DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/14/2024 has been entered. No claims have been added. Claims 17, 21-27 have been cancelled. Claims 1-16, 18-20, 28 remain pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2024 and 06/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-15, 18-19, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Birkl et al. US 2017/0310120 (hereinafter Birkl).
Regarding claim 1, Birkl discloses a battery management system for managing one or more second-life battery packs (¶¶ 0012, 0044, 0060-0061, 0079; rechargeable battery cells),
the system comprising one or more buffer modules (¶ 0061; the power module contains a small switch mode power supply (SMPS) which regulates the power in and out of the cell, a microcontroller which implements the control and BMS algorithms, and an output voltage bus that can be connected in parallel with other power modules to increase the energy storage capabilities of the entire system),
each buffer module for coupling (interpret as “directly or indirectly coupling to”) to a corresponding battery pack (including a battery cell),
wherein each buffer module (¶ 0014; wherein the controller is arranged to estimate a characteristic of a cell in each slot) is operatively configured to determine a type of battery pack upon detection of the corresponding battery pack being coupled thereto (¶¶ 0018-0019; the at least one characteristic may comprise one or more of: a power capability, a storage capacity, a cell impedance, an energy cell type and an energy cell chemistry), and
each buffer module including a battery pack controller for controlling charge and discharge cycles for each battery pack based on the type of battery pack as determined by the corresponding buffer module (¶¶ 0014, 0017; the controller is arranged to apply charge and discharge currents to each cell slot dependent upon at least one estimated characteristic currently associated with that slot; By estimating characteristics of the energy cells that are connected to the energy storage device, the system is able to adjust the charging and discharging currents applied to each cell so as to make the best use of the attached cells),
wherein each buffer module includes a bi-directional DC to DC converter for converting a voltage input from the corresponding battery pack to a predetermined system output voltage (¶¶ 0061-0062, 0065-0066, 0068-0069; the power module contains a small switch mode power supply (SMPS) which regulates the power in and out of the cell…and an output voltage bus that can be connected in parallel with other power modules to increase the energy storage capabilities of the entire system; the output of each bi-directional half bridge dc-dc converter 32 is a bi-directional power port which can be connected in parallel with other converters 32 and be connected to a charging source).
Regarding claim 2, Birkl discloses wherein each battery pack controller
is operatively configured to determine one or more battery parameters
associated with the corresponding battery pack to determine the type of battery
pack (¶ 0072; The upper voltage limit of the cells can be determined by detecting the chemistry of the cell, e.g. by examining the cell voltage-SOC curve for the cell (which is different for different chemistries)).
Regarding claim 3, Birkl discloses wherein the battery parameters include any one or more of an output voltage range of the corresponding battery pack (¶¶ 0010, 0018, 0020, 0029; at least one characteristic may comprise one or more of: a power capability, a storage capacity, a cell impedance, an energy cell type and an energy cell chemistry…by estimating the cell chemistry of rechargeable cells can determine the optimal cut-off voltages that are applied during charge cycles and discharge cycles to avoid over-charging and over-discharging), and a number of battery modules in the corresponding battery pack.
Regarding claim 8, Birkl discloses wherein each battery pack includes a plurality of battery modules (¶ 0061; each cell with an individual power module), and the battery management system (fig. 7, element 130; BMS) further comprises one or more interface modules (interfacing with the battery cell 120), each interface module being configured to interface with the battery modules of a corresponding battery pack (see fig. 7; one of the interfaces is shown).
Regarding claim 9, Birkl discloses wherein each interface module
includes a plurality of switching assemblies (fig. 7, element 135, 136) for connecting the battery modules in each corresponding battery pack to the corresponding buffer module (¶ 0088),
wherein the battery pack controller is operatively configured to sequentially determine whether each battery module within the corresponding battery pack is defective, and disconnecting the battery module from the buffer module upon determining that the battery module is defective (¶¶ 0035, 0043; the controller may also or alternatively perform a full charge/discharge cycle immediately upon startup and/or after a reset operation, e.g. upon detection of one or more individual cells being replaced).
Regarding claim 10, Birkl discloses wherein the battery pack
controller determines whether each battery module is defective by determining
whether the battery module has an output voltage within a predetermined
voltage tolerance range (¶ 0077; if the cell voltage of the newly inserted cell is below a minimum preset value (e.g. 1.5 V) and the cell voltage rises rapidly when a charging current is applied and reaches an upper voltage limit of 3.6 V within a few seconds or minutes, the cell may be identified as unsuitable for operation and the user is informed by an indicator, e.g. an LED light. Similar procedures may be used to identify cells that have become unsuitable over time and need to be replaced).
