Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/4/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO, et al. (US 20220304018 A1, hereinafter, "KO") in view of YUAN et al. (US 20230171777 A1, hereinafter, "YUAN").
Regarding claim 16, KO teaches a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 0387; figure 19, UE:
100/200), comprising:
at least one memory (paragraph 0387; figure 19, one or more memories: 104);
and at least one processor (paragraph 0387; figure 19, one or more processors: 102) coupled
with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network (NW), an indication that simultaneous multi-panel transmission is
supported by the NW;
KO writes, “...the base station may configure/indicate/schedule, to the UE, panel switching/selection
based transmission or simultaneous transmission across multi-panel (STxMP), and the UE may perform
it” (paragraph 0278).
configure one or more panels for transmission with the type of UL transmission to be
deployed;
KO writes, “In one aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of transmitting, by a user
equipment (UE), an uplink channel in a wireless communication system, the method comprising
transmitting capability information related to a panel for a transmission of the uplink channel, receiving
configuration information related to the transmission of the uplink channel, and transmitting the uplink
channel based on the configuration information” (paragraph 0007).
and transmit, to the NW, a same transport block (TB) or different transport blocks (TBs) via
the type of UL transmission to be deployed using the one or more panels.
KO writes, “This STxMP operation can obtain robustness of PUSCH transmission by transmitting the
same transport block via/using the multi-panel upon UL data transmission (i.e., single frequency
network (SFN) UL transmission) and can also obtain an effect of improving a data rate by transmitting
different data to a single TRP or a multi TRP” (paragraph 0293).
KO fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determine a type of uplink (UL) transmission to be deployed, from among a plurality of UL transmission types for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission, based on at least a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback or arrival traffic;”
However, in analogous art, YUAN teaches determine a type of uplink (UL) transmission to be deployed, from among a plurality of UL transmission types for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission, based on at least a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback or arrival traffic;
YUAN writes, “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining a type of the uplink transmission, where multiplexing the uplink transmission with one or both of the first uplink data channel and the second uplink data channel may be based on the type of the uplink transmission” (paragraph 0033). YUAN adds, “The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook) (paragraph 0087). Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125” (paragraph 0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO to include aspects described by YUAN that “relates generally to wireless communications and more specifically to multiplexing for physical uplink channels with different directional beams.” YUAN provides the motivation for modification stating, “The described techniques may, as a result, include features for improvements to uplink communications and, in some examples, may promote enhanced efficiency for high reliability and low latency uplink operations in 5G systems, among other benefits” (paragraph 0005).
Claims 1 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 16 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 16. Claim 1 is rejected under the same rational as claim 16.
Claim(s) 2 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO and YUAN as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of ISLAM et al. (US 20210168783 A1, hereinafter, "ISLAM").
Regarding claim 17, KO and YUAN teach the UE of claim 16,
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the at least one
processor is configured to cause the UE to determine one or more HARQ process indexes (IDs) to
support the transmission of the same or different TBs, based on the type of UL transmission as
determined.”
However, in analogous art, ISLAM teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to
cause the UE to determine one or more HARQ process indexes (IDs) to support the transmission of the
same or different TBs, based on the type of UL transmission as determined.
ISLAM writes, “The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the
instructions further include instructions, that when executed, cause the UE to determine that the second UL grant and the first UL grant have a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process
identifier associated with the TB, and in response, cancel the scheduled UL transmission” (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by ISLAM that “relate to the field of wireless communications.” ISLAM provides the motivation for modification stating, “The present disclosure is related to UL multiplexing of transmissions with different reliability and/or latency requirements. In particular, how one or more indication of impacted resources can be conveyed to one or more UEs so that ongoing or imminent UL transmission can be adjusted in order to avoid adversely impacting other UL transmission that may occur in shared resources” (paragraph 0010).
Claim 2 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 17 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 17. Claim 2 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 17.
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO and YUAN as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of TAMRAKAR et al. (US 20200395982 A1, hereinafter, "TAMRAKAR").
Regarding claim 5, KO and YUAN teach the method of claim 1,
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein a default type of UL
transmission to the network comprises one of: a diversity type transmission, a multiplexing type
transmission, and a single panel transmission.”
However, in analogous art, TAMRAKAR teaches wherein a default type of UL transmission to
the network comprises one of: a diversity type transmission, a multiplexing type transmission, and a
single panel transmission.
