DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 13, 2024, June 16, 2025, June 30, 2025, and January 28, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 12, 15-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 113794011 A), hereinafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a battery pack (“a battery pack”) (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches a single battery cell 100, including at least one pouch cell 110 (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) having electrode leads (“a plurality of pouch-type battery cells having electrode leads”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 2). Li teaches the battery pack comprises a box body 200 includes with a box body 210 and a containing cavity 201 to accommodate the plurality of single battery cells 100 (“a pack case including an inner space, the pack case configured to accommodate the plurality of pouch-type battery cells in the inner space”) (see e.g., paragraph [0074]). Li teaches the single battery cell 100 includes a shell assembly 120 to form a containing cavity 121 for containing each pouch cell 110 (“a cell cover configured to surround a portion of at least one of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells”) (see e.g., paragraph [0048]). Li teaches the single cell 100 includes at least two busbars 150 and two terminals 160 surrounded by the shell assembly (see e.g., paragraph [0063] and Figure 1) to electrically connect to the leads of the at least one pouch cell 100 (“a bus bar assembly configured to connect to an electrode lead of at least one of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells surrounded by the cell cover”) (see e.g., paragraph [0066]). Li teaches a side panel 124 respectively covering the through openings of the rectangular shell 123 of the shell assembly (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) and coupled to the onside of the busbar 150 (“an end cover coupled to one side of the bus bar assembly”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 2).
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches the shell assembly 120 includes a rectangular shell 123 with a through opening along the x direction of the pouch cell 110 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) to expose the leads of the pouch cell (“wherein the cell cover is configured to partially surround the pouch-type battery cell so that a portion provided with the electrode lead is exposed to the outside”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 2)
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches the bus bar 150 covers the electrode leads of the pouch cell 110 (“wherein the bus bar assembly is configured to cover at least a portion of the portion where the electrode lead is provided”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches the side plate 124 covers the bus bar 150 to enclose the single battery cell 100 (“wherein at least a portion of the bus bar assembly is inserted into the cell cover”) (see e.g., Figure 1 and Annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches two terminals 160 electrically connected to the bus bar 150 and the electrode leads of the pouch cell 110 (“a bus bar terminal connected to the electrode lead”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063]). Li teaches the single battery 100 further comprises two insulating brackets 140 next to the electrode leads of the pouch battery 110, and the bus bar 150 is fixed on the insulating bracket 140 (“a bus bar frame configured such that the bus bar terminal seated and comprising an accommodation portion accommodating the electrode lead”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063]). Li teaches the insulating brackets 140 is provided with a vent hole 141 (“a through portion configured to allow gas generated from at least a portion of the pouch-type battery cell to move”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches the side plate 124 is coupled to the bus bar 150 to enclose the pouch battery 110 in the shell assembly 120 (“wherein the end cover is coupled to the bus bar assembly”) (see e.g., paragraph [0067] and Annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Li teaches the side plate 124 includes an exhaust hole 122 opposite to the vent holes 141 of the insulating bracket (“wherein the end cover comprises a first venting portion communicating with the through portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063] and annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 7, as previously described.
Li teaches the high-temperature and high-pressure gas generated by the pouch cell 110 can be discharged to the outside of the single cell 100 through the interconnected vent 141 and the exhaust port 122 to the containing cavity 201 of the box body (“wherein gas is discharged into the inner space of the pack case through the first venting portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 12, as previously described.
Li teaches the box body 200 includes exhaust grooves 202 to discharge the high temperature and high pressure gas vented through the exhaust hole 122 of the side plate (“wherein the pack case comprises a second venting portion configured to communicate with the first venting portion to discharge the gas to the outside of the battery pack”) (see e.g., paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches the shell assembly 120 includes a rectangular shell 123 along the length direction of the battery 110 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]); therefore, Li teaches a first side cover portion covering one side surface of the battery 110, a second side cover portion facing the first side cover portion and covering the other side of the battery 110, and a top cover portion connecting the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion and covering an upper portion of the battery 110 (see e.g., Figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Li teaches the rectangular shell 123 surrounds the battery 110 (see e.g., Figure 2); therefore, Li teaches the rectangular shell 123 is configured to support the battery cell in a state of standing between the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion.
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Li teaches the single cell 100 includes an insulating sleeve 130 extending along the length direction x of the pouch cell 110, and the insulating sleeve 130 is sleeved between each pouch cell 110 and the rectangular shell 123 (“wherein the cell cover comprises an insulating coating layer on at least a portion of the inner surface of the first side cover portion and the inner surface of the second side cover portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li does not explicitly teach a vehicle including the battery pack of claim 1; however, the Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967). Therefore, Li meets the claim limitation of a vehicle comprising a battery pack according to claim 1 because the battery pack of Li is capable of being in a vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113794011 A) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2020179994 A1, citations from corresponding Published U.S. Patent Application US 20210320374 A), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Li does not explicitly teach an intermediate cover provided between the bus bar assembly and the end cover.
