0091), Elshafie fails to teach the “another device includes a base station and another terminal”.
However, Wanstedt et al. discloses another device includes a base station and another terminal (Fig. 1, base station 10 with UE 12, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0026-0030 which disclose the base station 10 pairs with a charging UE 12 to supply a power supplying signal to a requesting terminal. Furthermore, it should be noted that the respective structural components of “another device,” which are external to the terminal as claimed appear to be moot as said claim is explicitly directed towards the apparatus of the terminal.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie to realize another device as including a base station and another terminal, as taught within Wanstedt, to establish a flexible and convenient environment capable of enabling opportunistic energy and information sharing within a mobile environment.
Regarding Claim 2:
Modified Elshafie teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Elshafie, in further view of Elshafie, discloses wherein the data signal includes a signal in a cell to which the terminal belongs and a signal in another cell, or a signal directed to the terminal and a signal directed to a device other than the terminal (see, at least, paragraphs 0065-0069, etc. which disclose the respective communication coverage of the associated base station may be via one or more cells, for example a macro cell, a small cell, a hot spot, or other types of cells, or any combination thereof, and may be associated with the base station, e.g., the cell to which the terminal belongs, and an identifier for distinguishing neighboring cells, e.g., a signal in another cell. Furthermore, it should be noted that limitations directed towards the respective contents/structure of an external signal to be received are considered moot as they do not appear to further limit the structural requirements of the claimed terminal apparatus).
Regarding Claim 4:
Modified Elshafie teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Elshafie, in further view of Elshafie, discloses wherein a coverage according to the signal used for the energy harvesting is different from a coverage of the data signal (see, at least, paragraphs 0065-0069, etc. which disclose the respective coverage area for the signals provided by each base station may vary in size dependent upon various factors such as the capabilities of the respective base station. Furthermore, it should be noted that limitations directed towards the respective coverage/structure of an external signal to be received are considered moot as they do not appear to further limit the structural requirements of the claimed terminal apparatus).
Regarding Claim 5:
Modified Elshafie teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. While Elshafie is relied upon to teach the respective processor of the combination of Modified Elshafie, the teachings with respect to the processor of Elshafie fail to teach wherein the processor controls the operation, based on information indicating whether the power supplying signal is to be transmitted.
However, Wanstedt et al. discloses wherein the processor controls the operation, based on information indicating whether the power supplying signal is to be transmitted (Figs. 5-6, controller 28 of receiver 14, steps S21-S23, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0034-0035, etc. which disclose receiving a response to a request to receive a power supplying signal, and via controller 28, process the signaling messages to thereby initiate and perform wireless charging as described. That is, based on a received signal providing authorization, e.g., information indicating whether the power supplying signal is to be transmitted, the controller 28 will subsequently facilitate the power reception and charging process). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie to control the operation of receiving the power supplying signal based on information indicating whether the power supplying signal is to be transmitted, as taught within Wanstedt, to optimize power management, reduce unnecessary energy consumption, and further synchronize harvesting operations, thereby improving overall efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 6:
Elshafie et al. discloses a communication method performed by a terminal (Figs. 1-2 and 10, device 103 also shown as device 205-a in Fig. 2, as well as being shown in greater detail as device 1005 in Fig. 10, and its related discussion), the communication method comprising: receiving a power supplying signal from another device to be used by the terminal for supplying power of the terminal (Figs. 10, signal receiver 1030 of device 1005 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0171 which discloses the signal receiver 1030, of the communications manager 1020, is “configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, from the second device, a signal having a radio frequency power…” See also, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0091-0092, etc. which provide further support for device 205-a receiving a power supplying signal, signal 235 with RF power 240, from another device, 205-b); and controlling an operation of receiving the power supplying signal to be used by the terminal for supplying power of the terminal (Fig. 7, power management module 20 of energy harvesting circuit 705 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0148-0149, etc. which