Regarding claim 11, Birkl discloses wherein the battery pack controller is operatively configured to sequentially charge or discharge each battery module one at a time (¶¶ 0035, 0043; the controller may also or alternatively perform a full charge/discharge cycle immediately upon startup and/or after a reset operation, e.g. upon detection of one or more individual cells being replaced).
Regarding claim 12, Birkl discloses wherein the battery management system is configured to connect two or more battery packs in parallel (see fig. 1 below and ¶ 0062; each power module 10a- 10c are connected in parallel and connected to input/output port 50), and connect each battery pack to the common DC bus (see fig. 1 below) via the corresponding buffer module (comprising a power stage 30).
Regarding claim 13, Birkl discloses the battery management system further comprising one or more capacitors (fig. 2, element C1) coupled to the common DC bus for holding a voltage on the common DC bus generally constant while switching between battery modules within each battery pack (C1, the filter capacitor is able to reduce voltage ripple and smooth voltage fluctuation at the battery-side output caused by the switching operation of transistors [fig. 7, elements 135, 136]).
Regarding claim 14, Birkl discloses the battery management system further including a system controller for determining control parameters for communication with each battery pack controller based on voltage and current values detected on the common DC bus (¶¶ 0010, 0017, 0022; battery management systems (or supercapacitor management systems, or more generally energy cell management systems, all of which will be covered here by the abbreviation BMS normally applied to Battery Management Systems) typically involve voltage and/or current monitoring and temperature sensors to detect overheating, over- or under-voltage and over-current, and to prevent charging in adverse conditions such as low temperatures…the controller is arranged to apply charge and discharge currents to each cell slot at a rate dependent on the estimated cell capacity currently associated with that slot),
the control parameters including any one or more of an operating state of the battery management system, the operating state including a charge state, a discharge state and an idle state (¶ 0014; the controller is arranged to apply charge and discharge currents to each cell slot dependent upon at least one estimated characteristic currently
associated with that slot), a charge power setpoint for each battery pack controller, and a discharge power setpoint for each battery pack controller (¶ 0035; the energy storage device is periodically fully discharged and/or fully charged, i.e. charged/discharged between its minimum and maximum capacity limits).
Regarding claim 15, Birkl discloses wherein each battery pack controller is operatively configured to detect an operating fault associated with the corresponding battery pack or corresponding buffer module (¶ 0035; The controller may also or
alternatively perform a full charge/discharge cycle immediately upon startup and/or after a reset operation, e.g. upon detection of one or more individual cells being replaced), and
assign a fault status for the corresponding buffer module upon detection of the operating fault (¶ 0043; Upon such identification, a signal or alert may be provided to the user (e.g. an LED light or an audible alarm or buzzer) to indicate that the
identified cell should be replaced), and the system controller is operatively configured to exclude the buffer module associated with a fault status in use (¶ 0043; only using an LED light or an audible alarm or buzzer).
Regarding claim 18, Birkl discloses a battery system comprising
a plurality of battery packs (¶¶ 0012, 0044, 0060-0061, 0079; rechargeable battery cells),
a plurality of buffer modules (¶ 0061; the power module contains a small switch mode power supply (SMPS) which regulates the power in and out of the cell, a microcontroller which implements the control and BMS algorithms, and an output voltage bus that can be connected in parallel with other power modules to increase the energy storage capabilities of the entire system),
each buffer module being configured for coupling to (interpret as “directly or indirectly coupling to”) a corresponding battery pack (including a battery cell),
wherein each buffer module (¶ 0014; wherein the controller is arranged to estimate a characteristic of a cell in each slot) is operatively configured to determine a type of battery pack upon detection of the corresponding battery pack being coupled thereto (¶¶ 0018-0019; the at least one characteristic may comprise one or more of: a power capability, a storage capacity, a cell impedance, an energy cell type and an energy cell chemistry),
each buffer module including a battery pack controller for controlling charge and discharge cycles for each battery pack based on the type of battery pack as determined by the corresponding buffer module (¶¶ 0014, 0017; the controller is arranged to apply charge and discharge currents to each cell slot dependent upon at least one estimated characteristic currently associated with that slot; By estimating characteristics of the energy cells that are connected to the energy storage device, the system is able to adjust the charging and discharging currents applied to each cell so as to make the best use of the attached cells),
wherein each buffer module includes a bi-directional DC to DC converter for converting a voltage input from the corresponding battery pack to a predetermined system output voltage (¶¶ 0061-0062, 0065-0066, 0068-0069; the power module contains a small switch mode power supply (SMPS) which regulates the power in and out of the cell…and an output voltage bus that can be connected in parallel with other power modules to increase the energy storage capabilities of the entire system; the output of each bi-directional half bridge dc-dc converter 32 is a bi-directional power port which can be connected in parallel with other converters 32 and be connected to a charging source).
