Reply to Amendment and/or Response under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111
This is an office action in response to communications filed on June 30,
2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 10, 17-18, 21, and 24 and cancelled claim 2. Examiner withdraws objections to claims 10, 17-18, and 21. Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, 24-25, 30, and 32 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, 24-25, 30 and 32. Claims 1-3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 are drawn to a system for displaying light projection images (i.e., a manufacture). Claim 30 is drawn to a method for processing a digital picture (i.e., a process). Claim 32 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable medium for displaying light projection images (i.e., a manufacture).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, 24-25, 30 and 32.
Claim 1 recites:
A system for displaying light projection images,
comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels,
and a processor that is configured to provide image information to a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying a picture to be painted or drawn on the object,
wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific range of pixel grayscale values for each sub-area,
wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images,
wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity,
and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity.
These steps amount to a form of organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because a human can use memory and a processor to display light projection images, typically through the use of computers and projectors. The claimed invention discloses “When using a single projection image with all information in a known projection system some parts which have to be painted a certain colour are sometimes forgotten or people mistake the colour number.” [0025].
Independent claims 30 and 32 describe steps that are similar to steps of claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 are directed towards mini-tasks (selecting pixel greyscale and light intensity values, displaying projection images, and editing image data, etc.) for a system that displays light projection images. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a computer device comprising memory and a processor and a computer program is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Similarly, the limitations of a computing processing units, memory, processors, and computer-readable storage media (independent claims 1, 30, and 32 and dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception using computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 30, and 32 and dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, 24-25, 30, and 32 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, 24-25, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20130335643 A1 (“Ishida”) in view of US 20190035363 A1 (“Schluessler”) and US 20180253609 A1 (“Potter”).
In regards to claim 1, Ishida discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A system for displaying light projection images ([0029], “It is an object of the present invention to provide a projection-type image display device and light … adjustment method”),
comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels,
and a processor that is configured to provide image information to a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying ([0030], “the projection-type image display device … includes a light source”) a picture to be painted or drawn on the object,
wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific range of pixel grayscale values for each sub-area, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images,
wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity ([0034], “The light quantity adjustment method … is carried out in a projection-type image display device that includes a light source and a display element that displays an image by spatially modulating light from the light source” Examiner notes that a light quantity adjustment method can adjust light intensity.).
Schluessler discloses
comprising a memory that is configured to receive ([0055], “The computing system … includes … a … memory”) image data comprising ([0012], “FIG. 6C is … image data being stored to … memory”) pixels ([0069], “processing tasks can include … pixel data”),
and a processor that is configured to provide image information to ([0055], “The computing system … includes … one or more processor(s)”),
wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images ([0067], “the processing … array … can be configured to execute graphics processing related shader programs such as … pixel shaders ” Examiner notes that a pixel shader can divide image data into sub-areas based on pixel properties by using conditional statements to evaluate specific pixel property ranges.)
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels, and a processor that is configured to provide image information to, wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to modify Ishida’s projection-type image display device by adding memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and pixel shaders, as disclosed by Schluessler, to adjust the light quantity of a light source according to the distribution of input video signals.
Potter discloses
a picture to be painted or drawn on the object ([0054], “The illumination of the image may … include … light … sources which can … paint shapes”)
a specific range of pixel grayscale values for each sub-area ([0068], “results … are illustrated for … a greyscale contrast … image” Examiner notes that a greyscale contrast image includes pixel properties that represent various shades of gray, ranging from black to white.)
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, a specific range of pixel grayscale values for each sub-area, as disclosed by Potter, to provide image illumination and greyscale contrast for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of image illumination and greyscale contrast for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to modify Ishida’s projection-type image display device by adding light sources and greyscale contrast, as disclosed by Potter, to adjust the light quantity of a light source according to the distribution of input video signals.
In regards to claim 3, Ishida discloses
wherein the first light intensity is at least twice the other light intensities ([0034], “The light quantity adjustment method … is carried out in a projection-type image display device that includes a light source and a display element that displays an image by spatially modulating light from the light source” Examiner notes that a light quantity adjustment method can adjust light intensity.).
In regards to claim 8, Ishida does not disclose with the set of projection images comprising 4, 5, 6 or 7 projection images.
Potter discloses
with the set of projection images comprising 4, 5, 6 or 7 projection images ([0024], “the … system may project one or more images”).
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, with the set of projection images comprising 4, 5, 6 or 7 projection images, as disclosed by Potter, to provide image illumination and images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of image illumination and images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
In regards to claim 9, Ishida does not disclose wherein the system is configured to successively display the 3 or more projection images of the set of projection images in an order of ascending or descending greyscale values.
