DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16, 18, 20-22, 24-26, 28, 29 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16, 18 in the reply filed on 07/16/25 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 20-22, 24-26, 28, 29 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hierarchical Structures, with Submillimeter Patterns, Micrometer Wrinkles, and Nanoscale Decorations, Suppress Biofouling and Enable Rapid Droplet Digitization (hereinafter Hierarch).
The Hierarch reference is prior art because it includes inventors that are not amongst the present inventors and was available to the public on the received date of August 10, 2020 (see publication history in the upper right portion of page 2) (See MPEP 2128.02(II)).
Hierarch discloses an article comprising a material having a surface (as in claim 18) formed by heat shrinking a polystyrene substrate (as in claim 2) provided with a polysiloxane layer having a filament/rod shaped structure/nanoscale feature (i.e., the fluoroalkyl chain on the silane monomer that forms the polysiloxane portion of the material) (as in claims 5-6) that has microscale and nanoscale features as claimed and a hierarchical structure as claimed as well as superhydrophobic properties (thus antifouling for water based foulants as in claim 13 and repellent to water based liquids comprising biospecies as in claim 16) by heating shrinking the substrate after the siloxane coating has been applied (see title, abstract, second paragraph of section 2.1 and reagents section of conclusion).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Flexible Hierarchical Wraps Repel Drug-Resistant Gram-Negative and Positive Bacteria (hereinafter Flexible).
Flexible discloses an article comprising a material having a surface (as in claim 18) formed by heat shrinking a polystyrene substrate (as in claim 2) provided with a polysiloxane layer having a filament/rod shaped structure/nanoscale feature (i.e., the fluoroalkyl chain on the silane monomer that forms the polysiloxane portion of the material) (as in claims 5-6) that has microscale and nanoscale features as claimed and a hierarchical structure as claimed as well as superhydrophobic properties (thus antifouling for water based foulants as in claim 13 and repellent to water based liquids comprising biospecies as in claim 16) by heating shrinking the substrate after the siloxane coating has been applied (see title, abstract, FIG. 1, page 456-457, 461).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hierarchical Structures, with Submillimeter Patterns, Micrometer Wrinkles, and Nanoscale Decorations, Suppress Biofouling and Enable Rapid Droplet Digitization (hereinafter Hierarch) as applied to claim 1 in view of McLane et al. (U.S. 2016/0158969).
Regarding claim 4, Hierarch discloses all of the above subject matter but does not explicitly disclose that the polymer substrate is bidirectionally strained prior to heat shrinking. However, Hierarch discloses that the micro/nano/hierarchical structure is formed on the planar surface via the heat shrinking and the heat shrinking occurs in the direction(s) that the polymer substrate is stretched/strained/oriented. Thus, because the micro/nano/hierarchical structure is disclosed as being desirable in the substrate of Hierarch and because the structure is applied to a 2-dimensional surface, it would have been obvious to have used a bidirectionally strained substrate (as opposed to a substrate strained in only one direction) so that the micro/nano/hierarchical structure would be provided in both dimension of the 2-dimensional structure/surface.
Additionally, although this is already obvious as explained above, McLane is also directed to superhydrophobic surfaces created via heat shrinking a polymer substrate to form micro and nano scale features and teaches that the substrate may be shrunk in 2 directions to provide the desired shrinking and resulting micro and nano scale features (see abstract, [0060]-[0064]) which would require that the substrate is pre-strained in those directions to provide 2 directions of shrinking. Thus, it would have been obvious to have used a 2 directional heat shrinking/strained polymer substrate for the material of Hierarch because McLane teaches that 2 directions of shrinking provides the desired micro and nano scale features.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hierarchical Structures, with Submillimeter Patterns, Micrometer Wrinkles, and Nanoscale Decorations, Suppress Biofouling and Enable Rapid Droplet Digitization (hereinafter Hierarch) as applied to claim 1 in view of Polysiloxane Nanofilaments Infused with Silicone Oil Prevent Bacterial Adhesion and Suppress Thrombosis on Intranasal Splints (hereinafter Polysiloxane).
The Polysiloxane reference is prior art because it includes inventors that are not amongst the present inventors and was available to the public on the received date of October 15, 2020 (see publication history in the bottom right portion of page 1) (See MPEP 2128.02(II)).
