DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 and 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 3, “a device” should say “the device”
Claim 7, line 7, “a powertrain” should say “the electrical powertrain”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "The method … according to claim 5" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 is “The electrical powertrain”. It is unclear whether claim 11 is supposed to depend upon claim 8 which claims “A method” or claim 5. For examination purposes claim 11 is being interpreted as “A method… comprising the powertrain (200) according to claim 5”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 20150239474 A1) in view of King (WO 2008137247 A2).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 13, Nakamura discloses a method of heating (fig.1), a computer readable medium (control unit 2, figs.1-4), a device (fig.1) for heating a traction battery (battery 5, fig.1) in a vehicle (electric vehicle, paragraph [0002], claim 1),wherein the device comprises an electric consumer (HTR, fig.1), wherein the electric consumer draws load current and generates waste heat during operation (paragraphs [0062-0064]), and wherein the electric consumer operates to heat the traction battery (paragraph [0068]); an electric drive (motor generator 6), and the electric consumer (10) consuming regenerative electrical power of the electrical drive (claim 3," The regenerative braking apparatus for an electric vehicle according to claim 1, wherein when the battery cannot be charged with the regenerative electric power, the control unit forces electrical loads other than the refrigeration cycle unit and the heating cycle unit to consume the electric power of the battery in a predetermined pattern"). Nakamura fails to disclose the device comprises a drive connection for connecting an electric drive, and the electrical consumer comprises a resistor for consuming regenerative electric power from the electric drive.
However, King discloses as seen in figure 3, device (322) is a braking resistor and comprises a drive connection for connecting an electric drive (318, 320); also see paragraphs 49-53; and claims 18 and 24.
Nakamura and King are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakamura with the device having brake resistor and drive connection of King with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of having brake resistors absorb excess electrical energy that cannot be stored or returned, converting it into heat to prevent overvoltage and protect the system.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Nakamura in combination with King, Nakamura discloses wherein the device comprises a cooling circuit connection for connecting the device to a cooling circuit that is connected to the traction battery (refrigeration cycle unit 10 with cooling device 1 connected with the heating cycle unit 11 connected to battery 5, fig.1), paragraphs 72-75; and figures 1-3, the operation of the electrical consumer comprises applying current to the resistor 11h and the waste heat from the resistor is supplied to the traction battery 5 via a cooling circuit 11.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura in combination with King, King discloses wherein the device comprises a brake inverter (inverter 318) connected between the drive connection (drive connection 320) and the consumer (consumer 322).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura in combination with King, Nakamura discloses an electrical powertrain (electric drive train 6 for vehicle, claim 1) for a vehicle, wherein the powertrain comprises a traction battery (battery 5), a drive inverter (inverter 6v), and a device according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura in combination with King, Nakamura discloses the electrical powertrain according to claim 5, wherein the drive inverter is operated to heat the traction battery (inverter operated by regenerative braking for heating up the battery, claims 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura in combination with King, Nakamura discloses a vehicle (electric vehicle, claim 1, paragraph [0002]) comprising a powertrain (powertrain 6) according to claim 5.
Regarding claim 11 as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C 112(b) issue discussed above, Nakamura in combination with King, Nakamura discloses the method of heating a traction battery comprising a powertrain (powertrain 6, fig.1) according to claim 5, further comprising: operating the drive inverter to heat the traction battery (inverter operated by regenerative braking for heating up the battery, claims 1 and 4).
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 20150239474 A1) in view of King (WO 2008137247 A2), and in further view of Voigt (DE 102013202999 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura in combination with King discloses the device for heating a traction battery of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the device (100) comprises a battery connection (40) for making an electrical connection to a DC voltage connection (42) of the traction battery (50) to be heated.
However, Voigt discloses assembly (4, 30) is "a device for heating up a traction battery" 20, claim 1; and figure 1, a battery connection 6, 28 and 26 for establishing an electrical connection to a DC voltage connection of the traction battery 20 to be heated up.
Nakamura and Voigt are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating traction battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakamura with the electrical connection to a DC voltage connection of the traction battery of Voigt with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of connecting the device to the battery through electrical connections to heat up the battery.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura in combination with King discloses the method of claim 9 but fail to disclose wherein the operation (410) of the electric consumer (10) comprises energizing the braking resistor and removing the load current from the traction battery (50).
However, Voigt discloses in claim 1, the operation of the electrical consumer 30 comprises applying current to the consumer 30 and the load current is taken from the traction battery 20.
Nakamura and Voigt are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating traction battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakamura with the energizing the resistor and removing load current from the battery of Voigt with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results to safely dissipated regenerative energy form the motor to prevent battery overcharge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613