DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process (observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) steps for observing and evaluating differences between a first and second coating, and offering a judgement/opinion on how to reduce the differences between the coatings. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because although the claim include a “user interface” a generically recited computer element does not add meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer (user interface or computer system of claim 17). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no additional steps beyond the abstract mental process. The examiner further notes that the process of paint matching is described as an “artisan” approach in the DATILLO reference below [0046], further emphasizing that a skilled artisan can perform a paint matching process mentally based upon past experience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DATTILO et al. (US 2018/0149634) in view of RODRIGUES et al. (US 2013/0071015).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 11, 17, 19 and 20,
DATTILO teaches a method of ensuring quality control for paint coatings [0007]-[0011] that includes using a camera to measure a finished paint product [0033]. The finished product is compared with data of other deposited coating (target coatings applied and analyzed at a remote facility) [0035]. The “remote facility” can include all parts/places in communication of the quality control system. The camera can further include thermometers and pressure sensors because climatic conditions are result effective variables [0008] and [0029]. The sensor suite can be electronic (digital) [0007]. The quality assurance processing module can detect if a paint coating falls within a tolerance (detecting deltas) then propose specific changes need to correct any undesirable outcome (providing feedback to reduce the deltas) [0036]-[0037]. The process can be interfaced on a mobile computing device 142 (user interface).
DATTILO teaches offering corrections to the coating based upon the database, but does not expressly teach spraying a test coating and displaying both the target coating and the test coating values on an interface. However, RODRIGUES similarly teaches a method of matching coatings abstract. The method includes identifying the target coating and comparing to a coatings from a supply center (remote facility) abstract while a test coat is made and measured (determining a test coating was applied to a second asset at the remote facility) Fig. 2. The method includes obtaining repair data from the repair facility and transmitting to a supply center which can generate a matching formula (reducing deltas) [0058]-[0061]. The color characteristics are prestored (has been applied) in a database [0085]. The coating attributes are defined by images and RGB values (digital measurement) and both the test and target coats can be displayed such that a choice can be made [0071]-[0076] and [0083]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to display the corrective values and coatings to allow a user to select an option that they believe to be best suited.
Regarding claims 2, 13, and 18,
RODRIGUES teaches the RGB values can be LAB values [0081].
Regarding claim 5,
DATTILO teaches the curing energies can be controlled [0029]. “Curing energies” is interpreted to overlap with the scope of “lighting attributes”.
Regarding claims 7 and 12,
RODRIGUES teaches displaying both test and target coats but does not expressly teach display in a grid format. However, the alignment of the display is considered to be prima facie obvious as an aesthetic design choice, MPEP 2144.04.I.
Regarding claims 8 and 9,
DATTILO teaches storing and sharing coating data between different paint facilities to identify trends and changes [0045].
Regarding claim 10,
When making a selection for correcting coating attributes, the deposition conditions are “saved” and only executed (automatically) if selected.
Regarding claim 14,
RODRIGUES teaches including data for more than one view angles [0083].
Regarding claim 15,
DATILLO teaches the corrective feedback can include spray rate [0038].
Regarding claim 16,
RODRIGUES teaches controlling appearance characteristics such as flake appearance (content) [0082].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 24 of copending Application No. 18/292,032 in view of DATILLO et al. (US 2018/0149634).
The copending claim 21 is directed to matching a “standard coating” and a “test coating” which corresponds to the claimed “target coating on a first asset” and “test coating on a second asset”, respectively. The matching is done by using digital measurements to determine coating “attributes”. The copending application identifies the mismatch but does not require any additional steps for feedback to reduce the mismatch (reducing deltas) or using environmental conditions as a variable. However, as described in the rejection above, DATILLO teaches a quality assurance processing module can detect if a paint coating falls within a tolerance (detecting deltas) then propose specific changes (including climatic changes) needed to correct any undesirable outcome (providing feedback to reduce the deltas). At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate and offer corrective actions to ensure matching between coatings to improve quality control.
Copending claim 24 is directed to the computer system with stored instructions to do the color matching method and can be similarly improved with the quality assurance corrective system of DATILLO.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712