DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/28/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-6 and 8-11 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-11 are presently pending in this application, and currently examined in the Office Action.
Examiner’s Notes
It is to be noted that in device/apparatus claims, such as claims 1-5, only the claimed structure of the final device bears patentable weight; intended use/functional language and/or method of manufacturing is considered to the extent that it further defines the claimed structure of the final device (see MPEP 2113 & 2114).
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bugle (US Patent No. 4,854,496) in view of Ewald et al. (Antimicrobial titanium/silver PVD coatings on titanium; BioMedical Engineering OnLine; pgs. 1-10; 24 March 2006), hereinafter Ewald.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Bugle discloses an implant (20), illustrated in Figures 2 and 3, having an implant surface comprising a micro-pattern layer on the implant surface comprising micro-machined micro-trenches (22) in predefined dimensions and arranged in a periodic array; a porous primary component layer (18) deposited over the micro-pattern layer (22), wherein the original phase of species of a primary component of the porous primary component layer is retained after deposition; and though it is not disclosed that the porous primary component layer is disposed by a high-pressure cold-spray deposition technique, this parameter is deemed to be a produce-by-process; it is important to keep in mind that that though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production and if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113); wherein the implant surface promotes bio-integration of the implant, illustrated in Figures 2-4 (Column 1, Lines 50-57; Column 4, Lines 36-40 & Column 5, Lines 5-14); but does not teach an anti-microbial component layer deposited over the porous primary component layer.
However, Ewald discloses an implant, in the same field of endeavor, having an anti-microbial component layer, comprising silver, deposited over a surface of the implant by a physical vapor deposition technique, wherein the anti-microbial component layer is configured for continuous release of an anti-microbial component to inhibit microbial growth and prevent colonization on the implant surface, wherein a thickness of the anti-microbial component layer is determined based on a surface area of the implant to prevent cytotoxicity caused by the anti-microbial component, in order to overcome post-operative infections (pg. 1, column 2, lines 6-8; pg. 2, column 1, lines 15-25 & pg. 9, column 2, lines 1-4).
In view of the teachings of Ewald, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the implant of Bugle to further comprise a microbial component layer, comprising silver, deposited over the porous primary component layer by a physical vapor deposition technique, wherein the anti-microbial component layer is configured for continuous release of an anti-microbial component to inhibit microbial growth and prevent colonization on the implant surface, wherein a thickness of the anti-microbial component layer is determined based on a surface area of the implant to prevent cytotoxicity caused by the anti-microbial component, in order to overcome post-operative infections, as taught by Ewald.
Regarding claim 2, Bugle in view of Ewald disclose the implant as claimed in claim 1, wherein Bugle further teaches the porous primary component layer (18) comprises Titanium or Titanium alloy as the primary component (Bugle: Column 4, Lines 38-41); and though it is not specifically disclosed that the primary component, after being deposited, forms a thickness from 70 mm to 800 mm, this parameter is deemed to be a mere matter of normal design choice, not involving a novel, inventive step. It would have been obvious, and well within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine an appropriate thickness for the porous primary component layer, including 70 mm to 800 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, neither the claim, nor the originally filed specification, gave any reason/benefit for, or criticality to the parameter of the porous primary component layer having a thickness from 70 mm to 800 mm, as opposed to having any other thickness.
Regarding claim 5, Bugle in view of Ewald disclose the implant as claimed in claim 4, and though it is not specifically disclosed that the anti-microbial component layer has a thickness of deposition in the range of 1 nm – 500 nm, this parameter is deemed to be a mere matter of normal design choice, not involving a novel, inventive step. It would have been obvious, and well within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine an appropriate thickness for the anti-microbial component layer, including in the range of 1 nm – 500 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, neither the claim, nor the originally filed specification, gave any reason/benefit for, or criticality to the parameter of the anti-microbial component layer having a thickness in the range of 1 nm – 500 nm, as opposed to having any other thickness. Additionally, one having ordinary skill in the art would know/understand that deposition thickness is controlled/regulated by the duration of the deposition based on a rate of the deposition; moreover, this parameter does not affect the claimed final structure and does not hold patentable weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DINAH BARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 10/21/2026