DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of the Claims
Any rejections and or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 3-8 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 3-5 have been withdrawn.
Claim 2 has been cancelled.
Claims 6-8 are currently rejected.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or fourth paragraph.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uehara et al., US 2009/0197754 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d) or fourth paragraph
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7, which depends from claim 6, recites that the glass material contains in terms of mole percentages, 10% or more of La2O3. This fails to further limit claim 6 which requires not less than 20 mol% of La2O3. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uehara et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication, US 2009/0197754 A1.
Uehara et al. disclose a glass comprising in mass%: 5-22% of B2O3, 15-50% of La2O3, 0.01-15% of TiO2, 5-40% of Nb2O5, 0.1-25% of Ta2O5, 0-10% of SiO2, 0-10% of GeO2, 0-10% of Al2O3, 0-16% of Gd2O3, 0-15% of ZrO2, 0-22% of WO3, 0-1% of Sb2O3 0-20% of Y2O3, 0-15% of Yb2O3, 0-20% of ZnO, 0-15% of CaO, 0-15% of SrO, 0-15% of BaO, 0-<3% of Li2O, 0-8% of Na2O, and 0-11% of K2O. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, paragraphs [0015] and [0016]. Uehara et al. disclose the glass is an optical glass. See paragraph [0012]. The compositional ranges of Uehara et al. are sufficiently specific to anticipate the glass as recited in claims 6-8. See MPEP 2131.03.
As to claim 6, Uehara et al. disclose Examples 1-5, 8, 11, 13-36, 41-61, and 63-78 (see Tables 1-10 and the below table which shows the examples in terms of mole percentages), which reads on the glass comprising in terms of mol%: at least 20% of La2O3, 5-40% of Nb2O5, 0-14% of TiO2, 0-40% of taa2o5, at least 50 mol% of La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3, 0-25% of SiO2, and at most 50% B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2, as recited in instant claim 6. Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the glasses of Uehara et al. would inherently possess the absolute value of Db* as recited in claim 6. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 7, Uehara et al. disclose Examples 1-5, 8, 11, 13-36, 41-61, and 63-78 (see Tables 1-10 and the below table which shows the examples in terms of mole percentages), which read on the glass comprising at least 10 mol% of La2O3, as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 8, Uehara et al. disclose the glass is an optical glass (see paragraph [0012]), which reads on the glass being an optical glass material.
Mol%
Ex. 1
Ex. 2
Ex. 3
Ex. 4
Ex. 5
Ex. 6
Ex. 7
Ex. 8
Ex. 9
Ex. 10
La2O3
22.42
21.61
21.93
21.49
20.57
18.96
19.84
21.17
17.84
15.02
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
2.56
5.15
TiO2
5.12
4.93
5.01
4.91
4.69
4.33
4.53
4.83
4.72
4.73
ZrO2
10.23
9.85
10.00
9.80
9.38
8.65
9.04
9.65
9.43
9.46
Nb2O5
17.94
20.94
17.54
17.19
16.74
18.38
15.87
16.94
16.55
16.60
Ta2O5
4.48
4.32
6.61
4.29
4.11
3.79
3.97
4.23
4.14
4.15
WO3
0.00
0.00
0.00
4.17
0.00
0.00
3.85
0.00
0.00
0.00
B2O3
20.52
19.78
20.07
19.68
26.81
29.59
25.85
19.36
26.96
27.04
SiO2
5.14
4.93
5.00
4.90
4.72
4.34
4.54
4.86
4.75
4.76
GeO2
14.08
13.57
13.77
13.50
12.92
11.90
12.46
13.30
12.99
13.03
Sb2O3
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
5.60
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
