DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment correspondence filed on 02/12/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiba et al (US20160205704A1) in view of Babaei et al (US20190356427A1).
Regarding claim 1 (and method claim 12), Aiba teaches a User Equipment ("UE") apparatus comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate with a radio access network ("RAN") ([0309]-[0315], [0431]-[0434], terminal apparatus (UE) that communicates with a eNb over radio links (RAN)); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver ( [00312]-[00316], [0338]-[0344], terminal apparatus performing storage and control operations – processor), the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a downlink control information ("DCI") scheduling uplink resources for a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ("HARQ") retransmission at a first time-instance ([0313]-[0316], [0338]-[0344], [0431]-[0434], UE receives a DCI format indicating a semi-persistent activation and the DCI is treated as a configured UL grant where the DCI specifies the subframe in which PUSCH transmission occurs; UE specifies the subframe in which the retransmission on the PUSCH is performed—linked to configured UL grant; UL HARQ processing number corresponding to the retransmission on the PUSCH – HARQ retransmission);
trigger a HARQ retransmission for a HARQ process corresponding to the determined HPID ([0312], [0316], [0338]-[0344], discloses that a UE receives a DCI format (UL grant) specifying a subframe for PUSCH transmission, determines a retransmission subframe for the PUSCH, and performs the retransmission corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, thereby triggering a HARQ retransmission for the HARQ process corresponding to the determined HPID).
But Aida fails to teach wherein the DCI comprises a first field indicating a configured grant ("CG") configuration index;
determine a HARQ process identifier ("HPID") based on the CG configuration index signaled within the DCI.
However, Babaei teaches wherein the DCI comprises a first field indicating a configured grant ("CG") configuration index ([0203]-[0208], [0210]-0213], A UE receives DCI corresponding to SPS-RNTI, the DCI comprises a first SPS configuration index, the configuration index identifies one configuration among multiple configured periodic/SPS configurations—configurations identified by index, index carried in DCI, DCI selects configuration);
determine a HARQ process identifier ("HPID") based on the CG configuration index signaled within the DCI ([0275], [0309]-[0311], A DCI including a configuration index, that selects one configuration among multiple configured periodic/SPS configurations; determination of HARQ process identifier (HPID), determination logic based on configuration-dependent parameters, HPID determination is configuration-specific, multiple configurations influence HARQ ID assignment).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 2, Aida fails to teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein, to determine the HPID based on the CG configuration index signaled within the DCI, the processor is configured to determine a HARQ process number associated with a last CG transmission transmitted before the first time-instance with a same value as the CG configuration index, the last CG transmission occasion belonging to a CG configuration corresponding to the CG configuration index ([0203]-[0208], [0210]-0213], ([0275], [0309]-[0311], A UE receives DCI corresponding to SPS-RNTI, the DCI comprises a first SPS configuration index, the configuration index identifies one configuration among multiple configured periodic/SPS configurations—configurations identified by index, index carried in DCI, DCI selects configuration; A DCI including a configuration index, that selects one configuration among multiple configured periodic/SPS configurations; determination of HARQ process identifier (HPID), determination logic based on configuration-dependent parameters, HPID determination is configuration-specific, multiple configurations influence HARQ ID assignment).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 3, Aida teaches the apparatus wherein the first field comprises a HARQ process number field ([0312], [[0338]-[0344], [0431]-[0434], explicit UL HARQ process number, DCI format 0 (UL grant) includes HARQ process number, DCI format 0 scheduling UL transmission).
Regarding claim 4, Aida teaches the apparatus wherein the DCI comprises an indication to interpret the HARQ process number field as containing the CG configuration index (([0312], [[0338]-[0344], [0431]-[0434], explicit UL HARQ process number, DCI format 0 (UL grant) includes HARQ process number, DCI format 0 scheduling UL transmission).
However, Babaei remedies the gap left by Aida in regards to Cg configuration index in DCI, reinterpretation of HARQ field as CG index, and indication to reinterpret field semantics ([0210]-[0213], [0309]-[0311], DCI includes configuration index, HARQ process identifier determined using configuration-dependent parameters, explicit HPID determination logic based on configuration offsets).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 5, Aida fails to teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein the indication to interpret the HARQ process number field as containing the CG configuration index comprises a Radio Network Temporary Identifier ("RNTI") of the apparatus ([0208]-[0213], DCI corresponding to UL SPS RNTI use of SPS-RNTI to interpret DCI differently).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 6, Aida fails to teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein the first field comprises a dedicated field ([0210]-[0213], DCI includes a first SPS configuration index field).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 7, Aida fails to teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein the apparatus is configured with a plurality of CG configurations, wherein the DCI further indicates a particular number of prior CG occasions across the plurality of CG configurations for which a retransmission is requested ([0210]-[0213], multiple SPS configurations, HARQ offset logic and configuration-based HARQ tracking).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 8, Aida teaches the apparatus wherein the HARQ retransmission uses the uplink resources in the first time-instance scheduled by the DCI ([0313]-[0316], DCI schedules PUSCH retransmission performed in indicated subframe).
