DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species B, wherein the copper-titanium alloy excludes aluminum, relevant to claims 1-8, 13, 18 and 19 in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 9-12 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Instant claims 11 and 13 should specify that the claimed percentage is by weight.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Instant claims 2-4 recite the limitation “wherein the content of titanium is at least” a certain percentage without reciting an upper limit, thus allowing for titanium contents outside of the upper titanium content range of instant claim 1, from which instant claims 2-4 depend. Likewise, instant claims 5-7 recite the limitation “wherein the content of” titanium or iron “is at most” a certain percentage without reciting a lower limit, thus allowing for titanium and iron contents outside of the lower titanium and iron content ranges of instant claim 1, from which claims 5-7 depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 and 2) as being anticipated by WO 2021143257 A1 to Yang et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses numerous examples of copper-titanium alloys lying within the instantly claimed composition as follows (Yang, Examples, para [0042-0082], specifically example 3 para [0056]):
Element
Claimed wt%
Yang Example 3 wt%
Lies within?
Cu
≥90
92.45
Yes
Ti
5-7
6
Yes
Fe
0.25-0.5
0.3
Yes
Yang anticipates instant claim 1 because Yang discloses an example of a copper-titanium alloy lying wholly within the claimed composition ranges of instant claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-7, Yang Example 3 lies wholly within the claimed composition ranges of instant claims 2-7 (Yang, Examples, para [0042-0082], specifically example 3 para [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the instant claim does not appear to imply any structural limitation that the alloy of Yang does not possess as the alloy of Yang is able to perform as “a part of a timepiece” by, for example, being the shadow casting part of a sundial.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021143257 A1 to Yang et al (an English language machine translation has been relied upon for examination purposes) as applied to claims 1-7 and 19 above, and further in view of “Fatigue Properties of Copper Alloys” by Crane et al.
Yang discloses a copper-titanium alloy as set forth above. Yang does not explicitly disclose that the copper-alloy is made into a Bourdon tube.
Crane discloses that Bourdon tubes are a known application of copper alloys (Crane, page 879, third paragraph of leftmost column).
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the copper alloy of Yang into a Bourdon tube as suggested by Crane. The motivation for doing so is that Bourdon tubes are a known application of copper alloys (Crane, page 879, third paragraph of leftmost column).
Claim(s) 1-8, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,599,119 to Ikushima et al.
Regarding claim 1, Ikushima discloses a copper-titanium alloy overlapping the instantly claimed composition as follows (Ikushima, abstract, column 2 lines 10-22):
Element
Claimed wt%
Ikushima wt%
Overlaps?
Cu
≥90
Balance (≥92)
Yes
Ti
5-7
2-6
Yes
Fe
0.25-0.5
Fe+Zr+Cr+B+Si: 0-2
Yes
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Ikushima including the instantly claimed because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case of overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 2-7, Ikushima overlaps the instantly claimed composition ranges of instant claims 2-7 (Ikushima, abstract, column 2 lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 8, the additional alloys recited in Ikushima besides copper, titanium, iron and unavoidable impurities are optional and need not be present in the alloy of Ikushima (Ikushima, abstract, column 2 lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 13, silver is not added to the alloy of Ikushima (Ikushima, abstract, column 2 lines 10-22).
Regarding claim 19, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the instant claim does not appear to imply any structural limitation that the alloy of Ikushima does not possess as the alloy of Ikushima is able to perform as “a part of a timepiece” by, for example, being the shadow casting part of a sundial.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,599,119 to Ikushima et al as applied to claims 1-8, 13 and 19 above, and further in view of “Fatigue Properties of Copper Alloys” by Crane et al.
Ikushima discloses a copper-titanium alloy as set forth above. Ikushima does not explicitly disclose that the copper-alloy is made into a Bourdon tube.
Crane discloses that Bourdon tubes are a known application of copper alloys (Crane, page 879, third paragraph of leftmost column).
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the copper alloy of Ikushima into a Bourdon tube as suggested by Crane. The motivation for doing so is that Bourdon tubes are a known application of copper alloys (Crane, page 879, third paragraph of leftmost column).
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2196548 to Gao et al.
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a copper-titanium alloy overlapping the instantly claimed composition as follows (Gao, abstract, para [0045-0053]):
Element
Claimed wt%
Ikushima wt%
Overlaps?
Cu
≥90
Balance (≥89.0)
Yes
Ti
5-7
1.0-5.0
Yes
Fe
0.25-0.5
0-0.5
Yes
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 [R-5]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select any portion of the disclosed ranges of Gao including the instantly claimed because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case of overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 5-7, Gao overlaps the instantly claimed composition ranges of instant claims 2-7 (Gao, abstract, para [0045-0053]).
Regarding claim 8, the additional alloys recited in Gao besides copper, titanium, iron and unavoidable impurities are optional and need not be present in the alloy of Gao (Gao, abstract, para [0045-0053]).
Regarding claim 13, silver is not added to the alloy of Gao (Gao, abstract, para [0045-0053]).
Regarding claim 19, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the instant claim does not appear to imply any structural limitation that the alloy of Gao does not possess as the alloy of Gao is able to perform as “a part of a timepiece” by, for example, being the shadow casting part of a sundial.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,599,119 to Ikushima et al as applied to claims 1-8, 13 and 19 above, and further in view of “Fatigue Properties of Copper Alloys” by Crane et al.
Gao discloses a copper-titanium alloy as set forth above. Gao does not explicitly disclose that the copper-alloy is made into a Bourdon tube.
Crane discloses that Bourdon tubes are a known application of copper alloys (Crane, page 879, third paragraph of leftmost column).
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the copper alloy of Gao into a Bourdon tube as suggested by Crane. The motivation for doing so is that Bourdon tubes are a known application of copper alloys (Crane, page 879, third paragraph of leftmost column).
Conclusion
/BRIAN D WALCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738