DETAILED ACTION
Prior arts cited in this office action:
Sugio et al. (WO 2020196677 A1, hereinafter “Sugio”)
Xiong et al. (CN 112601082 A, hereinafter “Xiong”)
Ikonin et al. (KR 20230072487 A, hereinafter “Ikonin”)
Klement et al (CN 107949851 A, hereinafter “Klement”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the knew ground of rejection set forth below
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugio et al. (WO 2020196677 A1, hereinafter “Sugio”) in view of Xiong et al. (CN 112601082 A, hereinafter “Xiong”) in view of Klement et al. (CN 107949851 A, hereinafter “Klement”).
Regarding claims 1 and 9:
Sugio teaches a point cloud attribute encoding method (Sugio abstract, [0002]-[0003], where Sugio discloses encoding method , decoding method and decoding apparatus), comprising:
sorting point cloud data to be encoded to obtain sorted point cloud data, wherein
the point cloud data to be encoded are point cloud data with attributes to be encoded (Sugio [0009], where Sugio teaches The three-dimensional data coding method according to one aspect of the present disclosure is a three-dimensional data coding method for encoding a plurality of three-dimensional points, each of which has attribute information, and (i) the plurality of three-dimensional points are When classified into a plurality of layers, each of the plurality of three-dimensional points is classified into the plurality of layers so that the distance between the three-dimensional points belonging to each layer is longer in the upper layer than in the lower layer. As a result, a hierarchical structure is generated, and the attribute information possessed by each of the plurality of three-dimensional points is encoded using the hierarchical structure, and the encoded attribute information and the hierarchy used for generating the hierarchical structure are generated);
constructing a multilayer structure based on the sorted point cloud data and distances between the sorted point cloud data (Sugio [0009]-[0012], [0911], where Sugio teaches the hierarchical information may include a distance threshold for classifying the plurality of three-dimensional points into the plurality of layers so that the distance between the three-dimensional points falls within a different distance range in each layer);and
encoding point cloud attributes for each of the nodes based on the multilayer
structure and the respective encoding mode (Sugio [0009]-[0016], [0911], where Sugio teaches as a result, a hierarchical structure is generated, and the attribute information possessed by each of the plurality of three-dimensional points is encoded using the hierarchical structure, and the encoded attribute information and the hierarchy used for generating the hierarchical structure are generated.).
Sugio fails to teach explicitly obtaining an encoding mode corresponding to each of nodes in the multilayer structure, wherein the encoding mode corresponding to each of the nodes is a direct encoding mode, a predictive encoding mode, or a transform encoding mode, wherein the predictive encoding mode is to encode a node based on information of a neighboring node corresponding to the node, and wherein the transform encoding mode is to encode the node based on a transform matrix;
Xiong teaches according to the occupied image index, for geometry and attribute content, block is divided into unoccupied, occupied and boundary block. Different types of blocks are generated by different policies, so they have different characteristics in rate distortion optimization (RDO). It is well known that RDO consumes most of the HEVC coding. The encoding of each type of block with an appropriate scheme facilitates improved computational efficiency. Therefore, the invention researches the rate distortion characteristic of different types of blocks, and claims a fast V-PCC coding method guided by the occupied graph (Xiong 0034]-[0039], claim 1).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Sugio and Xiong as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a coding mode that is better suited for each layer, each block or each group of point cloud, in order to render the coding process more efficient and faster by improving computational efficiency of the coding (Xiong [0037]).
The combination fails to explicitly teach using the sorted point cloud data as nodes in a bottom layer;
constructing the multilayer structure from bottom up by merging nodes based on
the nodes in the bottom layer and distances between the nodes in the bottom layer, wherein a
distance between a plurality of child nodes merged to form a corresponding parent node in the
multilayer structure is less than a preset distance threshold that is related to a point cloud density.
However, Sugio teaches combining or grouping the cloud points data such that when the distance is less than a threshold such that the processing amount is reduced.