TAMRAKAR writes, “The transmission mode indicated implicitly may be preconfigured to the terminal by
the network side device, or may be a transmission mode pre-negotiated with the terminal and used for
transmission under a specific scene, or may be implicitly indicated to the terminal by the network side
device through a specific message, and the present disclosure is not limited thereto” (paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by TAMRAKAR that “relates to the field of communication technology, and in particular, relates to an uplink data transmission method, a terminal, and a network side device.” TAMRAKAR provides the motivation for modification stating, “...the present disclosure may improve transmission performance of uplink data as compared with the related art in which terminal performs uplink data transmission based on a capability of the terminal” (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 6, KO, YUAN, and TAMRAKAR teach the method of claim 5,
Additionally, TAMRAKAR teaches further comprising, in response to determining that the type of UL transmission to be deployed differs from a type of UL transmission of a previous transmission or from the default type of UL transmission, switching to the type of UL transmission to be deployed.
TAMRAKAR writes, “In the embodiment, in a case that the network side device indicates a plurality of
uplink sounding pilot indices, the terminal performs transmission in a plurality of uplink beam directions
according to the transmission mode explicitly or implicitly indicated by the network side device, in order
to further improve uplink data transmission performance. Of course, in the present disclosure, the
transmission mode for transmitting uplink data in a plurality of uplink beam directions may also be
determined by the terminal, and the present disclosure is not limited thereto” (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 18, KO and YUAN teach the UE of claim 16,
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the type of UL
transmission to be deployed comprises at least one of: a diversity type transmission, and a
multiplexing type transmission.”
However, in analogous art, TAMRAKAR teaches wherein the type of UL transmission to be
deployed comprises at least one of: a diversity type transmission, and a multiplexing type
transmission.
TAMRAKAR writes, “Optionally, transmitting simultaneously, by the terminal, the uplink data to the
network side device in a part or all of the N uplink beam directions corresponding to the N uplink
sounding pilot indices according to the simultaneous uplink data transmission mode indicated explicit ly
or implicitly by the network side device, includes: transmitting simultaneously, by the terminal using a
spatial multiplexing transmission manner, a port-level transmission diversity transmission manner, a
beam-level transmission diversity transmission manner, a non-codebook precoding transmission
manner or a single-port transmission manner...” (paragraph 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by TAMRAKAR that “relates to the field of communication technology, and in particular, relates to an uplink data transmission method, a terminal, and a network side device.” TAMRAKAR provides the motivation for modification stating, “...the present disclosure may improve transmission performance of uplink data as compared with the related art in which terminal performs uplink data transmission based on a capability of the terminal” (paragraph 0037).
Claim 3 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 18 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 18. Claim 3 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 18.
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO and YUAN as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of JOSEPH et al. (US 20200245335 A1, hereinafter, "JOSEPH").
Regarding claim 19, KO and YUAN teach the UE of claim 16,
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein determining the type of UL transmission to be deployed based on the arrival traffic comprises determining the type of UL transmission to be deployed based on a configured logical channel prioritization (LCP) restriction.”
However, in analogous art, JOSEPH teaches wherein determining the type of UL transmission to be deployed based on the arrival traffic comprises determining the type of UL transmission to be deployed based on a configured logical channel prioritization (LCP) restriction.
JOSEPH writes, “Logical channel prioritization (LCP) may then be used by a UE to determine how
resources associated with a given uplink transmission are allocated among logical channels” (paragraph
0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by JOSEPH that “relate to wireless communications, and more particularly, to techniques for supporting multiple semi-persistent resource allocations per serving cell.” JOSEPH provides the motivation for modification stating, “...the features of this disclosure provide advantages that include improved communications between access points and stations in a wireless network” (paragraph 0007).
Claim 4 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 19 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 19. Claim 4 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 19.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO and YUAN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LIU (US 20240236708 A1, hereinafter, "LIU").
Regarding claim 7, KO and YUAN teach the method of claim 1, further comprising
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving information from
the NW associated with using a primary panel for a first transmission of the same or different TBs.”
However, in analogous art, LIU teaches receiving information from the NW associated with
using a primary panel for a first transmission of the same or different TBs.
