DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments filed 7/06/2026 to claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, and 13 have been entered. Claims 5, 6, 10, 12, and 14-17 are canceled. Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, and 13 remain pending and are being considered on their merits. No claims are withdrawn from consideration at this time. References not included with this Office action can be found in a prior action.
The instant amendments to claim 1 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), 102, and 103 rejections of record. New grounds of rejection are set forth below necessitated by the claim amendments.
Any other rejections of record not particularly addressed below are withdrawn in light of the claim amendments and/or applicant’s comments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (STEM CELLS 2017;35:248–255; Reference U) in view of Eichenfield et al. (J Am Acad Dermatol 2014;71:116-32; Reference V).
Kim teaches methods of treating atopic dermatitis with a composition comprising a single dose of human umbilical cord blood-derived mesenchymal stem cells administered subcutaneously (hUCB-MSCs) (Abstract; page 249, subheading “Study Design and Oversight” and “Participants”; Figure 2 and subheading “Response to Treatment” on pages 250-251), reading in-part on the embodiment of atopic dermatitis for claims 1, 7, and 8, the embodiment of human umbilical cord blood-derived mesenchymal stem cells for claim 1 and reading on claim 4, the embodiment of a single dose of stem cells for claims 1 and 11, and implying an aqueous formulation and so reading on the embodiment of water as a carrier for claim 13.
Regarding claim 1, 9 and 11, Kim does not teach any species of calcineurin inhibitor and any particular treatment schedule. Regarding claim 2, Kim does not teach tacrolimus or pimecrolimus. Regarding claim 3, Kim does not teach pimecrolimus.
Eichenfield reviews the prior art at that time for the treatment of atopic dermatitis (Abstract). Eichenfield teaches that topical formulations of calcineurin inhibitors are effective to treat atopic dermatitis, as 0.03% or 0.1% tacrolimus ointment or 1% pimecrolimus cream (page 124, subheading “Efficacy”), reading on the embodiment of tacrolimus and pimecrolimus for claims 1-4. Eichenfield teaches that a twice daily application of tacrolimus ointment and pimecrolimus cream are significantly more effective at decreasing signs of inflammation, affected body surface area, and associated pruritus of lesional areas on the head/neck and non-head/neck locations than vehicle or once-daily application (page 125, subheading “Frequency of Application”), reading on claims 1, 9, and 11.
Regarding the embodiment of tacrolimus and pimecrolimus for claims 1-3, claim 4, and the embodiment of twice-daily dosages of the calcineurin inhibitor for claims 1, 9, and 11, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further treat the subjects suffering from atopic dermatitis of Kim with the topically formulated tacrolimus or pimecrolimus of Eichenfield A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because both Eichenfield and Kim are directed towards treating subjects suffering from atopic dermatitis. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Eichenfield teaches that the addition would be predictably advantageous to treat atopic dermatitis by decreasing signs of inflammation, affected body surface area, and associated pruritus of lesional areas on the head/neck and non-head/neck locations in the subjects.
Regarding the order of treatment schedule of claims 1, 9, and 11, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation will generally not support patentability absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range to the contrary. See M.P.E.P. § 2144.05, particularly subsections II and III. In this case, Kim and Eichenfield respectively teach that a single dose of human umbilical cord blood-derived mesenchymal stem cells and twice-daily topical dosages of either tacrolimus or pimecrolimus are effective to treat symptoms of atopic dermatitis in human subjects/patients. Thus, the burden is shifted back to establish criticality of the claimed order of treatment schedule by objective evidence.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on pages 5-10 of the reply have been fully considered, but not found persuasive of error. Applicant’s arguments are moot because the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the instant claim amendments, do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. No claims are free of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean C. Barron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653