DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority in view of Provisional Application 63236245 with an effective filing date of 08/24/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/13/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-23 are canceled, Claims 24-45 are newly added and Claims 24-45 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference Character (206) in Figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Reference Character (206) in Figure 2 is not disclosed in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24, 27 and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta".
In regard to Claim 24, Hatta et al. discloses a battery separator comprising: a microporous membrane comprising one or more layers of polyolefin (Hatta, [0047-0048]) and a heat dissipation layer affixed to a surface of the microporous membrane (Hatta, [0042]). Hatta et al. also discloses the heat dissipation layer comprising at least 2% of a high thermal conduction material and configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell (Hatta, [0006, 0009, 0081, 0088]).
In regard to Claim 27, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 24. Hatta et al. also discloses wherein the heat dissipation layer comprises a polymer and/or blended polymer (Hatta, [0079]).
In regard to Claim 33-36, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 24. Hatta et al. also discloses wherein the microporous membrane comprises one or more polyolefins wherein the polyolefin is polyethylene wherein the microporous membrane is a single layer film or a multilayer film (Hatta, [0047-0048, 0051]) and further comprises a PVDF binder (Hatta, [0325]).
Claims 37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta".
In regard to Claim 37, Hatta et al. discloses a battery cell comprising: an anode; a cathode; and a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (Hatta, Example 1-1). Hatta et al. also discloses a battery separator comprising: a microporous membrane comprising one or more layers of polyolefin (Hatta, [0047-0048]) and a heat dissipation layer affixed to a surface of the microporous membrane (Hatta, [0042]). Hatta et al. also discloses the heat dissipation layer comprising at least 2% of a high thermal conduction material and configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell (Hatta, [0006, 0009, 0081, 0088]).
In regard to Claim 40, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 37. Hatta et al. also discloses wherein the heat dissipation layer comprises a polymer and/or blended polymer (Hatta, [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta" as applied to claim 24 above, in view of Cho et al. (KR 20130133444 A - Machine Translation Referenced for Citation), hereinafter "Cho". Hatta and Cho et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely separator materials.
In regard to Claims 25-26, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 24. While Hatta et al. discloses the use of resin and describes the melting point or glass transition point of the material (Hatta, [0005]) and a preferred list of materials in the heat dissipation layer which is configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell, it is silent as to the materials comprising a phase change material.
Cho et al. discloses a battery separator comprising: a microporous membrane comprising one or more layers of polyolefin and a heat dissipation layer affixed to a surface of the microporous membrane (Cho, Abstract, [72]) wherein the heat dissipation layer comprises a phase change material including wax, an organic material, an inorganic material, or a salt (Cho, [18]), wherein the phase change material is taught to have to benefit of undergoing a phase change at the predetermined temperature so that it is possible to prevent the temperature of the electrochemical device from rising sharply above a specific temperature (Cho, [16-17]) which results in a cell being capable of maintaining optimal operating state by preventing the physical and chemical deformation of the separating film due to high temperature or accumulated heat and eventually suppressing the variation of the resistance of the electrochemical elements (Cho, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a phase change material to the heat dissipation layer of a separator configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell as taught in Cho et al. to the heat dissipation layer disclosed in Hatta et al. as doing so would be obvious to try which would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Cho and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta" as applied to claim 24 above, as evidenced by Guiton et al. (US5320990A), hereinafter "Guiton". Hatta is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely separator materials.
In regard to Claims 28-30, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 24. Hatta et al. also discloses wherein the high thermal conduction material is at least one of AIN, Si3N4, or BN (Hatta, [0081]) which are materials described in the current application as being selected for their thermal conductivity range (Original Specification, [0030]), and as evidenced by Guiton et al. the AlN selected in Hatta et al. has a thermal conductivity of at least 200 W/m-K (Guiton, Abstract) which anticipates the claimed ranges.
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta" as applied to claim 24 above. Hatta is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely separator materials.
In regard to Claim 31, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 24. While Hatta et al. discloses wherein the heat dissipation layer is configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell (Hatta, [0006, 0009]), it is silent as to the percentage of thermal propagation reduction. However, in regard to Claim 31 and the following limitations:
“wherein the heat dissipation layer is configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell by at least 50%.”
Hatta et al. discloses a battery separator comprising: a microporous membrane comprising one or more layers of polyolefin (Hatta, [0047-0048]) and a heat dissipation layer affixed to a surface of the microporous membrane (Hatta, [0042]) and that the heat dissipation layer comprises at least 2% of a high thermal conduction material and the stated goal of the layer is to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell (Hatta, [0006, 0009, 0081, 0088]), which is substantially similar to the current application (Original Specification, Claim 1). While Hatta does not specifically address the limitations in regard to the measured thermal propagation reduction, Hatta teaches a structure, which is substantially similar to those instantly claimed, absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary.
