DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed Augus 03, 2026. As directed by the amendment, original claim 1-6 and claims 7-21 added in the amendment filed March 04, 2026 have been cancelled and new claims 22-27 have been added.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the term/phrase “one or more processors” lacks antecedence basis in the specification as the term processor finds no counterpart in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more processors” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are again objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: see e.g. page 8, paragraph from line 11: “electrocardiogram path 111”; “smartwatch 112”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an electrocardiogram measurement unit configured to generate electrocardiogram data by measuring 1- or more-lead electrocardiograms” in claim 22 -- for equivalent structure, see e.g., page 8, paragraph from line 11 of instant specification as filed, electrocardiogram patch 111, smart watch 112, 6-lead electrocardiogram bar or an electrocardiogram measurement device installed in a medical institution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 21-27 now require “one or more processors” to execute the deep learning-based prediction unit, the rule based inference unit and the integrated reading unit. However, the original disclosure fails to provide written description that the said units are executed by one or more processor as claimed because, as noted in the objection to the specification, the term “processor” appears nowhere in the specification, much less, one or more processors executing any of the deep learning-based prediction unit, the rule based inference unit and/or the integrated reading unit. In view of these, the original disclosure fails to convey to those of ordinary skill in the art that the Applicant was in possession of the invention now claimed.
Claims 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 22-27, claim limitations:
“a deep learning-based prediction unit configured to generate disease prediction information by diagnosing and predicting disease …” ,
“a deep learning-based prediction unit configured to generate disease prediction information by diagnosing and predicting disease …”,
“a rule-based inference unit configured to generate disease inference information …”,
“an integrated reading unit configured to generate reading information …”, “a first reading unit configured to receive the primary reading information, and to allow … and generate secondary reading information” and
“a second reading unit configured to receive the secondary reading information, and to allow … and generate final reading information” each invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Examiner acknowledges the recitation of “one or more processors”, however, the phase “one or more processors” does not convey sufficient structure because the description does nothing to define a processor as a structure that performs the said function (see objection to specification above and 35 U.S.C 112(a) rejections), as the disclosure does not fully develop, much less mention the one or more processors perform the claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 27, a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). See MPEP § 2173/05(p)(II). The following portions of claim 6 are indefinite for this reason:
“to allow a nurse, clinical pathologist, or emergency technician to log in, read the primary reading information, and generate secondary reading information” -- this recitation requires the step to log in and read primary reading information ( by a nurse, clinical pathologist, or emergency technician), and to generate secondary reading information; and
“to allow a cardiologist to log in, read the secondary reading information and generate final reading information” -- this recitation requires the step to log in and read secondary reading information ( by a nurse, clinical pathologist, or emergency technician), and to generate final reading information.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. The limitations of claim 23 are to be found in claim 22, as such, claim 23 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 22. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant cited Yu et al. US 20210100468 A1.
Regarding claim 22-23, Yu et al. discloses an electrocardiogram reading system in which a deep learning-based model and a rule-based model are integrated ([0001] "methods and systems for automatically diagnosing ECGs using deep neural networks and rule-based systems", Figs. 1 and 4), the electrocardiogram reading system comprising:
an electrocardiogram measurement unit configured to generate electrocardiogram data by measuring 1- or more- lead electrocardiograms (Fig. 1, Data Acquisition Module 118; [0022] "ECG data may be acquired from a patient via an electrocardiograph (ECG), such as ECG system", [0028], [0029], [0032] is an equivalent thereof electrocardiogram patch 111, smart watch 112, 6-lead electrocardiogram bar or an electrocardiogram measurement device installed in a medical institution disclosed in page 8, paragraph from line 11 of instant specification as filed);
a deep learning-based prediction unit configured to generate disease prediction information by diagnosing and predicting disease from the electrocardiogram data input from the electrocardiogram a measurement unit (Fig. 1, Deep Neural Network Module 108; [0035], "Deep neural network module 108 may further include instructions for implementing the one or more trained deep neural networks to automatically diagnose ECG data ... by mapping the ECG data to a diagnosis") through a deep learning algorithm constructed by being trained on training datasets of 1- or more-lead electrocardiograms and diseases corresponding to these electrocardiograms ([0037], "training data pairs comprise corresponding pairs of ECG data and ground truth diagnoses");
