Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2021-0109715, filed on 19 August 2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Using “SL” acronym without providing a corresponding explanation in parathesis. For example, “discontinuous reception (DRX)” or “identifier (ID)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5- 9, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Li et al. (US 20220287143 A1) or Li.
Claim 1
Lohr teaches,
A method for performing wireless communication by a first device, the method comprising: …
…monitoring, based on a first service identifier (ID), a message for establishing unicast;
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
receiving the message for establishing unicast from a second device; and
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, a remote unit 102 (e.g., a second user equipment) may receive information indicating initiation of a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a first user equipment...)
establishing a unicast connection with the second device based on the message for establishing unicast,
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is monitored based on a first SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtaining at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration:…
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtaining at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration:…
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine monitoring a message for unicast based on a service ID and SL DRX configuration, receiving a message for establishing unicast, and establishing a unicast connection as disclosed by Lohr with the obtaining a SL DRX configuration and associating a service ID related to a QoS profile for DRX support as disclosed by Li to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required to monitor a message for unicast).
Claim 2
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the message for establishing unicast is a direct communication request message, a direct communication accept message a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) message or a PC5-signaling message.
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, ...during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 4
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the message for establishing unicast includes the first service ID.
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used for transmission and/or reception of SL-SRB0, SL-SRB1, and SL-RB2 during a unicast link establishment procedure until and including a direct communication accept (“DCA”) message is sent and/or received.)
Shows a direct communication accept message utilized to establish a unicast link
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, a DCA message includes QoS information (e.g., information about PC5 QoS flows requested by an initiating UE (TX UE) for each PC5 QoS flow, a PFI, corresponding PC5 QoS parameters (e.g., PQI and/or other parameters such as MFBR and/or GFBR), and/or associated V2X service types).)
Shows a DCA message may include service ID of PQI
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 5
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 4, wherein, based on the first service ID included in the message for establishing unicast, the message for establishing unicast is received from the second device.
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, ...in response to transmission and/or reception of a DCA message, peer UEs of a unicast link may apply DRX configurations predefined and/or preconfigured for QoS flows, e.g., the QoS flows signaled within the DCA message (e.g., PQIs associated with the QoS flows—for each PQI a predefined and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used).)
Shows the reception of the DCA by peer UEs
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first SL DRX configuration is a SL DRX configuration related to the first service ID.
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, ...predefined SL DRX configurations may be used (e.g., derived based on PQI of established QoS-flows and/or SL RBs)...)
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 7
Lohr teaches,
…the message for establishing unicast is monitored based on the first SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a quality of service (QoS) profile,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein the first SL DRX configuration is a SL DRX configuration related to the QoS profile related to the first service ID
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Lohr teaches,
…the first SL DRX configuration is selected by the first device among the at least one SL DRX configuration to monitor the message for establishing unicast.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to the transmission profile representing the compatibility of SL DRX support and the transmission profile is related to the first SL DRX configuration,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to the transmission profile representing the compatibility of SL DRX support and the transmission profile is related to the first SL DRX configuration,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first SL DRX configuration includes information related to a SL DRX timer and information related to a SL DRX cycle.
(See Lohr paragraph 0054, ...each SL logical channel (“LCH”), SL service, SL application, and/or SL destination may be associated with a preconfigured and/or fixed SL-DRX-configuration (e.g., which may be defined as a combination of offset_std_On-duration, On-duration-timer, and/or periodicity).)
Shows the fixed SL-DRX configuration includes a On-duration-timer and periodicity or cycle
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 13
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first SL DRX configuration is a default SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, In some embodiments, a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14
Lohr teaches,
A first device adapted to perform wireless communication, the first device comprising:
(See Lohr paragraph 0004, An apparatus for sidelink discontinuous reception configuration, in one embodiment, includes a first user equipment.)
one or more memories storing instructions; one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to:…
(See Lohr paragraph 0041, ...the processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein. The processor 202 is communicatively coupled to the memory 204, the input device 206, the display 208, the transmitter 210, and the receiver 212.)
