Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s page 1, filed 18 May 2026 AD, with respect to claim 1 objection has been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s, filed 18 May 2026 AD, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230040436 A1) or Cheng in further view of Freda et al. (WO 2021206952 A1) or Freda for claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11-16, 18, and 19.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230040436 A1) or Cheng in further view of Freda et al. (WO 2021206952 A1) or Freda in further view of Li et al. (US 20220287143 A1) or Li for claims 7-8.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230040436 A1) or Cheng in further view of Freda et al. (WO 2021206952 A1) or Freda in further view of Latheef et al. (US 20230292400 A1) or Latheef for claims 3, 17, and 20.
Li teaches a service ID related to a quality of service or QoS profile. However, Li fails to explicitly teach a second service ID related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support and the message for establishing a unicast connection is monitored without application of inter-UE DRX.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230040436 A1) or Cheng in further view of Freda et al. (WO 2021206952 A1) or Freda.
Claim 1
Lohr teaches,
A method comprising: …
…based on a service identifier (ID), monitoring, by the first device, a message for establishing a unicast connection;
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
receiving, by the first device from a second device, the message for establishing the unicast connection; and
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, a remote unit 102 (e.g., a second user equipment) may receive information indicating initiation of a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a first user equipment...)
based on the message for establishing the unicast connection, establishing, by the first device, the unicast cast connection with the second device,
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored based on a first inter-UE DRX configuration, and…
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtaining, by a first device, at least one inter-user equipment (inter-UE) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of inter-UE DRX support,
and wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a second service ID, and ii) the second service ID is related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support,...
Nevertheless, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtaining, by a first device, at least one inter-user equipment (inter-UE) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Cheng paragraph 0064, …the Tx/Rx UE 405 and the Rx/Tx UE 410 may negotiate, via a sidelink, a configuration for sidelink DRX.)
…wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of inter-UE DRX support,
(See Cheng paragraph 0087, if the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may not disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may assume that communications for the service type are always transmitted by a UE that supports sidelink DRX. In some aspects, if the transmission profile does not indicate that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may disable sidelink DRX.)
Shows the UE enabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
and wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a second service ID, and ii) the second service ID is related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support,...
(See Cheng paragraph 0086, …the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX, in connection with a service type of interest to the receiver UE 605, based at least in part on whether the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required (e.g., which may be explicitly indicated or implicitly indicated).)
Shows the UE disabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a first device monitoring for a message to establish a unicast connection, receive from a second device the message for establishing the unicast connection, establishing the unicast connection between the first and second device, and monitoring for the unicast connection based on a inter-user equipment or inter-UE discontinuous reception or DRX configuration as disclosed by Lohr with the obtaining, by the first device, a inter-UE DRX configuration, a first service ID related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of inter-UE DRX support and a second service ID related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support as disclosed by Cheng to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required for UEs supporting DRX).
Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored without application of inter-UE DRX.
Nevertheless, Freda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored without application of inter-UE DRX.
(See Freda 0137, Following a configuration failure between a first WTRU and a second WTRU, one or more of the following may occur. The first and second WTRUs may continue to operate (e.g., communicate) without DRX on a unicast link.)
Shows two UEs communicating without DRX on a unicast link
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a first device monitoring for a message to establish a unicast connection, receive from a second device the message for establishing the unicast connection, establishing the unicast connection between the first and second device, and monitoring for the unicast connection based on a inter-user equipment or inter-UE discontinuous reception or DRX configuration as disclosed by Lohr with monitoring the message for establishing a unicast connection without inter-UE DRX as disclosed by Freda to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the probability of receiving the message for establishing a unicast connection).
Claim 2 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the message for establishing the unicast connection is a direct communication request message, a direct communication accept message a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) message or a PC5-signaling message.
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, ...during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 4
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the message for establishing the unicast connection includes the first service ID.
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used for transmission and/or reception of SL-SRB0, SL-SRB1, and SL-RB2 during a unicast link establishment procedure until and including a direct communication accept (“DCA”) message is sent and/or received.)
Shows a direct communication accept message utilized to establish a unicast link
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, a DCA message includes QoS information (e.g., information about PC5 QoS flows requested by an initiating UE (TX UE) for each PC5 QoS flow, a PFI, corresponding PC5 QoS parameters (e.g., PQI and/or other parameters such as MFBR and/or GFBR), and/or associated V2X service types).)
