DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 7 third paragraph, that Pinheiro does not teach that a WTRU in the mobile- originated-only mode is a device that performs only uplink transmission. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not require “a device that performs only uplink transmission” but recites a specific device from 3 options: a device that performs only uplink transmission , a device that performs periodic uplink transmission, or a device that can allow downlink delay longer than normal. Pinheiro [0004] disclosing “a device performing cell reselection and not paging monitoring” teaches uplink transmission only. Moreover, Pinheiro [0003] and [0087] teach a device that perform periodic uplink transmission. Applicant argues, on the same paragraph, that Pinheiro [0004] discloses the WRTU perform paging monitoring. However, claim 1 recites “a receiver configured to perform monitoring of paging”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “not to perform monitoring” in light of the specification [0023] includes “reduce monitoring” or “not to perform part of monitoring". Also, Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 of the specification includes monitoring for a given period and not monitoring for another period of time. Applicant argues further, that Pinheiro does not teach the specific type is "a device that performs periodic uplink transmission" or "a device that can allow downlink delay longer than normal." The examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, Pinheiro [003] and [0087] teaches the "a device that performs periodic uplink transmission" option.
Applicant argues, on page 7 fourth paragraph, that Pinheiro does not teach that not performing monitoring is based on a specific type of the terminal. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Pinheiro [003-[0004] teaches a device may be required to support mobile originated communications only, (e.g., a metering system which periodically reports measurements) and not perform paging monitoring. Thus, Pinheiro teaches all the argued claim limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinheiro et al. (US 20110201343 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pinheiro et al. teach A terminal ([0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices)) comprising:
a receiver configured to perform monitoring of paging (Abstract the WTRU may perform paging monitoring) transmitted from a base station ([0020] The base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116, which may be any suitable wireless communication link (e.g., radio frequency (RF, [0085] the network may send a page message) ;
a processor configured not to perform monitoring of the paging based on a specific type of the terminal ([0003]-[0004] In MTC, in some use cases, a device may be required to support mobile originated communications only, (e.g., a metering system which periodically reports measurements)... the WTRU may perform cell reselection but not paging monitoring in the mobile-originated-only mode, [0053] In the mobile-originated-only mode, a WTRU may not perform paging monitoring, [0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices)), in a case where transitioning is performed to an RRC (Radio Resource Control) idle mode ([0005] a separate RRC idle state, an RRC idle mode with a profile configuration configured for the mobile-originated-only mode, or a mobile originate only state in an RRC idle mode) or to an RRC inactive mode; and
a transmission unit configured to perform uplink transmission to the base station ([0062] The WTRU may wait to transition out of the mobile-originated-only mode, or until an uplink transmission), wherein
the specific type is a device that performs only uplink transmission ([0004] the WTRU may perform cell reselection but not paging monitoring in the mobile-originated-only mode), a device that performs periodic uplink transmission ([0003] mobile originated communications only, (e.g., a metering system which periodically reports measurements, [0087] when a periodic timer expires or when a certain time as configured by the network or application is reached, the WTRU may transition to a normal idle mode, and may initiate a transmission) or a device that can allow downlink delay longer than normal.
Regarding claim 2, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the receiver receives information indicating the specific type from a network ([0078] Transition from the mobile-originated-only mode and the mobile-originated-and-terminated mode, (i.e., from the normal idle state to the mobile-originated-only state or configuration, (i.e., transitions between the RRC/NAS states or configuration)), may be triggered by a paging message, any NAS message, or the like).
Regarding claim 6, Pinheiro et al. teach A communication method performed by a terminal ([0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices)), the communication method comprising:
performing monitoring of paging (Abstract the WTRU may perform paging monitoring) transmitted from a base station ([0020] The base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 116, which may be any suitable wireless communication link (e.g., radio frequency (RF, [0085] the network may send a page message) ;
not performing monitoring of the paging based on a specific type of the terminal ([0003]-[0004] In MTC, in some use cases, a device may be required to support mobile originated communications only, (e.g., a metering system which periodically reports measurements)... the WTRU may perform cell reselection but not paging monitoring in the mobile-originated-only mode, [0053] In the mobile-originated-only mode, a WTRU may not perform paging monitoring, [0058] WTRUs, (i.e., MTC devices)), in a case where transitioning is performed to an RRC (Radio Resource Control) idle mode ([0005] a separate RRC idle state, an RRC idle mode with a profile configuration configured for the mobile-originated-only mode, or a mobile originate only state in an RRC idle mode) or to an RRC inactive mode; and
performing uplink transmission to the base station ([0062] The WTRU may wait to transition out of the mobile-originated-only mode, or until an uplink transmission), wherein
the specific type is a device that performs only uplink transmission ([0004] the WTRU may perform cell reselection but not paging monitoring in the mobile-originated-only mode), a device that performs periodic uplink transmission ([0003] mobile originated communications only, (e.g., a metering system which periodically reports measurements, [0087] when a periodic timer expires or when a certain time as configured by the network or application is reached, the WTRU may transition to a normal idle mode, and may initiate a transmission) , or a device that can allow downlink delay longer than normal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. in view of Quan et al. (EP3772228A1).
Regarding claim 3, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, but do not teach wherein
the processor performs monitoring of the paging during a period before or after a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed.
In a similar endeavor, Quan et al. teach
the processor performs monitoring of the paging during a period before or after a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed (Quan [0098] E.g. an idle UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE receiving a COT structure indication interprets an indication of a symbol as "downlink" as a paging time instance to be monitored, and interprets an indication of a symbol as "uplink" or "Flexible" as a symbol which is not to be monitored for paging)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Pinheiro et al. by incorporating Quan et al. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have not monitored paging during periods of not transmitting paging messages
Regarding claim 4, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, but do not teach wherein
the processor does not perform monitoring of the paging during a period from a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed.
In a similar endeavor, Quan et al. teach
the processor does not perform monitoring of the paging during a period from a time point at which the uplink transmission is performed (Quan [0098] E.g. an idle UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE receiving a COT structure indication interprets an indication of a symbol as "downlink" as a paging time instance to be monitored, and interprets an indication of a symbol as "uplink" or "Flexible" as a symbol which is not to be monitored for paging)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Pinheiro et al. by incorporating Quan et al. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have not monitored paging during periods of not transmitting paging messages
.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. in view of ELSHAFIE et al. (US 20220239412 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Pinheiro et al. teach The terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the receiver receives, from the base station, information indicating whether the uplink transmission transmitted from the transmission unit to the base station is successfully received.
In a similar endeavor, ELSHAFIE et al. teach
the receiver receives, from the base station, information indicating whether the uplink transmission transmitted from the transmission unit to the base station is successfully received (ELSHAFIE [0079] the base station (e.g., gNB) may send acknowledgment (ACK/NACK or ACK only) if the uplink transmission is successfully received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Pinheiro et al. by incorporating ELSHAFIE et al. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have informed the UE that the uplink transmission was successful.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644