Regarding claim 19, Birkl discloses wherein each battery pack controller is operatively configured to determine one or more battery parameters associated with the corresponding battery pack to determine the type of battery pack (¶¶ 0018-0019; the at least one characteristic may comprise one or more of: a power capability, a storage capacity, a cell impedance, an energy cell type and an energy cell chemistry), and
wherein the battery parameters include any one or more of an output voltage range of the corresponding battery pack (¶¶ 0010, 0018, 0020, 0029; at least one characteristic may comprise one or more of: a power capability, a storage capacity, a cell impedance, an energy cell type and an energy cell chemistry…by estimating the cell chemistry of rechargeable cells can determine the optimal cut-off voltages that are applied during charge cycles and discharge cycles to avoid over-charging and over-discharging), and a number of battery modules in the corresponding battery pack.
Regarding claim 28, Birkl discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of battery packs has a differing battery pack chemistry (¶ 0020; The controller may operate different charge/discharge schemes for different cell types. Estimating (or identifying)
cell chemistries is also important for determining other parameters that may apply to the cell) and/or (interpret as “or”) topology to one or more of the other battery packs in the plurality of battery packs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birkl in view of Miller (US Patent 6,320,358).
Regarding claim 4, Birkl does not disclose wherein the converter is configured to receive a voltage input from the corresponding battery pack having an operating voltage range of generally between 14 to 36 volts.
Miller further discloses wherein the converter (Col. 3, lines 29-31; universal bidirectional DC-DC converter 200) is configured to receive a voltage input from the corresponding battery pack having an operating voltage range of generally between 14 to 36 volts (Col. 3, lines 7-8 and claim 10; the nominal voltages of the first and
second voltage supply terminals are 12 volts and 36 volts).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birkl to incorporate with the teaching of Miller by including 12 volts and 36 volts nominal voltages supply terminals in the system, because it would be advantageous to increase the effectiveness of the whole system.
Claim(s) 5-7, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birkl.
Regarding claim 5, Birkl does not disclose wherein the converter is configured to provide a predetermined system output voltage of about 48 volts DC from the corresponding battery pack. However, to choose a predetermined system output voltage of about 48 volts DC from the battery pack absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” value of the nominal voltage of the battery pack, as stated above, that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the desired accuracy and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art in order to provide sufficient amount of voltage to a higher load. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.04 and 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Birkl does not disclose wherein the converter is configured to provide a predetermined power output of about 500W from the corresponding battery pack. However, to choose a predetermined power output of about 500W from the corresponding battery pack , absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” value of the a predetermined power output from the battery pack, as stated above, that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the desired accuracy and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art in order to provide sufficient amount of voltage to a higher load. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.04 and 2144.05.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Birkl discloses wherein the converter (¶ 0062; a bi-directional DC-DC converter) is coupled to (indirectly coupled to) a discharge resistor for discharging a corresponding battery pack at end of life (¶¶ 0035, 0043, 0077; the storage device may achieve this by outputting a signal to the user to perform a full discharge/charge cycle or it may automatically ensure such a cycle by draining all cells, or a certain number of cells, through an internal load).
Birkl discloses the internal load except for the resistor. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the resistor since the examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalence of the internal load and the resistor for their use in the battery equalization art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to perform fully discharge cycle would be with the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birkl in view of Wang et al. US 2015/0221993 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 16, Birkl fails to disclose wherein the system controller is a
master controller, and each battery pack controller is a slave device for
receiving control signals from the master controller, and wherein each slave
device is configured to sample the corresponding battery pack and update the
master controller with battery parameters associated with the corresponding
battery pack.
However, Wang further discloses wherein the system controller is a
master controller (abstract and ¶ 0040: master battery management unit), and each battery pack controller is a slave device (301, 302, 303) for receiving control signals from the master controller (¶ 0034; The power management device 40 can further communicate with a battery management unit having a specified battery ID by identifying battery ID to manage the rechargeable battery set connected with the battery management unit), and wherein each slave device is configured to sample the corresponding battery pack and update the master controller with battery parameters associated with the corresponding battery pack (¶¶ 0030, 0035, 0040-0042; if the power management device 40 wants to know the discharge voltage value and remaining capacity of the third rechargeable battery set 313 at this moment, it is only to identify a corresponding battery ID is HYC003; a managing element 3012 is electrically connected to the measuring element 3011 for accumulating received physical measurement
data, calculating received battery set capacity related value, sending the physical measurement data, battery detected physical data and battery set capacity related value, and battery capacity related value and controlling the rechargeable battery set 311 when a commend from the power management device 40 is received).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Birkl to incorporate with the teaching of Wang by including a master-slave type battery management system as suggested Wang, because it would be advantageous to accurately detect capacity gauge of battery packs and extend the lifetime of whole system.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 10/10/2026