Klement further teaches performing trimming wherein the trimming comprises at least one plurality of pruning method. As is obvious in the, according to expectation, it can use only one trimming method, or using a plurality of trimming method. the graph construction results in two or more independent graph, the pruning comprising removing comprises less than critical number node or one or plurality of chart corresponds to a less connected region of pixels of the critical number of pixels. pruning may include inserting a node combined with their respective parent node, the node corresponding to the connecting region of the pixel is less than the critical value of the size. the sub-node in the graph is connected to two under the condition of father node pruning comprising the child node and the parent node of the smaller connecting area corresponding to the pixel are combined to a single child node of another parent node. in the chart distance between two node reference object in different relative distance by the interconnection node interconnection diagram of the parallel path, pruning comprising the interconnected nodes with the parallel paths from the reference point or plane in the same relative distance are merged into a single node. pruning may include combining the nodes of the connected area of the pixel relative to distance from the reference the same and corresponding to the size is less than the critical value of the single node at the relative distance therebetween in a chart connected under the condition of the common parent node. pruning may include the merging of nodes at a relative distance from the reference the same, both of them are lower than the distance between the pixel connection region in which the two-dimensional pixel array or a three-dimensional space from a two-dimensional pixel array and a depth value is smaller than critical value (Klement [0030]-0032], [0087]-[0089]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Sugio, Xiong and Klement as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform tree trimming such combining node (leaf) with a parent node in order to simplify the calculation and make the data processing easier and more efficient.
Regarding claims 2 and 10:
Sugio in view of Xiong and in view of Klement teaches wherein the sorting point cloud data to be encoded to obtain sorted point cloud data comprises:
based on three-dimensional coordinates of each of the point cloud data to be encoded, arranging the point cloud data to be encoded into a one-dimensional order from a three-dimensional distribution according to a preset rule to obtain the sorted point cloud data (Sugio [0184]-[0186], [0383]-[0387]; [0697], [0849], [0891]-[0894]).
Regarding claim 12:
Sugio in view of Xiong and in view of Klement teaches wherein the decoding point cloud attributes for each of the nodes based on the multilayer structure and the respective decoding mode comprises:
calculating a reconstructed first attribute coefficient for each of the nodes from top
to bottom based on the multilayer structure; and decoding each of the nodes from top to bottom based on the multilayer structure, the reconstructed first attribute coefficient of each of the nodes, and the decoding mode corresponding to each of the nodes(Sugio [0184]-[0186], [0697], [0849], [0891]-[0894]; Xiong [0007]-[0008], [0034]).
Claims 4-7, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugio et al. (WO 2020196677 A1, hereinafter “Sugio”) in view of Xiong et al. (CN 112601082 A, hereinafter “Xiong”) in view of Klement et al. (CN 107949851 A, hereinafter “Klement”) and in view of Ikonin et al. (KR 20230072487 A, hereinafter “Ikonin”).
Regarding claims 4 and 14:
Sugio in view of Xiong and in view of Klement fails to explicitly teach wherein the obtaining an encoding mode corresponding to each of nodes in the multilayer structure, wherein the encoding mode corresponding to each of the nodes is a direct encoding mode, a predictive encoding mode, or a transform encoding mode, comprises: setting the encoding mode corresponding to direct encoding nodes in the multilayer structure to be the direct encoding mode, the direct encoding nodes being nodes in the first layer of the multilayer structure; setting the encoding mode corresponding to predictive encoding nodes in the multilayer structure to be the predictive encoding mode, the predictive encoding nodes being nodes from a second layer to a layer m of the multilayer structure that do not have a parent node; and setting the encoding method corresponding to transform encoding nodes in the multilayer structure to be the transform encoding mode, the transform encoding nodes being nodes from the second layer to the layer m of the multilayer structure that have a parent node; wherein the multilayer structure comprises M layers, the layer m is a bottom layer.
