DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-11 objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite “discharge conduit (112)” and “return duct (113)”; however, the figures and the specification disclose delivery conduit (102) and return conduit (103). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGrath (US 9,260,025).
With respect to claim 1, McGrath discloses Vehicle (1) with at least partially electric traction and comprising at least one electric battery module (4) (electric bus 10 with respective batteries 14), said vehicle comprising electrical connection means (6) (charging interface 16, figure 1) configured to be electrically connected to said at least one battery module (4) to allow its recharging by means of electric recharging means (110) (charge head assembly 32 provides charge to the batteries, figure 3) said vehicle comprising a conditioning system (7) configured to regulate the temperature of said at least one battery module (4) (col. 6, lines 20-31 discloses using a liquid coolant to cool the batteries), said vehicle (1) comprising fluidic connection means (11) configured to fluidly connect said conditioning system (7) to a recharging cooling circuit external to the vehicle (101) configured to cool said at least one battery module (4) through said conditioning system (7) (col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses that the external charge console is configured to cool the batteries 14) of said vehicle (1) wherein said conditioning system (7) comprises a delivery duct (8) and a return duct (9) configured to allow a conditioning fluid to circulate in the vicinity of said at least one battery module (4), said fluidic connection means (11) comprising valve means fluidly interposed on said discharge conduit (8) and on said return conduit (9) and configured to connect a discharge conduit (112) and a return duct (113) of said recharge cooling circuit (101) (col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses conduits or pipes to make a connection from console 34 to the bus 10).
With respect to claim 3, McGrath discloses Recharging station (100) for a vehicle (1) according to claims claim 1, said recharging station (100) comprising a charging cooling circuit (101) and electric charging means (110), said recharging cooling circuit (101) comprising hydraulic connection means (106) configured to fluidly connect to said fluid communication means (11) of said vehicle (1) and electrical recharging means (114) configured to electrically cooperate with said electrical connection means (6). Figure 1, col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses charge console 34 making a leak-free connection with the charging interface 16.
With respect to claim 7, McGrath discloses Recharging station according to claim 3, wherein said recharging cooling circuit (101) comprises a delivery duct (112) and a return duct (113) each provided with said fluid connection means (106), said recharge cooling circuit (101) comprising a heat exchanger (104) configured to dissipate heat from the conditioning fluid flowing through said conduits (112, 113) to the environment. Col 5, lines 44-57; Col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses conduits or pipes to make a connection from console 34 to the bus 10 and to a heat exchanger.
With respect to claim 8, McGrath discloses Recharging station according to claim 7, wherein said recharging cooling circuit (101) comprises pumping means (105) configured to allow the circulation of said fluid in said conduits (112, 113). Col 5, lines 44-57- Col. 5, lines 1-19 discloses controlling a liquid cooling loop with respective flow modifying components.
With respect to claim 9, McGrath discloses Recharging station according to claim 7, wherein said recharging cooling circuit (101) comprises ventilation means configured to provide an air flow through said heat exchanger (104). McGrath discloses in Col. 4, lines 1-22 controlling the air flow in the system.
With respect to claim 10, McGrath discloses Recharging station according to claim 7, wherein said recharging cooling circuit (101) comprises a reservoir (107) fluidly connected to said conduits (112, 113). Col 5, lines 44-57- Col. 5, lines 1-19 discloses a heat exchanger and a cooler coolant/water for the purpose of absorbing heat.
With respect to claim 11, McGrath discloses a system comprising a recharging station (100) according to claim 3 and a vehicle (1) with at least partially electric traction (electric bus 10) and comprising: at least one electric battery module (4) (batteries 14), said vehicle comprising electrical connection means (6) configured to be electrically connected to said at least one battery module (4) to allow its recharging by means of electric recharging means (110) (charge head assembly 32 provides charge to the batteries, figure 3) said vehicle comprising a conditioning system (7) configured to regulate the temperature of said at least one battery module (4) (col. 6, lines 20-31 discloses using a liquid coolant to cool the batteries), said vehicle (1) comprising fluidic connection means (11) configured to fluidly connect said conditioning system (7) to a recharging cooling circuit external to the vehicle (101) configured to cool said at least one battery module (4) through said conditioning system (7) of said vehicle (1) (col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses that the external charge console is configured to cool the batteries 14) wherein said conditioning system (7) comprises a delivery duct (8) and a return duct (9) configured to allow a conditioning fluid to circulate in the vicinity of said at least one battery module (4), said fluidic connection means (11) comprising valve means fluidly interposed on said discharge conduit (8) and on said return conduit (9) and configured to connect a discharge conduit (112) and a return duct (113) of said recharge cooling circuit (101) (col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses conduits or pipes to make a connection from console 34 to the bus 10).
