DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of the compound A species and the mixture species comprising a polyfunctional isocyanate, an epoxy resin and a cure accelerator in the reply filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are not separate species. This is not found persuasive because the species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies). Moreover, applicants have not submitted evidence or identified such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admitted on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicants timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 16, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear whether the “polyfunctional” term defining the isocyanate refers to plural isocyanate functional groups or to more than one type of functional groups inclusive of non-isocyanate functional groups. That is, it is unclear whether a polyisocyanate is being claimed.
In claim 2, it is unclear how the hexahydrophthalic acid diglycidyl ester further defines the glycidyl ether per claim 1.
In claims 3 and 7, the term "preferably" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 5, it is unclear whether the “above mentioned polyisocyanates” defining the isocyanate based prepolymers refer only to the antecedently-recited polyphenylene polymethylene polyisocyanate or modified polyisocyanates.
In claim 9, there is no express antecedent basis from claim 1 for either “fibers” or “electrical components”.
In claim 15, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 15, it is unclear how the articles per claim 12, which are already electrical components encapsulated with the reaction resin mixture, further define an encapsulation material for electrical components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-9, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 4631306 (Markert).
As to claims 1 and 2, Markert discloses a heat-curable reaction mixture D suitable as an insulating material comprising:
a) a polyepoxide inclusive of cycloaliphatic epoxies such as hexahydrophthalic acid diglycidyl ester (HHGE) (C9:61-62, Tables 10 and 11) (meets Applicants’ epoxy compound A);
b) a polyisocyanate (meets Applicants’ polyfunctional isocyanate); and
c) a boron trichloride-amine complex hardening catalyst (Table 10) (meets Applicants’ boron trichloride-amine complex cure accelerator) (e.g., abstract, C2:11, C9:61-C10:11, Tables 6 and 10-12, examples, claims).
Markert discloses the heat-curable reaction mixtures are suitable as casting and impregnating materials in the electrical industry (e.g., C1:12-30, C7:68, examples), but does not expressly teach using them for impregnating or encapsulating coils, stators or rotors in electric engines. Case law holds that if the prior art fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, that said preambular statement is of no significance to claim construction. The intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP.§ 2111.01.
As to claim 3, Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture D has a mole ratio of epoxy to isocyanate groups (EP:IC) of 1:1 (meets Applicants ratio).
As to claims 4 and 5, Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture D comprises the aromatic isomeric diphenylmethanediisocyanate (MDI) (Table 10) which necessarily includes 2,4’ MDI and 4,4’-MDI.
As to claims 6 and 7, Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture D comprises 2.0 wt.% boron trichloride-dimethylbenzylamine adduct (BCl3/DMBA).
As to claim 8, Markert discloses heat cured compositions (Examples 1 to 5).
As to claims 9 and 12, Markert discloses casting the heat-curable reaction mixture D onto a rod (i.e., electrical component) followed by curing at 200°C (Examples 1 to 5).
Claim 11 is included in this rejection as it merely defines the alternative fiber embodiment which is optional.
As to claim 15, Markert discloses the heat-curable reaction mixtures are suitable as casting and impregnating materials in the electrical industry.
Markert anticipates the above rejected claims in that it is reasonably believed that the exemplified heat-curable reaction mixture D is capable of performing the presently claimed intended use. In the alternative, given that Markert discloses the reaction mixtures are used as casting and impregnating materials in the electrical industry, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use them for casting or impregnating any suitable electrical component (inclusive of those presently claimed) with the reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4631306 (Markert) described hereinabove in view of US 4220731 (Zuppinger) and US 5036135 (von Gentzkow)
Further as to claims 1 and 2, Markert discloses the use of (cyclo)aliphatic epoxides (C9:61-63) which implicitly include the presently claimed glycidyl ethers of (cyclo)aliphatic polyalcohols. In this regard, Zuppinger, directed to similar-such heat-curable reaction mixtures, discloses the viable use of polyglycidyl ethers obtained by etherification of (cyclo)aliphatic diols such as butylene glycol, hexane diol, glycerol, etc. (e.g., abstract, C2:65-C3;5). Further as to the presently claimed use, von Gentzkow discloses similar-such heat-curable reaction mixtures are used for the casting and encasing of electronic components such as windings and printed circuit boards (e.g., abstract, C2:1-2, C7:14-22). Thus, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to use Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture in similar applications.
As to claim 3, Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture D has a mole ratio of epoxy to isocyanate groups (EP:IC) of 1:1 (meets Applicants ratio).
As to claims 4 and 5, Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture D comprises the aromatic isomeric diphenylmethanediisocyanate (MDI) (Table 10) which necessarily includes 2,4’ MDI and 4,4’-MDI.
As to claims 6 and 7, Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture D comprises 2.0 wt.% boron trichloride-dimethylbenzylamine adduct (BCl3/DMBA).
As to claim 8, Markert discloses heat cured compositions (Examples 1 to 5).
As to claims 9, 10 and 12, Markert discloses casting the heat-curable reaction mixture D onto a rod (i.e., electrical component) followed by curing at 200°C (Examples 1 to 5). Moreover, given von Gentzkow’s disclosure, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to use Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture in similar applications, e.g., for the casting and encasing of electronic components such as windings and printed circuit boards
Claim 11 is included in this rejection as it merely defines the alternative fiber embodiment which is optional.
As to claim 15, Markert discloses the heat-curable reaction mixtures are suitable as casting and impregnating materials in the electrical industry. In view of von Gentzkow’s disclosure, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to use Markert’s heat-curable reaction mixture in similar applications.
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765