DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 04/24/2026.
Claims 1-14, and 24-25 are pending and rejected.
Response to arguments starts on page 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, & 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20140011543A1) in view of Hamel et al (US7081693B2).
Regarding claim 1 (and method claim 25), Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus comprising:
communication circuitry configured to receive wireless signals from or transmit wireless signals to a second wireless telecommunications apparatus ([0008]-[0009], base station communication module sends/receive control/data signals, mobile station includes transceiver to send/receive control data signals with BS), the communication circuitry using energy stored in an energy storage device to receive or transmit the wireless signals ([0008], energy storage module stores energy from harvester); and
control circuitry configured to:
control the communication circuitry to suspend the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus during a time period when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry ([0125], [0129], BS hands off traffic and “completely turns OFF” after reaching energy threshold; stored energy at/below threshold triggers BS to turn OFF; explicitly “stop service/turn off air interface due to low stored energy,” which algins very well with “suspend receiving/transmitting”); and
But Li fails to teach control the communication circuitry to resume the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus after a time period of accumulating sufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry.
However, Hamel teaches control the communication circuitry to resume the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus after a time period of accumulating sufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry (col 10 lines 41- 58, col 11 lines 1-7, accumulate energy [Wingdings font/0xE0] resume transmission description (almost identical phrase); shuts off transmitter…until enough energy is accumulated…to send another burst of data”, switch turns on when storage reaches “higher threshold” and enough charge exists to transmit).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy-harvesting wireless telecommunications system of Li, which teaches controlling a wireless node’s operation based on available stores energy and turning off communication service when energy falls below a threshold and returning to service after sufficient energy is harvested, by incorporating the well-known stored-energy threshold gating and restart mechanism of Hamel, which explicitly shuts off a wireless transmitter when stored energy is insufficient and resumes transmission only after enough energy has accumulated in the storage device to exceed a higher threshold. This combination is motivated by the predictable benefit of improving reliability and preventing brownout/undervoltage operation of the communication circuitry, while conserving limited harvested energy and ensuring communications are performed only when adequate stored energy is available. Thus, the combined teachings yield a wireless apparatus that suspends receiving/transmitting during low-energy period and resumes after accumulating sufficient energy, including threshold-based initiated and energy-aware operational control as recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein the suspending of the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus is initiated when an amount of energy stored in the energy storage device is below a threshold ([0123], [0129], Direct threshold language and direct link to turning off a wireless telecom interface; stored energy level…at or below the energy threshold value that triggers the BS…to turn OFF; energy threshold level…to turn off the air interface).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein the suspending of the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus is initiated in response to an initiation signal received from the second wireless telecommunications apparatus ([0126], keep Rx chain on “to receive paging and random access…so that the BS knows when to return to service”….received signals in a cellular comm context influencing operational state).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein the initiation signal is received in response to a request signal transmitted to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus, the control circuitry being configured to control the communication circuitry to transmit the request signal when an amount of energy stored in the energy storage device is below a threshold ([0124]-[0125], closest is threshold-triggered handoff/turn-off behavior, energy threshold triggers handoff/turn OFF flow).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the communication circuitry to transmit an assistance signal comprising assistance data to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus, the assistance data being usable by the second wireless telecommunications apparatus to determine when to send the initiation signal ([0008], [0020], communication module sends “energy related information to MS; energy-based association decision using “energy module information”; this is explicitly “send assistance/energy info to the other node for decision-making”).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein the assistance data comprises one or more of a current amount of energy stored in the energy storage device, a rate of depletion of energy stored in the energy storage device, a rate of consumption of energy of the first wireless telecommunications apparatus and a required duration of the time period of accumulating sufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry ([0024], states that the “energy related information includes at least one of: an energy level…an energy harvest rate…an energy consumption rate…and a maximum storage capacity).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein:
the control circuitry is configured to control the communication circuitry to transmit an alert signal to the second telecommunications apparatus when an amount of energy stored in the energy storage device is below a first threshold ([0008], [00024], teaches sending energy-related information from the first wireless node to the second wireless node (mobile station), which functions as an “alert/notification” about low-energy capability/condition; communication module sends “energy related information to a mobile station; energy related information includes “energy level…harvest rate…consumption rate…”; and
