DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, replace “the RA procedure” with --a RA procedure--. In line 10, replace “the DCI format” with --a DCI format--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 20, 22, 26, 31, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bai et al (US 2023/0032365 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 35, Bai discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 2, UE 120), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 2, memory 282); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Fig. 2, processor 280 coupled with memory 282) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration of two physical uplink control channel scheduling request (PUCCH-SR) resources for beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) transmission for a cell group (115th paragraph, UE may be configured with two PUCCH-SR resources per cell group for TRP BFR) when two beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) sets (Fig. 8, 105th, and 107th paragraphs, UE may receive a set of BFD-RSs associated with the first TRP 805 and a set of BFD-RSs associated with second TRP 805 and/or Fig. 3, beam set q0 310 and another beam set q0 of TRPs, illustrated in Fig. 8) and two new beam indication reference signal (NBI-RS) sets (Fig. 8, 105th and 119th paragraphs, UE may receive a set of NBI-RSs associated with the first TRP 805 and a set of NBI-RSs associated with second TRP 805) are configured for a cell of the cell group (Fig. 8), wherein there is one-to-one association between the two PUCCH-SR resources and the two BFD-RS sets (115th paragraph, network may configure an association between a PUCCH-SR resource and a BFD-RSs set), and there is one-to-one association between the two BFD-RS sets and the two NBI-RS sets (101st paragraph, sets of BFD-RSs may have one-to-one associations with sets of NBF-RSs); and
transmit, in response to one of the two BFD-RS sets is failed, a BFRQ in one PUCCH-SR resource of the two PUCCH-SR resources according to an association between the two PUCCH-SR resources and the two BFD-RS sets (116th paragraph, UE may transmit the SR in an uplink resource that is selected by the UE from multiple uplink resources that are not associated with the failed set of BFD-RSs carrying BFR request).
Regarding claim 20, Bai discloses that wherein in response to that the two BFD-RS sets are both failed (Fig. 3, beam measurements 312 and 316 from first beam set q0 310 and second beam set q0 are less than Qout), a random access (RA) procedure is performed (Fig. 3, RACH is triggered for selected beam 326 and 328), and the RA procedure is a contention-free random access procedure when one or more CF-RACH resources are configured for the cell (65th paragraph, UE initiate random access procedure using a random access resource) and a new beam associated with one CF-RACH resource is found (Fig. 3, in block 326, RACH is triggered for a new beam having threshold above Qin).
Regarding claims 22 and 31, Bai discloses that wherein in response to that the two BFD-RS sets are both failed (Fig. 3, beam measurements 312 and 316 from first beam set q0 310 and second beam set q0 are less than Qout), a random access (RA) procedure is performed (Fig. 3, RACH is triggered for selected beam 326 and 328), and the RA procedure is a contention-based RACH (CB-RACH) procedure when no CF-RACH resource is configured (Fig. 3, CBRA is performed. In contention based random access, no CF-RACH is configured) or one or more CF-RACH resources are configured while no new beam associated with the CF-RACH resources is found (alternative).
Regarding claim 26, Bai discloses a processor for wireless communication (Fig. 2, UE 120), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Fig. 2, processor 280 coupled with memory 282) and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a configuration of two physical uplink control channel scheduling request (PUCCH-SR) resources for beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) transmission for a cell group (115th paragraph, UE may be configured with two PUCCH-SR resources per cell group for TRP BFR) when two beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) sets (Fig. 8, 105th, and 107th paragraphs, UE may receive a set of BFD-RSs associated with the first TRP 805 and a set of BFD-RSs associated with second TRP 805 and/or Fig. 3, beam set q0 310 and another beam set q0 of TRPs, illustrated in Fig. 8) and two new beam indication reference signal (NBI-RS) sets (Fig. 8, 105th and 119th paragraphs, UE may receive a set of NBI-RSs associated with the first TRP 805 and a set of NBI-RSs associated with second TRP 805) are configured for a cell of the cell group (Fig. 8), wherein there is one-to-one association between the two PUCCH-SR resources and the two BFD-RS sets (115th paragraph, network may configure an association between a PUCCH-SR resource and a BFD-RSs set), and there is one-to-one association between the two BFD-RS sets and the two NBI-RS sets (101st paragraph, sets of BFD-RSs may have one-to-one associations with sets of NBF-RSs); and
transmit, in response to one of the two BFD-RS sets is failed, a BFRQ in one PUCCH-SR resource of the two PUCCH-SR resources according to an association between the two PUCCH-SR resources and the two BFD-RS sets (116th paragraph, UE may transmit the SR in an uplink resource that is selected by the UE from multiple uplink resources that are not associated with the failed set of BFD-RSs carrying BFR request).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19, 21, 23-25, 27-30, and 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Go et al (US 2023/0247626 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses BFD and BFR in a cell group (Figs. 12-13).
Zhu et al (US 2022/0109489 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses BFR (Figs. 6-24).
Wu et al (US 2024/0340068 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses TRP BFD and BFR (Fig. 2).
Ling et al (US 2024/0356623 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses beam detection and recovery (Fig. 2).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472