Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-9, 12-13, 16, 18, and 20-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/10/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/24, 6/3/25, and 12/9/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Examiner does note that NPL item 2 of the 3/25/24 WARSINGER is marked as not considered. The supplied document that best appears to be the cited document does not seem to match the IDS details. While the author and title are the same, the page number and size of the document do not match what was supplied making it unclear if this is the actual document intended for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bacchus et al. (U.S. Patent 4,440,000).
Regarding claim 2, Bacchus teaches a unit (fig. 4) for use in evaporative cooling (per abstract), comprising a first capped frame (element 1); a second open frame (element 26, opening shown for connecting to element 43) opposite the first frame (per fig. 4); a plurality of mechanical supports (element 38) between and coupled to the first frame and the second frame (per fig. 4); and a porous hollow fiber membrane (element 8 & 9) extending around the mechanical supports between the first frame and the second frame to form an interior volume (per fig. 8-9), and coupled to the first frame and the second frame (per fig. 9), wherein the first and second frames are configured for flow of a liquid between the first and second frames via the membrane, and the membrane is configured to transport the liquid between the first and second frames and to provide for air flow through the membrane for evaporative cooling (per col. 5, ln 50-col. 6, ln 9) wherein the plurality of mechanical supports comprise posts (per fig. 4, these may be reasonably considered posts).
Regarding claim 4, Bacchus teaches the plurality of posts form a polygonal shape (per fig. 4 the posts form a variety of shapes that would be considered polygonal, note as written the claim does not designate the structures shape thus the shape formed by the crossing elements reads on this).
Regarding claim 6, Bacchus teaches the posts are composed of a plastic material (per claim 7, the posts are the “cover support members”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacchus et al. (U.S. Patent 4,440,000) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. Patent 6,895,772).
Regarding claim 3, Bacchus does not teach the plurality of posts form a square shape with rounded corners. Johnson teaches the evaporative cooler is square with rounded corners (per fig. 2, col. 1, ln 21-29, col. 3, ln 9-24). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Bacchus to use the shape taught by Johnson, the motivations would be to use a standard configuration or shape to fit various application.
Examiner further notes that It has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, MPEP 2144.04 (b). Thus the modifying Bacchus to the claimed shape would be obvious.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacchus et al. (U.S. Patent 4,440,000) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Reece (U.S. Patent 8,459,054).
Regarding claim 5, Bacchus does not teach one or more of the posts are perforated. Reece teaches one or more of the posts (elements 6) are perforated (“drip nozzles” of fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Bacchus to have one or more of the posts perforated similar to Reece, the motivation would be to reduce parts by combining elements.
Regarding claim 7, Bacchus does not teach one of the posts comprises a pipe for transporting the liquid. Reece teaches one of the posts (elements 6) comprises a pipe for transporting the liquid (per fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Bacchus to have one or more of the posts transports water as claimed similar to Reece, the motivation would be to reduce parts by combining elements.
Conclusion
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763