Regarding claim 9, Aida teaches the apparatus wherein, when the DCI is received, the HARQ process corresponding to the determined HPID is triggered for autonomous retransmission during a next CG occasion, wherein the uplink resources scheduled by the DCI comprise a dynamic grant ([0316], [0431]-[0434], DCI format 0 = UL grant, retransmission timing).
Regarding claim 10, Aida fails to teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein the DCI further comprises a field indicating a particular CG occasion for which retransmission is requested, the particular CG occasion indicated from among a plurality of past CG occasions ([0351]-[0367], Offset-based HARQ ID, identifying specific prior transmission occasion via configuration parameters)).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 11, Aida fails to teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the RAN, an indication that the UE is capable of determining a respective HPID from a respective CG configuration index (([0210]-[0213], Fig 21, [0351]-[0355], Fig 35, [0364]-[0367], Fig 36 discloses receiving a DCI containing configuration index corresponding to an UL SPS RNTI; determining a first HARQ process identifier based on at least an offset value depended on configuration parameters; HARQ process identifiers are determined based on parameters associated with SPS configurations – second HARQ process identifier is determined based on the first SPS configuration and related offset).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 13, Aida teaches a network apparatus comprising:
a transceiver configured to communicate with a User Equipment ("UE") device [00312]-[00316], [0338]-[0344], terminal apparatus performing storage and control operations – processor); and
a processor coupled to the transceiver [00312]-[00316], [0338]-[0344], terminal apparatus performing storage and control operations – processor), the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the UE device, a downlink control information ("DCI") scheduling uplink resources for a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ("HARQ") retransmission at a first time-instance (([0313]-[0316], [0338]-[0344], [0431]-[0434], UE receives a DCI format indicating a semi-persistent activation and the DCI is treated as a configured UL grant where the DCI specifies the subframe in which PUSCH transmission occurs; UE specifies the subframe in which the retransmission on the PUSCH is performed—linked to configured UL grant; UL HARQ processing number corresponding to the retransmission on the PUSCH – HARQ retransmission),
monitor for a HARQ retransmission from the UE device for the particular HARQ process (([0312], [0316], [0338]-[0344], discloses that a UE receives a DCI format (UL grant) specifying a subframe for PUSCH transmission, determines a retransmission subframe for the PUSCH, and performs the retransmission corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, thereby triggering a HARQ retransmission for the HARQ process corresponding to the determined HPID).
But Aida fails to teach determine a configured grant ("CG") configuration index corresponding to a particular Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ("HARQ") process of the UE device.
However Babaei teaches wherein the DCI comprises a first field indicating a configured grant ("CG") configuration index ([0203]-[0208], [0210]-0213], A UE receives DCI corresponding to SPS-RNTI, the DCI comprises a first SPS configuration index, the configuration index identifies one configuration among multiple configured periodic/SPS configurations—configurations identified by index, index carried in DCI, DCI selects configuration);
determine a configured grant ("CG") configuration index corresponding to a particular Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ("HARQ") process of the UE device ([0275], [0309]-[0311], A DCI including a configuration index, that selects one configuration among multiple configured periodic/SPS configurations; determination of HARQ process identifier (HPID), determination logic based on configuration-dependent parameters, HPID determination is configuration-specific, multiple configurations influence HARQ ID assignment).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 14, Aida teaches the apparatus wherein the first field comprises a HARQ process number field, wherein the DCI comprises an indication to interpret the HARQ process number field as containing the CG configuration index [[0338]-[0344], [0431]-[0434], explicit UL HARQ process number, DCI format 0 (UL grant) includes HARQ process number, DCI format 0 scheduling UL transmission)).
However, Babaei remedies the gap left by Aida in regards to configuration index in DCI ([0210]-[0213], DCI includes configuration index).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Regarding claim 15, Aida fails to teach but Babaei teaches the apparatus wherein the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive, from the UE device, an indication that the UE device is capable of determining a respective HARQ process identifier from a respective CG configuration index ([0210]-[0213], [0351]-[0367], DCI includes SPS configuration index; HARQ process ID determination).
Aida teaches receiving a DCI scheduling UL PUSCH transmissions and performing retransmissions corresponding to a specific UL HARQ process number, while Babaei teaches that a DCI may include a configured grant (SPS) configuration index and that a HARQ process identifier is determined based on configuration-dependent parameters associated with that index. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the configuration-index-based HARQ process determination of Babaei into the UL retransmission framework of Aida in order to allow a DCI-identified configured grant to directly determine the corresponding HARQ process for retransmission, thereby improving scheduling flexibility, reducing signaling overhead, and ensuring consistent mapping between configured grants and HARQ processes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP/ETSI TS 138 213 v16.2.0 (2020-07) describes interpret HARQ process number field as CG configuration index and RNTI indicates interpretation.
ETSI TS 138 321 v15.2.0 (2018-09) discloses the HARQ process behavior for configured UL grants, including retransmission triggering)
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419