Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “computational system” in claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, and 13, and “eye tracking device” in claim 4.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by non-patent literature "Enhanced CNN-based gaze estimation on wireless capsule endoscopy images"; 2021 IEEE 34th International Symposium on Computer-Based Medical Systems (CBMS); IEEE, 2021 (Gatoula et al.) (hereinafter Gatoula).
Regarding claims 1-5, Gatoula teaches a medical system comprising: (Gatoula, abstract: “Wireless capsule endoscopy (WCE) is a modality used for the non-invasive examination of the gastrointestinal (GI) tract. Physicians diagnose pathologies in images derived from Capsule Endoscopy (CE) using specific gaze patterns to observe pathologically related visual cues.”)
a memory configured to store machine executable instructions, wherein the memory further stores a trained first machine learning module trained to output in response to receiving a medical image as input a saliency map as output, the saliency map being predictive of a distribution of user attention over the medical image; a computational system, wherein execution of the machine executable instructions causes the computational system to: receive a medical image; provide the medical image as input to the trained first machine learning module; in response to the providing of the medical image, receive a saliency map of the medical image as output from the trained first machine learning module, wherein the saliency map predicts a distribution of user attention over the medical image; provide the saliency map of the medical image (Gatoula, page 191, Section III. Methodology, Section A. Model Architecture, para. 1-4; page 189, para. 6; FIG. 1-3: “The model that was employed for tackling the task of saliency prediction, follows an auto-encoder architecture and thus consisting of two separate models, an encoder and a decoder. The encoder takes as an input an RGB image and outputs its corresponding latent representation. Then the output of the encoder is used as input for the decoder, which uses the latent representation to estimate the respective saliency map of the input image. A visual representation of the proposed CNN model architecture can be seen in Fig. 1 … Thus, we can state that the values of an estimated saliency map express the probability value of the potential eye-fixations of medical experts on the corresponding WCE image … For training the proposed CNN model the Binary Cross Entropy (BCE) function was selected … After the saliency map estimation, we deploy an additional step for further improvement of the saliency map by removing salient values with low probability of occurrence.”; “In detail, a convolutional autoencoder is trained on WCE images, containing normal and abnormal cases, to predict saliency maps that estimate the physicians' eye fixations.
;
).
Regarding claim 2, Gatoula teaches the medical system of claim 1, wherein execution of the machine executable instructions further causes the computational system to provide the trained first machine learning module, wherein the providing of the trained first machine learning module comprises providing the first machine learning module; providing first training data comprising first pairs of training medical images and training saliency maps, wherein the training salient maps are descriptive of distributions of user attention over the training medical images; training the first machine learning module using the first training data, wherein the resulting trained first machine learning module is trained to output the training saliency maps of the first pairs in response to receiving the training medical images of the first pairs (Gatoula, page 192, Section III. B. Fixation Dataset: “The training dataset was created by utilizing a highly experienced physician in the field of WCE. The physician was given the objective to examine the images of the KID dataset while having his eyes movements being tracked. KID dataset contains categorized WCE images for a variety of non-pathological and pathological findings from the gastrointestinal tract. In this work, we used images that depict polypoid, vascular and inflammatory lesions and normal tissue from the oesophagus and the colon. For the fixation dataset a total of 1025 images were used. The eye-fixation data were collected using The Eye Tribe® eye tracker. For the data collection, the physician was instructed to examine a WCE image until he was confident for the diagnostic assessment. During the examination the eye tracker was tracking his eye-movements in terms of points along with the timestamp of each point. The physician was encouraged to not move from his initial position for which the eye-tracker has been calibrated for the maximum eye tracking accuracy. However, slight position adjustments have been occurring during the examination procedure, in order to maintain high accuracy eye-tracking, the eye-tracker was re-calibrated every 30 images. After the image examination step, the data points that were captured by the eye tracker on each image were separated in two categories, saccades and fixations … For each of the 1025 images of the KID dataset used in this implementation, the eye-tracker collected the physician's eye-movements i.e., saccades and eye-fixations. Physician's eye-movements were described in terms of points i.e. pixel coordinates, along with the timestamp referring to each tracked point.”).
