Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species II in the reply filed on 8/21/2025 is acknowledged. The restriction is deemed proper and hereby made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one opening in the flexible sleeve” of claim 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the wearable head sleeve" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 22, and 28-29 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivares Velasco et al. (US 20200297052). Regarding claims 19 and 22, Olivares Velasco teaches a wearable head band comprising a flexible sleeve (202B) comprising a stretchable fabric material and including a neck end and a crown end disposed opposite the neck end; and a padding (206 and/or 220) disposed on said flexible sleeve and covered by an outer shell (202A) having an outer surface. While Olivares Velasco teaches at the head band is stretchable (0028-0031), Olivares Velasco is nonetheless silent to whether the flexible sleeve has a lengthwise stretchability of about 5% to less than 30% and wherein the flexible sleeve has a width-wise stretchability of about 5% to less than 45%. However, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art and/or that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (0031, 0035), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the sleeve of Olivares Velasco have the claimed lengthwise and width-wise stretchability. The motivation would have been to allow the headband to flex and expand when placed on a user’s head (0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Olivares Velasco as specified in claims 19 and 22.
In regards to claim 28, Olivares Velasco teaches at least one opening in the flexible sleeve configured to promote air circulation against skin of a wearer (0031, 0035).
With regards to claim 29, Olivares Velasco teaches wherein at least one opening in the padding configured to promote air circulation against skin of a wearer (figure 5).
Claim(s) 25 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivares Velasco et al. (US 20200297052) in view of Bowen et al. (US 20130247271). While Olivares Velasco does not teach wherein the padding material comprises an inflatable air bladder and inflation port, inflatable bladders and those cushioning materials disclosed by Olivares Velasco (0029-0030) are known to be equivalents within the art. Nonetheless, Bowen teaches a headband with an inflatable bladder (0030) which is selectively inflatable, thus inherently comprising an inflation port. Olivares and Velasco are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. apparel. It would have been obvious to modify the padding of Olivares Velasco as taught by Bowen. The motivation would have been to selectively adjust the padding (firmness) based on the user’s preference. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Olivares Velasco as specified in claim 25.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631