However, Ikonin teaches Compared with Fig. 16, the block diagram of Fig. 17 introduces multiple coding options in the same resolution layer. This is illustrated by options 1 through N in the layer-1 cost calculation unit 710. Note that usually more than one or all layers can contain more options. In other words, any of cost calculation units 613, 623, 633 may provide more options. These options include different reference pictures used for motion estimation/compensation, uni-, bi- or multi-hypothesis prediction, such as inter- or intra-frame prediction, direct coding without prediction, multi-hypothesis prediction, presence of residual information or one or more or all of the different prediction methods, such as absence, quantization level of the residual, etc. A cost is calculated for each coding option in the cost calculation unit 710 . The best option is then selected using least cost pooling (720). The indicator (e.g. index) 705 of the best selected option is sent to the layer information selection module 730, and if the corresponding point of the current layer is selected to transmit information, the indicator BestOpt is sent in the bitstream. do. In the given example, options are described only for the first layer, but it should be understood that similar option selection logic can be applied to all layers or other layers with different resolutions (Ikonin [0034]-[0037], figs. 16 and 17).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Sugio, Xiong, Klement and Ikonin as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to select coding mode corresponding to each section as claimed by the applicant by analyzing each coding mode for each section and select the best coding mode among the plurality of the coding mode for each desired section,
Regarding claims 5 and 15:
Sugio in view of Xiong, Klement and in view of Ikonin teaches wherein the direct encoding mode is to encode the direct encoding nodes directly based on information of the direct encoding nodes; the predictive encoding mode is to encode the predictive encoding nodes based on information of neighboring nodes within a proximity range of the respective predictive encoding nodes; and the transform encoding mode is to encode the transform encoding nodes using a transform matrix (Sugio [0006]-[009], [0013]-[0016], [0037]; Xiong 0034]-[0039], claim 1; Ikonin [0034]-[0037).
Regarding claims 6 and 16:
Sugio in view of Xiong, Klement and in view of Ikonin teaches wherein the encoding point cloud attributes for each of the nodes based on the multilayer structure and the respective encoding mode comprises:
calculating a first attribute coefficient of each of the nodes based on the multilayer
structure from bottom up, wherein the first attribute coefficient of a node in the bottom layer of
the multilayer structure is a raw point cloud attribute value corresponding to the node, and the first attribute coefficients of nodes in other layers are DC coefficients corresponding to the respective nodes in the other layers; and encoding each of the nodes from top to bottom based on the multilayer structure, the first attribute coefficient of each of the nodes, and the respective encoding mode of each of the nodes (Sugio [0006]-[009], [0013]-[0016], [0037]; Xiong 0034]-[0039], claim 1; Ikonin [0034]-[0037).
Regarding claims 7 and 17:
Sugio in view of Xiong, Klement and in view of Ikonin teaches wherein the encoding each of the nodes from top to bottom based on the multilayer structure, the first attribute coefficient of each of the nodes, and the respective encoding mode of each of the nodes comprises:
traversing the multilayer structure from top to bottom from m=1 to m=M-1, to
obtain second attribute coefficient and/or first attribute residual coefficient corresponding to each
of the nodes by:
taking nodes in a layer m as first target nodes, calculating the second attribute coefficients for each of the first target nodes and reconstructed first attribute coefficients of transform encoding mode child nodes of each of the first target nodes based on each of the first target nodes and the respective transform encoding mode child nodes; and
for each of predictive encoding nodes in a layer m+1, obtaining a second target node corresponding to each of the predictive encoding nodes in the layer m+1 respectively, and obtaining by estimation the first attribute residual coefficients of the corresponding predictive encoding nodes;
wherein the second attribute coefficient is an AC coefficient corresponding to each of the nodes, the second target node comprises K nodes in the layer m+1 that are closest to the respective predictive encoding node and have calculated the reconstructed first attribute coefficients, and K is a preset number of searches; and performing quantization and entropy encoding for the first attribute coefficients of the nodes in the first layer of the multilayer structure and the second attribute coefficients and/or the first attribute residual coefficients of the nodes in the other layers (Sugio [0006]-[009], [0013]-[0016], [0037]; Xiong 0034]-[0039], claim 1; Ikonin [0034]-[0037).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEDNEL CADEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 August 10, 2026