DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6, 10, 15-16, and 18; and of the species functional fragment or variant thereof of a microbial glucose oxidase enzyme (claim 3a), a catalase enzyme (claim 3b), a combination of lactase, transglucosidase, and α-amylase (claim 3c), a functional fragment or variant of SEQ ID NO: 2 (claim 5b), SEQ ID NO: 4 (claim 5b) and a catalase enzyme (claim 10) in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-21, 26-27, 42-46, and 49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/11/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the species of a powder (claim 16) in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that searching and examining the species recited in claim 16 can be made without serious burden and is a reasonable number of species. This is not found persuasive because the instant application is a national stage application submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371, and therefore requires unity of invention analysis rather than the independent and distinct analysis required for applications filed under 35 U.S.C. 111(a). Applicant is directed to MPEP § 823. The unity of invention analysis does not require establishment of undue burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/074932 (8/12/2022) which claims benefit of 63/232,920 (8/13/2021).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 9/16/2024 and 5/11/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”.
In the current case, the view numbers for Figures 1-6 are preceded by the word “Figure” instead of the abbreviation “FIG.”. View numbers should be updated to recite the abbreviation “FIG.”. Any changes to the drawings should also be reflected in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding written description, 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112 require that the "specification shall contain a written description of the invention ...." This requirement is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2010). To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention (MPEP § 2163(I)).
MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(i and ii) states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., .759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
Claim 3 recites a functional fragment or variant of a microbial glucose oxidase enzyme. Claim 5 recites that the glucose oxidase enzyme comprises a functional fragment or variant of an enzyme having SEQ ID NO: 2. There is not sufficient written description support for a functional fragment or variant of the glucose oxidase enzyme as claimed.
The instant specification, pp. 7-8, recites exemplary embodiments of a functional fragment, specifically that a fragment of a full-length glucose oxidase retains, for example, at least 10% of the enzymatic activity. The instant specification additionally states on p. 7 that glucose oxidase includes variants having one or more amino acid substitutions, deletions, or insertions relative to a wild-type glucose oxidase sequence.
However, there is not a disclosed relationship between structure and function for a functional fragment or variant. There is no disclosure of which positions or residues are critical for function, i.e. which regions can or cannot be mutated, deleted, inserted, or truncated in the enzyme sequence while still maintaining function. Further, there are no representative examples of glucose oxidase variants or functional fragments which maintain functional activity. As any number of modifications could be made to the glucose oxidase enzyme, there are countless possible fragments or variants, and there is not an established structure-function relationship to make clear which of these would be functional. For this reason, it is not clear that applicant was in possession of the full scope of the invention at the time of filing. Claim 10 is included in this rejection because it depends on a rejected claim and does not clarify the issue.
Claim 18 recites the pharmaceutical composition of claim 1, wherein the composition has a shelf-life at room temperature of at least 3 months to 120 months. However, the specification does not provide adequate written description support for a composition comprising a glucose oxidase enzyme, a peroxide-degrading enzyme, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient with a shelf life of at least 3 months at room temperature. “Shelf-life” refers to retention of at least 30% of enzyme activity at room temperature during the specified duration of time (see instant specification p. 10 para. 49). It is known in the art that enzymes, including glucose oxidase and catalase, are easily degraded or deactivated, particularly at high temperatures (see Luo et al., CN110699346A p. 4 para. 5). Further, the formulation of the composition, i.e. liquid, lyophilized, etc.; or factors such as pH of the composition, impact the stability of the enzymes (see Luo p. 9 para. 11; Uppoor et al., Pharm Dev Technol. Fig. 5; instant specification p. 11 para. 50).
The scope of claim 18 includes any formulation of the enzymes with any acceptable excipient, for example a liquid formulation of glucose oxidase, catalase, and water. There are no examples or data in the instant specification indicating that any composition as claimed would have the claimed shelf-life. There is no disclosure of structural features required for the composition to have the claimed shelf-life. As discussed above, various factors and conditions impact the shelf-life of an enzyme, and as taught by Uppoor, some glucose oxidase-catalase compositions lose enzyme activity before 3 months (e.g. pH 10 phosphate buffer, see Uppoor Fig. 5). Thus, it is expected that not all compositions comprising glucose oxidase, catalase, and an excipient, in any formulation, possess the claimed shelf-life at room temperature. As there are no representative examples of compositions having the claimed shelf-life, or disclosure of specific features of the composition required for such activity, it is not clear that applicant was in possession of the full scope of the invention at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, product of nature, without significantly more.
