DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 23-25, without traverse in the reply filed on 08/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-22 and 26 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/12/2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the thermosetting compound" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claims 23 and 25 do not recite the limitation “a thermosetting compound”. Since claim 24 recites the limitation “a thermosetting compound” in lines 1-2, for further examination of the claims, claim 25 is interpreted as depending from claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakita et al. (JP 2020-037651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/16/2026).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 10, Wakita teaches a (meth)acrylate resin obtained by esterifying a phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with (meth)acrylic acid halide [0008, 0012], wherein the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is an aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin that has been modified with phenols [0008, 0026], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is obtained by reacting an aromatic hydrocarbon with formaldehyde [0027], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon is at least one selected from benzene, toluene, xylene, mesitylene, ethylbenzene, and propylbenzene [0027], wherein the phenols are at least one selected from phenol, cresol, xylenol, butylphenol, octylphenol, and nonylphenol [0029], which reads on a resin having constituent units described in Group (1) wherein R1’s each independently represent a methylene group, R2 represents an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, R3, R4, and R5 each independently represent an alkyl group having 1, 4, 8, or 9 carbon atoms, R6 independently represents a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, R7 and R8 each independently represent a hydrogen atom, R9 represents a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a halogenated alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a hydroxy group, a hydroxyalkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, or an aryl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms, v represents 1, w represents a number of 1 to 3, and x, y, and z each independently represent a number of 0 to 2, a, b, c, and d each independently represent a molar ratio of the constituent unit, wherein a is a number of 1 or more, b is a number of 0 or more, c is a number of 1 or more, and d is a number of 0, R1s may be bonded to each other to form a crosslinked structure, and * represents a position of bonding to another constituent or an end group as claimed, wherein in Group (1), R3, R4, and R5 are each independently an alkyl group having 1, 4, 8, or 9 carbon atoms as claimed, wherein an end group of the resin is selected from a hydrogen atom and a hydroxyl group as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Wakita teaches a (meth)acrylate resin obtained by esterifying a phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with (meth)acrylic acid halide [0008, 0012], wherein the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is an aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin that has been modified with phenols [0008, 0026], wherein the phenols are at least one selected from phenol, cresol, xylenol, butylphenol, octylphenol, and nonylphenol [0029], which reads on a specific embodiment wherein the (meth)acrylate resin is a methacrylate resin, and the (meth)acrylic acid halide is methacrylic acid halide, which reads on wherein in Group (1), R6 is a methyl group, and R7 and R8 are hydrogen atoms.
Regarding claim 4, Wakita teaches that the phenols are at least one selected from phenol, cresol, xylenol, and butylphenol [0029], which reads on wherein in Group (1), R3, R4, and R5 are each independently an alkyl group having 1 or 4 carbon atoms as claimed.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Wakita teaches a (meth)acrylate resin obtained by esterifying a phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with (meth)acrylic acid halide [0008, 0012], wherein the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is an aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin that has been modified with phenols [0008, 0026], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is obtained by reacting an aromatic hydrocarbon with formaldehyde [0027], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon is mesitylene [0027], wherein the phenols are at least one selected from phenol, cresol, xylenol, butylphenol, octylphenol, and nonylphenol [0029], which reads on wherein the constituent units described in Group (1) comprise at least one selected from constituent units described in Group (1-4), wherein R1, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8, R9, v, x, y, z, a4, b, c, and d are as defined for R1, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, R8, R9, v, x, y, z, a, b, c, and d in Group (1), respectively, and * represents a position of bonding to another constituent unit or an end group as claimed, wherein the constituent units described in Group (1) comprise constituent units described in Group (1-4).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakita et al. (JP 2020-037651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/16/2026).
Regarding claim 23, Wakita teaches a curable resin composition comprising a (meth)acrylate resin [0008, 0036], wherein the (meth)acrylate resin is obtained by esterifying a phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with (meth)acrylic acid halide [0008, 0012], wherein the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is an aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin that has been modified with phenols [0008, 0026], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is obtained by reacting an aromatic hydrocarbon with formaldehyde [0027], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon is at least one selected from benzene, toluene, xylene, mesitylene, ethylbenzene, and propylbenzene [0027], wherein the phenols are at least one selected from phenol, cresol, xylenol, butylphenol, octylphenol, and nonylphenol [0029], which reads on a curable resin composition comprising a resin having constituent units described in Group (1) wherein R1s each independently represent a methylene group, R2 represents an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, R3, R4, and R5 each independently represents an alkyl group having 1, 4, 8, or 9 carbon atoms, R6 independently represents a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, R7 and R8 each independently represent a hydrogen atom, R9 represents a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a halogenated alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a hydroxy group, a hydroxyalkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, or an aryl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms, v represents 1, w represents a number of 1 to 3, and x, y, and z each independently represent a number of 0 to 2, a, b, c, or d independently represent a molar ratio of the constituent unit, where a is a number of 1 or more, b is a number of 0 or more, c is a number of 1 or more, and d is a number of 0, R1s may be bonded to each other to form a crosslinked structure, and * represents a position of bonding to another constituent unit or an end group as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakita et al. (JP 2020-037651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/16/2026) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Wakita teaches the resin according to claim 1 as explained above. Wakita teaches that the (meth)acrylate resin has a hydroxyl value of 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008, 0015], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0015], and that the phenolic hydroxyl value of the (meth)acrylate resin is preferably 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008, 0016], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0016], which reads on the resin according to claim 1, having a phenolic hydroxyl group content of 1.78 mmol/g or less. The phenolic hydroxyl group content is based on the calculation 100 mg KOH/g / (56.105 mg KOH/mmol KOH) = 1.78 mmol/g.