a rule-based inference unit configured to generate disease inference information by inferring disease from the electrocardiogram data input from the electrocardiogram measurement unit through a rule-based algorithm including a knowledge base, constructed with electrocardiogram data and disease information corresponding to the electrocardiogram data, and inference rules (Fig. 1, Rule-Based System Module 110; [0038], "ECG processing system 102 further includes rule-based system module 110, which may store instructions for implementing a rule-based system for diagnosing ECG data based on hard-coded cardiologist heuristics/criteria"; Fig. 2, Rule-Based System 204; [0062], "The features determined by feature extractor 206 may be fed to decision tree 208 ... At each decision node, the features of ECG data 202 determined by feature extractor 206 may be evaluated based on expert criteria, and the result of the evaluation may determine to which sub node the extracted features are propagated') Yu et al. further discloses wherein the rule-based inference unit sets a readable range for reading performed by the integrated reading unit ([0065] “… rule-based system 304 determines a preliminary diagnosis from ECG data 302 based on hardcoded expert criteria, which is fed into an input layer of decision network 314 of deep neural network” i.e. the rule-based system 304 sets a readable range and/or [0072] “ … ECG data 402 is fed to rule-based system 404, which produces a first preliminary diagnosis based on ECG data 402”, i.e., rule based system 404 sets a readable range); and
an integrated reading unit configured to generate reading information by performing disease reading through an integrated analysis of the disease prediction information and the disease inference information and provide diagnostic information descriptive of a reason and basis for the diagnosis of the disease (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3; [0063], [0065] describe the two different embodiments of the hybrid diagnosis system; [0072], "hybrid ECG diagnostic system 400 may incorporate adaptive feature mapping of a deep neural network, with an intuitive and transparent decision making model reflecting expert criteria, to produce a diagnosis tailored to a specific use case, and with a greater transparency than may be achieved in deep neural networks alone").
Regarding claim 24, Yu et al. discloses the system of claim 22 as discussed above, wherein, when the disease prediction information generated by the deep learning-based prediction unit is included in the readable range, the integrated reading unit generates and outputs the reading information and the diagnostic information (see illustration Fig. 4 and [0072] “The first preliminary diagnosis is then transmitted to deep neural network 410, which maps both the first preliminary diagnosis and ECG data 402 to a second preliminary diagnosis. The second preliminary diagnosis is then fed back into rule-based system 404, and used to produce diagnosis 416” -- i.e. prediction information from the deep neural network 410 is included in the readable range), and, when the disease prediction information generated by the deep learning-based prediction unit is not included in the readable range ([0074] “… the second preliminary diagnosis produced by deep neural network 410 may be used to update/modify one or more parameters of feature extractor 406”-- i.e. prediction information from the deep neural network 410may not be fed into the rules based inference unit and therefore not included in the readable range), electrocardiograms are re-measured by the electrocardiogram measurement unit (see illustration Fig. 4, [0072], rule based system 404 receives ECG data 402, [0073] ECG data 402 is a live stream -- electrocardiograms are remeasured), or the disease prediction information is re-generated by readjusting parameters of the deep learning-based prediction unit (see illustration Fig. 4, [0079], “… the first preliminary diagnosis into an input layer of decision network 414, along with the plurality of features mapped from ECG data 402 by convolutional neural network 412, is that deep neural network 410 may adjust/modify the first preliminary diagnosis based the on one or more features identified by convolutional neural network 412 in ECG data 402 … ”).
Regarding claim 25, Yu et al. discloses the system of claim 22 wherein the integrated reading unit performs final reading by using only the disease inference information generated by the rule-based inference unit ([0038] “Rule-based system module 110 may work in concert with deep neural network module 108” - see illustration Fig. 4, ECG data 402 may generate a diagnosis without being fed back to deep neural network 410; and/or [0085] “two exemplary embodiments of diagnoses are shown, first diagnosis 1004, produced using a rule-based system without a deep neural network).
Regarding claim 26, Yu et al. discloses the system of claim 22 wherein a final diagnosis of the corresponding disease for the electrocardiogram data is made by the deep learning-based prediction unit and the rule-based inference unit (see Fig. 4, hybrid system [0072] “In hybrid ECG diagnostic system 400, ECG data 402 is fed to rule-based system 404, which produces a first preliminary diagnosis based on ECG data 402. The first preliminary diagnosis is then transmitted to deep neural network 410, which maps both the first preliminary diagnosis and ECG data 402 to a second preliminary diagnosis. The second preliminary diagnosis is then fed back into rule-based system 404, and used to produce diagnosis 416” and/or [0085] “two exemplary embodiments of diagnoses are shown … second diagnosis 1006, produced using a hybrid ECG diagnostic system”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al.