LIU writes, “In standardization of R16, enhanced transmission solutions based on multi-point
cooperative transmission adopted by downlink PDSCH is mainly defined. The application of multi-
TRP/PANEL in base station uses the cooperation between multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels from multiple angles, which can better overcome various occlusion/blocking effects,
ensure robustness of link connection, and is suitable for the promotion of URL LC (Ultra Reliable Low
Latency Communication) services. R17 needs to continue to use multi-TRP technology to enhance uplink
transmission, including uplink control channel PUCCH and uplink data channel PUSCH. In R17 multi-TRP
enhancement, PUCCH/PUSCH supports cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to
different TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the transmission mode defined
above, so as to further apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability”
(paragraph 0100). LIU notes, “Illustratively, the network device sends the resource configuration of the
uplink channel to the terminal device. The terminal device receives the resource configuration sent by
the network device” (paragraph 0080). LIU states the use of multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels. LIU indicates the cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to different
TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the specified transmission mode in order
to apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability. LIU explains the network
device sends the resource configuration of the uplink channel to the terminal device. Therefore, LIU
suggests receiving information from a network device on resource configuration of the uplink channel,
which includes the use of multiple panels, both primary and secondary, for the cooperative transmission
of the same transport block.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by LIU that “relates to the field of wireless communication, and in particular, to an uplink channel transmission method and apparatus, a device and a storage medium” LIU provides the motivation for modification stating, “The uplink channel enhancement solution based on multi-TRP is mainly based on the PUCCH/PUSCH repetitive transmission solution of R16 (Release 16)” (paragraph 0090). LIU explains, "In order to reduce delay and improve reliability, R16 supports the repeated transmission solution of PUSCH with Mini-slot (also known as “sub-slot”) as a unit, and allows PUSCH transmission across time slots to further reduce the delay" (paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 8, KO and YUAN teach the method of claim 1, further comprising
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving information from
the NW associated with using a primary panel for a first transmission of the same or different TBs to
support the type of UL transmission to be deployed.”
However, in analogous art, LIU teaches receiving information from the NW associated with
using a primary panel for a first transmission of the same or different TBs to support the type of UL
transmission to be deployed.
LIU writes, “In standardization of R16, enhanced transmission solutions based on multi-point
cooperative transmission adopted by downlink PDSCH is mainly defined. The application of multi-
TRP/PANEL in base station uses the cooperation between multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels from multiple angles, which can better overcome various occlusion/blocking effects,
ensure robustness of link connection, and is suitable for the promotion of URL LC (Ultra Reliable Low
Latency Communication) services. R17 needs to continue to use multi-TRP technology to enhance uplink
transmission, including uplink control channel PUCCH and uplink data channel PUSCH. In R17 multi-TRP
enhancement, PUCCH/PUSCH supports cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to
different TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the transmission mode defined
above, so as to further apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability”
(paragraph 0100). LIU notes, “Illustratively, the network device sends the resource configuration of the
uplink channel to the terminal device. The terminal device receives the resource configuration sent by
the network device” (paragraph 0080). LIU states the use of multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels. LIU indicates the cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to different
TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the specified transmission mode in order
to apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability. LIU explains the network
device sends the resource configuration of the uplink channel to the terminal device. Therefore, LIU
suggests receiving information from a network device on resource configuration of the uplink channel,
which includes the use of multiple panels, both primary and secondary, for the cooperative transmission
of the same transport block.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by LIU that “relates to the field of wireless communication, and in particular, to an uplink channel transmission method and apparatus, a device and a storage medium” LIU provides the motivation for modification stating, “The uplink channel enhancement solution based on multi-TRP is mainly based on the PUCCH/PUSCH repetitive transmission solution of R16 (Release 16)” (paragraph 0090). LIU explains, "In order to reduce delay and improve reliability, R16 supports the repeated transmission solution of PUSCH with Mini-slot (also known as “sub-slot”) as a unit, and allows PUSCH transmission across time slots to further reduce the delay" (paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 9, KO and YUAN teach the method of claim 1, further comprising
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving information from
the NW associated with using one or more secondary panels for one or more second transmissions of
the same or different TBs.”
However, in analogous art, LIU teaches receiving information from the NW associated with
using one or more secondary panels for one or more second transmissions of the same or different
TBs.
