DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2024 and 07/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Examiner notes Communication Manager in Fig. 11 is labeled “1105” in the drawing, but labeled “1115” in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: In ¶0077 – the specification labels “a convolution layer (CONV) 356”. Examiner notes this may be a typographic error in regards to a convolution layer (CONV) labeled “556” in Fig. 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (WO-2022246716-A1), Hu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Hu teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Fig. 2-3, 5, 15-17 & Abstract - Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communication are described. Neural networks may assist user equipment (UEs) and base stations in performing various operations related to wireless communications);
receiving, from a base station, a reference signal (RS) on a set of resource elements (REs), the RS having been multiplexed onto the set of REs based on a non- orthogonal cover code, a number of REs in the set of REs being less than a number of ports associated with the RS (¶0003 - The method may include receiving, from a base station, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) associated with a non-orthogonal cover code of a set of non-orthogonal cover codes for reference signals. ¶0060 - That is, using non-orthogonal cover codes for a CSI-RS may enable the CSI-RS to occupy fewer overall resource elements (e.g., resource elements in the time domain or the frequency domain) than using orthogonal cover codes. For example, a base station may implement a neural network model to generate non-orthogonal cover codes that increases network efficiency associated with CSI-RS transmissions, for example, by reducing a quantity of resource elements over which the CSI-RSs are transmitted. Please also see ¶0100);
estimating, at the UE via a channel estimation neural network, a channel based on receiving the RS (¶0062 - A UE may perform channel estimation on the CSI-RSs generated using the non-orthogonal cover codes by using a neural network model for channel estimation (e.g., a set of neural network weights of the neural network model) that corresponds to the non-orthogonal cover code. Please also see Fig. 5 – 525 (¶0149));
and transmitting, to the base station, a feedback report associated with the estimated channel based on receiving the RS (¶0063 - Based on the channel estimation procedure, the UE may transmit a feedback message (e.g., a CSF message) that indicates the one or more channel quality parameters. Please also see Fig. 5 – 530 (¶0150) and ¶0099);
Re. Claim 8, Hu teaches a method for wireless communication at base station, comprising: (Fig. 2-3, 5, 15-17 & Abstract - Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communication are described. Neural networks may assist user equipment (UEs) and base stations in performing various operations related to wireless communications);
multiplexing a reference signal (RS) onto a set of resource elements (REs) based on a non-orthogonal cover code, a number of REs in the set of REs being less than a number of antenna ports associated with the RS (¶0060 - That is, using non-orthogonal cover codes for a CSI-RS may enable the CSI-RS to occupy fewer overall resource elements (e.g., resource elements in the time domain or the frequency domain) than using orthogonal cover codes. For example, a base station may implement a neural network model to generate non-orthogonal cover codes that increases network efficiency associated with CSI-RS transmissions, for example, by reducing a quantity of resource elements over which the CSI-RSs are transmitted. Please also see ¶0100);
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), the RS on the set of REs (¶0026 - The method may include transmitting, to a UE, a CSI-RS associated with a non-orthogonal cover code of a set of non-orthogonal cover codes for reference signals. ¶0063 - For example, the base station may transmit a CSI-RS to the UE that is associated with (e.g., multiplexed using) a non-orthogonal cover code of a set non- orthogonal cover codes);
receiving, from the UE, a feedback report associated with the RS; and recovering, at the base station, an estimate of a channel associated with the RS based on receiving the feedback report (¶0028 - The apparatus may further include means for receiving, from the UE, a feedback message indicating a channel quality parameter that is determined based on a channel estimation procedure of the CSI-RS, the channel estimation procedure corresponding to the non-orthogonal cover code. Please also see Fig. 5 – 525 & 530 (¶0149-0150) and ¶0099).
