DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2020/0012099; hereinafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding Claims 1, 11 and 12, Kim teaches a projection device (Figure 13) comprising:
a light source (Figure 13; Light Source 16);
a spatial light modulator (Figure 13; Display Element 15) that has a modulation part in which a plurality of modulation regions to be irradiated with light emitted from the light source (Figure 13; Light Source 16) are set (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the display panel 13 may be a display device capable of generating the image light by controlling an electric signal, such as an LCD (liquid crystal display) panel, an LED (light emitting diode) panel, or an OLED (organic light emitting diode) panel, and the like), and modulates a phase of the irradiated light in each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part (see Paragraph [0061]);
a partition wall (Figure 13; Separating Partition 100) that is disposed at a boundary between the plurality of modulation regions and separates modulated light modulated in each of the plurality of modulation regions (see Figure 13);
a controller (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein a controller is inherently present in order to facilitate the display device capable of generating the image light by controlling an electric signal) comprising
a memory storing instructions (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein a memory is inherently present in order to facilitate the display device capable of generating the image light by controlling an electric signal), and
a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to set a pattern for forming a desired image in each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the display panel 13 is an image generating unit and that the display panel 13 may be a display device capable of generating the image light by controlling an electric signal, such as an LCD (liquid crystal display) panel, an LED (light emitting diode) panel, or an OLED (organic light emitting diode) panel, and the like, thereby inherently requiring a processor and memory to send the electric signal to execute the instructions), and
control the light source (Figure 13; Light Source 16) such that the modulation part in which the pattern is set is irradiated with the light (see Paragraph [0062]; wherein it is disclosed that the light source 16 may be a backlight unit (BLU) which may emit the light toward the display element 15 and wherein the light source 16 inherently requires a controller) and
a curved mirror (Figure 13; First Reflection Mirror 3) that has a curved reflection surface (Figure 13; Reflection Face 32) to be irradiated with the modulated light modulated in each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (see Figure 13), reflects the modulated light by the reflection surface (see Figure 13; wherein the modulated light emitted from display element 15 is reflected by reflection face 32), and projects projection light of which a projection angle is widened according to a curvature of the reflection surface (see Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim further teaches the partition wall (Figure 13; Separating Partition 100) is arranged to stand substantially perpendicular to the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (Figure 13; Display Element 15) at all boundaries of the plurality of modulation regions (see Figures 13 and 14; wherein the separating partition 100 is substantially perpendicular to the display element 15).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim further teaches the processor of the controller (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the display panel 13 is an image generating unit and that the display panel 13 may be a display device capable of generating the image light by controlling an electric signal, such as an LCD (liquid crystal display) panel, an LED (light emitting diode) panel, or an OLED (organic light emitting diode) panel, and the like, thereby inherently requiring a processor and memory to send the electric signal to execute the instructions) is configured to execute the instructions to set a composite image obtained by combining a phase image for forming a desired image and a virtual lens image for condensing the modulated light for forming the desired image on the reflection surface (Figure 13; Reflection Face 32) of the curved mirror (Figure 13; First Reflection Mirror 3) in each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (see Paragraphs [0126] and [0373]; wherein it is disclosed that the head up display for the vehicle may form the two virtual images K and M with different distances from the windshield 6 and that the first virtual image K may represent driving information such as a vehicle speed or the like and the second virtual image M may be used to implement an augmented reality (AR) in which the second virtual image M is viewed overlapping with external environment such as another vehicle ahead of the vehicle, a road, or the like).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim further teaches the reflection surface of the curved mirror (Figure 13; First Reflection Mirror 3) is divided into a plurality of reflection regions in association with the plurality of modulation regions (see Figure 13; wherein the reflection mirror 3 has regions which receive s and p polarized beams from display element 15), and the curved mirror (Figure 13; First Reflection Mirror 3) is disposed at a position where the modulated light modulated in each of the plurality of modulation regions is reflected by the reflection region associated with the modulated light (see Paragraph [0085]; wherein it is disclosed that the first reflection mirror 3 may reflect the light reflected from the polarization reflection mirror 4 or the light transmitted through the polarization reflection mirror 4 toward the windshield 6).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Kim further teaches the plurality of reflection regions of the curved mirror (Figure 13; First Reflection Mirror 3) are set such that projection ranges of the projection light reflected by the plurality of reflection regions overlap each other on a projection target surface (see Figure 13; wherein the s and p polarized light beams overlap with each other on the surface of the windshield 6 upon being reflected by first reflection mirror 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0012099; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as applied to claim 1, in view of Onda et al (US 2020/0103652; hereinafter referred to as Onda).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose a 0th-order light remover including a plurality of light absorbing members associated with each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator, and a support member supporting the plurality of light absorbing members, wherein each of the plurality of light absorbing members is arranged in an optical path of 0th-order light included in the modulated light modulated in the associated modulation region, and removes the 0th-order light included in the modulated light modulated in the associated modulation region.