Wakita does not teach with sufficient specificity that the resin according to claim 1 has a phenolic hydroxyl group content of 0.5 mmol/g or less. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the phenolic hydroxyl value of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin to be 28 mg KOH/g or less. The proposed modification would read on the resin according to claim 1, having a phenolic hydroxyl group content of 0.5 mmol/g or less as claimed. The phenolic hydroxyl group content is based on the calculation 28 mg KOH/g / (56.105 mg KOH/mmol KOH) = 0.5 mmol/g. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing UV curability of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin because Wakita teaches that the (meth)acrylate resin has a hydroxyl value of 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008, 0015], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0015], and that the phenolic hydroxyl value of the (meth)acrylate resin is preferably 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0008, 0016], which means that the phenolic hydroxyl value of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin in mg KOH/g would have affected UV curability of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin.
Regarding claim 6, Wakita teaches the resin according to claim 1 as explained above. Wakita teaches that the (meth)acrylate resin is obtained by esterifying a phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with (meth)acrylic acid halide [0008, 0012], wherein the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is an aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin that has been modified with phenols [0008, 0026], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is obtained by reacting an aromatic hydrocarbon with formaldehyde [0027], wherein the (meth)acrylate resin has a hydroxyl value of 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008, 0015], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0015], wherein the phenolic hydroxyl value of the (meth)acrylate resin is preferably 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008, 0016], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0016], wherein the hydroxyl value of the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is 100 to 550 mg KOH/g [0008, 0034], more preferably 100 to 500 mg KOH/g, and even more preferably 150 to 450 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of curability after esterification [0034], wherein the phenolic hydroxyl value of the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is 100 to 550 mg KOH/g [0008, 0035], more preferably 100 to 500 mg KOH/g, and even more preferably 150 to 450 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of curability after esterification [0035], which reads on the resin according to claim 1, having a content of a group represented by the following in Group (I) of more than 0 mmol/g:
wherein R6 to R8 are as defined for R6 to R8 in Group (1).
Wakita does not teach that the resin according to claim 1 has a content of a group represented by the following in Group (1) of 1.0 mmol/g or more:
wherein R6 to R8 are as defined for R6 to R8 in Group (1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize an extent of esterification of Wakita’s phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with Wakita’s (meth)acrylic acid halide to be such that there are 1.0 mmol or more of (meth)acryloyloxy groups per g of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin that is obtained by the esterification. The proposed modification would read on the resin according to claim 1 having a content of a group represented by the following in Group (1) of 1.0 mmol/g or more:
wherein R6 to R8 are as defined for R6 to R8 in Group (1) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing curability and UV curability of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin because Wakita teaches that the (meth)acrylate resin is obtained by esterifying a phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with (meth)acrylic acid halide [0008, 0012], wherein the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is an aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin that has been modified with phenols [0008, 0026], wherein the aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is obtained by reacting an aromatic hydrocarbon with formaldehyde [0027], wherein the (meth)acrylate resin has a hydroxyl value of 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008, 0015], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0015], wherein the phenolic hydroxyl value of the (meth)acrylate resin is preferably 100 mg KOH/g or less [0008, 0016], more preferably 90 mg KOH/g or less, and even more preferably 5 to 90 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of UV curability [0016], wherein the hydroxyl value of the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is 100 to 550 mg KOH/g [0008, 0034], more preferably 100 to 500 mg KOH/g, and even more preferably 150 to 450 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of curability after esterification [0034], wherein the phenolic hydroxyl value of the phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is 100 to 550 mg KOH/g [0008, 0035], more preferably 100 to 500 mg KOH/g, and even more preferably 150 to 450 mg KOH/g, from the viewpoint of curability after esterification [0035], which means that an extent of esterification of Wakita’s phenol-modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin with Wakita’s (meth)acrylic acid halide in mmol of (meth)acryloyloxy groups per g of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin that is obtained by the esterification would have affected curability and UV curability of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin.
Regarding claim 9, Wakita teaches the resin according to claim 1 as explained above. Wakita teaches that the (meth)acrylate resin has a weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of 300 to 10,000 [0008, 0014], more preferably 300 to 8,000, and even more preferably 500 to 7,000, in terms of polystyrene, from the viewpoint of improving adhesion [0014], which reads on the resin according to claim 1, having a number average molecular weight (Mn) of greater than 0, and a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 300 to 10000.
