DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ubara et al. (US 6,689,437).
Regarding claims 17-20:
Ubara discloses molded products comprising oxygen-absorbing materials, including an oxidizable resin (abstract; 1:5+; 2:20+). The oxidizable resin comprises a polyamide containing at least 70 mol% of metaxylylene (MXD) or a mixture of metaxylylene and paraxylylene, and C6-C10 aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (2:33+). Example 21 discloses a polyamide made from MXD, adipic acid, and sebacic acid in a mole ratio of 100:90:10 (15:50+). Example 24 discloses a polyamide made from MXD, adipic acid, and sebacic acid in a mole ratio of 100:80:20 (16:15+). These examples were then used in the same manner as Example 1, which included blow molding the polyamide with layers of PET, wherein the molding process included a biaxial stretch (8:65+; 16:47+).
Ubara teaches layers of low-density polyethylene (LDPE) can be used with layers of its oxygen-absorbing materials (10:21+; 10:60+). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use LDPE as an additional layer in Ubara’s because the reference teaches such layers can be used with its invention.
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ubara et al. (US 6,689,437) in view of Longo et al. (US 2004/0009360).
Regarding claims 21-24:
Ubara discloses molded products comprising oxygen-absorbing materials, including an oxidizable resin (abstract; 1:5+; 2:20+). The oxidizable resin comprises a polyamide containing at least 70 mol% of metaxylylene (MXD) or a mixture of metaxylylene and paraxylylene, and C6-C10 aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (2:33+). Example 21 discloses a polyamide made from MXD, adipic acid, and sebacic acid in a mole ratio of 100:90:10 (15:50+). Example 24 discloses a polyamide made from MXD, adipic acid, and sebacic acid in a mole ratio of 100:80:20 (16:15+). These examples were then used in the same manner as Example 1, which included blow molding the polyamide with layers of PET, wherein the molding process included a biaxial stretch (8:65+; 16:47+). Ubara teaches layers of polyamide 6 can be substituted for the layers of polyester (3:1-55) and further teaches layers of low-density polyethylene (LDPE) can be used with layers of its oxygen-absorbing materials (10:21+; 10:60+).
Ubara is silent with regard to an adhesive layer comprising acid-modified polyolefin.
Such adhesive layers were known in the art to have utility. For example, Longo discloses multilayer thermoplastic films comprising a polyamide layer and other layers [abstract; 0001]. The reference teaches it was known in the art to use acid-modified polyolefin as a tie (adhesive) layer between layers of the film [0049; 0075].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an acid-modified polyolefin between the layers of Ubara’s film to provide additional adhesion between the layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
As explained above, Ubara (US 6,689,437) discloses molded products comprising oxygen-absorbing materials, including an oxidizable resin (abstract; 1:5+; 2:20+). The oxidizable resin comprises a polyamide containing at least 70 mol% of metaxylylene (MXD) or a mixture of metaxylylene and paraxylylene, and C6-C10 aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (2:33+).
Ubara, however, discloses a key feature to achieving the oxygen-absorbing properties is a metal catalyst that catalyzes oxidation of the oxidizable polymer (1:60+; 6:50+). The catalyst comprises transition metals (3:63+). Therefore, the reference teaches away from the invention of claim 1, which requires “the stretched film being free from a compound containing a transition metal element.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the examiner agrees with Applicant that “Ubara et al teaches away from the absence of a transition metal compound” as explained above (p8).
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues Ubara discloses a layer of ethylene-vinyl alcohol, but not a layer of one of the claimed polyolefins (p8).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the new rejections, Ubara discloses LDPE layers can be used with its invention. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have found the use of such layers an obvious modification of the reference.
Regarding claim 21, Applicant argues Ubara does not disclose an adhesive layer comprising an acid-modified polyolefin (p8-9).
While the examiner agrees Ubara is silent with regard to an adhesive layer comprising acid=modified polyolefin, the examiner submits such layers were known to those skilled in the art. For example, Longo discloses the use of such layers in multilayer films to provide adhesion between the layers. Therefore, on skilled in the art would have found the use of such adhesive layers an obvious modification of Ubara.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787