Onda disclose a projection device (Figure 9) comprising a 0th-order light remover (Figure 9; Absorption Part 513) including a plurality of light absorbing members associated with each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (see Figure 9; Paragraph [0079]; wherein it is disclosed that the absorption part 513 is formed, for example, by embossing to roughen the inner surface of the case wall 511, by affixing a felt to the inner surface of the case wall 511, or by applying a paint that absorbs the display light on the inner surface of the case wall 511), and a support member (Figure 9; Case Wall 511) supporting the plurality of light absorbing members (see Figure 9), wherein each of the plurality of light absorbing members (Figure 9; Absorption Part 513) is arranged in an optical path of 0th-order light included in the modulated light modulated in the associated modulation region (see Figure 9), and removes the 0th-order light included in the modulated light modulated in the associated modulation region (see Figure 9 and Paragraph [0081]; wherein it is disclosed that the absorption of the zero-order light by the absorption part 513 suppresses incidence of the zero-order light to the eyes of the viewer who visually recognizes the virtual image VRI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Kim by incorporating a 0th-order light remover including a plurality of light absorbing members associated with each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator, and a support member supporting the plurality of light absorbing members, wherein each of the plurality of light absorbing members is arranged in an optical path of 0th-order light included in the modulated light modulated in the associated modulation region, and removes the 0th-order light included in the modulated light modulated in the associated modulation region, as taught by Onda, because doing so would enable to produce the virtual image VRI high in visibility (see Onda Paragraph [0081]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0012099; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as applied to claim 1, in view of Silverstein et al (US 2006/0250579; hereinafter referred to as Silverstein).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose that the light source includes: an emitter that emits the light; a lens that enlarges the light emitted from the emitter in accordance with a size of the modulation part of the spatial light modulator; and an optical system that divides and emits the light enlarged by the lens toward each of the plurality of modulation regions.
Silverstein discloses a projection device (Figure 4; Projection Apparatus 50) comprising
a light source (Figure 4; Illumination Section 68), wherein the light source (Figure 4; Illumination Section 68) includes:
an emitter (Figure 4; Light Source 20) that emits the light (see Figure 4 and Paragraph [0056]; wherein it is disclosed that the light source 20 provides unpolarized illumination having multiple wavelengths);
a lens (Figure 4; Lens 34) that enlarges the light emitted from the emitter (Figure 4; Light Source 20) in accordance with a size of the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (see Figure 4; wherein the beam from the light source 20 passes through lens 34 before reaching the modulation part of the liquid crystal modulator panel 60); and
an optical system (Figure 4; Color Separator 78) that divides and emits the light enlarged by the lens (Figure 4; Lens 34) toward each of the plurality of modulation regions (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source of Kim such that the light source includes: an emitter that emits the light; a lens that enlarges the light emitted from the emitter in accordance with a size of the modulation part of the spatial light modulator; and an optical system that divides and emits the light enlarged by the lens toward each of the plurality of modulation regions, as taught by Silverstein, because doing so would provide a full-color projection apparatus that takes advantage of inherent etendue-related advantages of TFT LC devices and provides improved image quality (see Silverstein Paragraph [0019]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0012099; hereinafter referred to as Kim) as applied to claim 1, in view of Okumura (US 2017/0339378).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kim does not expressly disclose the light source includes: a plurality of emitters configured to emit the light; and at least one lens that is disposed in association with each of the plurality of emitters and enlarges the light emitted from the associated emitter in accordance with a size of the modulation part of the spatial light modulator, and wherein each of the plurality of emitters is associated with one of the plurality of modulation regions, and is arranged with an emission axis facing the associated modulation region.
Okumura discloses a projection device (Figure 4), comprising a light source (Figure 4; First and Second Laser Light Source 111 and 112), wherein the light source (Figure 4; First and Second Laser Light Source 111 and 112) includes: a plurality of emitters (Figure 4; First and Second Laser Light Source 111 and 112) configured to emit the light (see Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]); and at least one lens (Figure 4; Lenses 121 and 122) that is disposed in association with each of the plurality of emitters (Figure 4; First and Second Laser Light Source 111 and 112) and enlarges the light emitted from the associated emitter (Figure 4; First and Second Laser Light Source 111 and 112) in accordance with a size of the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (see Figure 4; wherein each laser light source 111 and 112 is associated with a region of modulation element 130), and wherein each of the plurality of emitters (Figure 4; First and Second Laser Light Source 111 and 112) is associated with one of the plurality of modulation regions (see Figure 4), and is arranged with an emission axis facing the associated modulation region (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source of Kim such that the light source includes: a plurality of emitters configured to emit the light; and at least one lens that is disposed in association with each of the plurality of emitters and enlarges the light emitted from the associated emitter in accordance with a size of the modulation part of the spatial light modulator, and wherein each of the plurality of emitters is associated with one of the plurality of modulation regions, and is arranged with an emission axis facing the associated modulation region, as taught by Okumura, because doing so would provide a projection apparatus and an interface apparatus that have a small size and low power consumption and can display multiple colors with high resolution, without color breakup (see Okumura Paragraph [0016]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0012099; hereinafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Kim Figure 13 does not expressly disclose that the plurality of reflection regions of the curved mirror are set such that projection ranges of the projection light reflected by the plurality of reflection regions does not overlap each other on a projection target surface.
Kim Figure 12 discloses the plurality of reflection regions of the curved mirror (Figure 10; Reflection Mirror 3) are set such that projection ranges of the projection light reflected by the plurality of reflection regions does not overlap each other on a projection target surface (see Figure 10; wherein the beams reflected by the reflection mirror 3 do not overlap on the windshield 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projection device of Kim Figure 13 such that the plurality of reflection regions of the curved mirror are set such that projection ranges of the projection light reflected by the plurality of reflection regions does not overlap each other on a projection target surface, as taught by Kim Figure 12, because doing so would provide a head up display for a vehicle that may generate two virtual images (see Kim Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 9 as detailed above.
Kim Figure 12 further discloses the plurality of reflection regions the curved mirror (Figure 10; Reflection Mirror 3) are set such that projection ranges of the projection light reflected by the plurality of reflection regions are adjacent to each other on a projection target surface (see Figure 10; wherein the beams reflected by the reflection mirror 3 are adjacent to each other on the windshield 6).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882