LIU writes, “In standardization of R16, enhanced transmission solutions based on multi-point
cooperative transmission adopted by downlink PDSCH is mainly defined. The application of multi-
TRP/PANEL in base station uses the cooperation between multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels from multiple angles, which can better overcome various occlusion/blocking effects,
ensure robustness of link connection, and is suitable for the promotion of URL LC (Ultra Reliable Low
Latency Communication) services. R17 needs to continue to use multi-TRP technology to enhance uplink
transmission, including uplink control channel PUCCH and uplink data channel PUSCH. In R17 multi-TRP
enhancement, PUCCH/PUSCH supports cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to
different TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the transmission mode defined
above, so as to further apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability”
(paragraph 0100). LIU notes, “Illustratively, the network device sends the resource configuration of the
uplink channel to the terminal device. The terminal device receives the resource configuration sent by
the network device” (paragraph 0080). LIU states the use of multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels. LIU indicates the cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to different
TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the specified transmission mode in order
to apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability. LIU explains the network
device sends the resource configuration of the uplink channel to the terminal device. Therefore, LIU
suggests receiving information from a network device on resource configuration of the uplink channel,
which includes the use of multiple panels, both primary and secondary, for the cooperative transmission
of the same transport block.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by LIU that “relates to the field of wireless communication, and in particular, to an uplink channel transmission method and apparatus, a device and a storage medium” LIU provides the motivation for modification stating, “The uplink channel enhancement solution based on multi-TRP is mainly based on the PUCCH/PUSCH repetitive transmission solution of R16 (Release 16)” (paragraph 0090). LIU explains, "In order to reduce delay and improve reliability, R16 supports the repeated transmission solution of PUSCH with Mini-slot (also known as “sub-slot”) as a unit, and allows PUSCH transmission across time slots to further reduce the delay" (paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 10, KO and YUAN teach the method of claim 1, further comprising
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving information from
the NW associated with using one or more secondary panels for one or more second transmissions of
the same or different TBs to support the type of UL transmission to be deployed.”
However, in analogous art, LIU teaches receiving information from the NW associated with
using one or more secondary panels for one or more second transmissions of the same or different
TBs to support the type of UL transmission to be deployed.
LIU writes, “In standardization of R16, enhanced transmission solutions based on multi-point
cooperative transmission adopted by downlink PDSCH is mainly defined. The application of multi-
TRP/PANEL in base station uses the cooperation between multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels from multiple angles, which can better overcome various occlusion/blocking effects,
ensure robustness of link connection, and is suitable for the promotion of URL LC (Ultra Reliable Low
Latency Communication) services. R17 needs to continue to use multi-TRP technology to enhance uplink
transmission, including uplink control channel PUCCH and uplink data channel PUSCH. In R17 multi-TRP
enhancement, PUCCH/PUSCH supports cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to
different TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the transmission mode defined
above, so as to further apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability”
(paragraph 0100). LIU notes, “Illustratively, the network device sends the resource configuration of the
uplink channel to the terminal device. The terminal device receives the resource configuration sent by
the network device” (paragraph 0080). LIU states the use of multiple TRPs or panels to transmit/receive
data by channels. LIU indicates the cooperative transmission of a same transport block (TB) to different
TRP directions at different transmission occasions (TO) under the specified transmission mode in order
to apply spatial multiplexing transmission to improve transmission reliability. LIU explains the network
device sends the resource configuration of the uplink channel to the terminal device. Therefore, LIU
suggests receiving information from a network device on resource configuration of the uplink channel,
which includes the use of multiple panels, both primary and secondary, for the cooperative transmission
of the same transport block.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by LIU that “relates to the field of wireless communication, and in particular, to an uplink channel transmission method and apparatus, a device and a storage medium” LIU provides the motivation for modification stating, “The uplink channel enhancement solution based on multi-TRP is mainly based on the PUCCH/PUSCH repetitive transmission solution of R16 (Release 16)” (paragraph 0090). LIU explains, "In order to reduce delay and improve reliability, R16 supports the repeated transmission solution of PUSCH with Mini-slot (also known as “sub-slot”) as a unit, and allows PUSCH transmission across time slots to further reduce the delay" (paragraph 0094).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO, YUAN, and LIU as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of AL-IMARI (US 20200099477 A1, hereinafter, "AL-IMARI").
Regarding claim 11, KO, YUAN, and LIU teach the method of claim 10,
KO, YUAN, and LIU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the information is an RRC signaling configuration.”
However, in analogous art, AL-IMARI teaches wherein the information is an RRC signaling configuration.