Re. Claim 16, Hu teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; a memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the processor, to cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 10 & ¶0003-¶0005);
receive, from a base station, a reference signal (RS) on a set of resource elements (REs), the RS having been multiplexed onto the set of REs based on a non-orthogonal cover code, a number of REs in the set of REs being less than a number of ports associated with the RS (¶0003 - The method may include receiving, from a base station, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) associated with a non-orthogonal cover code of a set of non-orthogonal cover codes for reference signals. ¶0060 - That is, using non-orthogonal cover codes for a CSI-RS may enable the CSI-RS to occupy fewer overall resource elements (e.g., resource elements in the time domain or the frequency domain) than using orthogonal cover codes. For example, a base station may implement a neural network model to generate non-orthogonal cover codes that increases network efficiency associated with CSI-RS transmissions, for example, by reducing a quantity of resource elements over which the CSI-RSs are transmitted. Please also see ¶0100);
estimate, at the UE via a channel estimation neural network, a channel based on receiving the RS (¶0062 - A UE may perform channel estimation on the CSI-RSs generated using the non-orthogonal cover codes by using a neural network model for channel estimation (e.g., a set of neural network weights of the neural network model) that corresponds to the non-orthogonal cover code. Please also see Fig. 5 – 525 (¶0149));
and transmit, to the base station, a feedback report associated with the estimated channel based on receiving the RS (¶0063 - Based on the channel estimation procedure, the UE may transmit a feedback message (e.g., a CSF message) that indicates the one or more channel quality parameters. Please also see Fig. 5 – 530 (¶0150) and ¶0099).
Re. Claim 23, Hu teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at base station, comprising: a processor; a memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and operable, when executed by the processor, to cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 11 & ¶0026-¶0028);
multiplex a reference signal (RS) on onto a set of resource elements (REs) based on a non-orthogonal cover code, a number of REs in the set of REs being less than a number of antenna ports associated with the RS (Fig. 2-3, 5, 15-17 & ¶0060 - That is, using non-orthogonal cover codes for a CSI-RS may enable the CSI-RS to occupy fewer overall resource elements (e.g., resource elements in the time domain or the frequency domain) than using orthogonal cover codes. For example, a base station may implement a neural network model to generate non-orthogonal cover codes that increases network efficiency associated with CSI-RS transmissions, for example, by reducing a quantity of resource elements over which the CSI-RSs are transmitted. Please also see ¶0100);
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), the RS on the set of REs; (¶0026 - The method may include transmitting, to a UE, a CSI-RS associated with a non-orthogonal cover code of a set of non-orthogonal cover codes for reference signals. ¶0063 - For example, the base station may transmit a CSI-RS to the UE that is associated with (e.g., multiplexed using) a non-orthogonal cover code of a set non- orthogonal cover codes);
receive, from the UE, a feedback report associated with the RS; and recover, at the base station, an estimate of a channel associated with the RS based on receiving the feedback report (¶0028 - The apparatus may further include means for receiving, from the UE, a feedback message indicating a channel quality parameter that is determined based on a channel estimation procedure of the CSI-RS, the channel estimation procedure corresponding to the non-orthogonal cover code. Please also see Fig. 5 – 525 & 530 (¶0149-0150) ¶0099).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 9-11, 17-19, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, and further in view of He et al. (US 2024/0088953), He hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Hu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach further comprising quantizing one or more values associated with a measurement of the RS, wherein the feedback report indicates the one or more quantized values associated with the RS.
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly teaches further comprising quantizing one or more values associated with a measurement of the RS, wherein the feedback report indicates the one or more quantized values associated with the RS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0003 - In a new radio (NR) system, a beam training procedure between a base station and a terminal device is completed by using a channel state information (CSI) reporting procedure … The terminal device receives each reference signal configured by the base station, measures reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal, and then reports reference signal indexes of several reference signals with relatively high RSRP and quantized RSRP values corresponding to the several reference signals. ¶0136 (Please see Fig. 3) - S305: The second device sends the channel state indication information to the first device. ¶0137 - S306: The first device receives the channel state indicator information reported by the second device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because the invention provides means for a base station to determine which spatial filtering parameters are used for sending signals in which directions, so that the terminal device can receive a relatively high-energy signal, and finally complete the beam training procedure (¶0003, He).
Re. Claims 3, 10, 18 and 25, Hu and He teach Claims 2, 9, 17 and 24.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach the one or more quantized values include both a quantized amplitude of the measurement of the RS and a quantized phase of the measurement of the RS.