A three-step inquiry has been established to determine subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, in accordance with MPEP § 2106:
Step (1): Is the claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes. Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 15, and 18 are directed to a composition of matter.
Step (2A):
Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes. Claim 1 recites a glucose oxidase enzyme, a peroxide-degrading
enzyme, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Glucose oxidase and peroxidase-degrading enzyme are both natural products, derived from a microbe such as Aspergillus niger, which have not been modified. The pharmaceutically acceptable excipient is a product suitable for use in contact with the tissues of human beings and animals. Thus, for example, water is a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (see instant specification p. 15 para. 62). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 1 reads on a composition comprising three natural products, such as glucose oxidase, peroxide-degrading enzyme, and water. There is no indication that these products alone or in combination exhibit markedly different characteristics from their naturally occurring counterparts.
Claim 3 specifies the type of glucose oxidase or peroxide-degrading enzymes, and enzymes which are not included in the composition, which are products of nature.
Claims 4, 5, and 10 recite that the enzymes are microbial, derived from Aspergillus niger, and recites the enzyme sequences; these claims do not recite limitations aside from the natural product.
Claim 6 recites the amount of enzyme present in the composition, however, the enzymes are natural products and there is no indication that these enzymes exhibit markedly different characteristics from their naturally occurring counterparts.
Claim 15 recites that the composition is an oral dosage form. This reads on, for example, a liquid composition comprising glucose oxidase, peroxide-degrading enzyme, and water, and the claim is directed to a natural product.
Claim 18 is directed to the shelf-life of the composition, which is a property of the composition. This still reads on a naturally-occurring composition which has the claimed functional feature.
Prong 2: If the claim recites a judicial exception, does it recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No. The claims are directed to combinations of naturally occurring enzymes and excipients. There is no recitation of additional limitations that integrate the composition into a practical application.
Step (2B): If the recited judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No. Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 15, and 18 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as the claims are directed to a composition comprising multiple products of nature with no additional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al., US 2021/0177026 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a glucose oxidase enzyme and a peroxide-degrading enzyme, catalase (Hwang p. 2 para. 26-27). Hwang teaches that the composition comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier/excipient (Hwang p. 2 para. 35).
Regarding claim 3, the use of "and/or" is interpreted to mean that only one of options (a), (b), and (c) is required, i.e. (a), (b), OR (c). Hwang teaches that (a) the glucose oxidase enzyme is a microbial glucose oxidase, produced from microorganisms (Hwang p. 2 para. 30). Hwang additionally teaches that (b) the peroxide-degrading enzyme is a catalase enzyme (Hwang p. 2 para. 26-27).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang teaches that the enzymes of the composition (glucose oxidase and catalase) are enzymes produced from natural strains of fungi or yeasts, including Aspergillus niger (Hwang p. 2 para. 30; p. 3 para. 42 and 51).
Regarding claim 6, the use of "and/or" is interpreted to mean that only one of options (a), (b), and (c) is required, i.e. (a), (b), OR (c). Hwang teaches that (b) the composition comprises 2,000 U of peroxide-degrading enzyme (catalase) (Hwang p. 4 Table 5). Hwang teaches that (c) the catalase has an activity 5 times higher than the activity of glucose oxidase, i.e. a ratio of 1 U glucose oxidase to 5 U catalase, or 0.2 (Hwang p. 2 para. 32).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang teaches that the catalase is a microbial catalase, from Aspergillus niger (Hwang p. 2 para. 30; p. 3 para. 42 and 51).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang teaches that the composition is orally administered, i.e. formulated as an oral dosage form (Hwang p. 4 para. 62).
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uppoor et al., Pharm Dev Technol. 1996 Jul;1(2):127-34.
Regarding claim 1, Uppoor teaches a composition comprising glucose oxidase, catalase, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, i.e. phosphate buffer (Uppoor Abstract, p. 130 col. 1 para. 4, col. 2 para. 7).
Regarding claim 18, the instant specification states that “shelf-life” refers to, e.g., retention of at least 30% of enzyme activity at room temperature during the specified duration of time (see instant specification p. 10 para. 49). Uppoor teaches that the glucose oxidase-catalase composition is stored for up to 52 weeks at room temperature, or 23°C, in phosphate buffer with varying pH (Uppoor Fig. 5; p. 131 para. 4). Uppoor teaches compositions with a half-life (i.e. 50% of activity remaining) at room temperature of up to 52 weeks (Uppoor Figs. 5-6). Therefore, Uppoor teaches a composition comprising glucose oxidase, catalase, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient with a shelf-life of at least 12 months.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al., as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, and 15 above, in view of Luo et al., CN110699346A.