AL-IMARI writes, “The UE may be configured by higher-layer signalling (e.g. via radio resource control
(RRC) configurations) to indicate the conditions (e.g. uplink transmission type and/or UL transmission
parameters) to monitor the DCI for HARQ-feedback” (paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO, YUAN, and LIU to include aspects described by AL-IMARI “generally related to mobile communications and, more particularly, to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback procedures for uplink transmission with respect to user equipment and network apparatus in mobile communications.” AL-IMARI provides the motivation for modification stating, “A significant reduction in the percentage of collision between UEs can be achieved when using ACK feedback for early termination. The interference between UEs may be significantly reduced. The UE may also be able to save its power for transmission the remaining repetitions of the configured-grant transmission. On the other hand, in addition to the performance gain that can be achieved with acknowledgement (ACK) feedback for early termination, reducing the number of colliding UEs at the network node can decrease the required complexity to detect/decode the UEs' data at the network node” (paragraph 0025).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO, YUAN, and LIU as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of OVED et al. (US 20220386341 A1, hereinafter, "OVED").
Regarding claim 12, KO, YUAN, and LIU teach the method of claim 10,
KO, YUAN, and LIU fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein a first
transmission is a new transmission of the same or different TBs and the one or more second
transmissions are retransmissions of the same or different TBs,” and “and the same HARQ process is
associated with the first transmission and the one or more second transmissions.”
However, in analogous art, OVED teaches wherein a first transmission is a new transmission of
the same or different TBs and the one or more second transmissions are retransmissions of the same
or different TBs,
OVED writes, “The initial transmission information may generally refer to transmission scheduling
information that may only be included in the scheduling information corresponding to a first (e.g.,
initial) transmission of a transport block. For example, the base station 102 may be configured to
transmit, to the UE 104, the initial transmission information using first downlink control information
(DCI) that corresponds to the first transmission of the transport block (paragraph 0084). The dynamic
retransmission information may generally refer to transmission scheduling information that may be
included in the scheduling information corresponding to each transmission and retransmission of the
transport block. The dynamic retransmission information may comprise a minimum reduced amount of
information (e.g., bits) so as to reduce signaling overhead associated with the transmission and
retransmission of the transport block. For example, the dynamic retransmission information may
comprise a transport block identifier (e.g., a HARQ process number) and a transmission identifier”
(paragraph 0085).
and the same HARQ process is associated with the first transmission and the one or more
second transmissions.
OVED writes, “In other optional or additional aspects, the dynamic retransmission information may
comprise a transport block identifier comprising a common prefix identifying a HARQ process associated
with one or more transport blocks comprised by one or more transmissions corresponding to the HARQ
process, and a unique suffix identifying the transport block within the HARQ process” (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO, YUAN, and LIU to include aspects described by OVED that “relate generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to apparatuses and methods for reducing download control information (DCI) for retransmission scheduling in multi-incremental redundancy scheme (MIRS).” OVED provides the motivation for modification stating, “...aspects presented herein may improve throughput of wireless communication devices, when compared to a conventional communication system” (paragraph 0034).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO and YUAN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SUN et al. (US 20220329314 A1, hereinafter, "SUN").
Regarding claim 13, KO and YUAN teach the method of claim 1, further comprising
KO and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmitting to the NW a
signaling indicating the type of UL transmission to be deployed.”
However, in analogous art, SUN teaches transmitting to the NW a signaling indicating the type
of UL transmission to be deployed.
SUN writes, “The configuration and/or replacement of the uplink transmission mode may be notified in
an explicit manner. For example, according to an embodiment, an uplink transmission mode to be
adopted may be indicated by information in the RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the DCI. For example,
according to an embodiment, the uplink transmission mode adopted by the UE may be indicated by an
RRC parameter txMode” (paragraph 0080). SUN adds, “...the UE may determine the uplink transmission
mode according to an ability (for example, whether the UE has the GNSS function) of the UE” (paragraph
0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and YUAN to include aspects described by SUN “generally relates to the technical field of wireless communications, in particular to an electronic device for a non-terrestrial networks (NTN) communication, a wireless communication method and a computer-readable medium.” SUN provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, the UE can use a more suitable uplink transmission mode, thereby improving the system efficiency” (paragraph 0009).
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO in view of SUN and YUAN.