Shows a DCA message may include service ID of PQI
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 5 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 4, wherein, based on the service ID included in the message for establishing the unicast connection, the message for establishing the unicast connection is received from the second device.
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, ...in response to transmission and/or reception of a DCA message, peer UEs of a unicast link may apply DRX configurations predefined and/or preconfigured for QoS flows, e.g., the QoS flows signaled within the DCA message (e.g., PQIs associated with the QoS flows—for each PQI a predefined and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used).)
Shows the reception of the DCA by peer UEs
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first inter-UE DRX configuration is an inter-UE DRX configuration related to the first service ID.
(See Lohr paragraph 0061, ...predefined SL DRX configurations may be used (e.g., derived based on PQI of established QoS-flows and/or SL RBs)...)
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
…the first iner-UE DRX configuration is selected by the first device among the at least one inter-UE DRX configuration to monitor the message for establishing the unicast connection.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that i) the service ID is the first service ID, ii) the first service ID is related to the transmission profile representing the compatibility of inter-UE DRX support and iii) the transmission profile is related to the first inter-UE DRX configuration,…
Nevertheless, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that i) the service ID is the first service ID, ii) the first service ID is related to the transmission profile representing the compatibility of inter-UE DRX support and iii) the transmission profile is related to the first inter-UE DRX configuration,…
(See Cheng paragraph 0087, if the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may not disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may assume that communications for the service type are always transmitted by a UE that supports sidelink DRX. In some aspects, if the transmission profile does not indicate that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may disable sidelink DRX.)
Shows the UE enabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11. Nevertheless, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that i) the service ID is the second service ID, and ii) the second service ID is related to the transmission profile representing the incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
(See Cheng paragraph 0086, …the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX, in connection with a service type of interest to the receiver UE 605, based at least in part on whether the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required (e.g., which may be explicitly indicated or implicitly indicated).)
Shows the UE disabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
The motivation to combine Lohr and Cheng in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Freda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the first device monitors the message for establishing the unicast connection in an always active state.
(See Freda paragraph 0118, A DRX configuration may be provided for a unicast link. DRX may be configured (e.g., for a unicast link), for example, during link establishment/configuration signaling over PC5.)
Shows a DRX configuration for unicast over PC5 or sidelink
(See Freda paragraph 0118, A Tx WTRU may assume that an Rx WTRU does not perform an activity state behavior and the unicast link may still be established, for example, if an Rx WTRU rejects an activity state configuration. A Tx WTRU may implement a different activity state configuration, for example, in the case of rejection (e.g., in the case where an Rx WTRU rejects an activity state configuration). A Rx WTRU may perform (e.g., always perform) monitoring of sidelink according to a resource pool, for example, in the case when the Rx WTRU rejects an activity state configuration.)
Shows monitoring a sidelink for unicast linking in an always active state
The motivation to combine Lohr and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first inter-UE DRX configuration includes information related to an inter-UE DRX timer and information related to an inter-UE DRX cycle.
(See Lohr paragraph 0054, ...each SL logical channel (“LCH”), SL service, SL application, and/or SL destination may be associated with a preconfigured and/or fixed SL-DRX-configuration (e.g., which may be defined as a combination of offset_std_On-duration, On-duration-timer, and/or periodicity).)
Shows the fixed SL-DRX configuration includes a On-duration-timer and periodicity or cycle
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first inter-UE DRX configuration is a default inter-UE DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, In some embodiments, a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
A first device comprising:
(See Lohr paragraph 0004, An apparatus for sidelink discontinuous reception configuration, in one embodiment, includes a first user equipment.)
at least one transceiver;
at least one processor;
and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor,
cause the first device to perform operations comprising:
(See Lohr paragraph 0041, ...the processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein. The processor 202 is communicatively coupled to the memory 204, the input device 206, the display 208, the transmitter 210, and the receiver 212.)
(See Lohr paragraph 0048, In one embodiment, the transmitter 210 and the receiver 212 may be part of a transceiver.)