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly teaches the one or more quantized values include both a quantized amplitude of the measurement of the RS and a quantized phase of the measurement of the RS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0130 - Based on the K received measurement values of the K received reference signals, the K first spatial filtering parameters, and the channel sparse basis matrix D, the second device may estimate a channel to obtain an estimation value ĥ of the channel. The estimation value of the channel is an estimation value obtained by quantizing an amplitude and a phase of an element in a matrix corresponding to the channel, and the estimation value ĥ of the channel is a vector including a plurality of elements. Please also see ¶0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because the invention provides means for a base station to determine which spatial filtering parameters are used for sending signals in which directions, so that the terminal device can receive a relatively high-energy signal, and finally complete the beam training procedure (¶0003, He).
Re. Claim 4, Hu and He teach Claim 2.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach a value of the measurement of the RS is a complex number; and the one or more quantized values include both a quantized real value of the measurement of the RS and a quantized imaginary value of the measurement of the RS.
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly teaches a value of the measurement of the RS is a complex number; and the one or more quantized values include both a quantized real value of the measurement of the RS and a quantized imaginary value of the measurement of the RS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0097 - Each element in the analog precoding vector m.sub.k is a complex number, an amplitude of each element is 1/√{square root over (N.sub.1N.sub.2)}, and a phase of each element corresponds to a phase value of a phase shifter connected to each antenna element. ¶0180 - When the channel state indication information includes the quantized value of the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel, quantization of an amplitude value and an angle value or quantization of a real part and an imaginary part of each element in the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel may be included. For example, the quantized value of the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel may include a value obtained by quantizing an amplitude and a phase of at least one element in the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel, or include a value obtained by quantizing a real part and an imaginary part of at least one element in the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because the invention provides means for a base station to determine which spatial filtering parameters are used for sending signals in which directions, so that the terminal device can receive a relatively high-energy signal, and finally complete the beam training procedure (¶0003, He).
Re. Claims 9 and 24, Hu teaches Claims 8 and 23.
Hu further teaches and the estimate of the channel is recovered by a channel estimation neural network based on the one or more quantized values (Fig. 2-3, 5, 15-17 & ¶0064 - In some examples, the first set of neural network parameters may correspond to a non-orthogonal cover code used to multiplex the CSI-RS. The UE may determine a precoding matrix for communications between the UE and the base station using the CSI-RS and a second set of neural network parameters of a second neural network model for channel estimation. In some examples, the second set of neural network parameters may correspond to the non-orthogonal cover code. Please also see ¶0128 (channel recovery));
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach the feedback report indicates one or more quantized values associated with a measurement of the RS;
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly teaches the feedback report indicates one or more quantized values associated with a measurement of the RS; (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0003 - In a new radio (NR) system, a beam training procedure between a base station and a terminal device is completed by using a channel state information (CSI) reporting procedure … The terminal device receives each reference signal configured by the base station, measures reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal, and then reports reference signal indexes of several reference signals with relatively high RSRP and quantized RSRP values corresponding to the several reference signals. ¶0136 (Please see Fig. 3) - S305: The second device sends the channel state indication information to the first device. ¶0137 - S306: The first device receives the channel state indicator information reported by the second device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because the invention provides means for a base station to determine which spatial filtering parameters are used for sending signals in which directions, so that the terminal device can receive a relatively high-energy signal, and finally complete the beam training procedure (¶0003, He).
Re. Claims 11, 19 and 26, Hu and He teach Claims 9, 17 and 24.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach a value of the measurement of the RS is a complex number; and the one or more quantized values include both a quantized real value of the measurement of the RS and a quantized imaginary real value of the measurement of the RS.
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly teaches a value of the measurement of the RS is a complex number; and the one or more quantized values include both a quantized real value of the measurement of the RS and a quantized imaginary real value of the measurement of the RS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0097 - Each element in the analog precoding vector m.sub.k is a complex number, an amplitude of each element is 1/√{square root over (N.sub.1N.sub.2)}, and a phase of each element corresponds to a phase value of a phase shifter connected to each antenna element. ¶0180 - When the channel state indication information includes the quantized value of the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel, quantization of an amplitude value and an angle value or quantization of a real part and an imaginary part of each element in the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel may be included. For example, the quantized value of the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel may include a value obtained by quantizing an amplitude and a phase of at least one element in the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel, or include a value obtained by quantizing a real part and an imaginary part of at least one element in the estimation value ĥ.sub.f of the channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because the invention provides means for a base station to determine which spatial filtering parameters are used for sending signals in which directions, so that the terminal device can receive a relatively high-energy signal, and finally complete the beam training procedure (¶0003, He).