60.19
61.65
61.08
61.85
55.50
54.11
57.09
56.82
55.24
55.11
B2O3 Sum*
39.74
38.28
38.85
38.08
44.44
45.83
42.85
37.52
44.70
44.83
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Mol%
Ex. 11
Ex. 12
Ex. 13
Ex. 14
Ex.15
Ex. 16
Ex. 17
Ex. 18
Ex.19
Ex. 20
La2O3
21.20
19.68
20.15
24.00
23.62
20.89
21.08
21.79
22.42
21.35
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
4.83
4.50
4.60
5.47
5.38
4.77
4.80
4.98
5.11
4.87
ZrO2
9.67
8.97
9.19
3.94
3.87
9.53
9.61
9.94
10.22
9.73
Nb2O5
16.97
19.07
16.12
19.20
20.49
16.72
16.86
17.43
17.94
17.08
Ta2O5
4.24
3.94
4.03
4.80
4.72
2.90
2.07
4.35
4.48
0.79
WO3
0.00
0.00
3.91
0.00
0.00
4.05
4.09
0.00
0.00
4.14
B2O3
24.87
26.92
24.68
21.95
21.61
23.18
23.37
28.38
32.11
23.67
SiO2
4.84
4.50
4.62
5.49
5.40
4.79
4.82
5.00
5.13
4.88
GeO2
13.32
12.37
12.65
15.08
14.83
13.12
13.24
8.06
2.52
13.41
Sb2O3
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.07
0.07
0.06
0.06
0.07
0.07
0.07
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
56.91
56.16
57.99
57.40
58.08
58.86
58.51
58.49
60.18
57.97
B2O3 Sum*
43.03
43.78
41.94
42.52
41.84
41.08
41.43
41.44
39.75
41.96
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Mol%
Ex. 21
Ex. 22
Ex. 23
Ex. 24
Ex. 25
Ex. 26
Ex. 27
Ex. 28
Ex. 29
Ex. 30
La2O3
22.94
22.26
22.18
22.25
21.72
21.64
21.70
21.60
21.66
21.61
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
5.22
5.09
5.05
5.08
4.96
4.93
4.96
4.94
4.93
4.93
ZrO2
3.77
3.65
10.12
10.15
9.91
9.87
9.90
9.85
9.87
9.85
Nb2O5
18.35
19.31
17.75
17.80
17.38
17.32
17.36
17.28
17.11
16.85
Ta2O5
4.59
4.45
4.43
4.45
3.02
1.69
4.34
4.32
5.21
5.64
WO3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
1.68
3.36
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
B2O3
25.43
26.10
29.75
30.71
28.28
28.18
25.44
22.55
30.04
29.98
SiO2
5.24
5.10
4.34
5.09
4.96
4.95
8.21
11.39
4.95
4.94
GeO2
14.40
13.97
6.30
4.41
8.04
8.01
8.03
7.99
6.16
6.14
Sb2O3
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.06
0.06
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
54.86
54.75
59.54
59.72
58.65
58.79
58.25
57.99
58.79
58.88
B2O3 Sum*
45.07
45.18
40.39
40.21
41.28
41.14
41.69
41.94
41.15
41.06
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Mol%
Ex. 31
Ex. 32
Ex. 33
Ex. 34
Ex. 35
Ex. 36
Ex. 37
Ex. 38
Ex. 39
Ex. 40
La2O3
21.56
21.51
22.39
22.44
20.29
20.41
18.90
17.34
19.34
18.01
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
4.91
4.91
5.10
5.12
5.04
5.08
5.16
5.26
5.11
5.08
ZrO2
9.83
9.81
10.21
10.23
10.09
10.14
10.32
10.51
10.22
10.17
Nb2O5
16.59
16.34
18.14
18.41
17.70
17.24
16.97
16.69
16.80
16.72
Ta2O5
6.07
6.49
3.57
3.12
5.78
5.81
7.30
8.83
5.85
5.83
WO3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
1.74
3.46
B2O3
29.91
29.84
29.02
29.08
29.68
29.85
29.66
29.45
29.36
29.22
SiO2
4.93
4.93
5.14
5.14
5.07
5.09
5.18
5.28
5.13
5.11
GeO2
6.13
6.11
6.36
6.38
6.28
6.32
6.44
6.55
6.37
6.34
Sb2O3
0.06
0.06
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
0.07
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
58.96
59.06
59.41
59.33
58.90
58.68
58.65
58.64
59.06
59.27
B2O3 Sum*
40.98
40.88
40.52
40.60
41.03
41.25
41.28
41.29
40.87
40.66
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Mol%
Ex. 41
Ex. 42
Ex. 43
Ex. 44
Ex. 45
Ex. 46
Ex. 47
Ex. 48
Ex. 49
Ex. 50
La2O3
21.91
22.24
22.25
22.39
22.82
21.42
21.33
21.09
20.87
20.64
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
4.99
4.77
6.87
4.66
4.36
2.87
5.40
5.52
5.67
5.81
ZrO2
9.98
9.52
9.42
9.30
8.70
10.61
10.78
11.04
11.32