(See Lohr paragraph 0048, In one embodiment, the transmitter 210 and the receiver 212 may be part of a transceiver.)
Shows the transmitter and receiver may be part of a transceiver
…control the one or more transceivers to monitor, based on a first service identifier (ID),
a message for establishing unicast;
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
(See Lohr paragraph 0048, In one embodiment, the transmitter 210 and the receiver 212 may be part of a transceiver.)
Shows the transmitter and receiver may be part of a transceiver
control the one or more transceivers to receive the message for establishing unicast from a second device; and
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, a remote unit 102 (e.g., a second user equipment) may receive information indicating initiation of a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a first user equipment...)
establish a unicast connection with the second device based on the message for establishing unicast,…
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is monitored based on a first SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15
Lohr teaches,
A processing device adapted to control a first device, the processing device comprising:
one or more processors; and one or more memories operably connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions,
wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to:...
(See Lohr paragraph 0041, ...the processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein. The processor 202 is communicatively coupled to the memory 204, the input device 206, the display 208, the transmitter 210, and the receiver 212.)
…monitor, based on a first service identifier (ID), a message for establishing unicast;
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
receive the message for establishing unicast from a second device; and
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, a remote unit 102 (e.g., a second user equipment) may receive information indicating initiation of a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a first user equipment...)
establish a unicast connection with the second device based on the message for establishing unicast,
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is monitored based on a first SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16
Lohr teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed. cause a first device to:
(See Lohr paragraph 0022, More specific examples (a non-exhaustive list) of the storage device would include the following: an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (“RAM”), a read-only memory (“ROM”),...)
Shows examples of non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums such as random access memory
(See Lohr paragraph 0022, ...a computer readable storage medium may be any tangible medium that can contain, or store a program for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device.)
Shows the instructions on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium being executed
…monitor, based on a first service identifier (ID), a message for establishing unicast;
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
receive the message for establishing unicast from a second device; and
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, a remote unit 102 (e.g., a second user equipment) may receive information indicating initiation of a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a first user equipment...)
establish a unicast connection with the second device based on the message for establishing unicast,
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is monitored based on a first SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17
Lohr teaches,
A method for performing wireless communication by a second device, the method comprising:…
(See Lohr paragraph 0005, …a method for sidelink discontinuous reception configuration includes receiving information, at a second user equipment,…)
…transmitting, to a first device, a message for establishing unicast including a first service identifier (ID); and
(See Lohr paragraph 0038, ...a remote unit 102 (e.g., a first user equipment) may initiate a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a second user equipment (e.g., remote unit 102).)
Shows a device initiating a sidelink unicast establishment with a second user equipment
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, ...during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows the establishment of a unicast link
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, the security mode command message includes some QoS information (e.g., information about PC5 QoS flows requested by an initiating UE (TX UE)).)
Shows the security mode command message includes PC5 QoS flow
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, For each PC5 QoS flow, a packet format information (“PFI”), corresponding PC5 QoS parameters (e.g., PQI and/or other parameters such as maximum flow bit rate (“MFBR”) and/or guaranteed flow bit rate (“GFBR”)), and/or associated V2X service types may be included.)
Shows the PQI included in the PC5 QoS flow
establishing a unicast connection with the first device based on the message for establishing unicast,…
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is transmitted within an active time of a first SL DRX configuration among the at least one SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0060 …during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure). The DCR message may be sent according to a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration (e.g., DCR message may be sent during DRX ActiveTime to ensure that a peer UE is able to receive the DCR message…)
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtaining at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration: …
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtaining at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration: …
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18
Lohr teaches,
A second device adapted to perform wireless communication, the second device comprising:
(See Lohr paragraph 0006, An apparatus for sidelink discontinuous reception configuration, in some embodiments, includes a second user equipment.)
one or more memories storing instructions;
one or more transceivers; and
one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to;…
(See Lohr paragraph 0041, ...the processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein. The processor 202 is communicatively coupled to the memory 204, the input device 206, the display 208, the transmitter 210, and the receiver 212.)