the suspending of the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus is initiated when an amount of energy stored in the energy storage device is below a second threshold ([0123], [0129], discloses energy thresholds that trigger turning OFF/suspending; stored energy level “at or below the energy threshold value that triggers the BS 401 to turn OFF”, energy threshold level…to turn off the air interface), the second threshold being lower than the first threshold ([0125], explicitly describes multiple thresholds, including at least one that results in a full shutdown/turn OFF, discloses a “second energy threshold value after which the BS 401…completely turns OFF; multiple thresholds through earlier warning/behavior change vs later full OFF).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the first wireless telecommunications apparatus to remain in a connected mode with the second wireless telecommunications apparatus during the suspending of the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus ([0126], teaches turning off portions/modules and keeping some receive capability on (e.g. paging/random access) while in a low-energy/turned-off state, keep its receive chain ON to receive paging and random access signals).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus according to claim 8 wherein the control circuitry is configured to:
determine, after the time period of accumulating energy in the energy storage device, if an amount of energy stored in the energy storage device is above a threshold ([0126], teaches the BS waking/returning to service once enough energy has been harvested (i.e. an energy threshold condition checked after time; wake up once it has harvested certain minimum amount of energy (for example, an energy threshold level);
if the amount of energy stored in the energy storage device is above the threshold, control the first wireless telecommunications apparatus to remain in the connected mode with the second wireless telecommunications apparatus ([0126], supports returning to service/resuming operations when energy is sufficient; return to service after harvests enough energy—connected mode); and
if the amount of energy stored in the energy storage device is not above the threshold, control the first wireless telecommunications apparatus to transition from the connected mode to a disconnected mode ([0125], supports service termination/turn off, and explicitly describes handing off traffic and turning off).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the communication circuitry to transmit a capability signal to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus indicating an ability of the first wireless telecommunications apparatus to suspend receiving of wireless signals from or transmission of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus (([0008], [0020], teaches the first apparatus sends energy-related information to the second apparatus which supports the second apparatus making association/handoff decisions based on that energy capability/status; energy module information indicates whether the node may shut down/may be unreliable due to low energy).
Regarding claim 11, Li fails to teach a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein:
the first wireless telecommunications apparatus is connected to a sensor; and
during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry, the control circuitry is configured to use available energy to obtain a measurement from the sensor.
However, Hamel teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein:
the first wireless telecommunications apparatus is connected to a sensor (col 7 lines 58-67, explicitly discusses wireless sensing module and transmitting sensor data; provides Vcc power to wireless sensing module 44 for transmitting sensor data); and
during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry, the control circuitry is configured to use available energy to obtain a measurement from the sensor (col 10 lines 41- 58, col 11 lines 1-7, accumulate energy [Wingdings font/0xE0] resume transmission description (almost identical phrase); shuts off transmitter…until enough energy is accumulated…to send another burst of data”, switch turns on when storage reaches “higher threshold” and enough charge exists to transmit).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy-harvesting wireless telecommunications system of Li, which teaches controlling a wireless node’s operation based on available stores energy and turning off communication service when energy falls below a threshold and returning to service after sufficient energy is harvested, by incorporating the well-known stored-energy threshold gating and restart mechanism of Hamel, which explicitly shuts off a wireless transmitter when stored energy is insufficient and resumes transmission only after enough energy has accumulated in the storage device to exceed a higher threshold. This combination is motivated by the predictable benefit of improving reliability and preventing brownout/undervoltage operation of the communication circuitry, while conserving limited harvested energy and ensuring communications are performed only when adequate stored energy is available. Thus, the combined teachings yield a wireless apparatus that suspends receiving/transmitting during low-energy period and resumes after accumulating sufficient energy, including threshold-based initiated and energy-aware operational control as recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches a method of controlling a first wireless telecommunications apparatus, the first wireless telecommunications apparatus comprising communication circuitry configured to receive wireless signals from or transmit wireless signals to a second wireless telecommunications apparatus, the communication circuitry using energy stored in an energy storage device to receive or transmit the wireless signals ([0008]-[0009], base station communication module sends/receive control/data signals, mobile station includes transceiver to send/receive control data signals with BS; energy storage module stores energy from harvester), wherein the method comprises:
controlling the communication circuitry to suspend the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus during a time period when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry ([0125], [0129], BS hands off traffic and “completely turns OFF” after reaching energy threshold; stored energy at/below threshold triggers BS to turn OFF; explicitly “stop service/turn off air interface due to low stored energy,” which algins very well with “suspend receiving/transmitting”); and
But Li fails to teach controlling the communication circuitry to resume the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus after a time period of accumulating sufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry.