The examiner also notes no special methods are apparent in the instant disclosure that would make any properties of the underlying components and structures unique. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise. Therefore, a POSITA at the time of filing would have readily known of and could readily envision the use of a separator that has the same thermal propagation reduction and behavior.
In regard to Claim 32, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 24. Hatta et al. also discloses a heat dissipation layer on the separator and that the advantage and design incentive of the cell in Hatta is increased energy density (Hatta, [0002, 0136, 0147-0149]) which shows the skilled artisan is aware of increasing the energy density of the cell and it would be obvious to provide materials and configurations of the separator and heat dissipation layer which were also capable of increasing the energy density of the cell.
Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta" as applied to claim 37 above, in view of Cho et al. (KR 20130133444 A - Machine Translation Referenced for Citation), hereinafter "Cho". Hatta and Cho et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely separator materials.
In regard to Claims 38-39, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 37. While Hatta et al. discloses the use of resin and describes the melting point or glass transition point of the material (Hatta, [0005]) and a preferred list of materials in the heat dissipation layer which is configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell, it is silent as to the materials comprising a phase change material.
Cho et al. discloses a battery separator comprising: a microporous membrane comprising one or more layers of polyolefin and a heat dissipation layer affixed to a surface of the microporous membrane (Cho, Abstract, [72]) wherein the heat dissipation layer comprises a phase change material including wax, an organic material, an inorganic material, or a salt (Cho, [18]), wherein the phase change material is taught to have to benefit of undergoing a phase change at the predetermined temperature so that it is possible to prevent the temperature of the electrochemical device from rising sharply above a specific temperature (Cho, [16-17]) which results in a cell being capable of maintaining optimal operating state by preventing the physical and chemical deformation of the separating film due to high temperature or accumulated heat and eventually suppressing the variation of the resistance of the electrochemical elements (Cho, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a phase change material to the heat dissipation layer of a separator configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell as taught in Cho et al. to the heat dissipation layer disclosed in Hatta et al. as doing so would be obvious to try which would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Cho and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claims 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta" as applied to claim 37 above, as evidenced by Guiton et al. (US5320990A), hereinafter "Guiton". Hatta is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely separator materials.
In regard to Claims 41-43, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 37. Hatta et al. also discloses wherein the high thermal conduction material is at least one of AIN, Si3N4, or BN (Hatta, [0081]) which are materials described in the current application as being selected for their thermal conductivity range (Original Specification, [0030]), and as evidenced by Guiton et al. the AlN selected in Hatta et al. has a thermal conductivity of at least 200 W/m-K (Guiton, Abstract) which anticipates the claimed ranges.
Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta et al. (US 20160043370 A1), hereinafter "Hatta" as applied to claim 37 above. Hatta is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely separator materials.
In regard to Claim 44, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 37. While Hatta et al. discloses wherein the heat dissipation layer is configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell (Hatta, [0006, 0009]), it is silent as to the percentage of thermal propagation reduction. However, in regard to Claim 44 and the following limitations:
“wherein the heat dissipation layer is configured to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell by at least 50%.”
Hatta et al. discloses a battery separator comprising: a microporous membrane comprising one or more layers of polyolefin (Hatta, [0047-0048]) and a heat dissipation layer affixed to a surface of the microporous membrane (Hatta, [0042]) and that the heat dissipation layer comprises at least 2% of a high thermal conduction material and the stated goal of the layer is to reduce thermal propagation within a battery cell (Hatta, [0006, 0009, 0081, 0088]), which is substantially similar to the current application (Original Specification, Claim 1). While Hatta does not specifically address the limitations in regard to the measured thermal propagation reduction, Hatta teaches a structure, which is substantially similar to those instantly claimed, absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary.
The examiner also notes no special methods are apparent in the instant disclosure that would make any properties of the underlying components and structures unique. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise. Therefore, a POSITA at the time of filing would have readily known of and could readily envision the use of a separator that has the same thermal propagation reduction and behavior.
In regard to Claim 45, Hatta et al. discloses the battery separator of claim 37. Hatta et al. also discloses a heat dissipation layer on the separator and that the advantage and design incentive of the cell in Hatta is increased energy density (Hatta, [0002, 0136, 0147-0149]) which shows the skilled artisan is aware of increasing the energy density of the cell and it would be obvious to provide materials and configurations of the separator and heat dissipation layer which were also capable of increasing the energy density of the cell.
Double Patenting
Claim 24-45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-53 of copending Application No. 18/683798 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the terms that differentiate claim 27 of the reference application and claim 24 of the current application are “heat dissipation” and “heat absorption” wherein claim 39 of the reference application requires the heat absorption layer to function equivalently to a heat dissipation layer of the current invention and “high heat capacity material” and “high thermal conduction material”.
Claim 41 of the reference application is equivalent to Claim 37 of the current application besides the same terminology which is an obvious variation based on claim 51 of the reference application.
The dependent claims are identical except for the requirement of heat capacity instead of thermal conductivity however these materials may reasonably overlap and would amount to nothing more than obvious variations of the same invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725