Potter discloses
wherein the system is configured to successively display the 3 or more projection images of the set of projection images in ([0024], “the … system may project one or more images”) an order of ascending or descending greyscale values ([0068], “results … are illustrated for … a greyscale contrast … image” Examiner notes that a greyscale contrast image includes pixel properties that represent various shades of gray, ranging from black to white.).
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, wherein the pixel properties correspond to pixel greyscale values, wherein the system is configured to successively display the 3 or more projection images of the set of projection images in an order of ascending or descending greyscale values, as disclosed by Potter, to provide image illumination, greyscale contrast image, and images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of image illumination, greyscale contrast image, and images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
In regards to claim 10, Ishida discloses
wherein the processor is configured to enable users to selectively edit the image data ([0073], “Information … for trapezoidal distortion correction” Examiner notes that trapezoidal distortion correction can be used to edit image data.).
In regards to claim 12, Ishida discloses
wherein the processor is configured to provide an output feature for displaying, along with the projection image, information for instruction purposes by means of light projected onto or next to the object ([0135], “In the projection-type image display device … an input unit may be provided that receives input operations and supplies as output operation instructions”).
In regards to claim 13, Ishida does not disclose wherein the memory is also configured to receive predefined sets of 3 or more projection images from an existing database portfolio, and the processor is configured to provide these predefined sets to the light projection device.
Schluessler discloses
wherein the memory is also configured to receive ([0055], “The computing system … includes … a … memory”) and the processor is configured to provide these predefined sets to the light projection device ([0055], “The computing system … includes … one or more processor(s)”).
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels, and a processor that is configured to provide image information to, wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific pixel property range for each sub-area, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images, wherein the memory is also configured to receive, and the processor is configured to provide these predefined sets to the light projection device, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology.
Potter discloses
predefined sets of 3 or more projection images from ([0024], “the … system may project one or more images”) an existing database portfolio ([0031], “information and … properties … may … be retrieved by … a database”)
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, predefined sets of 3 or more projection images from an existing database portfolio, as disclosed by Potter, to provide image illumination, images and a database for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of image illumination, images and a database for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
In regards to claim 15, Ishida discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein the memory is configured to receive a color picture comprising color values ([0065], “Projection lens … projects the image light of each of the colors red, green, and blue”),
and the processor is configured to convert the color picture into a greyscale picture that forms the image data.
Schluessler discloses
wherein the memory is configured to receive ([0055], “The computing system … includes … a … memory”)
and the processor is configured to convert the color picture into ([0055], “The computing system … includes … one or more processor(s)”)
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels, and a processor that is configured to provide image information to, wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific pixel property range for each sub-area, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images, wherein the memory is configured to receive, and the processor is configured to convert the color picture into, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology.
Potter discloses
a greyscale picture that forms the image data ([0068], “results … are illustrated for … a greyscale contrast … image” Examiner notes that a greyscale contrast image includes pixel properties that represent various shades of gray, ranging from black to white.).
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, a greyscale picture that forms the image data, as disclosed by Potter, to provide image illumination and a greyscale contrast image for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of image illumination and a greyscale contrast image for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
In regards to claim 16, Ishida discloses
wherein the processor is configured to enable a user to input a set of 3 or more predefined projection images, and to provide these predefined projection sets to the light projection device ([0056], “the projector includes: image input unit” Examiner notes that a user can input projection images using an image input unit.).
In regards to claim 17, Ishida discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
comprising: an analyzer that is configured to analyze the color picture, and a comparator for comparing the results of the analysis to ([0073], “Information … for trapezoidal distortion correction” Examiner notes that trapezoidal distortion correction can be used to analyze a color picture and compare the results to a database.) a database which comprises data of colors,
and wherein the processor is configured to provide the user with one or more sample sets of colors corresponding to the analysis.
Potter discloses
a database which comprises data of colors ([0031], “information and … properties … may … be retrieved by … a database”)
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, a greyscale picture that forms the image data, a database which comprises data of colors, as disclosed by Potter, to provide image illumination, a greyscale contrast image, information, properties, and a database for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of image illumination, a greyscale contrast image, information, properties, and a database for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
Schluessler discloses
and wherein the processor is configured to provide the user with one or more sample sets of colors corresponding to the analysis ([0055], “The computing system … includes … one or more processor(s)”).
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels, and a processor that is configured to provide image information to, wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific pixel property range for each sub-area, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images, wherein the memory is configured to receive, and the processor is configured to convert the color picture into, and wherein the processor is configured to provide the user with one or more sample sets of colors corresponding to the analysis, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology.