Shows the transmitter and receiver may be part of a transceiver
…based on a service identifier (ID), monitoring a message for establishing a unicast connection;
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
receiving, from a second device, the message for establishing the unicast connection; and
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, a remote unit 102 (e.g., a second user equipment) may receive information indicating initiation of a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a first user equipment...)
based on the message for establishing the unicast connection, establishing the unicast connection with the second device,…
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing unicast connection is monitored based on a first inter-UE DRX configuration, and…
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtaining at least one inter-user equipment (inter-UE) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a second service ID, and ii) the second service ID is related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtaining at least one inter-user equipment (inter-UE) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Cheng paragraph 0064, …the Tx/Rx UE 405 and the Rx/Tx UE 410 may negotiate, via a sidelink, a configuration for sidelink DRX.)
…wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
(See Cheng paragraph 0087, if the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may not disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may assume that communications for the service type are always transmitted by a UE that supports sidelink DRX. In some aspects, if the transmission profile does not indicate that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may disable sidelink DRX.)
Shows the UE enabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a second service ID, and ii) the second service ID is related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
(See Cheng paragraph 0086, …the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX, in connection with a service type of interest to the receiver UE 605, based at least in part on whether the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required (e.g., which may be explicitly indicated or implicitly indicated).)
Shows the UE disabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
The motivation to combine Lohr and Cheng in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored without application of inter-UE DRX.
Nevertheless, Freda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored without application of inter-UE DRX.
(See Freda 0137, Following a configuration failure between a first WTRU and a second WTRU, one or more of the following may occur. The first and second WTRUs may continue to operate (e.g., communicate) without DRX on a unicast link.)
Shows two UEs communicating without DRX on a unicast link
The motivation to combine Lohr and Freda in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
A processing device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory connect to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause a first device to perform operations comprising;
(See Lohr paragraph 0041, ...the processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods and routines described herein. The processor 202 is communicatively coupled to the memory 204, the input device 206, the display 208, the transmitter 210, and the receiver 212.)
…based on a service identifier (ID), monitoring a message for establishing a unicast connection;
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...since expected PSID and/or ITS-AID services may be known to a receiver and mapped to a default QoS, the receiver of a potential DCR may be able to expect and monitor transmissions of certain PQIs. As may be appreciated, an ability for a receiver UE to expect and/or monitor PQIs may not be limited to unicast communication...)
receiving, from a second device, the message for establishing the unicast connection;
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, a remote unit 102 (e.g., a second user equipment) may receive information indicating initiation of a sidelink unicast establishment procedure with a first user equipment...)
based on the message for establishing the unicast connection, establishing the unicast connection with the second device,…
(See Lohr paragraph 0039, the remote unit 102 may perform sidelink communication using a predetermined sidelink discontinuous reception configuration during the sidelink unicast establishment procedure.)
…the message for establishing the unicast is monitored based on a first inter-UE DRX configuration, and…
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…obtaining at least one inter-user equipment (inter-UE) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
…wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a second service ID, and ii) the second service ID is related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
Nevertheless, Cheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…obtaining at least one inter-user equipment (inter-UE) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration;…
(See Cheng paragraph 0064, …the Tx/Rx UE 405 and the Rx/Tx UE 410 may negotiate, via a sidelink, a configuration for sidelink DRX.)
…wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a transmission profile representing compatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
(See Cheng paragraph 0087, if the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may not disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may assume that communications for the service type are always transmitted by a UE that supports sidelink DRX. In some aspects, if the transmission profile does not indicate that sidelink DRX is required, the receiver UE 605 may disable sidelink DRX.)
Shows the UE enabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
wherein, based on that i) the service ID is a second service ID, and ii) the second service ID is related to a transmission profile representing incompatibility of inter-UE DRX support,…
(See Cheng paragraph 0086, …the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX. For example, the receiver UE 605 may selectively disable sidelink DRX, in connection with a service type of interest to the receiver UE 605, based at least in part on whether the transmission profile indicates that sidelink DRX is required (e.g., which may be explicitly indicated or implicitly indicated).)