Regarding claim 27, Yu et al. discloses the system of claim 22 wherein primary reading information is generated by provisionally reading the electrocardiogram data through the deep learning-based prediction unit or the rule-based inference unit (see e.g. Fig. 2, primary reading is generated via rule based system 204, or Fig. 3, primary reading is generated via deep neural network 310 or [0072] “ECG data 402 is fed to rule-based system 404, which produces a first preliminary diagnosis based on ECG data 402”).
Yu et al. may not explicitly disclose wherein the integrated reading unit comprises: a first reading unit configured to receive the primary reading information, and to allow a nurse, clinical pathologist, or emergency technician to log in, read the primary reading information, and generate secondary reading information; and a second reading unit configured to receive the secondary reading information, and to allow a cardiologist to log in, read the secondary reading information and generate final reading information, however, in view of the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections above, examiner notes that this limitation would be met by the system of Yu et al. which is capable of this functionality based on disclosure of an input means in [0028] and more than one clients where the data may be transmitted in [0087] which would allow a first user (e.g. a nurse, clinical pathologist, or emergency technician) to log in, read the primary reading information, and generate secondary reading information and allow a second user (e.g., a cardiologist) in another client device to log in, read the primary reading information, and generate final reading information Yu et al, hence claim 6 is anticipated.
Alternatively, addressing the limitation despite the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection, Yu et al. does disclose in [0028] “ECG processing system 102 is further communicatively coupled to a display device 114, which is configured to display ECG data and/or diagnoses determined for the ECG data, as well as user input device 116, which may enable a user to enter data into ECG processing system 102 or interact with data within non-transitory memory 106” i.e., the input device 6 allows a user to log in, read information and/or generate information, [0085] “… the display device comprises a graphical user interface wherein the diagnosis may be displayed to a user. In some embodiments, the display device may comprise a device coupled to the ECG system, such as display device 114, which may be viewed by an operator of ECG system. The operator may view the displayed diagnosis, and may take one or more actions based thereon … first diagnosis 1004, produced using a rule-based system without a deep neural network, and second diagnosis 1006, produced using a hybrid ECG diagnostic system … first diagnosis 1004 includes a textual message indicating an assessment … second diagnosis 1006 includes a message, indicating a diagnostic assessment” -- a user may use an input device to log in, view/read information, input information and generate new or additional information, [0086] “… the ECG system may transmit the diagnosis to one or more client systems” - and [0087] the diagnosis may be displayed to a user, such as a doctor or health care professional, and/or distributed to one or more client devices”-- more than one clients allows other users to log in, read and/or view and generate new information from other workstations.
In view of the combined teachings of Yu et al. it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have modified the system to include a first reading unit to allow an operator next to the ECG system to log in, read the primary reading information and generate secondary reading information by adding comments or notes to the first diagnosis 1004 to be transmitted to a second reading unit in a remote location, to allow another user or professional to log in, read the secondary information and generate a final reading after reviewing, so as to enable remote support in diagnosis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 03, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to arguments directed to the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections, as noted in the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections above, the phase “one or more processors” does not convey sufficient structure to perform the claimed function because the description does nothing to define a processor as a structure that performs the said function (see objection to specification above and 35 U.S.C 112(a) rejections), as the disclosure does not fully develop, much less mention the one or more processors perform the claimed functions.
In regards to the prior art rejections, Applicant has amended claim 22 (i.e. previously presented claim 1) to include limitations of previously presented claim 2, however, Applicant does not point out disagreements with the examiner' s contentions presented in the Office action of 12/04/2025. In view of these, those rejections are hereby maintained and have been re-written to be consistent with the numbering of claims.
Finally, the objection to the drawings from the previous Office action and the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection of previously presented claim 6, now claim 27 were not addressed in the response filed 03/04/2026 and/or 08/03/2026. As such, the previous objection to the drawings and rejection of claim 6 are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220167902 A1 to Natsui discloses in [abstract] an application range setting section configured to set an application range of a filter in the input electrocardiogram waveform.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797