…control the one or more transceivers to transmit, to a first device, a message for establishing unicast including a first service identifier (ID); and
(See Lohr paragraph 0038, ...a remote unit 102 (e.g., a first user equipment) may initiate a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a second user equipment (e.g., remote unit 102).)
Shows a device initiating a sidelink unicast establishment with a second user equipment
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, ...during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows the establishment of a unicast link
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, the security mode command message includes some QoS information (e.g., information about PC5 QoS flows requested by an initiating UE (TX UE)).)
Shows the security mode command message includes PC5 QoS flow
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, For each PC5 QoS flow, a packet format information (“PFI”), corresponding PC5 QoS parameters (e.g., PQI and/or other parameters such as maximum flow bit rate (“MFBR”) and/or guaranteed flow bit rate (“GFBR”)), and/or associated V2X service types may be included.)
Shows the PQI included in the PC5 QoS flow
establish a unicast connection with the first device based on the message for establishing unicast,…
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is transmitted within an active time of a first SL DRX configuration among the at least one SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0060 …during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure). The DCR message may be sent according to a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration (e.g., DCR message may be sent during DRX ActiveTime to ensure that a peer UE is able to receive the DCR message…)
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19
Lohr teaches,
A processing device adapted to control a second device, the processing device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories operably connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to:…
(See Lohr paragraph 0041, ...the processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein. The processor 202 is communicatively coupled to the memory 204, the input device 206, the display 208, the transmitter 210, and the receiver 212.)
…transmit to a first device, a message for establishing unicast including a first service identifier (ID); and
(See Lohr paragraph 0038, ...a remote unit 102 (e.g., a first user equipment) may initiate a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a second user equipment (e.g., remote unit 102).)
Shows a device initiating a sidelink unicast establishment with a second user equipment
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, ...during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows the establishment of a unicast link
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, the security mode command message includes some QoS information (e.g., information about PC5 QoS flows requested by an initiating UE (TX UE)).)
Shows the security mode command message includes PC5 QoS flow
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, For each PC5 QoS flow, a packet format information (“PFI”), corresponding PC5 QoS parameters (e.g., PQI and/or other parameters such as maximum flow bit rate (“MFBR”) and/or guaranteed flow bit rate (“GFBR”)), and/or associated V2X service types may be included.)
Shows the PQI included in the PC5 QoS flow
establish a unicast connection with the first device based on the message for establishing unicast,…
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is transmitted within an active time of a first SL DRX configuration among the at least one SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0060 …during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure). The DCR message may be sent according to a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration (e.g., DCR message may be sent during DRX ActiveTime to ensure that a peer UE is able to receive the DCR message…)
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 20
Lohr teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause a second device to:…
(See Lohr paragraph 0022, More specific examples (a non-exhaustive list) of the storage device would include the following: an electrical connection having one or more wires, a portable computer diskette, a hard disk, a random access memory (“RAM”), a read-only memory (“ROM”),...)
Shows examples of non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums such as random access memory
(See Lohr paragraph 0022, ...a computer readable storage medium may be any tangible medium that can contain, or store a program for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device.)
Shows the instructions on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium being executed
…transmit, to a first device, a message for establishing unicast including a first service identifier (ID); and
(See Lohr paragraph 0038, ...a remote unit 102 (e.g., a first user equipment) may initiate a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a second user equipment (e.g., remote unit 102).)
Shows a device initiating a sidelink unicast establishment with a second user equipment
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, ...during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows the establishment of a unicast link
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, the security mode command message includes some QoS information (e.g., information about PC5 QoS flows requested by an initiating UE (TX UE)).)
Shows the security mode command message includes PC5 QoS flow
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, For each PC5 QoS flow, a packet format information (“PFI”), corresponding PC5 QoS parameters (e.g., PQI and/or other parameters such as maximum flow bit rate (“MFBR”) and/or guaranteed flow bit rate (“GFBR”)), and/or associated V2X service types may be included.)