Shows the UE disabling sidelink DRX based on the transmission profile
(See Cheng paragraph 0082, …the receiver UE 605 may receive, from an application, information identifying a service type of the application, one or more quality of service (QoS) parameters associated with the application and/or the service type, a transmission (Tx) profile associated with the application and/or the service type,…)
Shows the UE receiving from an application information for identifying a service type of the application and a transmission profile associated with the application or service
The motivation to combine Lohr and Cheng in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Lohr, fails to explicitly teach,
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored without application of inter-UE DRX.
Nevertheless, Freda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored without application of inter-UE DRX.
(See Freda 0137, Following a configuration failure between a first WTRU and a second WTRU, one or more of the following may occur. The first and second WTRUs may continue to operate (e.g., communicate) without DRX on a unicast link.)
Shows two UEs communicating without DRX on a unicast link
The motivation to combine Lohr and Freda in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
The first device of claim 14, wherein the message for establishing the unicast connection is a direct communication request message, a direct communication accept message, a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) message, or a PC5-signaling message.
(See Lohr paragraph 0060, during establishment of a unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure), an initiating UE (TX UE) sends a direct communication request (“DCR”) message to initiate the unicast link (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Claim 18
Lohr teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19
Lohr teaches limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 16. The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, and Freda in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230040436 A1) or Cheng in further view of Freda et al. (WO 2021206952 A1) or Freda in further view of Li et al. (US 20220287143 A1) or Li.
Claim 7 (Currently Amended)
Lohr teaches,
…the message for establishing the unicast connection is monitored based on the first inter-UE DRX configuration.
(See Lohr paragraph 0065, ...a common, predefined, and/or preconfigured DRX configuration may be used by peer UEs when establishing a unicast link between the peer UEs (e.g., layer-2 link establishment procedure).)
Shows monitoring the unicast link based on between peer UEs or SL DRX configuration
However, Lohr fails to explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that i) the service ID is the first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a quality of service (QoS) profile,…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that i) the service ID is the first service ID, and ii) the first service ID is related to a quality of service (QoS) profile,…
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a first device monitoring for a message to establish a unicast connection, receive from a second device the message for establishing the unicast connection, establishing the unicast connection between the first and second device, and monitoring for the unicast connection based on a inter-user equipment or inter-UE discontinuous reception or DRX configuration as disclosed by Lohr with the first service ID related to a quality of service profile or QoS profile as disclosed by Li to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of data transmitted between the two UEs).
Claim 8 (Currently Amended)
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein the first inter-UE DRX configuration is an inter-UE DRX configuration related to the QoS profile related to the first service ID
(See Li paragraph 0070, ...sidelink DRX is configured per QoS profile or PC5 QoS identifier (PQI) and a group or service supports only one unique QoS profile or PQI value, then the group or service may be configured with one sidelink DRX corresponding to an associated QoS profile or PQI with multiple source IDs (e.g., Tx UEs).)
Shows service ID of PQI related to Qos profile supporting SL DRX
The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, Freda, and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claims 3, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US 20240196455 A1) or Lohr in view of Cheng et al. (US 20230040436 A1) or Cheng in further view of Freda et al. (WO 2021206952 A1) or Freda in further view of Latheef et al. (US 20230292400 A1) or Latheef.
Claim 3
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. Nevertheless, Latheef, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the service ID is a service ID that the first device is interested in transmitting or receiving through the unicast connection.
(See Latheef paragraph 0182, This assistance information may further indicate the index or session id for the MBS service that is desired to be received over unicast methods. In an embodiment, a UE indicates the service id or session ID which it prefers to receive in a unicast method as illustrated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine a first device monitoring for a message to establish a unicast connection, receive from a second device the message for establishing the unicast connection, establishing the unicast connection between the first and second device, and monitoring for the unicast connection based on an inter-user equipment or inter-UE discontinuous reception or DRX configuration as disclosed by Lohr with a first device interested in transmitting or receiving a service ID through a unicast connection as disclosed by Latheef to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of monitoring the unicast channel).
Claim 17
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 17. Nevertheless, Latheef, in the same field of endeavor teach limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, Freda, and Latheef in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 20
Lohr fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 17. Nevertheless, Latheef, in the same field of endeavor teach limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Lohr, Cheng, Freda, and Latheef in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (US 20230217536 A1) or Sun teaches a user equipment or UE determining the discontinuous reception or DRX cycle and transmits a message to another UE during the “on” state of the DRX cycle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414