11.63
Nb2O5
15.25
16.71
16.52
18.25
18.89
18.63
16.68
16.37
16.07
15.76
Ta2O5
4.38
4.17
4.13
4.08
3.82
4.65
4.73
4.84
4.97
5.10
WO3
3.97
2.27
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
B2O3
28.21
29.54
30.17
30.79
31.57
29.81
28.88
28.64
28.31
27.93
SiO2
5.02
4.77
4.72
4.68
4.37
5.33
5.42
5.55
5.69
5.83
GeO2
6.23
5.94
5.86
5.79
5.43
6.61
6.72
6.88
7.06
7.25
Sb2O3
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
60.48
59.69
59.18
58.67
58.58
58.18
58.93
58.86
58.88
58.94
B2O3 Sum*
39.45
40.25
40.76
41.27
41.36
41.75
41.01
41.08
41.05
41.00
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Mol%
Ex. 51
Ex. 52
Ex. 53
Ex. 54
Ex. 55
Ex. 56
Ex. 57
Ex. 58
Ex. 59
Ex. 60
La2O3
21.47
21.84
20.88
20.59
21.08
21.40
21.40
21.01
20.75
21.18
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
5.61
5.73
4.52
3.44
5.91
6.02
6.02
5.50
5.43
5.54
ZrO2
11.23
11.42
11.37
11.74
11.82
12.03
12.03
10.99
10.86
11.08
Nb2O5
16.66
16.95
16.88
17.41
16.06
16.34
16.34
16.30
16.10
16.44
Ta2O5
4.92
5.01
4.99
5.15
5.18
5.27
5.27
4.82
4.76
4.86
WO3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
B2O3
30.95
33.24
28.49
28.40
30.31
32.82
32.82
25.92
17.87
31.39
SiO2
5.64
5.75
5.71
5.89
5.94
6.05
6.05
8.55
17.40
2.53
GeO2
3.47
0.00
7.09
7.32
3.64
0.00
0.00
6.86
6.77
6.91
Sb2O3
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
59.89
60.95
58.65
58.32
60.04
61.07
61.07
58.61
57.89
59.10
B2O3 Sum*
40.05
38.99
41.28
41.62
39.89
38.87
38.87
41.32
42.04
40.83
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Mol%
Ex. 61
Ex. 62
Ex. 63
Ex. 64
Ex. 65
Ex. 66
Ex. 67
Ex. 68
Ex. 69
Ex. 70
La2O3
20.34
19.95
20.71
20.33
21.00
21.97
21.23
21.47
21.21
21.58
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
5.32
5.22
5.42
5.32
5.49
5.75
5.55
5.61
8.98
5.66
ZrO2
10.64
10.44
10.83
10.64
10.98
6.87
11.10
11.23
6.64
6.75
Nb2O5
14.22
13.94
16.07
15.78
16.29
17.05
16.48
16.67
16.46
18.49
Ta2O5
8.64
6.37
2.73
0.69
0.82
0.86
2.08
3.36
0.83
0.84
WO3
0.00
4.02
3.86
7.58
7.61
7.97
5.32
2.99
7.69
7.82
B2O3
28.78
28.23
28.12
27.61
32.21
33.69
32.58
32.95
32.54
33.11
SiO2
5.35
5.25
5.45
5.35
5.53
5.79
5.60
5.66
5.59
5.69
GeO2
6.64
6.51
6.76
6.64
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
Sb2O3
0.07
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.07
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
59.16
59.94
59.61
60.34
62.19
60.45
61.77
61.33
61.81
61.14
B2O3 Sum*
40.77
39.99
40.33
39.60
37.75
39.48
38.17
38.60
38.13
38.80
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Mol%
Ex. 71
Ex. 72
Ex. 73
Ex. 74
Ex. 75
Ex. 76
Ex. 77
Ex. 78
La2O3
20.30
20.52
20.75
21.45
21.69
21.86
21.60
22.11
Gd2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
TiO2
8.61
8.70
8.80
9.08
9.19
9.26
10.33
12.01
ZrO2
10.63
10.74
10.86
6.71
6.79
6.84
3.72
0.00
Nb2O5
15.76
15.93
16.10
16.65
16.84
16.97
16.77
17.16
Ta2O5
0.79
2.01
3.24
2.10
3.40
4.28
0.85
0.87
WO3
7.36
5.15
2.89
5.38
3.02
1.41
7.84
8.02
B2O3
31.15
31.49
31.84
32.91
33.29
33.55
33.14
33.94
SiO2
5.35
5.40
5.46
5.66
5.72
5.76
5.69
5.83
GeO2
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
Sb2O3
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.06
0.07
0.07
Al2O3
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
0.00
La2O3 Sum*
63.44
63.04
62.64
61.37
60.93
60.62
61.10
60.16
B2O3 Sum*
36.50
36.90
37.30
38.57
39.01
39.32
38.83
39.77
La2O3 Sum* = La2O3+Gd2O3+Y2O3+Yb2O3+Ga2O3+TiO2+ZrO2+Nb2O5+Ta2O5+WO3
B2O3 Sum* = B2O3+SiO2+P2O5+GeO2
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
5 May 2026