However, Lee teaches an energy storage system module (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Lee teaches the module includes a cell stack assembly 100 including a bus bar frame 120 (“bus bar assembly”), a mesh plate 600 (“an intermediate cover”), and an upper housing 300 (“end cover”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035] and Figure 2). Lee teaches the mesh plate 600 is disposed between the bus bar frame 120 and the upper housing 300 (“an intermediate cover provided between the bus bar assembly and the end cover”) (see e.g., paragraph [0065] and Figure 2) and includes a plurality of fine pores to pass air for cooling and gas generated by venting but minimize the passage of flame (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the shell assembly of Li to include a mesh plate between the bus bar assembly and the outer housing, as taught by Lee, in order to pass air for cooling and gas generated by venting while also minimizing the passage of flame (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 9, Li, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Li, as modified by Lee, teaches the mesh plate 600 is coupled to the bus bar frame (“wherein the intermediate cover is coupled to the bus bar assembly”) (see e.g., Lee Figure 2) to pass air for cooling and gas generated by venting but minimize the passage of flame (see e.g., Lee paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Li, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Li, as modified by Lee, teaches the mesh plate 600 includes a plurality of fine pores formed to pass air for cooling and gas generated by venting (see e.g., Lee paragraph [0065]); therefore, the mesh plate in the battery cell, as taught by Li, as modified by Lee, would teach the plurality of the fine pores formed on the mesh plate would be in communication with the high temperature and high pressure air passed through the vent of Li (“wherein the intermediate cover comprises a communication portion configured to communicate with the through portion”).
Regarding claim 13, Li, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Li, as modified by Lee, teaches the mesh plate 600 includes a plurality of fine pores formed to pass air for cooling and gas generated by venting (“wherein the communication portion comprises a mesh member”) (see e.g., Lee paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 14, Li, as modified by Lee, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Li, as modified by Lee, does not explicitly teach wherein the intermediate cover comprises an insulating material to block an electrical connection between the bus bar assembly and the end cover.
However, Lee teaches the mesh plate 600 is a mesh-type plate (see e.g., paragraph [0065]) and further comprises mica plates both parallel and perpendicular to it (see e.g., paragraphs [0018]-[0019]) that provide excellent electrical insulation properties and very little change in properties when heated (see e.g., paragraph [0046]) in order to prevent thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the mesh plate of Li, as modified by Lee, to be made of a material that provides excellent electrical insulation properties, as taught by Lee, in order to prevent thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0046]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113794011 A) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 112467285 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhou.
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the cell cover comprises an adhesive member on at least a portion of the outer surface of the first side cover portion and the outer surface of the second side cover portion.
However, Zhou teaches a battery module for delaying thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0005]). Zhou teaches the thermal runaway sealing assembly 1 includes a cover 13 to cover the outside of the battery cell (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Zhou teaches the outer surface of the battery cell is provided with a thermally conductive structural adhesive (see e.g., paragraph [0063]) in order to form a relatively independent sealed structure and to not immediately transfer heat to the adjacent batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the shell assembly of Li to adhesive on the outer surfaces of the sealing assembly, as taught by Zhou, in order to form a relatively independent sealed structure and to not immediately transfer heat to the adjacent batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0063]).
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113794011 A) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2020179994 A1, citations from corresponding Published U.S. Patent Application US 20210320374 A), and further in view of Zhou et al. (CN 112467285 A), hereinafter referred to as Zhou.
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
Li does not explicitly teach an intermediate cover provided between the bus bar assembly and the end cover, wherein the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion comprise portions protruding further toward the electrode lead than the top cover portion, and wherein the bus bar assembly, the intermediate cover, and the end cover are inserted into and in contact with the inner side of the first side cover portion and the inner side of the second side cover portion, respectively.
However, Lee teaches an energy storage system module (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Lee teaches the module includes a cell stack assembly 100 including a bus bar frame 120 (“bus bar assembly”), a mesh plate 600 (“an intermediate cover”), and an upper housing 300 (“end cover”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035] and Figure 2). Lee teaches the mesh plate 600 is disposed between the bus bar frame 120 and the upper housing 300 (“an intermediate cover provided between the bus bar assembly and the end cover”) (see e.g., paragraph [0065] and Figure 2) and includes a plurality of fine pores to pass air for cooling and gas generated by venting but minimize the passage of flame (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the shell assembly of Li to include a mesh plate between the bus bar assembly and the outer housing, as taught by Lee, in order to pass air for cooling and gas generated by venting while also minimizing the passage of flame (see e.g., paragraph [0065]).
The battery cell as taught by Li, as modified by Lee, teach the bus bar, the mesh plate, and the side plate would be inserted into and in contact with the inner side of the shell assembly (“wherein the bus bar assembly, the intermediate cover, and the end cover are inserted into and in contact with the inner side of the first side cover portion and the inner side of the second side cover portion, respectively”).
Li, as modified by Lee, does not explicitly teach wherein the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion comprise portions protruding further toward the electrode lead than the top cover portion.
However, Zhou teaches a battery module for delaying thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0005]). Zhou teaches the thermal runaway sealing assembly 1 includes a cover 13 to cover the outside of the battery cell (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Zhou teaches the cover 13 has a first side cover portion, a second side cover portion, and a top cover portion (see e.g., Annotated Figure 4). Zhou teaches the first side cover portion and second side cover portion include portions protruding further toward the electrode lead than the top cover portion (“wherein the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion comprise portions protruding further toward the electrode lead than the top cover portion”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 4). Zhou teaches the structure effectively reduces the thermal diffusion between the runaway sealing components and also ensure that when the cell in the runaway sealing component experiences thermal runaway, the ejected hot material is only ejected from the side openings of the cover 13 to achieve directional and orderly delayed ejection of the thermal runaway sealing component in the battery module during thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0049]).
Annotated Figure 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the shell assembly of Li, as modified by Lee, to have a portion of the first and second side cover portions protruding further toward the electrode leads than the top cover portions, as taught by Zhou, in order to reduce the thermal diffusion between the runaway sealing components and also ensure that when the cell in the runaway sealing component experiences thermal runaway, the ejected hot material is only ejected from the side openings of the cover to achieve directional and orderly delayed ejection of the thermal runaway sealing component in the battery module during thermal runaway (see e.g., paragraph [0049]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deng et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20230216163 A1) teaches a cell with an elongated structure with a tab protector (see e.g., Abstract).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728