Wakita does not teach that the resin according to claim 1 has a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 500 to 6000. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the number-average molecular weight (Mn) of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin to be 500 to 6,000 and to optimize the weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin to be 500 to 10,000. The proposed modification would read on the resin according to claim 1 having a number average molecular weight (Mn) of 500 to 6000, and a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 500 to 10000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing adhesion of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin because Wakita teaches that the (meth)acrylate resin has a weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of 300 to 10,000 [0008, 0014], more preferably 300 to 8,000, and even more preferably 500 to 7,000, in terms of polystyrene, from the viewpoint of improving adhesion [0014], which means that the number-average molecular weight (Mn) of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin and the weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin would have affected adhesion of Wakita’s (meth)acrylate resin.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakita et al. (JP 2020-037651 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English used for citation, made of record on 07/16/2026) as applied to claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, Wakita teaches the curable resin composition according to claim 23 as explained above. Wakita teaches that the composition may include epoxy resins [0036], and that the (meth)acrylate resin can be used as an additive to resins or modifier to epoxy resin [0052], which optionally reads on the curable resin composition according to claim 23, further comprising a thermosetting compound other than a resin having constituent units described in Group (1): wherein R1s each independently represent a methylene group, R2 represents an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, R3, R4, and R5 each independently represents an alkyl group having 1, 4, 8, or 9 carbon atoms, R6 independently represents a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, R7 and R8 each independently represent a hydrogen atom, R9 represents a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a halogenated alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a hydroxy group, a hydroxyalkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, or an aryl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms, v represents 1, w represents a number of 1 to 3, and x, y, and z each independently represent a number of 0 to 2, a, b, c, or d independently represent a molar ratio of the constituent unit, where a is a number of 1 or more, b is a number of 0 or more, c is a number of 1 or more, and d is a number of 0, R1s may be bonded to each other to form a crosslinked structure, and * represents a position of bonding to another constituent unit or an end group.
Wakita does not teach a specific embodiment of the curable resin composition according to claim 23 further comprising a thermosetting compound other than a resin having constituent units described in Group (1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Wakita’s epoxy resin to modify Wakita’s curable resin composition. The proposed modification would read on of the curable resin composition according to claim 23 further comprising a thermosetting compound other than a resin having constituent units described in Group (1) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wakita teaches that the composition may include epoxy resins [0036], and that when the (meth)acrylate resin is used as an additive to resins and modifier for epoxy resin, the water resistance, chemical resistance, and heat resistance of these resins can be improved [0052].
Regarding claim 25, Wakita teaches the curable resin composition according to claim 23 as explained above. Wakita teaches that the (meth)acrylate resin can be used as an additive to resins or modifier for vinyl ester resin or unsaturated polyester resin [0052], wherein the vinyl ester resins are resin obtained by adding epoxy groups and approximately equivalent moles of α,β-unsaturated monobasic acid to polyepoxide in the presence of an addition catalyst, and mixing the reaction product with a polymerizable monomer, and adding polymerization inhibitors as needed [0055], wherein the unsaturated polyester resins are resins obtained by reacting an unsaturated polyester, which is obtained by reacting an acid that is an unsaturated dibasic acid with an alcohol, with a polymerizable monomer, and adding polymerization inhibitors as needed [0058], which optionally reads on the curable resin composition according to claim 23, wherein the thermosetting compound comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a compound having a carbon-carbon unsaturated bond group other than a resin having constituent units described in Group (1): wherein R1s each independently represent a methylene group, R2 represents an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, R3, R4, and R5 each independently represents an alkyl group having 1, 4, 8, or 9 carbon atoms, R6 independently represents a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, R7 and R8 each independently represent a hydrogen atom, R9 represents a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a halogenated alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, a hydroxy group, a hydroxyalkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, or an aryl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms, v represents 1, w represents a number of 1 to 3, and x, y, and z each independently represent a number of 0 to 2, a, b, c, or d independently represent a molar ratio of the constituent unit, where a is a number of 1 or more, b is a number of 0 or more, c is a number of 1 or more, and d is a number of 0, R1s may be bonded to each other to form a crosslinked structure, and * represents a position of bonding to another constituent unit or an end group.
Wakita does not teach a specific embodiment of the curable resin composition according to claim 23, wherein the thermosetting compound comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a compound having a carbon-carbon unsaturated bond group other than a resin having constituent units described in Group (1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Wakita’s vinyl ester resin or unsaturated polyester resin to modify Wakita’s curable resin composition. The proposed modification would read on the curable resin composition according to claim 23, wherein the thermosetting compound comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a compound having a carbon-carbon unsaturated bond group other than a resin having constituent units described in Group (1) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wakita teaches that when the (meth)acrylate resin is used as an additive to resins and modifier for vinyl esters and unsaturated polyester, the water resistance, chemical resistance, and heat resistance of these resins can be improved [0052].
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767