However, Hamel teaches controlling the communication circuitry to resume the receiving of wireless signals from or transmitting of wireless signals to the second wireless telecommunications apparatus after a time period of accumulating sufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry (col 10 lines 41- 58, col 11 lines 1-7, accumulate energy [Wingdings font/0xE0] resume transmission description (almost identical phrase); shuts off transmitter…until enough energy is accumulated…to send another burst of data”, switch turns on when storage reaches “higher threshold” and enough charge exists to transmit).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy-harvesting wireless telecommunications system of Li, which teaches controlling a wireless node’s operation based on available stores energy and turning off communication service when energy falls below a threshold and returning to service after sufficient energy is harvested, by incorporating the well-known stored-energy threshold gating and restart mechanism of Hamel, which explicitly shuts off a wireless transmitter when stored energy is insufficient and resumes transmission only after enough energy has accumulated in the storage device to exceed a higher threshold. This combination is motivated by the predictable benefit of improving reliability and preventing brownout/undervoltage operation of the communication circuitry, while conserving limited harvested energy and ensuring communications are performed only when adequate stored energy is available. Thus, the combined teachings yield a wireless apparatus that suspends receiving/transmitting during low-energy period and resumes after accumulating sufficient energy, including threshold-based initiated and energy-aware operational control as recited in the claims.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US20140011543A1) in view of Hamel et al (US7081693B2) in further view of Vannithamby et al (US9271242B2).
Regarding claim 12, Li and Hamel fail to teach a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein: the first wireless telecommunications apparatus is connected to an application processor; and during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry, the control circuitry is configured to use available energy to operate the application processor.
However, Vannithamby teaches the first wireless telecommunications apparatus is connected to an application processor (col 14 lines 23-27 expressly teaches that the apparatus includes processors, and explicitly lists application processors); and
during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry, the control circuitry is configured to use available energy to operate the application processor (col 3 lines 57-67, col 5 lines 66-67, teaches that the UE can be an energy harvesting device which harvests energy and stores harvested energy; the UE 15 may be or include an energy harvesting device that is configured to harvest or generate energy for use in connection with communication and/or other operation (e.g. processing) of the UE 15; for energy storage).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy-harvesting wireless telecommunications system of Li, which teaches controlling a wireless node’s operation based on available stores energy and turning off communication service when energy falls below a threshold and returning to service after sufficient energy is harvested, by incorporating the well-known stored-energy threshold gating and restart mechanism of Hamel, which explicitly shuts off a wireless transmitter when stored energy is insufficient and resumes transmission only after enough energy has accumulated in the storage device to exceed a higher threshold. Further, Vannithamby teaches communication configurations for energy-harvesting wireless devices and explicitly recognizes that energy-harvesting devices may lack sufficient stored energy to reliably communicate, while also disclosing that such devices may lack sufficient stored energy to reliably communicate, while also disclosing that such devices include processing hardware (including application processors) and may report energy storage information to support energy-aware communication operation, thereby further motivating reduced/limited communication behavior while still permitting local processing during low-energy periods. This combination is motivated by the predictable benefit of improving reliability and preventing brownout/undervoltage operation of the communication circuitry, while conserving limited harvested energy and ensuring communications are performed only when adequate stored energy is available. Thus, the combined teachings yield a wireless apparatus that suspends receiving/transmitting during low-energy period and resumes after accumulating sufficient energy, including threshold-based initiated and energy-aware operational control as recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 13, Li and Hamel fail to teach a wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein, during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry, the control circuitry is configured to control the communication circuitry to receive wireless signals for measurement only.