In regards to claim 18, Ishida does not disclose wherein the projection images comprise sub-areas with a greyscale value between a lower and upper greyscale value specific for the projection image.
Potter discloses
wherein the projection images comprise sub-areas with a greyscale value between a lower and upper greyscale value specific for the projection image ([0068], “results … are illustrated for … a greyscale contrast … image” Examiner notes that a greyscale contrast image includes pixel properties that represent various shades of gray, ranging from black to white (upper greyscale values and lower greyscale values, respectively).).
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, wherein the pixel properties correspond to pixel greyscale values, wherein the projection images comprise sub-areas with a greyscale value between a lower and upper greyscale value specific for the projection image, as disclosed by Potter, to provide image illumination and greyscale contrast image for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of image illumination and greyscale contrast image for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
In regards to claim 19, Ishida discloses
wherein the projection device comprises a projector or a digital light screen for displaying the set of 3 or more projection images ([0040], “FIG. 3 is a block diagram … of the projector”).
In regards to claim 20, Ishida does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to access an internet site or app that enables use of a digital service to provide the sets of projection images corresponding to the image data.
Schluessler discloses
wherein the processor is configured to access an internet site or app that enables use of a digital service to provide the sets of projection images corresponding to the image data ([0237], “The display processing device … may include … a mobile Internet device”).
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels, and a processor that is configured to provide image information to, wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific pixel property range for each sub-area, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images, wherein the processor is configured to access an internet site or app that enables use of a digital service to provide the sets of projection images corresponding to the image data, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide memory, image data, pixel data, processors, a processing array, and a mobile internet device for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of memory, image data, pixel data, processors, a processing array, and a mobile internet device for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology.
In regards to claim 21, Ishida discloses
wherein the processor provides an output feature to show the user the provided projection images ([0070], “OSD ([0068], “OSD (On-Screen Display)”) display processor … supplies the output”).
In regards to claim 22, Ishida discloses
wherein the processor enables the user to change one or more of the following properties of image data: brightness, contrast, cut-out size, cut-out shape, cut-out focus, and cut-out detail level ([0029], “It is an object of the present invention to provide a projection-type image display device and light quantity adjustment method that … allows appropriate adjustment of the light quantity of the light source according to the brightness of the display image” Examiner notes that a user can use light quantity adjustment to adjust the brightness of an image.).
In regards to claim 24, Ishida discloses
wherein the processor enables a user to specify a desired technique or style ([0083], “The user is able to use key input unit” Examiner notes that a user can use a key input unit for specifying styles.),
and wherein the processor is configured to provide instructions or suggestions, depending on the desired technique, in order to include the desired technique in the production of the projection images ([0135], “In the projection-type image display device … an input unit may be provided that receives input operations and supplies as output operation instructions”).
In regards to claim 25, Ishida does not disclose comprising a camera, wherein the processor is configured to access the camera to measure color properties of an applied paint.
Schluessler discloses
comprising a camera ([0265], “the system … includes … a camera”),
wherein the processor is configured to access the camera to measure color properties of an applied paint ([0055], “The computing system … includes … one or more processor(s)”).
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a system for displaying light projection images, a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels, and a processor that is configured to provide image information to, wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific pixel property range for each sub-area, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images, comprising a camera, wherein the processor is configured to access the camera to measure color properties of an applied paint, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide memory, image data, pixel data, processors, a processing array, and a camera for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of memory, image data, pixel data, processors, a processing array, and a camera for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology.
In regards to claim 30, Ishida discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
Method for processing a digital picture comprising: converting the digital picture into a digital greyscale picture,
dividing the digital greyscale picture into three or more sub-areas based on pixel greyscale values, wherein each sub-area corresponds to a specific greyscale range,
generating a set of 3 or more digital images from the digital greyscale picture, wherein each digital image of the set comprises a corresponding sub-area of the 3 or more sub-areas of the digital greyscale picture,
wherein each pixel of the sub-area of each digital image is assigned a display value that corresponds to a display of light of a first light intensity, and wherein a remainder of the pixels of digital picture are assigned display values that correspond to light of a light intensity is substantially less than the first light intensity ([0034], “The light quantity adjustment method … is carried out in a projection-type image display device that includes a light source and a display element that displays an image by spatially modulating light from the light source” Examiner notes that a light quantity adjustment method can adjust light intensity.).
