DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0240838 to Kim et al.
Kim discloses in the abstract and figures 4A, 8A-9, a reception device comprising:
a ball lens (140) that collects an optical signal propagating in a space (arrows in figure 1);
a light receiving element array (image sensor 40 with pixel regions PX1) that includes a plurality of light receiving elements (PX1) that each receive the optical signal collected by the ball lens and outputs a signal derived from the optical signal received by each of the plurality of light receiving elements; and
a reception circuit that decodes the signal output from the light receiving element array (general image sensor, op-chip spectrometer or hyperspectral image sensor; paragraph 61).
As to claim 3, there are no specifics recited as to how the receiving element is arranged in accordance with an arrival direction. In Kim, the receiving element receives a reflected light signal and therefore would be associated with an arrival direction.
As to claim 4, the receiving element are a number of two-dimensional array of pixels (figure 10 shows the two dimensional nature of the beams to be reflected back towards the sensor in figure 11).
As to claim 6, elements L14 and L24 are between the lens and guides light to the sensor).
As to claims 7-9, the lens can be shaped as claimed (figure 11).
As to claim 10, mirror (30) is disclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Kim discloses the invention as claimed except for a “controller, memory and processor” that are used to receive and process optical signals. First, it is noted that no specific steps, code or programming is claimed. Secondly, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the sensors in Kim would be analyzed and processed to be useful.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of JP 63-95741A to Satoshi et al (Applicant IDS foreign document #3).
Kim discloses the invention as claimed except for the receiving array arranged in an annular shape to “surround” the ball lens. Kim discloses an arrangement to arrange the lenses to optimize output.
Satoshi discloses receiving elements arranged to surround the ball lens area (3; figure 4A-4B) to optimize a junction capacitance and to improve a frequency characteristic (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the light receiving elements in an annular shape surrounding the lens as taught by Satoshi in Kim to improve a frequency characteristic and attain high speed communication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10,234,676 (figures 3A-3C).
US 7,215,479 (figure 3)
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874