Regarding claim 14, KO teaches a base station (paragraph 0387; figure 19, BS: 100/200)
comprising:
at least one memory (paragraph 0387; figure 19, one or more memories: 104);
and at least one processor (paragraph 0387; figure 19, one or more processors: 102) coupled
with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a terminal device, an indication that simultaneous multi-panel transmission is
supported by a network (NW);
KO writes, “...the base station may configure/indicate/schedule, to the UE, panel switching/selection
based transmission or simultaneous transmission across multi-panel (STxMP), and the UE may perform
it” (paragraph 0278).
and receive, from the terminal device, the one or more TBs that are transmitted with the type
of UL transmission as indicated by the signaling.
KO writes, “This STxMP operation can obtain robustness of PUSCH transmission by transmitting the
same transport block via/using the multi-panel upon UL data transmission (i.e., single frequency
network (SFN) UL transmission) and can also obtain an effect of improving a data rate by transmitting
different data to a single TRP or a multi TRP” (paragraph 0293).
KO fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receive, from the terminal device, a
signaling indicating a type of uplink (UL) transmission for one or more transport blocks (TBs),” and “the type of UL transmission having been determined by the terminal device, from among a plurality of UL transmission types for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission, based on at least a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback or arrival traffic;”
However, in analogous art, SUN teaches receive, from the terminal device, a signaling
indicating a type of uplink (UL) transmission for one or more transport blocks (TBs),
SUN writes, “The configuration and/or replacement of the uplink transmission mode may be notified in
an explicit manner. For example, according to an embodiment, an uplink transmission mode to be
adopted may be indicated by information in the RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the DCI. For example,
according to an embodiment, the uplink transmission mode adopted by the UE may be indicated by an
RRC parameter txMode” (paragraph 0080). SUN adds, “...the UE may determine the uplink transmission
mode according to an ability (for example, whether the UE has the GNSS function) of the UE” (paragraph
0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO to include aspects described by SUN “generally relates to the technical field of wireless communications, in particular to an electronic device for a non-terrestrial networks (NTN) communication, a wireless communication method and a computer-readable medium.” SUN provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to the embodiments of the present disclosure, the UE can use a more suitable uplink transmission mode, thereby improving the system efficiency” (paragraph 0009).
KO and SUN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the type of UL transmission having been determined by the terminal device, from among a plurality of UL transmission types for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission, based on at least a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback or arrival traffic;”
However, in analogous art, YUAN teaches the type of UL transmission having been determined by the terminal device, from among a plurality of UL transmission types for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission, based on at least a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback or arrival traffic;
YUAN writes, “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining a type of the uplink transmission, where multiplexing the uplink transmission with one or both of the first uplink data channel and the second uplink data channel may be based on the type of the uplink transmission” (paragraph 0033). YUAN adds, “The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook) (paragraph 0087). Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125” (paragraph 0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO and SUN to include aspects described by YUAN that “relates generally to wireless communications and more specifically to multiplexing for physical uplink channels with different directional beams.” YUAN provides the motivation for modification stating, “The described techniques may, as a result, include features for improvements to uplink communications and, in some examples, may promote enhanced efficiency for high reliability and low latency uplink operations in 5G systems, among other benefits” (paragraph 0005).
Claims 20 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 14 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 14. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as claim 14.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KO, SUN, and YUAN as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of ISLAM.
Regarding claim 15, KO, SUN, and YUAN teach the base station of claim 14,
KO, SUN, and YUAN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to determine one or more HARQ process indexes (IDs) to support the transmission of the same or different TBs, based on the type of UL transmission.”
However, in analogous art, ISLAM teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to determine one or more HARQ process indexes (IDs) to support the transmission of the same or different TBs, based on the type of UL transmission.
ISLAM writes, “The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the
instructions further include instructions, that when executed, cause the UE to determine that the
second UL grant and the first UL grant have a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process
identifier associated with the TB, and in response, cancel the scheduled UL transmission” (claim 13).
ISLAM discusses a non-transitory computer-readable media that hold instructions that are executed by
the processor, specifically the in the UE. However, one of ordinary skill in the art can determine that a
processor in a base station can execute the same instructions as described above to determine that the
second UL grant and the first UL grant have a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process
identifier associated with the TB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of KO, SUN, and YUAN to include aspects described by ISLAM that “relate to the field of wireless communications.” ISLAM provides the motivation for modification stating, “The present disclosure is related to UL multiplexing of transmissions with different reliability and/or latency requirements. In particular, how one or more indication of impacted resources can be conveyed to one or more UEs so that ongoing or imminent UL transmission can be adjusted in order to avoid adversely impacting other UL transmission that may occur in shared resources” (paragraph 0010).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 8/21/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475