Potter discloses
Method for processing a digital picture comprising: converting the digital picture into a digital greyscale picture ([0068], “results … are illustrated for … a greyscale contrast … image”),
generating a set of 3 or more digital images from the digital greyscale picture, wherein each digital image of the set comprises a corresponding sub-area of the 3 or more sub-areas of the digital greyscale picture ([0024], “the … system may project one or more images”)
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for wherein each pixel of the sub-area of each digital image is assigned a display value that corresponds to a display of light of a first light intensity, and wherein a remainder of the pixels of digital picture are assigned display values that correspond to light of a light intensity is substantially less than the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, method for processing a digital picture comprising: converting the digital picture into a digital greyscale picture, generating a set of 3 or more digital images from the digital greyscale picture, wherein each digital image of the set comprises a corresponding sub-area of the 3 or more sub-areas of the digital greyscale picture, as disclosed by Potter, to provide a greyscale contrast image and images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a greyscale contrast image and images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
Schluessler discloses
dividing the digital greyscale picture into three or more sub-areas based on pixel greyscale values, wherein each sub-area corresponds to a specific greyscale range ([0067], “the processing … array … can be configured to execute graphics processing related shader programs such as … pixel shaders ” Examiner notes that a pixel shader can divide image data into sub-areas based on pixel properties by using conditional statements to evaluate specific pixel property ranges.)
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for wherein each pixel of the sub-area of each digital image is assigned a display value that corresponds to a display of light of a first light intensity, and wherein a remainder of the pixels of digital picture are assigned display values that correspond to light of a light intensity is substantially less than the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, dividing the digital greyscale picture into three or more sub-areas based on pixel greyscale values, wherein each sub-area corresponds to a specific greyscale range, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology.
In regards to claim 32, Ishida discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a program that,
when executed by at least one processor, causes the processor to: convert a digital picture into a digital greyscale picture,
divide the digital greyscale picture into three or more sub-areas based on pixel greyscale values, wherein each sub-area corresponds to a specific greyscale range,
generating a set of 3 or more digital images from the digital greyscale picture, wherein each digital image of the set comprises a corresponding sub-area of the 3 or more sub-areas of the digital greyscale picture,
wherein each pixel of the sub-area of each digital image is assigned a display value that corresponds to a display of light of a first light intensity, and wherein a remainder of the pixels of digital picture are assigned display values that correspond to light of a light intensity is substantially less than the first light intensity ([0034], “The light quantity adjustment method … is carried out in a projection-type image display device that includes a light source and a display element that displays an image by spatially modulating light from the light source” Examiner notes that a light quantity adjustment method can adjust light intensity.).
Ishida and Schluessler combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light field displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for wherein each pixel of the sub-area of each digital image is assigned a display value that corresponds to a display of light of a first light intensity, and wherein a remainder of the pixels of digital picture are assigned display values that correspond to light of a light intensity is substantially less than the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising a program that, when executed by at least one processor, causes the processor to: convert a digital picture into a digital greyscale picture, divide the digital greyscale picture into three or more sub-areas based on pixel greyscale values, wherein each sub-area corresponds to a specific greyscale range, as disclosed by Schluessler, to provide a computer-readable medium, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a computer-readable medium, processors, and a processing array for light field displays having synergistic data formatting, re-projection, foveation, tile binning and/or image warping technology.
Potter discloses
generating a set of 3 or more digital images from the digital greyscale picture, wherein each digital image of the set comprises a corresponding sub-area of the 3 or more sub-areas of the digital greyscale picture ([0024], “the … system may project one or more images”)
Ishida and Potter combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of technology for projection-type image displays and light and image projection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for wherein each pixel of the sub-area of each digital image is assigned a display value that corresponds to a display of light of a first light intensity, and wherein a remainder of the pixels of digital picture are assigned display values that correspond to light of a light intensity is substantially less than the first light intensity, as disclosed by Ishida, generating a set of 3 or more digital images from the digital greyscale picture, wherein each digital image of the set comprises a corresponding sub-area of the 3 or more sub-areas of the digital greyscale picture, as disclosed by Potter, to provide images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of images for light and image projection that controls the projection of an array of lights or an image from a headlight of a vehicle.
Response to Remarks/Discussion of Issues
Applicant's submissions filed June 30, 2026 have been fully considered, but they
are not persuasive. Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, 24-25, 30, and 32 remain pending in this application. Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101, Applicant submits that “The claims do not recite a judicial exception” (See Amendment and/or Response under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, Remarks/Discussion of Issues, page 7, line 15) and “The applicant's claims integrate the asserted abstract ideas into a practical application that improves art guidance technology.” (See Amendment and/or Response under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, Remarks/Discussion of Issues, page 9, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Regarding claim 1, Applicant cites a system for displaying light projection images, comprising a memory that is configured to receive image data comprising pixels, and a processor that is configured to provide image information to a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying a picture to be painted or drawn on the object, wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific range of pixel grayscale values for each sub-area, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images, wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity. These steps amount to a form of organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because a human can use memory and a processor to display light projection images, typically through the use of computers and projectors.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) discusses certain methods of organizing human activity. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping as abstract ideas. Sub-groupings of organizing human activity encompass both activity of a single person and activity that involves multiple people, and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (as is the case in the Applicant’s claimed invention). These sub-groupings fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity”.
