DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haesloop et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,435,132).
Regarding claim 1, Haesloop discloses:
A buffer gate for isolating inside and outside of a pump column in which a submersible pump (27) is disposed, the submersible pump (27) being for delivering liquefied gas, said buffer gate comprising: (Col. 4, lines 18-50)
a buffer box (22, 50, 65) having a buffer chamber (122) therein, the buffer box (22, 50, 65) being fixed to an upper end of the pump column 14 (see Figure 1; Col. 6, lines 38-50; Col. 7, lines 13-50)
a first partition wall (65) configured to close an upper opening of the buffer box 22, 50, 65 (see Figure 1)
a second partition wall (22) configured to close an upper opening of the pump column 14 (see Figure 1)
a purge-gas inlet port communicating with the buffer chamber 122 (Col. 6, lines 38-50; Col. 7, lines 13-50)
Regarding claim 2, Haesloop discloses:
wherein a vertical length of the buffer chamber (22, 50, 65) is smaller than a vertical length of the submersible pump 27 (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 4, Haesloop discloses:
a purge- gas outlet port communicating with the buffer chamber (122), the purge-gas outlet port being coupled to a gas treatment device 120 (Col. 6, lines 38-50; Col. 7, lines 13-50)
Regarding claim 5, Haesloop discloses:
an electrical terminal (48) coupled to a power cable (40) for supplying electric power to the submersible pump 27 (Col. 4, lines 51-63)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haesloop in view of Epstein et al. (U.S. 20140026597).
Regarding claim 3, Haesloop discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose a leak detector configured to detect liquefied gas leaked from the pump column into the buffer chamber.
Epstein teaches an LNG storage system comprising a leak detector (509) configured to detect liquefied gas leaked from a pump column (503) into a buffer chamber 502 (see paragraph 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Haesloop to provide a leak detector configured to detect liquefied gas leaked from the pump column into the buffer chamber, as taught by Epstein. Doing so would determine if there is a leak.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-26 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter: the prior art of record neither discloses nor makes obvious the combinations set forth in the independent claim. Specifically, how the purge container is arranged with the buffer gate in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smith, III et al. (U.S. 2005/0123425) discloses a buffer gate for isolating a pump column for a submersible pump comprising: a buffer box having a buffer chamber, an upper and lower partition wall and a purge gas inlet port.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753