However, Vannithamby teaches a wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein, during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry (col 1 lines 55-57, col 2 lines 1-3, may not have an amount of energy sufficient to communicate, storage level is too low to support reliable communication), the control circuitry is configured to control the communication circuitry to receive wireless signals for measurement only (col 11 lines 30-50, teaches that energy storage information (including the energy storage level) is provided to the network for scheduling supporting control of reception/transmission behavior in dependence on energy level (because the network schedules communication to avoid wasted or failed reception/transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy-harvesting wireless telecommunications system of Li, which teaches controlling a wireless node’s operation based on available stores energy and turning off communication service when energy falls below a threshold and returning to service after sufficient energy is harvested, by incorporating the well-known stored-energy threshold gating and restart mechanism of Hamel, which explicitly shuts off a wireless transmitter when stored energy is insufficient and resumes transmission only after enough energy has accumulated in the storage device to exceed a higher threshold. Further, Vannithamby teaches communication configurations for energy-harvesting wireless devices and explicitly recognizes that energy-harvesting devices may lack sufficient stored energy to reliably communicate, while also disclosing that such devices may lack sufficient stored energy to reliably communicate, while also disclosing that such devices include processing hardware (including application processors) and may report energy storage information to support energy-aware communication operation, thereby further motivating reduced/limited communication behavior while still permitting local processing during low-energy periods. This combination is motivated by the predictable benefit of improving reliability and preventing brownout/undervoltage operation of the communication circuitry, while conserving limited harvested energy and ensuring communications are performed only when adequate stored energy is available. Thus, the combined teachings yield a wireless apparatus that suspends receiving/transmitting during low-energy period and resumes after accumulating sufficient energy, including threshold-based initiated and energy-aware operational control as recited in the claims.
Regarding claim 14, Li and Hamel fails to teach a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein, during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry, the control circuitry is configured to perform time and/or frequency synchronization and/or to maintain a clock of the first wireless telecommunications apparatus.
However, Vannithamby teaches a first wireless telecommunications apparatus wherein, during the time when there is insufficient energy in the energy storage device usable by the communication circuitry, the control circuitry is configured to perform time and/or frequency synchronization and/or to maintain a clock of the first wireless telecommunications apparatus (col 3 lines 52-67, networks operating in conformance with one or more protocols specified by the 3GPP & UE may access via a radio link BS, energy storage information may be sent via RRC message—exchanging RRC messages and operating maintaining timing/frequency synchronization and clocking).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy-harvesting wireless telecommunications system of Li, which teaches controlling a wireless node’s operation based on available stores energy and turning off communication service when energy falls below a threshold and returning to service after sufficient energy is harvested, by incorporating the well-known stored-energy threshold gating and restart mechanism of Hamel, which explicitly shuts off a wireless transmitter when stored energy is insufficient and resumes transmission only after enough energy has accumulated in the storage device to exceed a higher threshold. Further, Vannithamby teaches communication configurations for energy-harvesting wireless devices and explicitly recognizes that energy-harvesting devices may lack sufficient stored energy to reliably communicate, while also disclosing that such devices may lack sufficient stored energy to reliably communicate, while also disclosing that such devices include processing hardware (including application processors) and may report energy storage information to support energy-aware communication operation, thereby further motivating reduced/limited communication behavior while still permitting local processing during low-energy periods. This combination is motivated by the predictable benefit of improving reliability and preventing brownout/undervoltage operation of the communication circuitry, while conserving limited harvested energy and ensuring communications are performed only when adequate stored energy is available. Thus, the combined teachings yield a wireless apparatus that suspends receiving/transmitting during low-energy period and resumes after accumulating sufficient energy, including threshold-based initiated and energy-aware operational control as recited in the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Regarding independent claims 1, 24 and 25, Applicant attacks Hamel individually rather than addressing the combined teachings of Li and Hamel. (Applicant Arguments pg. 1-2). Li is relied upon for the wireless telecommunications apparatus/network environment, including eNBs and UEs communicating using LTE/LTE-A techniques, wireless transmit and receive paths, RF transceivers, TX/RX processing circuitry, processors, memory, and applications. (Li [0046]-[0049], [0052]-[0058], [0060]-[0065]). Thus, Li supplies the claimed wireless telecommunication apparatus having communication circuitry configured to receive wireless signals from or transmit wireless signals to another wireless telecommunications apparatus.