Independent claims 30 and 32 describe steps that are parallel to steps of claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 are directed towards mini-tasks (selecting pixel greyscale and light intensity values, displaying projection images, and editing image data, etc.) for a system that displays light projection images. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 recite an abstract idea.
An evaluation is made as to whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a computer device comprising memory and a processor and a computer program is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Similarly, the limitations of a computing processing units, memory, processors, and computer-readable storage media (independent claims 1, 30, and 32 and dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception using computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined “an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer”). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims were analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
The identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 30, and 32 and dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, 24-25, 30 and 32 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103, Applicant submits that “There is no apparent reason to combine Ishida, Schluessler, and Potter in the manner proposed by the Examiner.” (See Amendment and/or Response under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, Remarks/Discussion of Issues, page 13, paragraph 4), “The proposed modification of Ishida would change the principle of operation of Ishida.” (See Amendment and/or Response under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, Remarks/Discussion of Issues, page 16, paragraph 4), and “The combination of Ishida, Schluessler, and Potter does not disclose dividing the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with a specific range of pixel greyscale values for each sub-area.” (See Amendment and/or Response under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111, Remarks/Discussion of Issues, page 17, paragraph 5). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Pertaining to claim 1, Ishida discloses a system for displaying light projection images ([0029], “It is an object of the present invention to provide a projection-type image display device and light … adjustment method”), a light projection device for displaying a light image on an object for applying ([0030], “the projection-type image display device … includes a light source”), wherein each projection image of the set of projection images displays: one of the sub-areas with light of a first light intensity, and a remainder of the sub-areas with light of one or more other light intensities that are substantially different from the first light intensity ([0034], “The light quantity adjustment method … is carried out in a projection-type image display device that includes a light source and a display element that displays an image by spatially modulating light from the light source” Examiner notes that a light quantity adjustment method can adjust light intensity.), Schluessler discloses comprising a memory that is configured to receive ([0055], “The computing system … includes … a … memory”) image data comprising ([0012], “FIG. 6C is … image data being stored to … memory”) pixels ([0069], “processing tasks can include … pixel data”), and a processor that is configured to provide image information to ([0055], “The computing system … includes … one or more processor(s)”), wherein the processor is configured to: divide the image data into three or more sub-areas based on pixel properties with, wherein the image information comprises display information for displaying a set of 3 or more projection images ([0067], “the processing … array … can be configured to execute graphics processing related shader programs such as … pixel shaders ” Examiner notes that a pixel shader can divide image data into sub-areas based on pixel properties by using conditional statements to evaluate specific pixel property ranges.), and Potter discloses a picture to be painted or drawn on the object ([0054], “The illumination of the image may … include … light … sources which can … paint shapes”) a specific range of pixel grayscale values for each sub-area ([0068], “results … are illustrated for … a greyscale contrast … image” Examiner notes that a greyscale contrast image includes pixel properties that represent various shades of gray, ranging from black to white.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Ishida’s projection-type image display device by adding memory, image data, pixel data, processors, and pixel shaders, as disclosed by Schluessler, to adjust the light quantity of a light source according to the distribution of input video signals. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to modify Ishida’s projection-type image display device by adding light sources and greyscale contrast, as disclosed by Potter, to adjust the light quantity of a light source according to the distribution of input video signals. Using pixel shaders, as disclosed by Schluessler, to modify Ishida does not change the operation of Ishida. On the contrary, the pixel shaders, similar to the trapezoidal distortion correction unit of Ishida, can perform pixel conversion, including compressing or interpolating pixel data from an input video signal.
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their
broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim
limitations from the specification into the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive
because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejections of independent claims 1, 30, and 32 (claims 30 and 32 cite parallel limitations to the limitations of claim 1), as obvious by Ishida in view of Schluessler and Potter, are maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 3, 8-10, 12-13, 15-22, and 24-25, as obvious by Ishida in view of Schluessler and Potter, are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the
statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this
final action.
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is (571)272-
4252. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 8:30 am - 6:30 pm
ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by
telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai can be reached at
(571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or
proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent
Center. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-
217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
LISA H ANTOINE
Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715