DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, line 1, the phrase "can" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 2514965 herein referred to as Christ-Escherich.
As to claim 1, Christ-Escherich discloses (see figures and translated abstract, spine is zig-zagged) a marina including: a spine that is zig-zagged or corrugated in shape; and vessel berths extending along the spine and for enabling vessels to berth obliquely to the spine.
As to claim 2, Christ-Escherich discloses wherein the vessels are berthed obliquely on either side of the spine to form a series of chevrons, avoiding tight 90° or acute turns, for safer berthing of the vessels.
As to claim 4, Christ-Escherich discloses wherein the vessels berth obliquely to a longitudinal central axis of the spine facing away from a wharf from which the spine extends.
As to claim 5, Christ-Escherich discloses wherein the vessels berth at between about 30° and 60° to the spine, or about 45° to the spine.
As to claim 15, Christ-Escherich discloses wherein the berths are located on either side of the spine and misaligned, each berth including a docking bay with a squarish portion proximal the spine.
Insofar as understood, as to claim 16, Christ-Escherich discloses wherein each berth can berth a respective vessel, a pair of vessels or three vessels with an intervening rib.
As to claim 17, Christ-Escherich discloses the method for berthing a vessel at a marina, the method including: receiving the vessel in a vessel berth so that the vessel is berthed obliquely to a spine extending from a wharf; and receiving another vessel in another vessel berth so that the another vessel is berthed obliquely to the spine on an opposite side of the spine, the vessel and the another vessel not being berthed in parallel. The figures of Christ-Escherich disclose a zig-zagged spine, as such the the vessel (not shown) is berthed obliquely to a spine extending from a wharf; and receiving another vessel in another vessel berth so that the another vessel is berthed obliquely to the spine on an opposite side of the spine, the vessel and the another vessel not being berthed in parallel.
As to claim 18, Christ-Escherich discloses (see figures and translated abstract, spine is zig-zagged) marina including:
a wharf;
one or more spines extending from the wharf; and
vessel berths extending along opposite sides of each spine and for enabling vessels
to berth obliquely to the spine and/or the wharf, the vessels not being berthed in parallel. Due to the zig-zagged spine, the vessels (not shown) are berthed obliquely, but not parallel.
As to claim 20, Christ-Escherich discloses (see figure 4) wherein the marina includes a herringbone pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 2514965 herein referred to as Christ-Escherich.
As to claim 3, Christ-Escherich does not disclose wherein berths are
independently reconfigured to accommodate vessels of different size, on a needs basis, for improved berthing efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to resize a berth because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 6, Christ-Escherich discloses spine having arranged sections angled to each other; however, does not disclose wherein the spine includes orthogonally arranged sections giving the zig-zagged or corrugated in shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure an angle of a spine because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein each berth includes at least one rib extending from a single side of the spine.
As to claim 14, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein each berth has an internal perimeter defined by three orthogonal edges, the edges obliquely aligned with a wharf from which the spine extends.
As to claim 19, the prior art of record fails to show or suggest wherein the wharf defines protrusions from which respective spines extend and/or cutouts to receive vessels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment, filed 10/14/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678