Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“to control rotation of either one of the nozzle…serving as a rotated member” in lines 13-14 of claim 1 and lines 12-13 of claim 9; “by rotating either one of the nozzle…as a rotated member” in lines 2-3 of claim 5.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (JP2017206365A).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 7-8, Tanaka discloses a wire winding device, wire winding method, and manufacturing method for winding a wire rod (X; Figures 1-5) delivered from a nozzle (Y) around a winding core (11), the wire winding device comprising: the nozzle (Y) configured to deliver the wire rod (X) from a tip end portion thereof; a spindle (13a) configured to hold the winding core (11) at a tip end portion thereof, the winding core (11) having a winding body portion (11a) and a flange portion (11b), during a winding process in which the winding body portion (11a) being configured such that the wire rod (X) delivered from the nozzle (Y) is wound around the winding body portion (11a), the flange portion (11b) being provided at one end side of the winding body portion (11a); an image acquisition device (3) capable of acquiring an image including both the flange portion (11b) and the wire rod (X) during a winding process in which the wire rod (X) is being wound around the winding body portion (11a) from another end side of the winding body portion (11a) towards the flange portion (11b); and a control circuit (4) configured to control rotation of the winding core (11) serving as a rotated member (bobbin 11), wherein during the winding process, the control circuit (4) extracts an edge of the wire rod wound around the winding body portion (11a) and an end surface of the flange portion (11b) from the image, measure and calculates a distance from the edge of the wire rod (X) to the end surface as a space length (page 8, ¶2-3, the axial distance between the wire and flange portion is measured), computes a required rotation angle of the rotated member (bobbin 11) based on the space length and rotates the rotated member by the required rotation angle (page 8, ¶2-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Spinosi (EP0602504A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Tanaka discloses wherein the required rotation angle is set to a rotation angle of the rotated member (bobbin 11) that is required for the rotated member to rotate when the space length is measured when the edge of the wire rod (X) wound around the winding body portion (11a) comes into contact with the flange portion (11b), but fails to teach wherein the required rotation angle is set for the rotated member to rotate during a time period from a time when the space length is measured to a time when the edge of the wire rod wound around the winding body portion comes into contact with the flange portion.
Spinosi teaches a similar wire winding device and further teaches wherein the required rotation speed is set for the rotated member (8; Figure 4) to rotate during a time period from a time when the space length (from wire Q to flange 8b) is measured to a time when the edge of the wire rod (Q) wound around the winding body portion comes into contact with the flange portion (8b; column 7, line 38 – column 9, line 46, angular rotation relative to time is controlled between distance of the wire relative to the flange portion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire winding device of Tanaka to include required rotation angle during a time period in order to provide controlled rotational speed of the rotated member prior of the wire making contact with the flange portion to prevent binding or unwanted overlap. Furthermore, Spinosi teaches wherein the angular rotation over time is controlled relative to the distance between the wire and flange portion to control wire reversal direction when the wire contacts the flange portion.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Saito (US8857752B2).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka discloses the above wire winding device, but fails to teach wherein at least one of the winding body portion and the flange portion is made of resin.
Saito teaches a similar wire winding device and further teaches wherein at least one of the winding body portion (6a; Figure 4) and the flange portion (6b) is made of resin (column 1, lines 59-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire winding device of Tanaka to include the winding body portion and flange portion made of resin as taught by Saito in order to provide an insulating and protective barrier between the wire and core surfaces to prevent or reduce damage and electrical conductance.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Kojima (JPS617176A).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka discloses the above wire winding device, but fails to teach wherein during the winding process, the control circuit recognizes, from the image, a first line segment extending along the end surface of the flange portion, a second line segment extending along an upper end of the winding body portion, and a third line segment extending along the edge of the wire rod wound around the winding body portion, and calculates, as the space length, a distance between the first line segment and the third line segment, in parallel with the second line segment, at a position separated from the second line segment by a preset specified distance.
Kojima teaches a similar wire winding device and further teaches wherein during the winding process, the control circuit (14; Figure 2a) recognizes, from the image, a first line segment (1S; see Kojima annotated Figure 2b below) extending along the end surface of the flange portion (21), a second line segment (2S) extending along an upper end of the winding body portion (drum section of drum 2), and a third line segment (3S) extending along the edge of the wire rod (1) wound around the winding body portion, and calculates, as the space length, a distance (x) between the first line segment (1S) and the third line segment (3S), in parallel with the second line segment (2S), at a position separated from the second line segment (2S) by a preset specified distance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wire winding device of Tanaka to include the control circuit as taught by Kojima in order to accurately obtain a comparison measurement of the wire distance in relation to the flange portion prior to the wire making contact with the flange portion.
Kojima, Annotated Figure 2b
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the entire combination of elements set forth including for disclosing wherein the camera and the mirror are arranged such that a viewing direction of the image acquisition device, which is a direction from a center of the camera toward a center of the mirror, is set to be parallel to a direction of a rotation axis of the winding core held by the spindle.
Tanaka discloses a wire winding device for winding a wire rod (X) delivered from a nozzle (Y) around a winding core (11), the wire winding device comprising: the nozzle (Y), configured to deliver the wire rod (X) from a tip end portion thereof; a spindle (13a) configured to hold the winding core (11) at a tip end portion thereof, the winding core (11) having a winding body portion (11a) and a flange portion (11b), the winding body portion (11a) being configured such that the wire rod (X) delivered from the nozzle (Y) is wound around the winding body portion (11a), and the flange portion (11b) is provided on one end side of the winding body portion (11a); an image acquisition device (3) having a camera (page 8, ¶2), the camera being capable of acquiring an image of the object (profile of wire X and core 11) during a winding process in which the wire rod (X) is being wound around the winding body portion (11a) towards the flange portion (11b), the object including both the flange portion (11b) and the wire rod (X); and a control circuit (4) configured to control rotation of the winding core serving as a rotated member (bobbin 11), but fails to teach a mirror disposed between the camera and an object, wherein the camera and the mirror are arranged such that a viewing direction of the image acquisition device, which is a direction from a center of the camera toward a center of the mirror, is set to be parallel to a direction of a rotation axis of the winding core held by the spindle, and the mirror is arranged such that the mirror redirects a light in the viewing direction from a lens of the camera to a center of the object of the image. Buluschek (CH653654A5) teaches a similar wire winding device and further teaches a mirror (31; Figure 4) disposed between the camera (28) and an object (1; Figure 6), and the mirror (31) is arranged such that the mirror (31) redirects a light in the viewing direction from a lens of the camera (28) to a center of the object of the image, but fails to teach wherein the camera and the mirror are arranged such that a viewing direction of the image acquisition device, which is a direction from a center of the camera toward a center of the mirror, is set to be parallel to a direction of a rotation axis of the winding core held by the spindle.
Claims 10-14 are allowable because they are dependents of claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654