Regarding claim 3, Gatoula teaches the medical system of claim 2, wherein the medical system further comprises a display device, wherein the providing of the first training data comprises for each of the training medical images of the first training data: displaying the respective training medical image using the display device; measuring a distribution of user attention over the displayed training medical image; generating the training saliency map of the first pair of training data comprising the displayed training medical image using the measured distribution of user attention over the training medical image (Gatoula, page 191, Section III. Methodology, Section A. Model Architecture, para. 1-4; page 189, para. 6; FIG. 1-3; see rejection of claim 1 above; Gatoula, page 192, Section III. B. Fixation Dataset; see rejection of claim 2 above; a display is implicit to viewing the saliency maps generated as shown in FIG. 2-3 above; FIG. 2-3 further show the results of the CNN outputting the saliency map that show the distribution of user attention (eye tracking) and as discussed in the rejection of claim 2 above, a training data set is used to train the CNN).
Regarding claim 4, Gatoula teaches the medical system of claim 3, wherein the medical system further comprises an eye tracking device configured for measuring positions and movements of eyes of a user of the medical system, wherein the memory further stores an attention determining module configured for determining the distribution of user attention over the displayed training medical image using the eye tracking device to determine for the user of the medical system looking at the displayed training medical image points of attention within the displayed training medical image (Gatoula, page 189, para. 5-6: “Traditionally, in the context of WCE imaging, the identification of visual saliency information is being achieved through eye-tracking data. The eye-tracking data collection is implemented through dedicated devices or conventional cameras, such as webcams”; “In this paper, we propose a CNN model for saliency prediction, based on the physician's eye-fixations, on WCE images. In detail, a convolutional autoencoder is trained on WCE images, containing normal and abnormal cases, to predict saliency maps that estimate the physicians' eye fixations.”).
Regarding claim 5, Gatoula teaches the medical system of claim 1, wherein the trained first machine learning module is trained to output in response to receiving a medical image as input a user individual saliency map predicting a user individual distribution of user attention over the input medical image (Gatoula, FIG. 1-3; see rejection of claim 1 above showing the output saliency maps).
Regarding claim 13, Gatoula teaches a medical system comprising: (Gatoula, abstract: “Wireless capsule endoscopy (WCE) is a modality used for the non-invasive examination of the gastrointestinal (GI) tract. Physicians diagnose pathologies in images derived from Capsule Endoscopy (CE) using specific gaze patterns to observe pathologically related visual cues.”)
a memory storing machine executable instructions; a computational system, wherein execution of the machine executable instructions causes the computational system to provide a trained machine learning module trained to output in response to receiving a medical image as input a saliency map as output, the saliency map being predictive of a distribution of user attention over the medical image, wherein the providing of the trained machine learning module comprises: providing the machine learning module; providing training data comprising pairs of training medical images and training saliency maps, wherein the training salient maps are descriptive of distributions of user attention over the training medical images; training the machine learning module using the training data, wherein the resulting trained machine learning module is trained to output the training saliency maps of the pairs in response to receiving the training medical images of the pairs (Gatoula, page 191, Section III. Methodology, Section A. Model Architecture, para. 1-4; page 189, para. 6; FIG. 1-3: “The model that was employed for tackling the task of saliency prediction, follows an auto-encoder architecture and thus consisting of two separate models, an encoder and a decoder. The encoder takes as an input an RGB image and outputs its corresponding latent representation. Then the output of the encoder is used as input for the decoder, which uses the latent representation to estimate the respective saliency map of the input image. A visual representation of the proposed CNN model architecture can be seen in Fig. 1 … Thus, we can state that the values of an estimated saliency map express the probability value of the potential eye-fixations of medical experts on the corresponding WCE image … For training the proposed CNN model the Binary Cross Entropy (BCE) function was selected … After the saliency map estimation, we deploy an additional step for further improvement of the saliency map by removing salient values with low probability of occurrence.”; “In detail, a convolutional autoencoder is trained on WCE images, containing normal and abnormal cases, to predict saliency maps that estimate the physicians' eye fixations.