Re. Claim 17, Hu teaches Claim 16.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach execution of the instructions further cause the apparatus to quantize one or more values associated with a measurement of the RS, wherein the feedback report indicates the one or more quantized values associated with the RS.
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly teaches execution of the instructions further cause the apparatus to quantize one or more values associated with a measurement of the RS, wherein the feedback report indicates the one or more quantized values associated with the RS (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0003 - In a new radio (NR) system, a beam training procedure between a base station and a terminal device is completed by using a channel state information (CSI) reporting procedure … The terminal device receives each reference signal configured by the base station, measures reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal, and then reports reference signal indexes of several reference signals with relatively high RSRP and quantized RSRP values corresponding to the several reference signals. ¶0136 (Please see Fig. 3) - S305: The second device sends the channel state indication information to the first device. ¶0137 - S306: The first device receives the channel state indicator information reported by the second device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of He to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because the invention provides means for a base station to determine which spatial filtering parameters are used for sending signals in which directions, so that the terminal device can receive a relatively high-energy signal, and finally complete the beam training procedure (¶0003, He).
Claims 5-6, 12-13, 15, 20-21, 27-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0326974), Li hereinafter.
Re. Claims 5 and 20, Hu teaches Claims 1 and 16.
Hu further teaches associated with a codebook used by the channel estimation neural network (Abstract - For example, neural networks may be used to generate non-orthogonal cover codes for transmitting reference signals such as channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RSs) … a UE may receive a CSI-RS, determine a precoding matrix using the CSI-RS and neural network, and transmit an indication of the precoding matrix to a base station. ¶0099 -A base station 105 may gather channel condition information from a UE 115 to efficiently configure and/or schedule the channel … channel state reports may have different types based on a codebook used to generate the report. For instance, a Type I CSI report may be based on a first codebook and a Type II CSI report may be based on a second codebook, where the first and second codebooks may be based on different antenna configurations);
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach the feedback report indicates a first group of channel coefficients and a second group of channel coefficients…
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches the feedback report indicates a first group of channel coefficients and a second group of channel coefficients (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0168 - In some possible implementations, before the receiving, by the base station, s first linear combination coefficient groups transmitted by the terminal device… ¶0172 - In some possible implementations, before the receiving, by the base station, second linear combination coefficients transmitted by the terminal device… ¶0235 - For example, the signals transmitted by the base station to the terminal device may be used to measure a channel coefficient of a channel from each port in the n port groups to the terminal device. ¶0282 - After receiving the s first linear combination coefficient groups reported by the terminal device, the base station may further determine a W.sub.2 codebook corresponding to the s first linear combination coefficient groups. Please also see ¶0259).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present invention provide a communication method, a base station, and a terminal device to improve channel feedback precision (¶0006, Li).
Re. Claims 6, 13, 21 and 28, Hu and Li teach Claims 5, 12, 20 and 27.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach the first group of channel coefficients are linear combination coefficients associated with variables of a diagonal block of a matrix associated with the codebook; and the second group of channel coefficients are linear combination coefficients associated with the matrix.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches the first group of channel coefficients are linear combination coefficients associated with variables of a diagonal block of a matrix associated with the codebook; and the second group of channel coefficients are linear combination coefficients associated with the matrix (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0103 - where W.sub.3 is a matrix including the s first linear combination coefficient groups, W.sub.1 is a matrix including the at least two base vectors, and W.sub.2 is a matrix including the second linear combination coefficients. ¶0107 - In some possible implementations, W.sub.3 satisfies the following expression: Please see ¶0107-¶0114. ¶0282 - After receiving the s first linear combination coefficient groups reported by the terminal device, the base station may further determine a W.sub.2 codebook corresponding to the s first linear combination coefficient groups. ¶0241 - where W.sub.3 is a matrix including the s first linear combination coefficient groups, W.sub.1 is a matrix including the at least two base vectors, and W.sub.2 is a matrix including the second linear combination coefficients. ¶0283 - Optionally, a structure of the W.sub.2 codebook structure may be expressed as: Please see ¶00012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present invention provide a communication method, a base station, and a terminal device to improve channel feedback precision (¶0006, Li).