show and discuss the respective power management module implemented within the energy harvesting circuit, as shown within Fig. 2 as energy harvesting circuit 220, which is configured to direct the radio frequency input from the received signal 235. That is, figure 7 shows, in greater detail, the respective components of the energy harvesting circuit of figure 2), wherein the receiving of the power supplying signal includes receiving a signal used for energy harvesting and a data signal (Fig. 2, signal 235 with RF power 240 supplied to energy harvesting circuit 220 as shown, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0044, 0091-0092, etc. which disclose signals 235 are transmitted “with a determined radio frequency power 240… the energy harvesting circuit 220 may receive the radio frequency power 240…” and a portion of the signal 235 is also decoded via signal decoding circuit 215, in addition to a portion of signal 235 being harvested via energy harvesting circuit 220), the receiving of the signal used for the energy harvesting includes receiving the signal used for the energy harvesting that has a same frequency, sequence ID, or resource position in a frequency domain or in a time domain across a plurality of cells (see, at least, paragraphs 0056-0060, etc. which disclose the devices and various base stations 105 communicate with one another over one or more carriers, wherein the term carrier refers to a set of RF spectrum resources having a defined physical layer structure for supporting the communication, including a bandwidth part that is operated according to a given radio access technology, such as LTE, LTE-A, etc. Furthermore, it should be noted that limitations directed towards the respective structure of an external signal to be received are considered moot as they do not appear to further limit the structural requirements of the claimed terminal apparatus. See also paragraphs 0060-0065 which disclose respective signal composition such as each frame including multiple consecutively numbered subframes or slots, each having the same duration, with a frame divided, for example, in the time domain. See the 112 rejections above), the data signal is received via a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (Figs. 10, signal receiver 1030 of device 1005 and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraph 0171 which discloses the signal receiver 1030, of the communications manager 1020, is “configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, from the second device, a signal having a radio frequency power…” See also, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0091-0092, etc. which provide further support for device 205-a receiving a power supplying signal, signal 235 with RF power 240, from another device, 205-b. See also paragraph 0064 which states “Physical channels may be multiplexed on a carrier according to various techniques. A physical control channel and a physical data channel may be multiplexed on a downlink carrier…” thereby establishing downlink communication is occurring. That is, Elshafie discloses transmission of signal via physical channels, including multiplexing of a physical control channel and a physical downlink channel on a downlink carrier. This teaches communication of data to a terminal via a physical downlink channel and requires a received configured to receive such signals. It is well understood in the art and official notice is taken, that, in standardized cellular communication systems, downlink data is transmitted using shared physical downlink channels, such as a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH). Accordingly, configuring the receiver to receive data via a PDSCH represents a routine and predictable implementation of the disclosed physical downlink channel. See the 112 rejections above), and the terminal uses both of the signal used for the energy harvesting and the data signal received on the PDSCH for supplying power of the terminal (Figs. 2 and 10, device 205-a, signal 235, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0060-0065, 0091-0092, 0105, etc. which disclose the respective device using signal 235, comprised of RF power 240 and a data portion, is used for providing DC power “of” the terminal, read on by device 205-a. See the 112 rejections above). While Elshafie discloses another device may be in the form of a base station, a device, or any other device described within Fig. 1 (see, at least, paragraph 0091), Elshafie fails to teach the “another device includes a base station and another terminal”.
However, Wanstedt et al. discloses another device includes a base station and another terminal (Fig. 1, base station 10 with UE 12, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0026-0030 which disclose the base station 10 pairs with a charging UE 12 to supply a power supplying signal to a requesting terminal. Furthermore, it should be noted that the respective structural components of “another device,” which are external to the terminal as claimed appear to be moot as said claim is explicitly directed towards the apparatus of the terminal.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie to realize another device as including a base station and another terminal, as taught within Wanstedt, to establish a flexible and convenient environment capable of enabling opportunistic energy and information sharing within a mobile environment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836