DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
3. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a reception unit configured to perform, a control unit configured not to perform monitoring , and a transmission unit configured to perform in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinheiro et al. (US 20110201343 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pinheiro et al. teach A terminal ([0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices)) comprising:
a reception unit configured to perform monitoring of paging (Abstract the WTRU may perform paging monitoring) transmitted from a base station ([0020] The base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116, which may be any suitable wireless communication link (e.g., radio frequency (RF, [0085] the network may send a page message) ;
a control unit configured not to perform monitoring of the paging in a case where transitioning is performed to an RRC (Radio Resource Control) idle mode ([0053] In the mobile-originated-only mode, a WTRU may not perform paging monitoring) or to an RRC inactive mode and where a type of the terminal is a specific type ([0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices))); and
a transmission unit configured to perform uplink transmission to the base station ([0062] The WTRU may wait to transition out of the mobile-originated-only mode, or until an uplink transmission), wherein
the specific type is a device that performs only uplink transmission ([0004] the WTRU may perform cell reselection but not paging monitoring in the mobile-originated-only mode), a device that performs periodic uplink transmission or a device that can allow downlink delay longer than normal.
Regarding claim 2, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the reception unit receives information indicating the specific type from a network ([0078] Transition from the mobile-originated-only mode and the mobile-originated-and-terminated mode, (i.e., from the normal idle state to the mobile-originated-only state or configuration, (i.e., transitions between the RRC/NAS states or configuration)), may be triggered by a paging message, any NAS message, or the like).
Regarding claim 6, Pinheiro et al. teach A communication method performed by a terminal ([0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices)), the communication method comprising:
performing monitoring of paging (Abstract the WTRU may perform paging monitoring) transmitted from a base station ([0020] The base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116, which may be any suitable wireless communication link (e.g., radio frequency (RF, [0085] the network may send a page message) ;
not performing monitoring of the paging in a case where transitioning is performed to an RRC (Radio Resource Control) idle mode ([0053] In the mobile-originated-only mode, a WTRU may not perform paging monitoring) or to an RRC inactive mode and where a type of the terminal is a specific type ([0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices))); and
performing uplink transmission to the base station ([0062] The WTRU may wait to transition out of the mobile-originated-only mode, or until an uplink transmission), wherein
the specific type is a device that performs only uplink transmission ([0004] the WTRU may perform cell reselection but not paging monitoring in the mobile-originated-only mode), a device that performs periodic uplink transmission, or a device that can allow downlink delay longer than normal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. in view of Quan et al. (EP3772228A1).
Regarding claim 3, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, but do not teach wherein
the control unit performs monitoring of the paging during a period before or after a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed.
In a similar endeavor, Quan et al. teach
the control unit performs monitoring of the paging during a period before or after a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed (Quan [0098] E.g. an idle UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE receiving a COT structure indication interprets an indication of a symbol as "downlink" as a paging time instance to be monitored, and interprets an indication of a symbol as "uplink" or "Flexible" as a symbol which is not to be monitored for paging)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Pinheiro et al. by incorporating Quan et al. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have not monitored paging during periods of not transmitting paging messages
Regarding claim 4, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, but do not teach wherein
the control unit does not perform monitoring of the paging during a period from a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed.
In a similar endeavor, Quan et al. teach
the control unit does not perform monitoring of the paging during a period from a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed (Quan [0098] E.g. an idle UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE receiving a COT structure indication interprets an indication of a symbol as "downlink" as a paging time instance to be monitored, and interprets an indication of a symbol as "uplink" or "Flexible" as a symbol which is not to be monitored for paging)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Pinheiro et al. by incorporating Quan et al. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have not monitored paging during periods of not transmitting paging messages
.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. in view of ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20220239412 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the reception unit receives, from the base station, information indicating whether the uplink transmission transmitted from the transmission unit to the base station is successfully received.
In a similar endeavor, ELSHAFIE et al. teach
the reception unit receives, from the base station, information indicating whether the uplink transmission transmitted from the transmission unit to the base station is successfully received (ELSHAFIE [0079] the base station (e.g., gNB) may send acknowledgment (ACK/NACK or ACK only) if the uplink transmission is successfully received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Pinheiro et al. by incorporating ELSHAFIE et al. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have informed the UE that the uplink transmission was successful.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644