Hamel is relied upon for the energy-harvesting suspension/resumption feature. Hamel teaches that “Controller 46 monitors charge stored on Storage capacitor 42, and when Sufficient, provides Vcc power to wireless sensing module 44,” (Hamel col 7 lines 52-67) and further teaches transmission “through antenna 68 to receiver 69a on base station 69b.” (Hamel col 7 lines 52-67) Hamel also states that “A transceiver can be provided instead of RF transmitter 56 to enable two way communication.” (Hamel col7 lines 45-67). Hamel further teaches threshold-based suspension and resumption because the voltage-sensitive switch “turns off connection to load 44 until enough charge has been accumulated, and when sufficient charge is accumulated there is “enough charge available” to power the load “to transmit a burst of data” (Hamel col 10-11). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to apply Hamel’s threshold-based harvested-energy switching technique to Li’s wireless telecommunications apparatus so that RF communication circuitry is suspended when stored energy is insufficient and resumed when sufficient harvested energy has accumulated.
Regarding claim 8, Applicant improperly imports a narrow RRC-connected-mode requirement into the claim. (Applicant’s argument pg. 2). Claim 8 recited “connected mode,” not “RRC connected mode,” and under the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses a state in which the apparatus remains associated or available for communication while communication functions are suspended or reduced. Li teaches such a reduced-energy availability state. In particular, Li teaches that, when BS energy is below a threshold, the BS may turn off or selectively turn off components while maintaining limited reception capability. (Li [0120]-[0126]). Li [0126] states that, while in OFF mode, “the BS 401 can still keep its receive chain ON to receive paging and random access signals,” so that it “knows when to return to service,” and further teaches return to service after the BS “harvests enough energy.” Li also teaches connected-mode energy-aware operation, including that a “Mobile station 300 in connected mode” may consider neighboring-cell energy levels, that thresholds apply for a mobile station “in the connected mode,” and that when BS energy is below a first threshold, the “connected MS 300 served by the BS 401 can stay in the cell,” while a lower threshold triggers handover. (Li [0136]-[0139]). These teachings support remaining connected/associated during energy-aware suspension or reduced operation.
Regarding claim 9 and dependent claims 2-7, 10-11 from Applicant arguments pg. 3, Li and Hamel together teach or suggest threshold-based energy decision logic and communication control. Hamel teaches reconnecting/powering the wireless load after sufficient charge accumulation and turning it off when charge is insufficient. Li [0126] similarly teaches that the BS may return to service after harvesting enough energy, but if completely off, “the BS 401 has to wake up or turn ON by itself based on the current energy level” and then “performs a network entry to the network.” Li further teaches energy thresholds, energy harvesting rates, energy storage levels, energy-related information, connected-mode cell association, and energy-aware handover/turn-off behavior (Li [0067]-[0080], [0120]-[0126], [0135]-[0140]). Accordingly, the dependent limitations directed to thresholds, signaling, assistance/capability information, alerting, and sensor operation would have been obvious from the combined teachings.
Regarding claims 12-14, Applicant again reads the claims too narrowly and attacks Vannithamby in isolation. (Applicant’s arguments pg. 4-5). Vannithamby teaches energy-harvesting wireless-device architecture including “processor(s) 604,” “system control logic 608,” “communication logic 624”, “network interface 620,” and “I/O devices 632,” and further teaches that processors may include a transceiver. (Vannithamby, col 14-15). Vannithamby also teaches scheduling communication using energy storage information, including a policy that considers “energy storage capacity and/or energy storage level.” (Vannithamby, col 9-10). For claim 12, Hamel further teaches selective powering of sensors, memory, and RF transmitter components to achieve “Substantial energy savings,” and processing/storing sensed information rather than immediately transmitting it. (Hamel col 7-8, col 15-16). For claim 13, Li [0126] teaches keeping the receive chain ON during low-energy operation, and Li [0070] teaches multiple TX/RX chains and synchronization channels and physical broadcast channels, and Li [0133] teaches that “time synchronization information” may be shared by the network with base stations. Thus, the combination renders claims 12-14 obvious and withdrawal of the rejection is not warranted.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419