;
;
Gatoula, page 192, Section III. B. Fixation Dataset: “The training dataset was created by utilizing a highly experienced physician in the field of WCE. The physician was given the objective to examine the images of the KID dataset while having his eyes movements being tracked. KID dataset contains categorized WCE images for a variety of non-pathological and pathological findings from the gastrointestinal tract. In this work, we used images that depict polypoid, vascular and inflammatory lesions and normal tissue from the oesophagus and the colon. For the fixation dataset a total of 1025 images were used. The eye-fixation data were collected using The Eye Tribe® eye tracker. For the data collection, the physician was instructed to examine a WCE image until he was confident for the diagnostic assessment. During the examination the eye tracker was tracking his eye-movements in terms of points along with the timestamp of each point. The physician was encouraged to not move from his initial position for which the eye-tracker has been calibrated for the maximum eye tracking accuracy. However, slight position adjustments have been occurring during the examination procedure, in order to maintain high accuracy eye-tracking, the eye-tracker was re-calibrated every 30 images. After the image examination step, the data points that were captured by the eye tracker on each image were separated in two categories, saccades and fixations … For each of the 1025 images of the KID dataset used in this implementation, the eye-tracker collected the physician's eye-movements i.e., saccades and eye-fixations. Physician's eye-movements were described in terms of points i.e. pixel coordinates, along with the timestamp referring to each tracked point.”).
Regarding claim 14, Gatoula teaches a computer program comprising machine executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable memory for execution by a computational system controlling a medical system, wherein the computer program further comprises (Gatoula, abstract: “In this work, we propose a CNN auto-encoder model, that is capable of predicting saliency maps estimating the gaze-patterns, in terms of eye-fixations, of physicians in CE images. The proposed model outperforms other approaches for visual saliency estimation based on physicians' eye fixation by providing an AUC-J of 0.726 among CE images depicting various pathological and normal cases.”; CNN must implicitly run on a computer with a processor and a memory storing instructions).
With regards to the remaining limitations of claim 14, they recite the functions of the apparatus of claim 1, as a computer program comprising machine executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable memory. Thus, the analysis in rejecting claim 1 is equally applicable to the remaining limitations of claim 14.
With regards to claim 15, it recites the functions of the apparatus of claim 1, as a process. This, the analysis in rejecting claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gatoula, in view of non-patent literature "Efficient folded attention for medical image reconstruction and segmentation." Proceedings of the AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence; Vol. 35. No. 12. 2021 (Zhang et al.) (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 12, Gatoula teaches the medical system of claim 1, wherein the medical system is configured to acquire medical imaging data for reconstructing the medical image (Gatoula, page 191, Section III Methodology A. Model Architecture, Decoder: “Moreover, after the final convolutional block of the decoder, a reconstruction convolutional block has been added aiming towards a more thorough analysis of the latent representation of the encoder, and a more precise restoration of the ground truth saliency map. The size of the final reconstruction block can affect the quality of the results produced by the model. To maintain low complexity and high reconstruction quality, 3 convolutional layers followed by a pixel-wise convolution for the final saliency prediction was experimentally determined to achieve satisfactory results. Each one the three convolutional layers of the reconstruction block is composed of the same number of kernels, equal to the respective number utilized in the convolutional layers of the block before the reconstruction module.”).
Gatoula fails to teach
wherein the medical imaging data is acquired using any one of the following data acquisition methods: magnetic resonance imaging, computed-tomography imaging, positron emission tomography imaging, single photon emission computed tomography imaging.
Zhang teaches
wherein the medical imaging data is acquired using any one of the following data acquisition methods: magnetic resonance imaging, computed-tomography imaging, positron emission tomography imaging, single photon emission computed tomography imaging. (Zhang, page 10874, para. 1; Fig. 5: “To acquire and reconstruct COSMOS data, 6 healthy subjects were recruited to do MRI scan with 5 brain orientations using a 3.0T GE scanner”;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the medical imaging data, as taught by Gatoula, to be acquired using magnetic resonance imaging, as taught by Zhang.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that saliency maps can enhance explainability by suggesting the anatomic localization of relevant brain features to assign neuroanatomic interpretability to models that estimate biological brain age (BA) from magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Gatoula, with Zhang, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL ADAM SHARIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672