With respect to claim 12, McGrath discloses Method of recharging the battery modules of an at least partially electric traction vehicle (electric bus 10), said method comprising the following phases: i) electrically connect the vehicle's battery modules to an electrical recharging system (figure 3 discloses connecting the bus 10 to charge console 34); ii) fluidly connecting a battery module conditioning system to a recharge cooling circuit (col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses that the external charge console is configured to cool the batteries 14); iii) once the operations of phases i) and ii) have been completed, recharge the battery modules and, in parallel, circulate a cooling fluid through said recharging cooling circuit (col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses conduits or pipes to make a connection from console 34 to the bus 10 to thus provide charge and cooling for the batteries 14).
With respect to claim 13, McGrath discloses a recharging method according to claim 12, also comprising the phases of: iv) when the batteries are charged, interrupt phase iii); v) electrically disconnect the vehicle battery modules from the electrical charging system; vi) fluidly disconnect the conditioning system for the battery modules from the recharge cooling circuit. Figure 3 discloses, col. 6, lines 32-52 discloses making an electrical and a cooling connection for charging the batteries and cooling the batteries, the opposite is also true for disconnecting the cooling and charging connections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGrath (US 9,260,025) in view of Sarkar et al. (US 9,975,444) (“Sarkar”).
With respect to claim 2, McGrath discloses Vehicle according to claim 1, wherein said vehicle (1) comprises a plurality of side walls (2a) a roof (2b) and a floor defining a space for carrying passengers (figure 1 discloses electric bus 10 with sides a floor and a roof), , said electrical connection means (6) and said fluidic connection means (11) being carried by said roof (2b) (figures 1 and 3 disclose that the fluid and electrical connection are provided on the roof of the electric vehicle).
McGrath; however, does not expressly disclose that said at least one battery module (4) is carried by said roof.
Sarkar discloses a thermal conditioning of a battery pack 4 provided on the roof of vehicle 1 (bus), see figure 1.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify McGrath and include the battery 14 on the roof of the electric bus as disclosed by Sarkar, for the purpose of optimizing the performance of the batteries, for example (abstract).
Claim(s) 4-5, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGrath (US 9,260,025) in view of BUEHS et al. (US 2017/0217324) (“BUEHS”).
With respect to claim 4, McGrath discloses Recharging station according to claim 3; except for, wherein said recharging cooling circuit (101) and the electrical recharging means (110) are carried by at least one robotic arm (111, 115) configured to move said means of hydraulic connection (106) and said electrical recharging means (114) on at least three degrees of freedom of movement.
BUEHS discloses a charging station for a vehicle/bus 10 comprising an articulated arm 4 configured to move the supply contact device in different degrees of freedom movement, figures 1-3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify McGrath and include the robotic arm of BUEHS, for the purpose of providing an arm that is easily controlled to make proper contact with the receiving contact of the vehicle, for example.
With respect to claim 5, McGrath in view of BUEHS disclose Recharging station according to claim 4, wherein said robotic arm comprises a column (112, 116) and an articulated arm (113, 117) movably carried relative to said column (112, 116). Figure 1 of BUEHS discloses a column 2 and articulated arm 4.
With respect to claim 14, McGrath discloses Recharging method according to claim 12; except for, wherein phases i) and ii) each comprise: i′) detecting the position of vehicle 1 in relation to the charging station; i″) control, depending on the position detected in point i″) a robotic arm to connect the vehicle's battery modules to the electrical charging system; i′″) control, depending on the position detected in point i′) a robotic arm to connect the conditioning system of the battery modules to the recharging cooling circuit.
BUEHS discloses a charging station for a vehicle/bus 10 comprising a position detection device 15 for detecting the position of the vehicle articulated arm 4 and configured to move the supply contact device and arm in different degrees of freedom movement based on the position of the vehicle, paragraph 0042, figures 1-3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify McGrath and include the detection device of BUEHS, for the purpose of providing indications when the vehicle is not properly park for charging, for example (paragraph 0042).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGrath (US 9,260,025) in view of BUEHS et al. (US 2017/0217324) (“BUEHS”) in further view of THOMAS et al. (DE 102017214700) (“THOMAS”) (Document provided on the IDS of 2/13/2024).
With respect to claim 6, McGrath in view of BUEHS disclose Recharging station according to claim 4; except for, wherein said charging cooling circuit (101) is carried by a first robotic arm (111) and said electrical recharging means (110) are carried by a second robotic arm (115) distinct from said first robotic arm (111).
THOMA discloses a first cable 50a for providing an electrical connection with the charging unit 12a, and also a separate fluid guidance element 24a to guide the fluid to the temperature control unit 20a and regulating unit 26a, figure 1.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify McGrath and BUEHS and include a separate robotic arm for providing charge to the vehicle battery and a separate arm for providing the cooling as disclosed by THOMAS, for the purpose of providing efficient cooling of the battery and the interior of the vehicle when charging, for example (paragraph 0014).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morris et al. (US 2014/0070767) discloses a charging station for electric vehicles comprising a column 6 and connector head arm, figures 9-10.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836