Hwang teaches that the composition is orally administered, i.e. formulated as an oral dosage form (Hwang p. 4 para. 62). Hwang teaches that the enzyme composition of the present invention may be diluted by being mixed with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or formulated by being encapsulated in a container-shaped carrier depending on an administration method, dosage form, and treatment purpose by a conventional method (Hwang p. 2 para. 35).
Hwang does not teach that the enzymes are lyophilized or spray-dried (claim 2), or that the oral dosage form is a powder (claim 16).
Regarding claim 2, Luo teaches preparations of glucose oxidase in a lyophilized powder form (Luo para. 2). Luo teaches that glucose oxidase is used in the pharmaceutical industry and in food preparations, i.e. is able to be ingested orally (Luo para. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Luo teaches glucose oxidase in powder form that is not easily degraded after freeze-drying and can be stored for a long time easily rehydrated, which is helpful for maintaining enzyme activity (Luo para. 5). Luo teaches that the lyophilized powder form of glucose oxidase is easy to store and transport which is convenient for biomedicine and food applications (Luo para. 32).
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to modify the composition of Hwang and create a lyophilized powder of the enzyme composition. Both Hwang and Luo are directed to pharmaceutical compositions comprising glucose oxidase. Hwang teaches that the composition can be prepared in a variety of forms depending on administration method, dosage, or treatment purpose. Thus, it would have been obvious that the composition of Hwang could be prepared as a lyophilized powder composition as taught by Luo.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the enzyme composition as a lyophilized powder because Luo teaches that glucose oxidase in lyophilized form has benefits including longer duration of storage, easier transport, and is convenient for biomedicine or food applications. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to create a lyophilized powder form of the pharmaceutical composition as taught by Hwang to obtain these benefits.
A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making a lyophilized powder form of the composition as taught by Hwang because Luo teaches that glucose oxidase is lyophilized to provide numerous benefits. A skilled artisan could therefore expect that a composition comprising glucose oxidase as taught by Hwang could be lyophilized into a powder form, as this is an established technique in the art to create enzyme compositions that are easier to store and transport.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al., as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, and 15 above, in view of Bocola et al., US 2016/0002609 A1.
Regarding claim 5, the use of "and/or" is interpreted to mean that only one of options a) and b) is required, i.e. a) OR b). Bocola teaches glucose oxidase variants and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the variants (Bocola Abstract, p. 9 para. 122). Bocola teaches a) a glucose oxidase from Aspergillus niger with a sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 2, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 2, as well as variants of this glucose oxidase with increased enzyme activity and thermostability (Bocola pp. 2-3 para. 25, 37-38, pp. 19-20 SEQ ID NO: 2; Fig. 5-6; see sequence alignment in OA appendix).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that a glucose oxidase from Aspergillus niger with a sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 2 or a variant thereof could be used as the glucose oxidase in a composition according to Hwang. Hwang teaches that the glucose oxidase is derived from Aspergillus niger, but does not teach a sequence. It would have been obvious that the glucose oxidase taught by Hwang could be substituted with a glucose oxidase variant from the same microorganism, as taught by Bocola, having a wildtype sequence according to SEQ ID NO: 2.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution because Bocola teaches that the variants of the glucose oxidase have improved properties including increased enzyme activity and thermostability (Bocola Fig. 5-6 and 9). It therefore would be considered advantageous for a skilled artisan to incorporate an enzyme variant with improved properties in the pharmaceutical composition of Hwang.
A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making this substitution because Hwang teaches using a glucose oxidase from Aspergillus niger, and the variants taught by Bocola are also derived from Aspergillus niger. Therefore, a skilled artisan could expect to successfully substitute a glucose oxidase variant in place of the glucose oxidase of Hwang, as both are derived from the same species and have the same function.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 10, 15-16, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, and 21-22 of copending Application No. 18/683,426 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to pharmaceutical compositions comprising a glucose oxidase enzyme, a peroxide-degrading enzyme, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 1 of ‘426 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising a glucose(xylose) isomerase enzyme, a glucose oxidase enzyme, a peroxide-degrading enzyme, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Regarding instant claims 2-6, 10, 15-16, and 18, the limitations of these dependent claims are recited in claims 1, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, and 21-22 of ‘426.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6, 10, 15-16, and 18 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653