Re. Claims 12 and 27, Hu teaches Claims 8 and 23.
Hu further teaches associated with a codebook used by a channel estimation neural network of the UE to estimate the channel (Abstract - For example, neural networks may be used to generate non-orthogonal cover codes for transmitting reference signals such as channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RSs) … a UE may receive a CSI-RS, determine a precoding matrix using the CSI-RS and neural network, and transmit an indication of the precoding matrix to a base station. ¶0064 - The UE may determine a precoding matrix for communications between the UE and the base station using the CSI-RS and a second set of neural network parameters of a second neural network model for channel estimation. ¶0099 - A base station 105 may gather channel condition information from a UE 115 to efficiently configure and/or schedule the channel … channel state reports may have different types based on a codebook used to generate the report. For instance, a Type I CSI report may be based on a first codebook and a Type II CSI report may be based on a second codebook, where the first and second codebooks may be based on different antenna configurations);
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach the feedback report indicates a first group of channel coefficients and a second group of channel coefficients…
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches the feedback report indicates a first group of channel coefficients and a second group of channel coefficients… (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0168 - In some possible implementations, before the receiving, by the base station, s first linear combination coefficient groups transmitted by the terminal device… ¶0172 - In some possible implementations, before the receiving, by the base station, second linear combination coefficients transmitted by the terminal device… ¶0235 - For example, the signals transmitted by the base station to the terminal device may be used to measure a channel coefficient of a channel from each port in the n port groups to the terminal device. ¶0282 - After receiving the s first linear combination coefficient groups reported by the terminal device, the base station may further determine a W.sub.2 codebook corresponding to the s first linear combination coefficient groups. Please also see ¶0259).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present invention provide a communication method, a base station, and a terminal device to improve channel feedback precision (¶0006, Li).
Re. Claim 15, Hu and Li teach Claim 13.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach reconstructing the matrix based on a basis pool and the first group of channel coefficients, wherein the estimate of the channel is recovered based on a product of the matrix and the second group of channel coefficients.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches reconstructing the matrix based on a basis pool and the first group of channel coefficients, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0012 - In some possible implementations, the first precoding matrix is obtained based on the s first linear combination coefficient groups and s base vector groups, and each base vector group includes base vectors of one of the s port groups);
wherein the estimate of the channel is recovered based on a product of the matrix and the second group of channel coefficients (¶0094 - transmitting, by the terminal device, s first linear combination coefficient groups, base vector information, and second linear combination coefficients, where the s first linear combination coefficient groups, the base vector information, and the second linear combination coefficients are determined based on measurement results of the reference signals of then port groups… ¶0259 - The new channel coefficient H′ is a product of the downlink channel matrix H and a new precoding matrix u, where u=a.sub.1*u.sub.1+ . . . +a_m.sub.0*u_m.sub.0. |H′|.sup.2 represents power of H in a spatial angle direction represented by u. In this embodiment of the present invention, linear combination coefficients (a.sub.1, . . . , a_m.sub.0) are selected properly, so that a spatial angle represented by u can exactly match a spatial angle in which the terminal device is located, and that the terminal device obtains a channel measurement result that better matches a real channel of the terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present invention provide a communication method, a base station, and a terminal device to improve channel feedback precision (¶0006, Li).
Re. Claim 30, Hu and Li teach Claim 28.