Regarding claim 8-11, Hierarch discloses all of the above subject matter but does not disclose using a non-fluorinated polysiloxane to form the superhydrophobic surface. However, Polysiloxane is also directed to superhydrophobic surfaces based on filament/rod shaped nanoscale features (i.e., alkyl chains on a silane monomer compared to the fluoroalkyl chain on the silane monomer in the primary reference) and teaches that a fluorine free and highly stable coating may be achieved by using propyltrichlorosilane (as in claims 8-10) on a plasma treated substrate followed by an optional silicone oil lubricant to provide superhydrophobicity and prevent bacterial adhesion for medical devices (see abstract, FIG. 1, pages 542-543). Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the alkyl chain silane monomers and optional silicone lubricant applied onto a plasma treated substrate instead of the fluorosilane coating of Hierarch because Polysiloxane teaches that such materials are able to provide superhydrophobicity and prevent bacterial adhesion for medical devices and also avoid the use of fluorine materials and also provide nanoscale chains as desired by Hierarch. As taught by Hierarch, the silane coating (i.e., the alkylsilane coating from Polysiloxane) would be applied before shrinking the substrate. The resulting material would inherently have the properties of claim 11 because it includes the same silane materials, substrate materials, surface activation via plasma, and heat shrinking steps as in the present application, which aspects are shown in the present application as resulting in the claimed properties.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flexible Hierarchical Wraps Repel Drug-Resistant Gram-Negative and Positive Bacteria (hereinafter Flexible), as applied to claim 1, in view of McLane et al. (U.S. 2016/0158969).
Regarding claim 4, Flexible discloses all of the above subject matter but does not explicitly disclose that the polymer substrate is bidirectionally strained prior to heat shrinking. However, Flexible discloses that the micro/nano/hierarchical structure is formed on the planar surface via the heat shrinking and the heat shrinking occurs in the direction(s) that the polymer substrate is stretched/strained/oriented. Thus, because the micro/nano/hierarchical structure is disclosed as being desirable in the substrate of Flexible and because the structure is applied to a 2-dimensional surface, it would have been obvious to have used a bidirectionally strained substrate (as opposed to a substrate strained in only one direction) so that the micro/nano/hierarchical structure would be provided in both dimension of the 2-dimensional structure/surface.
Additionally, although this is already obvious as explained above, McLane is also directed to superhydrophobic surfaces created via heat shrinking a polymer substrate to form micro and nano scale features and teaches that the substrate may be shrunk in 2 directions to provide the desired shrinking and resulting micro and nano scale features (see abstract, [0060]-[0064]) which would require that the substrate is pre-strained in those directions to provide 2 directions of shrinking. Thus, it would have been obvious to have used a 2 directional heat shrinking/strained polymer substrate for the material of Flexible because McLane teaches that 2 directions of shrinking provides the desired micro and nano scale features.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flexible Hierarchical Wraps Repel Drug-Resistant Gram-Negative and Positive Bacteria (hereinafter Flexible) as applied to claim 1 in view of Polysiloxane Nanofilaments Infused with Silicone Oil Prevent Bacterial Adhesion and Suppress Thrombosis on Intranasal Splints (hereinafter Polysiloxane).
The Polysiloxane reference is prior art because it includes inventors that are not amongst the present inventors and was available to the public on the received date of October 15, 2020 (see publication history in the bottom right portion of page 1) (See MPEP 2128.02(II)).
Regarding claim 8-11, Flexible discloses all of the above subject matter but does not disclose using a non-fluorinated polysiloxane to form the superhydrophobic surface. However, Polysiloxane is also directed to superhydrophobic surfaces based on filament/rod shaped nanoscale features (i.e., alkyl chains on a silane monomer compared to the fluoroalkyl chain on the silane monomer in the primary reference) and teaches that a fluorine free and highly stable coating may be achieved by using propyltrichlorosilane (as in claims 8-10) on a plasma treated substrate followed by an optional silicone oil lubricant to provide superhydrophobicity and prevent bacterial adhesion for medical devices (see abstract, FIG. 1, pages 542-543). Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the alkyl chain silane monomers and optional silicone lubricant applied onto a plasma treated substrate instead of the fluorosilane coating of Flexible because Polysiloxane teaches that such materials are able to provide superhydrophobicity and prevent bacterial adhesion for medical devices and also avoid the use of fluorine materials and also provide nanoscale chains as desired by Flexible. As taught by Flexible, the silane coating (i.e., the alkylsilane coating from Polysiloxane) would be applied before shrinking the substrate. The resulting material would inherently have the properties of claim 11 because it includes the same silane materials, substrate materials, surface activation via plasma, and heat shrinking steps as in the present application, which aspects are shown in the present application as resulting in the claimed properties.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787