Shows the PQI included in the PC5 QoS flow
establish a unicast connection with the first device based on the message for establishing unicast,
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast is transmitted within an active time of a first SL DRX configuration among the at least one SL DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0060 …during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure). The DCR message may be sent according to a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration (e.g., DCR message may be sent during DRX ActiveTime to ensure that a peer UE is able to receive the DCR message…)
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtain at least one SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Li paragraph 00007, Rx UE includes receiving, from a Tx UE, a first sidelink transmission in an on duration of a sidelink DRX cycle associated with a sidelink DRX configuration;)
…wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Li et al. (US 20220287143 A1) or Li in further view of Latheef et al. (US 20230292400 A1) or Latheef.
Claim 3
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. Nevertheless, Latheef, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first service ID is a service ID that the first device is interested in transmitting or receiving through the unicast connection.
(See Latheef paragraph 0182, This assistance information may further indicate the index or session id for the MBS service that is desired to be received over unicast methods. In an embodiment, a UE indicates the service id or session ID which it prefers to receive in a unicast method as illustrated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine monitoring a message for unicast based on a service ID and SL DRX configuration, receiving a message for establishing unicast, and establishing a unicast connection as disclosed by Lohr with a first device interested in transmitting or receiving a service ID through a unicast connection as disclosed by Latheef to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of monitoring the unicast channel).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Li et al. (US 20220287143 A1) or Li in further view of Freda et al. (WO 2021206952 A1) or Freda.
Claim 10
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Freda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…incompatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Freda paragraph 0171, A WTRU may disable (e.g., implicitly disable) a DRX configuration (e.g., operate in a non-DRX mode where the WTRU may monitor a PSCCH in a continuous manner, e.g., at all times), for example, in response to a QoS flow being established, whereby the QoS flow may be indicated (e.g., by a network or a higher layer) as being associated with a non-DRX mode (e.g., having DRX disabled).)
Shows terminal disabling based on an incompatibility of a QoS flow associated with a non-DRX mode
…the message for establishing unicast is monitored without application of SL DRX.
(See Freda paragraph 0137, Following a configuration failure between a first WTRU and a second WTRU, one or more of the following may occur. The first and second WTRUs may continue to operate (e.g., communicate) without DRX on a unicast link.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine monitoring a message for unicast based on a service ID and SL DRX configuration, receiving a message for establishing unicast, and establishing a unicast connection as disclosed by Lohr disabling a DRX configuration based on incompatibility of SL DRX support and monitoring a message based without SL DRX as disclosed by Freda to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of missing the reception of a message from a transmitting device).
Claim 11
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11. Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Freda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…incompatibility of SL DRX support,…
(See Freda paragraph 0171, A WTRU may disable (e.g., implicitly disable) a DRX configuration (e.g., operate in a non-DRX mode where the WTRU may monitor a PSCCH in a continuous manner, e.g., at all times), for example, in response to a QoS flow being established, whereby the QoS flow may be indicated (e.g., by a network or a higher layer) as being associated with a non-DRX mode (e.g., having DRX disabled).)
Shows terminal disabling based on an incompatibility of a QoS flow associated with a non-DRX mode
…the first device monitors the message for establishing unicast in an always active state.
(See Freda paragraph 0118, A DRX configuration may be provided for a unicast link. DRX may be configured (e.g., for a unicast link), for example, during link establishment/configuration signaling over PC5.)
Shows a DRX configuration for unicast over PC5 or sidelink
(See Freda paragraph 0118, A Tx WTRU may assume that an Rx WTRU does not perform an activity state behavior and the unicast link may still be established, for example, if an Rx WTRU rejects an activity state configuration. A Tx WTRU may implement a different activity state configuration, for example, in the case of rejection (e.g., in the case where an Rx WTRU rejects an activity state configuration). A Rx WTRU may perform (e.g., always perform) monitoring of sidelink according to a resource pool, for example, in the case when the Rx WTRU rejects an activity state configuration.)
Shows monitoring a sidelink for unicast linking in an always active state
The motivation to combine Lohr, Li, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adjakple et al. (US 20240172325 A1) or Adjakple teaches determining and establishing a sidelink discontinues reception or SL DRX groups.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414