Yet, Hu does not explicitly teach execution of the instructions further cause the apparatus to reconstruct a matrix of the codebook based on a basis pool and the first group of channel coefficients, wherein the estimate of the channel is recovered based on a product of the matrix and the second group of channel coefficients.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches execution of the instructions further cause the apparatus to reconstruct a matrix of the codebook based on a basis pool and the first group of channel coefficients, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0012 - In some possible implementations, the first precoding matrix is obtained based on the s first linear combination coefficient groups and s base vector groups, and each base vector group includes base vectors of one of the s port groups);
wherein the estimate of the channel is recovered based on a product of the matrix and the second group of channel coefficients (¶0094 - transmitting, by the terminal device, s first linear combination coefficient groups, base vector information, and second linear combination coefficients, where the s first linear combination coefficient groups, the base vector information, and the second linear combination coefficients are determined based on measurement results of the reference signals of then port groups… ¶0259 - The new channel coefficient H′ is a product of the downlink channel matrix H and a new precoding matrix u, where u=a.sub.1*u.sub.1+ . . . +a_m.sub.0*u_m.sub.0. |H′|.sup.2 represents power of H in a spatial angle direction represented by u. In this embodiment of the present invention, linear combination coefficients (a.sub.1, . . . , a_m.sub.0) are selected properly, so that a spatial angle represented by u can exactly match a spatial angle in which the terminal device is located, and that the terminal device obtains a channel measurement result that better matches a real channel of the terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Hu. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present invention provide a communication method, a base station, and a terminal device to improve channel feedback precision (¶0006, Li).
Claims 7, 14, 22 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Li, and further in view of Thomson (US7308232B2), Thomson hereinafter.
Re. Claims 7, 14, 22 and 29, Hu and Li teach Claims 6, 13, 21 and 28.
Hu further teaches associated with a codebook (¶0096 - The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands … The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a PMI or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook. ¶0099 - A channel state report may contain an RI requesting a number of layers to be used for downlink transmissions (e.g., based on antenna ports 104 of the UE 115) , a PMI indicating a preference for which precoder matrix should be used (e.g., based on a number of layers)…);
Yet, Hu and Li do not explicitly teach each channel coefficient of the first group of channel coefficients corresponds to a classification score associated with a respective channel statistic of a plurality of channel statistics associated with the RS; each channel coefficient of the first group of channel coefficients is associated with a single respective antenna of a group of receiving antennas of the UE; and a value of each channel coefficient of the first group of channel coefficients is a product of the estimated channel associated with a respective antenna of the group of antennas and a transpose of the matrix….
However, in the analogous art, Thomson explicitly teaches each channel coefficient of the first group of channel coefficients corresponds to a classification score associated with a respective channel statistic of a plurality of channel statistics associated with the RS; (Page 3, ¶8 - The data coefficients are estimated using a channel inversion. As part of this process, an estimate of the signal-to-noise ratios of individual data coefficients is simultaneously obtained, allowing more efficient use of codes. Page 9, ¶89 - As previously indicated, the present invention employs a channel estimation technique that employs a channel estimate based upon statistics of the channel, which is then updated based upon current channel estimates. Please also see Claim 1);
each channel coefficient of the first group of channel coefficients is associated with a single respective antenna of a group of receiving antennas of the UE; (Page 6, ¶41 - A number, s, of the coefficients, denoted by x.sub.(1), . . . x.sub.(s), are selected for channel estimation coefficients (CECs) and equation 22 is rewritten for these coefficients … Page 8, ¶82 - In the case of multiple antennas, the CEC's are replaced with CEC matrices. If one had, for example, J=3 antennas (representing, for example, separate polarizations) one could code the three data streams as follows…);
and a value of each channel coefficient of the first group of channel coefficients is a product of the estimated channel associated with a respective antenna of the group of antennas and a transpose of the matrix… (Page 6, ¶44 - Because the x.sub.(x)'s are specified, one can do a least-squares solution of this equation to estimate c.sub.0 and c.sub.1, as follows: .. Please see equations 23A-23E, specifically equation 23B. Examiner interprets equation 23B as structurally and mathematically generating per-antenna coefficients using a product of a matrix and its transpose, where each coefficient represents a statistically computed measure of the channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Thomson to the teachings of Hu and Li. The motivation would be because the invention relates to methods and apparatus for compensating for channel distortion and, more particularly, to a method and apparatus for equalizing a channel using improved channel estimates (Page 1, ¶2, Thomson).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He et al. (US 2023/0283337) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-12 and ¶0002-¶0503.
Medra et al. (US 2024/0080226) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 1-9 and ¶0002-¶0178.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465